5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Western Digital TV™ HD Media Player, Full HD 1080p Player

SUSMatrix
post Dec 13 2010, 09:40 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Dec 13 2010, 08:44 PM)
Well I did say it would work well with 8gb files  biggrin.gif
Time to amp it up with bigger file size and bitrates
Yeah, but your TPLINK is N300...my Aztech only N150! Btw, i want to ask, the firmware and version of ur TPLINK modem router.

Mine is like this: (Under the firmware upgrade menu)

Firmware Version: 3.12.2 Build 100820 Rel.41891n
Hardware Version: WR1043N v1 00000000

I've flashed with the lasted firmware from TPLINK website....but why the hardware is WR1043N and not WR1043ND? Is yours the same?

Added on December 13, 2010, 9:48 pm
QUOTE(vikashshah @ Dec 13 2010, 08:15 PM)
Yes bro, version no was published on the box, and thats the only reason i bought it.
Wow, KL all 3.1, Penang many shops still 2.0 (clearing old stock?) smile.gif
I also think the very same, that the Asus maybe a v1.0, but its a close to RM 100 risk...

Added on December 13, 2010, 8:18 pm

WWWWWWWWWWWWaaaaaah !!! U give me hope...using TPLink Wifi? would love to hear the hardware...RM19 N150 adapter did the job ? smile.gif
I have some hope now, all will be well smile.gif

Bro, congrats and Kudos smile.gif U Rock !!!
More Updates:

Avatar Extended Edition 1080p...16GB++......watched for 1 hour plus, very smooth! It only lags a few second in one part, dunno why, maybe my server running something. Not sure.

Some HD Documentary 720p...2GB+......no problem

Youtube=no problem.

The Ultimate test:
30GB++ uncompressed Pirates of the Carribean = Finally the N150 is beaten...it'll lag and buffer every now and then. I guess this is one file that really needs N300. Hey Alucard, have u tried such files before in your setup?

Verdict:
For my purpose of watching mostly 8GB movies and sometimes <15GB movies, it pass!! Finally, the dream of a wireless networked home streaming HD movie is a reality! Look ma, no cables!!! smile.gif

I think i'll take my time to hunt for a N300 WIFI adaptor. Vikas, this WIFI adaptor is only RM29 currently (normal price). Ok, gotta go enjoy more streaming now.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 13 2010, 09:48 PM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 13 2010, 10:11 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Alucard: The b-rad firmware u posted earlier needs id and password. Also, is this the latest b-rad firmware?

I saw the latest 1.03.39_B here. Which one is better?

http://forum.wdlxtv.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=2058
SUSMatrix
post Dec 14 2010, 07:31 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(vikashshah @ Dec 14 2010, 12:45 AM)
Amazing really. Enjoy urself bro...deserve it after all the trouble. smile.gif))
Noted bro. Will share my joy when it happens with you all...

Rock On smile.gif
Look foward to hear your good news. smile.gif And pls share the result of your DLINK DWA-140. If it is good, i'll consider getting it. ASUS is too risky with no version indication.

Added on December 14, 2010, 7:35 am
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Dec 14 2010, 12:00 AM)
Anyone knows where I can easily find the digital cable? Planning to connect the WD TV Live straight to my home theater system via the digital cable.
I just bought one from ALLIT Digital Mall...RM 29.90 (3M cable). There was promotion the other day for Coolray brand from ACRYAN booth at the Digital Expo...RM35...too bad i didn't buy...some shop sell it at RM60...
Best Denki sells branded Philips 1.6M for RM 169.90 (crazy!)

I went to LEGEND (The legendary con shop selling LCD) to ask...guess what...wanna charge me RM90 for a 2M no brand china cable....a nearby electronic shop sells the same brand 1.5M for RM20!! haha!

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 14 2010, 07:55 AM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 14 2010, 08:59 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Dec 14 2010, 08:01 AM)
Greedy bastards..
Btw, I got tversity working
Just needed to configure the right video resolution
Too bad can't detect external subs and display moviesheets.
How do you get it to show the movie thumbnails anyway?
Nope. Movie thumbnails don't work. It only shows if you select sharing by Network share. Media sharing shows no thumbnail...this is one of the downside. Your b-rad firmware also cannot show? I was hoping the b-rad firmware can show this....sigh...
SUSMatrix
post Dec 14 2010, 11:33 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Dec 14 2010, 11:27 AM)
That's affordable, the RM29.90 cable is without brand right? It's still sufficient enough right?
Got brand. Dunno China or Taiwan brand. But the quality looks ok. The cable is wrapped in reasonable thick outside layer, good for protection against fiber bending/breakage, it is certainly better than the RM20 1.5M or the Legend's RM90 2M cable i saw earlier. The connection head to the optical socket is a bit tight though, you'll need to push in a bit harder.

Digital cable is pretty standard, either it works or it don't. No need expensive cables.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 14 2010, 11:35 AM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 14 2010, 06:36 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ Dec 14 2010, 03:33 PM)
Matrix,
So, did you successfully setup WiFi-N from downstairs to upstairs?
Yes bro. WIFI running on N300, but the USB Adaptor is N150 only. Works for up to 16GB++ files...30GB files failed. Best bet is to go full N300, which might solve the problem for huge files like 30GB or more. Previously i ran tests on Wireless-G a few months back....even 4GB file also failed!

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 14 2010, 06:36 PM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 14 2010, 10:04 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Ok, another update:

I've returned the TPLINK TL-WN821N and exchanged it for an ASUS USB N-13 by topping up the difference (Price for this ASUS is RM 89, while TPLINK was RM55). Guess what..... it's plug and go!!!! The 30GB file now stream smoothly for over 20 minutes!!!
rclxms.gif

There was no version no on the box, i checked their DLINK DWA-140 but it's version 1.4(instead of 1.3) so confirmed cannot use...so i try my luck with the ASUS... guess i am lucky tonight!

Here is a photo of the sticker on the ASUS box, hope this information will help WDTV Live user out their looking for a good working WIFI-N300 unit!

The signal of the ASUS WIFI adaptor i got is FULL BAR. Previously, the Aztech adaptor shows only 2 bars. The AP setting is the same...transmission power set to 'Low' (i am kiasi and scared of high power transmission...later die faster. )

Now my wireless network is in Nirvana. Perfect. Calm. Peace. Amen. wub.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 14 2010, 10:04 PM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 15 2010, 09:27 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(manchurr @ Dec 15 2010, 09:05 AM)
Hye guys,

Looking for a good media player. Because i want facebook, thats y thinking of wdtv live and also want to stream my moves to lcd using the wdtv live. Im using unifi connection.

What shd i buy?

1. Wdtv live player
2. Hdd
3. What kind Wifi dongle?

Whatelse? Plz help. Thx
Aiyo...read all my posts earlier lar...your answer is there oready. tongue.gif
This is my config, it's working, so you can use this as a reference:
1) TPLINK TL-WR1043ND router/gigabit/AP
2) Media Server: 4GB RAM, Pentium E5300, Windows 7 32-bits, 1 x 640GB HDD, 2 X 2TB RAID 1 HDD. (All WD Green, but it doesn't matter). Connected via wired gigabit LAN (1.0Gbps)
3) Stream Software: TVERSITY (free punya).
4) Refer above:
The common dongle u can find locally:
ASUS USB N-13 (no version no on box) - N300
DLink DWA-140 (ver 1.3) -N300
Aztech WL552USB (i think this cheap and can be found everywhere, but cannot play 30GB files) - N150
5) WDTV Live - latest official firmware V1.04 or something.

PS: I would advice you to connect the media server via wired gigabit LAN port for maximum throughput. Otherwise, i think you'll have problem streaming. Imagine..HD files need to go to through air and reach AP...and then transmit back to dongle...sure die...

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 15 2010, 09:30 AM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 15 2010, 09:49 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Dec 15 2010, 09:40 AM)
hmm.gif
Can explain more on this >> and reach AP...and then transmit back to dongle?
It's my theory, haven't test out...but it's like this. The server should have always able to maximise the the throughput (which means go for wired gigabit port...my test shows maximum 100MB/s throughput achievable, average over 50 MB/s). My WIFI-N test shows you can only go maximum 10 MB/s even on WIFI-N300. Furthermore, it'll contend with the client device for the wireless bandwidth transmission and at the same time introduce more collission, which will reduce the already not too fast speed. And if you wants to stream to multiple device, i think it is even more critical.

Well, it's my theory anyway...u can test it out and let me know...hehe.

Added on December 15, 2010, 9:52 am
QUOTE(manchurr @ Dec 15 2010, 09:45 AM)
Omy! So many. Pening oo..

I am using laptop only. Cannot just simplify r huhu

I just want to play files in my laptop using wdtv live.
In that case, u don't need streaming. Just buy external HDD plug to WDTV Live. End of story.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 15 2010, 09:52 AM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 15 2010, 10:21 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(vikashshah @ Dec 15 2010, 10:18 AM)
Awesome info bro. So sad i can't get this Asus unit in PG. Hmmm...
Congrats...now u can wipe the sweat off smile.gif
Rock On...

Will share DWA-140 v1.3 performance once everything is setup...
Good luck bro. Waiting to hear ur good news. thumbup.gif
SUSMatrix
post Dec 15 2010, 10:39 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(vikashshah @ Dec 15 2010, 10:30 AM)
Bro, most probably i have no choice but to do the above..and i am shit scared...
Meaning to say, my server will be wireless N300 ( Asus or TPLink )
Router will be 15m away from server - should be the same router u are using (TP-Link)
Then WD TV will be 15m away from router ( DWA-140 )

Total distance from server to WDTV is 30m

I am going to be relying on Wireless N to help me. No choice because else i have to get a Gigabit Network Card + Make a telephone extension in the server room which will cost easily RM 200 in total.
I won't be streaming uncompressed files...but 1080p maybe. I am crossing my fingers.

Bro, how do you measure your network speed?
Hmm...a bit complicated...wait...YOU HAVE A DEDICATED SERVER ROOM IN YOUR HOUSE??? You can't move your server next to ur router? A gigabit NIC is quiet cheap...RM50 or so. I got TPLINK PCI-E card...works very well. PCI Gigabit NIC should be cheaper. But wiring a telephony line could be expensive.

Otherwise, another solution is to wired flat CAT-6 cable from router to server...according to cosmicmeadow, he use double-sided tape to stick the flat cables to the wall.

I just do a simple file copy to measure the speed roughly. The windows pop-up will show the transmission speed.(Windows 7)

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 15 2010, 10:40 AM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 15 2010, 10:57 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(vikashshah @ Dec 15 2010, 10:48 AM)
Yes bro, thats the problem, router is strategically placed in the middle of the house for everyone to have decent access. Not dedicated server room, its like my room but the PC acts as a server smile.gif he he...if DEDICATED SERVER ROOM, No need to say already la ;P ha ha

I can't move the PC next to the router because no space.
RM 50...thats not bad, but wiring a telephony is the problem...
Wiring CAT-6 from router to server is like 15m and almost impossible to stick on the wall smile.gif)) Have to take it thru the ceiling.

I am wondering now, whether i should just DIY. Make telephone extension on my own...hmmm....or even the ceiling job smile.gif
Well...i am temporarily dazed...because if the N300 fails...poochi la for me !!! I hope it can at least stream DVDRips then .... ha ha !

Bro can share how u test ur network speed...tks bro...
Well, i think you can try first. If it lags bad, then only you stick the CAT-6 cable. I think if you buy some good double sided tape, there should be no problem sticking to ceiling. You don't have to stick all the way (that would be really expensive!! DS tape not cheap...just stick on interval like every 9 inches or so.).

The network speed test is simple, from ur laptop/PC, via WIFI-N300, connect to your other pc/server. Copy a huge file (say 4GB+). Paste it to your local laptop/PC. Then the small windows pop up copying the file. You can click to see more advanced info to show the transmission speed while it is copying.

SUSMatrix
post Dec 15 2010, 06:49 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Dec 15 2010, 06:28 PM)
Now I really gotta get that USB wifi too since you already confirmed it's compatible with WDTV Live
Glad it's working fine with huge files  biggrin.gif
Go buy and update us. smile.gif
SUSMatrix
post Dec 18 2010, 06:59 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Dec 18 2010, 01:58 AM)
Anyone here experience issues when streaming media files (guess it should be large HD files) and if the PC is downloading something at the same time, the file being downloaded on the PC will most likely not finish downloading and the download stops completely? hmm.gif
Your PC is on WIFI or wired? There shouldn't be any problem. Streaming is only local WIFI, unless maybe u try to access internet content as well. ...which ISP ur using?

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 18 2010, 07:00 AM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 19 2010, 08:18 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Dec 18 2010, 02:56 PM)
That never happens to me, and I always download stuff when watching movies
Yeah, actually i download 24/7 while streaming... tongue.gif
SUSMatrix
post Dec 19 2010, 09:21 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(manchurr @ Dec 19 2010, 09:12 PM)
Me too, but my unifi already being capped. Already donlot 60gb in 3 weeks sad.gif
Unifi got capped meh? I thought currently no cap? 60GB in 3 weeks so little? I can easily download >10GB per day....Streamyx 4MB...
SUSMatrix
post Dec 20 2010, 10:01 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Dec 20 2010, 02:39 AM)
Also depends on the type of the file sharing(SAMBA, NFS)
I noticed SAMBA(windows share) is not sufficient enough for WDTV Live, even some 720p files still stutter
Switched to NFS and that solves the problem with stuttering for 1080p files.
You can always use Tversity to share your files, but then you can't get thumbnails display.
That is true...windows folder is no good for streaming...even using laptop, also can see stutter. Yeah...the biggest grip no thumbnail display...haiz...i wonder any other media player can do that?
SUSMatrix
post Dec 20 2010, 10:50 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(vikashshah @ Dec 20 2010, 10:40 AM)
I am getting an average of 23kB/s and if we convert the 500kpbs you have mentioned it turns out to be 62.5kB/s
I need to double my wireless streaming. This is not good.
Maybe need to readjust wireless router placing and increase signal strength on the server side.
Plus use TVersity etc...as matrix bro has pointed out. Samba / NFS too...

Nevertheless, bro, homeplugs are not what they seem on paper. They were highly inefficient. Now, maybe slightly improved...but if u are going to purchase, try getting Netgear, instead of Aztech.
But $$$ sad.gif
I hope u have friends having homeplugs, can try out...sometimes, some homes, doesn't work well...
Yeah, homeplugs sounds good on paper, but a lot depends on the wiring on the house..especially old house, homeplug not a good idea...

Vikas: you only get 23KB/S on Wifi-G or N?? This is bad.... shocking.gif
SUSMatrix
post Dec 20 2010, 03:29 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ Dec 20 2010, 02:52 PM)
You may try to use 1 AP in the middle set it to repeater mode to boost your WiFi signal. I bought TP-Link AP WA-801ND to repeat my neighbor WiFi to my WDTV, so now I can use online features.
I almost buy 3G router to share my internet connection, but after more reading I opted with AP instead.
Wow....bandwidth stealing?? Dun do that lar bro. shakehead.gif
SUSMatrix
post Dec 20 2010, 05:19 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Dec 20 2010, 04:54 PM)
Despite wireless-N saying it can reach up to 300mbps, but I think a lot of factors can reduce the speed. Was only getting about 4-5mbps on average with wireless-N so definitely wired LAN will be more than that. biggrin.gif
4MB/s or 4Mbps?? Can share details like what is the router, usb wifi dongle (N150 or N300?) and the distance from the router/ap?

I can get 33Mbps from a WFI-N150 and a lot more from a WIFI N300. And are you streaming using NFS or Samba? And is your server connected to a wired gigabit router or alos on Wifi?

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 20 2010, 05:19 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0412sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:10 AM