Grille, Is flat thin bar more expensive?

TSckming1
post Nov 3 2010, 11:24 PM, updated 16y ago

Hello, I am in the process of ordering grilles for my house. I was told that it will be more expensive if I use flat thin mild steel bar compared to those hollow mild steel bars. Is this true?
Eleganz Concept
post Nov 4 2010, 12:05 AM

582 posts

Yes, it is very true
khoodennis
post Nov 4 2010, 12:32 AM

54 posts

If not mistken there are normal 3 grades that ppl uses in house.

Stainless Steels
Wrought Iron
Normal metal(need to maintain/can get rusted)

The top 2 is maintaince free. I'm doing my house too & choosing the 2nd one.
AzimAdhwa
post Nov 4 2010, 12:44 AM

84 posts

not
tyhuang
post Nov 4 2010, 09:18 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(ckming1 @ Nov 3 2010, 11:24 PM)
Hello, I am in the process of ordering grilles for my house.  I was told that it will be more expensive if I use flat thin mild steel bar compared to those hollow mild steel bars.  Is this true?
yes..flat thin mild steel is more padat, usually the rate is just slightly maybe extra RM2 per ft. i oso did the flat 1 but u need to consider if you have kids running around and climbing it as it will bengkok easily...Pro - more solid and heavy and look abit invisible Cons - can bengkok easily if kids start to climb

numbertwo
post Nov 4 2010, 09:27 AM

1,784 posts

Hi tyhuang, it sounds weird, if the bar is 'more padat' and solid, how can it be bengkok easily? pls enlighten?
Eleganz Concept
post Nov 4 2010, 10:26 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Nov 4 2010, 09:27 AM)
Hi tyhuang, it sounds weird, if the bar is 'more padat' and solid, how can it be bengkok easily?  pls enlighten?
actually is just depent on the way of doing, example if the door size is 3ft(W), the best way is you have a divider in between, so that when the bar go in is just 1.5ft & 1.5ft, that is more solid and hard to "bengkok", but if you want look nicer, ppl may just ignore the divider, put the bar in with 3ft, that too long and sure easy to bengkok.
tyhuang
post Nov 4 2010, 11:12 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Nov 4 2010, 10:26 AM)
actually is just depent on the way of doing, example if the door size is 3ft(W), the best way is you have a divider in between, so that when the bar go in is just 1.5ft & 1.5ft, that is more solid and hard to "bengkok", but if you want look nicer, ppl may just ignore the divider, put the bar in with 3ft, that too long and sure easy to bengkok.
exactly...in my case, my window is around 2ft..when i press it, i can feel...but wat to do.....it's more nicer that the hollow steel... smile.gif maybe if kids spoilt it nex time, just change to the rod iron type..sure safe but abit old fashion only...
better make up your mind lor...both got pro and cons
Eleganz Concept
post Nov 4 2010, 04:30 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(tyhuang @ Nov 4 2010, 11:12 AM)
exactly...in my case, my window is around 2ft..when i press it, i can feel...but wat to do.....it's more nicer that the hollow steel... smile.gif maybe if kids spoilt it nex time, just change to the rod iron type..sure safe but abit old fashion only...
better make up your mind lor...both got pro and cons
I see, but whrought iron grille not really only old fashion, actually u can choose a simple design without flower, then ask your contractor to spray it into white colour but not the golden colour, that will become a bit modern and batter matrial.

This post has been edited by Eleganz Concept: Nov 4 2010, 05:08 PM
TSckming1
post Nov 4 2010, 04:57 PM

QUOTE(tyhuang @ Nov 4 2010, 09:18 AM)
yes..flat thin mild steel is more padat, usually the rate is just slightly maybe extra RM2 per ft. i oso did the flat 1 but u need to consider if you have kids running around and climbing it as it will bengkok easily...Pro - more solid and heavy and look abit invisible  Cons - can bengkok easily if kids start to climb

Thank you, folks for the confirmation. I was told by my contractor that it is 25% more compared to hollow mild steel. Not sure if it is correct or not.

Ya, I reckon that if the flat mild steel bar is too long without support, it will bend easily, but IMO it looks nicer for grilles compared to hollow mild steel bar.

0.0153sec    1.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:13 AM