Grille, Is flat thin bar more expensive?
tyhuang
Nov 4 2010, 09:18 AM

QUOTE(ckming1 @ Nov 3 2010, 11:24 PM) Hello, I am in the process of ordering grilles for my house. I was told that it will be more expensive if I use flat thin mild steel bar compared to those hollow mild steel bars. Is this true? yes..flat thin mild steel is more padat, usually the rate is just slightly maybe extra RM2 per ft. i oso did the flat 1 but u need to consider if you have kids running around and climbing it as it will bengkok easily...Pro - more solid and heavy and look abit invisible Cons - can bengkok easily if kids start to climb
tyhuang
Nov 4 2010, 11:12 AM

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Nov 4 2010, 10:26 AM) actually is just depent on the way of doing, example if the door size is 3ft(W), the best way is you have a divider in between, so that when the bar go in is just 1.5ft & 1.5ft, that is more solid and hard to "bengkok", but if you want look nicer, ppl may just ignore the divider, put the bar in with 3ft, that too long and sure easy to bengkok. exactly...in my case, my window is around 2ft..when i press it, i can feel...but wat to do.....it's more nicer that the hollow steel...  maybe if kids spoilt it nex time, just change to the rod iron type..sure safe but abit old fashion only... better make up your mind lor...both got pro and cons