Nokia N900 V8 (More than 160 owners), All Maemo-ians check in!

N900rocks
post Nov 25 2010, 12:44 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(one1002 @ Nov 25 2010, 12:31 AM)
lol...u have a lot of rootfs space.........mine is 70++..there's nothing to worry about...seriously....don't let that gets into your mind....ok?stop worrying, and continue enjoying your phone.......even if its 50mb, it's still ok..and you can clean the space not only by the command u entered, but also by disabling all repositories...

so no harms done to it...dont worry about it..
been with it for a month plus and im stiill in love with it=D first time=D flashed for 4/5 times d i think. lol.
zero_kbom
post Nov 25 2010, 04:25 AM

~I'll make you Miku Miku~
965 posts

Ya ha, turns that I'm right about the conflicting package preventing my N810 soft keyboard to pop up. laugh.gif
Uninstall and everything went back to normal.
Upgraded to Community SSU and although it seems that the N810 be much better than before, I felt that Tear web browser become much buggier than before sweat.gif

Ah well, it still the best browser IMHO for Maemo 4 icon_rolleyes.gif
zdentws
post Nov 25 2010, 05:38 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 24 2010, 06:03 PM)
Haven't got time to update.Maybe tonight.
Reboot or try unplugging the battery.
Type "root" at terminal
Copy paste each 1 one line in terminal.
i tried reboot .. same thing.. hahaa... dunno why with tat weird number for alarms...
meLi
post Nov 25 2010, 09:11 AM

674 posts

QUOTE(one1002 @ Nov 24 2010, 11:34 PM)
did u manually type or copy and paste?

i copied and pasted without no prob..the thing is, i did it with winscp and opened the terminal from winscp and did all those commands from there..didn't touch my N900 at all during the typing..

or perhaps..you could create a script..

CODE
#this will clear the root space around ~10mb
mkdir -p /home/var/lib
mv /var/lib/apt /home/var/lib
ln -s /home/var/lib/apt /var/lib
mv /var/lib/dpkg /home/var/lib
ln -s /home/var/lib/dpkg /var/lib
mkdir -p /home/var/cache
mv /var/cache/apt /home/var/cache
ln -s /home/var/cache/apt /var/cache

save it as for example - root.sh (or any other name) using notepad++. you can download the app here http://download.tuxfamily.org/notepadplus/...5.Installer.exe

after saving it as .sh extension, copy the file to mydocs, and from terminal,

root
cd /home/user/MyDocs
sh root.sh

it should do everything for u
This the good idea to avoid mispell or wrongly copy and paste. Sifu SEA should make 1 script for this and put at FP easy to others just run the script. Bro looking for me ?

tq

This post has been edited by meLi: Nov 25 2010, 09:11 AM
arsaa
post Nov 25 2010, 09:24 AM

234 posts

hi there.....i've installed kernel v46 in my n900....after 2 attempt....my camera won't work....it give back "operation failed" everytime I open my camera slide.....fcam also doesn't work....

is there a way to solve this?

if not maybe someone could share on how to go back to kernel v37 which I manage to still use my camera without problem.

tq!
firstknight
post Nov 25 2010, 09:31 AM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(meLi @ Nov 25 2010, 09:11 AM)
This the good idea to avoid mispell or wrongly copy and paste. Sifu SEA should make 1 script for this and put at FP easy to others just run the script. Bro looking for me ?

tq
TQ sifu SEA for the script... hehee
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 25 2010, 09:32 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(meLi @ Nov 25 2010, 09:11 AM)

tq
Ok...
Someone test this script please.

Attached File  rootclear.zip ( 214bytes ) Number of downloads: 8

QUOTE(arsaa @ Nov 25 2010, 09:24 AM)
hi there.....i've installed kernel v46 in my n900....after 2 attempt....my camera won't work....it give back "operation failed" everytime I open my camera slide.....fcam also doesn't work....

if not maybe someone could share on how to go back to kernel v37 which I manage to still use my camera without problem.

tq!
Uninstall v46 through desktop/menu shortcut
Disable extra testing & extra devel
Refresh the repo again & you should see the v37 now.
Install it.

Have you tried installing fcam driver patch with v46?
arsaa
post Nov 25 2010, 09:53 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 25 2010, 09:32 AM)

Uninstall v46 through desktop/menu shortcut
Disable extra testing & extra devel
Refresh the repo again & you should see the v37 now.
Install it.

Have you tried installing fcam driver patch with v46?
Mr. Alien,

I thought we are not suppose to use the desktop shortcut to uninstall the kernel? hhehe....what i did I've revert back to omap1 standard n900 kernel....

anyway....right now the only available is v42 after I disable extra testing and extra devel.....v42 is the culprit when I first discover my camera cannot work after I install it....haih....

Fcam driver patch....where can I get it?
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 25 2010, 10:00 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(arsaa @ Nov 25 2010, 09:53 AM)
Mr. Alien,

I thought we are not suppose  to use  the desktop shortcut to uninstall the kernel? hhehe....what i did I've revert back to omap1 standard n900 kernel....

anyway....right now the only available is v42 after I disable extra testing and extra devel.....v42 is the culprit when I first discover my camera cannot work after I install it....haih....

Fcam driver patch....where can I get it?
If I'm not mistaken you should use the desktop shortcut.

Fcam driver - http://n900.tannerlab.com/kernel/fcam/fcam...0.7-1_armel.deb
meLi
post Nov 25 2010, 10:01 AM

674 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 25 2010, 10:00 AM)
If I'm not mistaken you should use the desktop shortcut.

Fcam driver - http://n900.tannerlab.com/kernel/fcam/fcam...0.7-1_armel.deb
Latest 1.0.7-2 http://repository.maemo.org/extras-devel/p...0.7-2_armel.deb

tq
arsaa
post Nov 25 2010, 10:04 AM

234 posts

my bad again....sorry for the lack of knowledge....

i've tried the 0.7-1 fcam driver which I think is the same version what i'm running now.....i will try the 0.7-2 now.....

thank you!

Added on November 25, 2010, 11:06 amI'm stuck with updating the fcam drivers....

I've download the driver via my n900.....and try to open it with apps manager....

somehow it "unable to update 'fcam-drivers'. Incompatible application package....

where did I go wrong here....haih...

This post has been edited by arsaa: Nov 25 2010, 11:06 AM
firstknight
post Nov 25 2010, 11:57 AM

2,681 posts

Ok...

rootclear success about 10MB freed....
generalhwh
post Nov 25 2010, 12:02 PM

208 posts

guys..where to buy d stylus??i just lost mine...damn it!....lowyat plaza?
Josh_M
post Nov 25 2010, 12:03 PM

1,604 posts

Ok...

sh rootclear.sh
oni 8mb
meLi
post Nov 25 2010, 12:08 PM

674 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Nov 25 2010, 11:57 AM)
rootclear success about 10MB freed....
some space to clear. If u already run sifu SEA then can run this only for another root free space.

mv /usr/share/nokia-maps /home/opt
ln -s /home/opt/nokia-maps /usr/share/nokia-maps

mv /usr/share/microb-engine /home/opt
ln -s /home/opt/microb-engine /usr/share/microb-engine

mkdir -p /home/bootscreen
mv /usr/share/hildon-welcome/media /home/bootscreen
ln -s /home/bootscreen/media /usr/share/hildon-welcome/media

This script include SEA + above script. Script must run once only and if u already run it manually before, don't run this script again

Attached File  rootclr.zip ( 753bytes ) Number of downloads: 7

TQ

This post has been edited by meLi: Nov 25 2010, 12:35 PM
N900rocks
post Nov 25 2010, 12:31 PM

420 posts

sifu meli, where is your webox deb file ??? i cant see it in 4shared or dropbox=S

Added on November 25, 2010, 12:34 pm
QUOTE(arsaa @ Nov 25 2010, 09:24 AM)

tq!
iim using kernel v46 and i have no problem with camera or fcam. lol

This post has been edited by N900rocks: Nov 25 2010, 12:34 PM
meLi
post Nov 25 2010, 12:42 PM

674 posts

QUOTE(N900rocks @ Nov 25 2010, 12:31 PM)
sifu meli, where is your webox deb file ??? i cant see it in 4shared or dropbox=S

Added on November 25, 2010, 12:34 pm
iim using kernel v46 and i have no problem with camera or fcam. lol
4shared not yet finish upload. If i put in dropbox yr dropbox will full. Mostly user here have 2GB space in dropbox.

This post has been edited by meLi: Nov 25 2010, 12:43 PM
N900rocks
post Nov 25 2010, 12:45 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(meLi @ Nov 25 2010, 12:42 PM)
4shared not yet finish upload. If i put in dropbox yr dropbox will full. Mostly user here have 2GB space in dropbox.
owh ya..mine is already 101% in use...=S nvm. dl the ipk files 1st=D
satz
post Nov 25 2010, 12:59 PM

310 posts

ye ye !!! Finally i managed to run NItDROID on N900 using Emmc !!!!!
in the internal memory !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

awesome phone !! super smooth !
N900rocks
post Nov 25 2010, 01:10 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(satz @ Nov 25 2010, 12:59 PM)
ye ye !!! Finally i managed to run NItDROID on N900 using Emmc !!!!!
in the internal memory !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

awesome phone !! super smooth !
according the front page method?=)

126 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0174sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:45 PM