Nokia N900 V8 (More than 160 owners), All Maemo-ians check in!

satz
post Nov 15 2010, 07:13 AM

310 posts

bro..!! another N900 owner here !!!!!!!!
simply superb awesomely made phone..

been linux fan since long time..
bought maemo.. its worth every single cent..!

regards
satz
satz
post Nov 18 2010, 09:23 PM

310 posts

sifus !! m having a problem with nitdroid

i did everysingle thing as in the net..

repartioned and stuf... hence, my nitdroid files are located in mmcblk0p4
forth partition on emmc..

i dont have a sd card. try to boot. it asks for mmcblk1p4 instead of 0.
so i changed the *.item file in the multiboot.d, still it says root file system not found in \mmcblk0p4

wat m i doing wrongly??
satz
post Nov 18 2010, 09:54 PM

310 posts

what is your *.item looks like ?

11-NITDroid-mmcblk0p4-2.6.28.NIT.06.item

inside d file :
item_name ="nit droid on ...."
item_kernel=2.6.28.NIT.06
item_modules=ext3 fat vfat
item_device=\${INT_CARD}p4
item_fstype=ext3
item_fsoptions=rw,noatime,errors=remount-ro

m very sure the item_device is the problem, it keeps pointing that the root fs in not found in mmcblk0p4

i tried both with n without "\" sigh in the item_device part..
satz
post Nov 18 2010, 10:47 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Nov 18 2010, 10:09 PM)
try making the item_modules to ext3 only

also, u dont need the backslash '\' in item_device.

btw, post the screenshot of ur fdisk table
pic in the attachment
satz
post Nov 19 2010, 01:21 AM

310 posts

sifus !

i somehow managed to boot.. i forgot to unmount the file system.. dats d problem.. hehe..

but now another prob.. already boot.. but then the screen is blank.. n got small cursor at the top most left corner.. n blank forever..

any ideas?
satz
post Nov 19 2010, 03:32 PM

310 posts

any idea on y nitdroid is keep on showing blank black screen and small cursor "_" and the end of top left screen??
satz
post Nov 19 2010, 03:37 PM

310 posts

i mean.. it loads up the kernel.. den fs is loaded as well... after around 10 to 15 seconds, the screen goesn blank n there is underscore symbol _
at the screen's top most left..
satz
post Nov 19 2010, 04:47 PM

310 posts

i tried installing again into internal memory..
still it goes blank.. haiz..
satz
post Nov 25 2010, 12:59 PM

310 posts

ye ye !!! Finally i managed to run NItDROID on N900 using Emmc !!!!!
in the internal memory !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

awesome phone !! super smooth !
satz
post Nov 25 2010, 01:15 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(N900rocks @ Nov 25 2010, 01:10 PM)
according the front page method?=)
well.. not all of dem do work..
i guess many should have their own experience on installing it..

satz
post Nov 25 2010, 01:23 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(N900rocks @ Nov 25 2010, 01:17 PM)
why dont you share your steps here?=D
hehe.. well m at work now.. will post it once m back home at night

basically, backup first smile.gif

den repartition the whole 27 gb disc.
make 1 (1.7 gb ext3 partition)
another 1 of fat (remaining size)

install multi boot
extract whole nitdroid file to the ext3 partition upon mounting
install the kernel file (deb)

make sure settings are correct in the .item file in the multiboot.d path
in the device part (.item file) = jz write the exact ext3 partition number

for my phone : mmcblk0p4 (internal memory)

make sure to unmount the ext3 partition !!!
den reboot...

if got hang.. or blank, recopy the whole nitdroid files again...

btw m not using the most latest version... jz to try the nitdroid, i use the older one.. Nitdroid fly or somethin similar..

will update later at nite..
see ya !!

0.0444sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:43 PM