Please recommend a reliable house alarm system, Alarm system - PARADOX Home Security

weikee
post Jun 12 2011, 02:24 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Jun 12 2011, 01:07 AM)
2 magnetic sensors? Only the door? What happen to the window?
I guess your internal alarm refer to the alarm sound, rights?
Windows, assuming with steel frame, it will use vibration sensor.

You need to check how many zone system they give you, and is it possible to add more zone?

weikee
post Jun 15 2011, 03:43 PM

12,019 posts

What i know lighting are not cover. Unless is given or inform upfront before purchase.

weikee
post Jun 28 2011, 11:05 AM

12,019 posts

Wire is always better. Get an alarm system with smoke detector too.
weikee
post Jun 28 2011, 12:56 PM

12,019 posts

A good wireless sensor battery life can last typical 24 to 36 months depend what type of sensor. Motion sensor required more battery power. Replacement will be really costly, can you imagine changing 20 Lithium Ions battery? Assuming RM 15 for one battery, you do the math. That is assuming you have 2 motion sensor, and 12 shock sensor. If you have more you buy more.

My knowledge in wireless alarm are limited, i know more on Wired cause my friend do for commercial and bank.

I'll say a good wired alarm system with good wiring are maintenance free.

For wireless maybe just a simple system is ok, for entire house coverage wired are better.
weikee
post Jun 28 2011, 02:25 PM

12,019 posts

Another common problem with Alarm, please isolate the phone line.

If not you risk frying the alarm controller.
weikee
post Jun 28 2011, 04:39 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(escargo75 @ Jun 28 2011, 02:44 PM)
Thanks weikee for the explanation. RM15 per battery serious? How come the wireless alarm salesman tell me each battery is only RM2.50??
Unless they use AA or AAA. Button, lithium and CR123 is not that cheap.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jun 28 2011, 04:39 PM
weikee
post Jun 29 2011, 10:26 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Jun 29 2011, 09:04 AM)
wired :
pros - maintenance free
cons - need to do wiring throughout the house..
        - the wiring can get faulty .. possibly eaten by rat, or deterioriate itself
          due to aging, or bad installation..

wireless
pros - no need wiring
      - you change the sensor location anytime, anywhere. And maybe you
        want to put the sensors on your cupboard or drawer if you like.. and maybe
        stick it at your front gate if the sensor can withstand outdoor condition.
cons - need to change battery periodically..
        - if the sensor is put on the roof, you need to climb your roof to change the battery.
As for me, if money not a problem, i'd go for wired, or maybe get both, so I can get
the advantages of both world.
Proper wire system will not expose too much wire. It risk being tamper by thief. Usually all are conceal and only the connection to the sensor are expose "minimal"
weikee
post Aug 18 2011, 11:59 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Aug 18 2011, 12:19 AM)
Hi sifu-sifus,

Has anyone of you installed wireless cctv or surveilance camera? When i mean wireless I mean both data transmiting and also cctv DC power (so it use battery), no data cable or power wiring involved.

Reason being I had my house reno done and didn't add a socket point in front of main door, suddenly thinking of adding a cctv in front of main door (due to the frequent happen break-in case lately). I dont want to re-hack again.

Is anyone of you using such wireless cctv? how is the battery lifespan, i am assuming the lifespan much shorter since it power a big camera compare to a magnetic/shock sensors.

Any good brand to recommend?
Never see this use before. You maybe the first i know using smile.gif Most important get the low Lux for high sensitivity. Maybe the camera only trigger when it sense movement, this will reduce the battery usage, and increase lifespan. Just like some DVR, it only record when detect movement, will reduce storage.
weikee
post Feb 20 2012, 11:06 AM

12,019 posts

The key of getting good alarm system is the sensors. Even a good brand installer want to cheat they can use lousy sensors.
weikee
post Aug 27 2015, 06:08 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 27 2015, 01:39 PM)
For a double story house is about RM3500
For paradox, your price is cheap, is it 8 zones?. Does it come with ip150 internet module?
weikee
post Aug 27 2015, 07:00 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 27 2015, 06:59 PM)
Yes is 8 zones but no internet module
Price not too bad, paradox wireless not cheap
weikee
post Aug 27 2015, 07:55 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 27 2015, 07:02 PM)
Yeah but is almost 5 years ago
Haha, like that I take back my word. Don't know the price 5 years back.
weikee
post Sep 27 2015, 09:59 AM

12,019 posts

Installation may not be simple, but if you are a know how of alarm wiring, and know how to adjust alarm sensitivity. It should not be that hard maybe a one full day of work. Adjustments and configuration may take couple of hours.

You need to first know your wiring zoning.
weikee
post Dec 3 2016, 08:26 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ee7han @ Dec 3 2016, 02:08 AM)
the thing is i don't know how to operate the system, don't even have user manual.. the buttons mean what, error messages mean what, how many sensors installed, all don't know.  sweat.gif
Did they give you the code, and maintenance code? without one of it (can't recall which one), you need to send back to the Paradox service center to reset.
weikee
post Mar 27 2017, 10:14 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(idealhometech @ Mar 27 2017, 09:37 PM)
Yes, there are few Dahua models affected, especially immitation/clone Dahua DVR/IPCam.
Please consult your installer/supplier to get the latest firmware update.

Those who not yet hacked, our advice is turn off the UPNP (Auto Port Forwarding) in your DVR, do manual port forwarding, Don't use Port 80 as HTTP Port, and also Don't use P2P if possible, and also use stronger password.
Since 2015, thier servers and cctv been haked many times, Best of all the ccrv have been used as zombies
weikee
post Mar 30 2017, 09:56 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(corosadia @ Mar 29 2017, 10:58 PM)
This is the paradox SP6000 series (6 zones) i'm planning to get with the IP module that will call your phone in case of any anomaly in the alarm system. I'm tagging on Dahua CCTV with two cameras - one in front of house and one at the back.

Paradox is RM4,230 and CCTV (with surveillance-standard hard disk recorder) is RM1,590 for total of RM5819. The two systems are separate and not linkable.

should be a sensible all-rounder security without going overboard.

Available from installer CD Security of Puchong, which specialises only in Paradox alarm. CD Security is a new installer firm and the guy in charge has 6 years experience in the business.

Ref: https://www.facebook.com/CD-Security-1084224015008743/
IP150 cannot call phone lah. Is a internet module (like henryj8 mention), it can also do triggers because it have two I/O.

I suggest you add an internal siren too, because sometime if alarm was trigger and home owner happy sleeping in a/c room, they may not notice is being trigger, it also will shock the theft.
weikee
post Apr 2 2017, 06:47 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(idealhometech @ Apr 2 2017, 06:39 PM)
Ya, that is another way. Disable the port forwarding, jz use P2P.
Coz i believe they hack it thru IP.
The hacker may already plant the zombies inside, is better to flash the entire rom to be sure.

This post has been edited by weikee: Apr 2 2017, 06:48 PM
weikee
post Apr 2 2017, 06:52 PM

12,019 posts

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2016...o-mount-assault
weikee
post Sep 6 2017, 08:54 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(bluepenguinKills @ Sep 5 2017, 07:22 PM)
Had to resurrect this thread seeking some answers to my Paradox issue.

I recently found out that my TBL light '2' starts to light up. From the manual, it is related to internal power issues. I suspect this could be the backup battery.

I could not arm the system due to this. Attempt to reach Winson to fix it is futile. Guess he is no more on the business. I should have gone for ADT instead of Paradon.

Anyone experience similar issue? If its the battery, probably replacing it would work. Just wanted to know if anyone else experience the same.
When was the last time you change the battery?
weikee
post Sep 6 2017, 12:26 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(bluepenguinKills @ Sep 6 2017, 10:15 AM)
Never since it was installed. Installed back in April 2015 if not mistaken. The TBL lights start to 'shine' around July this year. Possible?  hmm.gif
Is the TBL 2-1, or TBL2-2?, or TBL2-3? Maybe you can try replace battery first 2-1 is low battery.
http://www.belcosecurity.com/webshaper/pcm...0by%20BELCO.pdf

There is old thread you can check, talk about paradox and check with the other seller/technician.

0.0261sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:14 PM