Please recommend a reliable house alarm system, Alarm system - PARADOX Home Security

craftsnknots
post Jul 18 2012, 09:53 AM

577 posts

I just want to share something; I received this from mum this morning fwd-ed from their residents community.

"With the increasing news on crime within Klang Valley, my family & I are now part of the statistics. As hard & as painful it is for me to relate the incident, I feel it's important with the hope that none of you will ever ever be in such horrific situation.

It's habitual for my husband & I to sit at our porch for our...morning coffee/newspaper as well as evening quality time with our dogs and also with each other. Tuesday (26 June) night was like any other nights for us. We were sitting at our porch; chatting while surfing the net on our respective phone/laptop. <Note: We always sit facing the main gate to ensure that we have good view of the road as well as the surroundings>

At approx. 11pm, my husband went into the house to take something from the room upstairs. Out of nowhere, 5 Indian men in ski masks & gloves armed with parangs jumped over our main gate (like ninjas as they were so quiet and only took about 5 secs), I screamed but was immediately shown the parang and taken into the house where my 2yrs old son was (woken up from his sleep but still in a daze). I pleaded for my son's safety and was allowed to carry him with me upstairs.

In the meantime, 3 of the guys already rushed upstairs and held the parang to my husband's neck. All 3 of us were held in our bedroom while they ransacked the house; demanding for cash & jewellery n threaten to hurt our son if we do not. They even demanded for the key to the Honda. In fear, we obliged and gave whatever we have. Then they wanted to tie us up with cable tie (which they came prepared) but we pleaded not to as we have a young son to care for. Luckily they agreed but said some threatening words and left.

When we replayed our CCTV footage, this whole nightmare lasted for only 7mins from the moment they jumped over the gate and drove off in our car (and there was also another guy waiting in another car, gray/silver Proton Waja) which felt like forever to us.

Please take this as Learnings:
1. Don't take chances and avoid putting yourself in any risky situation (In our case, we shouldn't be siting at the porch so late at night. We took for granted and assumed that our home is and always will be our safe haven)
2. You will never know when a robbery/snatch theft/etc gonna strike (We thought we have 'eyes' on the surrounding but it took only a few seconds for the robbers to jump over the gate)
3. If ever in such horrific situation (which I pray none of you will ever need to go through), stay calm (cry/scream hysterically may aggravate matters)

I thank God that my family & I came out of this ordeal unharmed. Admittedly, emotionally and mentally, we would need time to come out of it which I believe we will with the support from our families & friends.

Please be alert at all times, don't take anything for granted and stay safe, my friends."

And So I have 2 questions,
1) which alarm system comes with 2 codes to disarm the alarm. Say when we accidentally trigger the alarm ourselves we can just disarm it, what about when they break in and held me captive and asked me to disarm it, is there a system that wld allow a different code to disarm but still send help? Avantis guys just came over few weeks ago before i left the country, the guy said no one ask before and he does not know but will come back to me, but i am only home next week..so I dont know..charging me RM2500

2) when the above happened and we are outside the house but within the compound, alarm does not work right? what else can we do? Is there any system with a 'carry around alarm trigger'?
craftsnknots
post Jul 18 2012, 10:26 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(mhhee @ Jul 18 2012, 11:12 AM)
1. Most of the alarm systems have this system where you can press button to trigger help to Guard House, Ambulance & Police Station, PROVIDED the system has been linked to their network. (At least mine have, Avantis AX1) But I doubt this about ours since we're not having the same alarm system & network. So cannot be done.  tongue.gif  I guess those GnG houses should have this system pre-installed in house.

For the scenario that you mentioned "When they break in & held me captive & asked me to disarm it" Hmm... If they break it then the alarm should triggers already & siren will sound, then if you have preset the telephone no in the system then it will dial to the no that you preset. May be you can set one of your family members telephone no which is not staying with you?

2. Most of the alarm system can be equipped with remote control with alarm trigger function. Else, using your phone to dial special code to activate/diactivate the function. Even DCMoto/Casa Asia autogate system have this panic trigger function if you installed siren on top of the box. Another high tech way is using... "YOUR MOUTH TO SCREAM" tongue.gif
They will call 4 numbers...so what if they call me but i am held at knife-point, i cannot say 'please save me' ma...if first number dont pick up, then they call 2nd and 3rd and watever..so the other member will still call you or go check..by then jadi bubur already wat if....dunno..I'm worried..and this is TTDI Hills Residents...The guy also quote me Avantix AX1 but RM2500, how much is yours? With CCTV 8 units is RM8800 in total
craftsnknots
post Jul 18 2012, 10:56 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(mhhee @ Jul 18 2012, 11:44 AM)
Max is 8 no that you can set. I think if the alarm system wanted to call 8 telephone in row, then shouldn't be more than 4 mins. tongue.gif Provided 30 sec max for each no.

Same price as you for AX1 but I have 3 PIR sensors. One thing to note, very important one. Mr. Kok is good but his installer is like shit when doing works so just be careful because my basin/tiles/door frame/wall all scratched & cracked by them.  doh.gif But if you monitoring them then I think should be ok.

RM8800 for 8 channels CCTV... 620 TV Line Cameras & DVR System, 4 IR Outdoor & 4 IR Dome with cable concealed. Right? I guess this is standard market price lor. I DIY myself also spent around RM3000 inclusive cable concealed (RM50 per point but I provided the cable) but I got those better quality one lar.
err...I dunno wat spec what TV line thing what dome thing..coz my friend and my sister check for me, I left very fast coz need to go airport...they only text me 8 biji cctv and unifi and connection cannot put downstairs near the storeroom but upstairs living because the wires will go below plaster ceiling and its ugly..something like this...the rest of the stuff i dunno and dun understand haha..I will get paradox to come when I am back ..thanks ya
craftsnknots
post Jul 18 2012, 03:56 PM

577 posts

I dont know what dog, this is at TTDI Hills, my mum's place..and it is very common that ppl sit at their porch...haih..what is happening to Malaysia..we're not save even in our own house and compound...

But I'm also thinking..if we over-do the alarm and cctv, fence and all these..wouldnt it shows that we have 'stuff' that are very valuable and would make the big timer robbers wanting to rob ours for more loot than a simple one for small loot within the same period of time?
craftsnknots
post Jul 18 2012, 04:07 PM

577 posts

so to what extend of a system is considered good enough and the rest depends on your luck...coz if unlucky wat security also no use...
craftsnknots
post Jul 18 2012, 05:33 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(xerox1234 @ Jul 18 2012, 06:08 PM)
Bro tomjason, nowaday very different already, crime rate very high. Simple simple they also go to you .... I guess we need to change and have better protection from police force smile.gif
haha..ya...i think best is to change police force...then no need all these extra wires running around the house and camera everywhere

0.0386sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:10 PM