Please recommend a reliable house alarm system, Alarm system - PARADOX Home Security

bhtan
post Jun 15 2011, 03:39 PM

241 posts

My wireless alarm was fried by lightning. Does anyone know any alarm system (including Paradox) has warranty against lightning strike? If got, i would rather have a mid range alarm system with good lightning warranty than sophisticated one which will be fried soon!
bhtan
post Jun 15 2011, 05:26 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Intel@Atom @ Jun 15 2011, 05:28 PM)
ask ur alarm sifu connect the alarm via a surge protector; not sure can or not.. lol
Actually Paradox does provide a lightning arrestor. This will reduce the risk but your chance is still 50-50 and there is still no warranty on it. I live is relatively high land area and have 2 alarm casualties to prove it!
bhtan
post Aug 13 2011, 11:24 PM

241 posts

I wouldn't say Paradox is high end as I am having it now in my house. It is reasonably price but it lacks some nice to have faetures that I would like to have. For example, there is no voice module to inform you when you arm and disarm your system; the GSM module is not stable; the standard configuration does not include Internet accessibility; the door opened chime volume in alarm off mode cannot be adjusted to louder volume, etc etc. Of course mine is the standard configuration and not Magellan.

That said, it is quite reliable as it works as intended and I do not encounter any false alarm so far.

bhtan
post Aug 18 2011, 06:17 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(bteoh @ Aug 16 2011, 12:39 AM)
i had a paradox from forum intro winson.....not yet kau tim.....

but there is a voice module(using fix line), come in package.  i wonder if you are looking for something else???
That is for you to call in and hear the status as well as connected to your fixed line/Unifi to call you when the alarm is triggered. I am referring to voice response when you on or off your alarm when you are inside the house, when you open a door in a zone, batteries running out, etc

0.0266sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:59 PM