Video/Audio My Songs, post songs of OUR OWN creations!
TSmodD
Jun 2 2005, 12:45 AM, updated 19y ago
 i hope this thread can be continued for members to post their recorded songs... modDMetal SongsSilent - here's one of mine. it sounds fine on my pc, but crap when played on my hi-fi. i need to learn how to properly mix and master recordings. a lot of the parts in this song was lifted from various songs coz i lack the creativity Filtered Sense - an old song. crap sound... but i loved the drum beats. sadly i lost the fruityloops file and have no time to re-create it. forgive the fret-wanking.Fearful Solution - another old song, remade. No solos, coz i'm trying to focus on the overall sound. i think this is the best sounding song i have ever made. heavy guitars, heavy drums.Metal modD Pants - A Song I recorded for the 3rd Improvisation Challenge.ElectronicaA Japanese Dream - my first electronica song... i used Acid Pro 4, and the vocals were taken from some japanese language learning site.Jewel - Foolish Games (modD remix) - i chose this song to try out the Vocal Extractor function in Adobe Audition, using the 'Acapella' preset.The Resort - cool dance song Running Away - Trance all the way!Travelling Back - this time, it's a house songnick_drakeConfettiHuzaiSyns - Go And GoneiMaybe/No More/OceanthesexpistolsCirit Birit - using Fruity Loops for the drums and my cheap guitar and ampAnimeSanhttp://www.myspace.com/zitsqueezerlandsiaukiabeen making it throughout this year (2005) after i crumbled down from a relationship, all either its picked or sturmming ;o acoustica-ismWhyFarnNovemberBreatheMoonChangeThanksRoomUntitled - The song's about memories at how thing started in my life. Sparkled and brighten up like never before. A little bit of happiness left inside me that i wanted to let her know. Up until now, i can't find a word to carve a word for this song, because i was left speechless. And yes, it will be rerecorded with my friends as a band soon.Hopefully smile.gif Hope you'll enjoy this song as much as i do, the song in my life i ever composed. Cheers.People - The second song I've ever composed, i felt that this expressed my inner thought of what my life are to be, journeys with different people, environment around, changing rapidly, which we may never predict what's to come next, who come or who go. It even feels weird when i think my life's like an RPG game, with experience points to level up myself, to reach different stages and levels. but it is just weird, just weird. Hope you'll enjoy it.Ache - Most emotional song I've ever written, deep within myself, a pain that can't be described upon words. Words and the melody just came out of my mind at the middle of the night in a dark gloomy room of mine. But it is something that I could dig it down inside and bring it out from myself. A pain that can't seem to be healed by anything. And yes, I've determined that I'll even rerecord this song again, with a band. Hope that you feel what I feel, peace.Ethnicity - http://nigelng.freehostia.com/chrisfelix - Myspace / ChannelV Ampphear - Cherry Blossom Time (Kotaro Oshio Cover)hoongernhttp://files.graceabundant.com/mine/album/...y%20Imagine.mp3http://files.graceabundant.com/mine/album/...my%20Desire.mp3limkokgin - Myspacegapnap - http://www.i-bands.net/audiovault/bands/1525/music.phpyuejon - Dire Dilemmas websitegizmoduck - Cloudburst Myspacejoeboto - Negarakucoriandery - http://www.myspace.com/lawsofmusicThis post has been edited by modD: Oct 19 2007, 03:35 PM
TSmodD
Jun 2 2005, 01:06 AM
i've changed the link so that it connects through ftp. should be okay now...
TSmodD
Jun 2 2005, 10:58 AM
thanks!
for the drums and bass tracks, i used fruityloops producer. you can get ultra-realistic sounds with that software. with some more tweaks, i could make it sound purely human!
i exported the drums n bass parts into .wav files and mixed it all in Adobe Audition, which is formerly Cooledit Pro. then i recorded the guitar parts.
the rythm guitars were recorded in seperately for left and right tracks. recording in stereo makes it sound so much 'bigger'. i used both my epiphone les paul and ibanez rg to get that different types of tone for each left and right track.
the solo was sh!t alright, but i'm kinda satisfied with the sound. one tip: for solos, don't use too much gain or you'll get screeching trebly sound, unless you actually wanna make it sound like Pantera's solos.
now, how do i get the all the instruments to sing together? what should i improve? jacking up the bass level? drums?
TSmodD
Jun 2 2005, 02:03 PM
Pix: i've put up the link for YouSendIt in the 1st post
TSmodD
Jun 2 2005, 10:06 PM
thx guys! (or girls???) led_zep_freak: the guitars used were an Ibanez RG470, Epi Leps Paul Gothic, plugged into my Zoom GFX-8. pix: yeah, i wasn't really happy with the snare sound. i tried looking for a fatter sound, but couldn't find one so i settled on this one. i should've humanized the drum tracks more, like offsetting the beats and volume on random beats a bit, but a bit malas i'd say hehe... about the guitar solo, i did about 8-10 takes so i probably was feeling a bit tensed coz my clumsy fingers kept making mistakes here n there. what you heard was me try to be too careful with my fingerings, resulting in a stiff solo. no tremolos etc... thanks for the ego-stroking compliments and the building criticisms... i'll definitely post more of my songs for you to nitpick!
TSmodD
Jun 3 2005, 04:45 PM
thesexpistols: sure aku bleh tolong. ada msn/YM? or if you wanna ask anything in particular, can ask here. i don't have complete knowledge of fruityloops, mind you!
techmax: thanks! i can't put vocals becoz my suara very tak sedap hehe... any vocalists here wanna contribute their voice? i've got lots of metal songs without vocals.
This post has been edited by modD: Jun 3 2005, 04:48 PM
TSmodD
Jun 3 2005, 05:51 PM
axe: the title is Silent because the main riff was lifted from another malaysian metal legend - Silent Death!
btw, As-Sahar & Sil-Khannaz both have a great influence in my when i was in school. You have their songs in mp3?
TSmodD
Jun 6 2005, 12:14 PM
chapree: i didn't like how the rythm guitar came out... you're right, no attack. they were fairly ok when i first recorded, but when i tried to mix everything, i had to lower down the volume of the rythm tracks because it was drowning everything else. so one of my weaknesses lie in getting the correct balance of the rythm and drums/bass tracks.
ruffstuff: the guitar went in my multifx pedal and straight into the Line In of my Gametheater XP.
TSmodD
Jun 8 2005, 02:59 PM
thanks! Escaflowne: the distortion was an accident actually. i forgot to unplug the guitar in the silent part, and my cable's contacts are a bit rusty, so when i move around the distortion comes. i thought it was quite ok so i left it in the song. blackflam: so you use my song to study eh? if you do badly in your studies (hopefully not) that means my songs are cursed!
TSmodD
Jun 9 2005, 11:09 AM
dude! nice guitar sounds! where to get this fxpansion thingy huh?
btw i've uploaded another 2 songs. link on 1st thread.
This post has been edited by modD: Jun 9 2005, 11:39 AM
TSmodD
Jun 9 2005, 01:09 PM
thanks guys  led_zep: yeah, that's what the title is about hahahaha!
TSmodD
Jul 10 2005, 06:53 PM
here's another of my song, mainly for me to find the optimal sound for metal songs. i think i've improved the sound aspect a lot compared to the earlier ones... Fearful Solutionit's an old song of mine, remastered This post has been edited by modD: Jul 10 2005, 06:54 PM
TSmodD
Jul 10 2005, 11:09 PM
thanks hendrix! i used fruityloops studio 4.5.2 for the drums n bass. check out the fruityloops thread, some tips were posted. yeah somehow after re-listening to the bridge part, it doesn't sound as powerful as i wanted it to be. i'll try adding dbl pedals later. i only like a handful of slayer songs, but my influences were mostly 80/90s malaysian metal bands. and also black metal bands like Cradle of Filth and Dimmu Borgir. i guess that's why i tend to overuse the Minor scale
TSmodD
Jul 11 2005, 03:25 PM
i finally found the secret to heavy riffs... lots of layers! for the fearful solution song, i used 3 layers of guitar on each left & right channel, set at 100%, 60% and 30%. that created a wider soundstage for the guitars, makes the rythm sound more dynamic. i used very little reverb. too high reverb and the guitars will lose its sharpness and attack, too low reverb will result in very dry guitar sound. it would be even better if i have a hi-q microphone and a good amp. can do direct amp-miking. but the hardest thing for me to do was to find the perfect drum sound that doesn't interfere with the guitars' frequencies. how i wish i've got pro recording equipments
TSmodD
Jul 18 2005, 10:21 AM
added Huzai's beautiful song on the 1st post
TSmodD
Jul 18 2005, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(ssslayerrr @ Jul 18 2005, 10:33 AM) modD, you remind me of trent reznor (nine inch nails), one guy doing all the stuff and it sounds cekap that's because i no longer have any 'kaki' to go jamming. during student years i used to be a hermit in my room and just play with music softwares  btw, equating me with Trent Reznor is too much la  i tried to fuse metal and electronic, but i couldn't get anything good. it's harder than i thought... all i got were some cheesy electro-rock sh1ts This post has been edited by modD: Jul 18 2005, 01:55 PM
TSmodD
Aug 2 2005, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(gadgethunter @ Aug 2 2005, 04:35 PM) heya all, i have 5 songs to upload here.. but i don't have any webspace. can someone be kind enuff to host my songs for me? fyi, all songs are composed by me, played by my band staidjesters. we recorded last year at bakri's studio (that time still in hartamas) and got pretty good review for it. so, anybody wanna offer me some hosting? or any suggestions on where to host the songs? mail it to me at pembunuh(at)gmail.com and i'll upload it to my server
TSmodD
Aug 11 2005, 04:32 PM
bump... just avoiding this post from getting whacked. i still have loads more songs to post up...
TSmodD
Aug 11 2005, 04:59 PM
cheers TheWhacker, that's good to hear!