7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

DBKL renovation permit, House extention

jack1698
post Oct 19 2015, 03:47 PM

I just bought a house in sri petaling and wondering how and what i need to do for renovation of my home? Im doing small extention at the back and front car porch flat slab. Others mostly internal work change window n etc... thanks in adcance
fiqualizer
post Oct 26 2015, 09:31 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(jack1698 @ Oct 19 2015, 03:47 PM)
I just bought a house in sri petaling and wondering how and what i need to do for renovation of my home? Im doing small extention at the back and front car porch flat slab. Others mostly internal work change window n etc... thanks in adcance
Hi jack. Do pm me your phone number or call me 0126954669. I will assist u.
lkliang89
post Jan 26 2016, 03:41 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(jack1698 @ Oct 19 2015, 03:47 PM)
hi jack, i bought a house in sri petaling too, and planning to do small extention at the back. how is your permit applied? can share me?
fiqualizer
post Feb 11 2016, 12:48 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(lkliang89 @ Jan 26 2016, 03:41 PM)
hi jack, i bought a house in sri petaling too, and planning to do small extention at the back. how is your permit applied? can share me?
PMed
diversenature
post Oct 28 2016, 08:21 AM

21 posts

I am planning to demolish a old half wooden house and rebuild a house on a "bungalow" plot in a "kampung" area under mpsj. I am wondering is there a need to submit plans for approval? Apparently it takes 5 months just to get approval.
Funny thing is that while there are many by laws regarding the construction according to the draftsman I am consulting eg 20 feet clearance at front, 10 feet at both sides and back, awning cannot be more than 2.5feet from building line etc etc.... I saw many many newly built houses around the same area that seems totally doesn't follow. Got a few build until almost touching wall of garden.
Also I was told need town planner cost 5k. But I saw all the houses there is all sort of sizes from huge bungalow even got 3 storey to funny looking houses that look like hostel to old houses.
Also I am told need to get signage and high metal covering(7 feet) to cover up the place..cost almost 15k, sign itself cost 1.8k. But i see a huge luxury house being build but i also didn't see any signage and while they have metal covering...just like simply and definately not 7 feet.
How do they get their approval or cf/ccc?
Appreciate any advice.
Ben25882
post Oct 28 2016, 01:50 PM

I'm planning to renovate my house and have called DBKL directly to ask on the procedures to submit drawing for approval.

One of the DBKL staff from Jbtn. Perancangan gave me an architect's number and she has been helping us to do the drawing, submission and approval.

Pricing is reasonable and she is very helpful in terms of providing suggestions.

santoro
post Jan 17 2017, 09:41 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Ben25882 @ Oct 28 2016, 01:50 PM)
I'm planning to renovate my house and have called DBKL directly to ask on the procedures to submit drawing for approval.

One of the DBKL staff from Jbtn. Perancangan gave me an architect's number and she has been helping us to do the drawing, submission and approval.

Pricing is reasonable and she is very helpful in terms of providing suggestions.
Hi Ben,

Can you please provide me her contact nos?

Thank you.
soon_808
post Apr 12 2017, 02:44 PM

Hi, I need good draftsman or architect to drawing plan and submission to DBKL. Please PM me good recommendation. Thanks in advance.

HomeNurseServices
post May 9 2017, 04:57 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(fiqualizer @ Feb 11 2016, 12:48 AM)
PMed

Do I have to apply for permit for awning at car porch?
Just some Besi and roof tiles
GadgetzKL
post Nov 6 2017, 01:41 PM

92 posts

Anyone can advice the estimate time to obtain the DBKL permit? my house is a terrace house
a_and_doubleu
post Nov 6 2017, 10:02 PM

Sharing the application process for DBKL

First, call or make a trip to your local town council to get the latest renovation guidelines (if you can’t find them on their respective websites).

Finalise your renovation plans accordingly to make sure they do not violate any of the guidelines above.

Hire a registered architect, structural engineer or draughtsman to draw up your extension plan. Your local town council should also be able to give you an updated list of their panel of professionals to draw the plans for you (this is preferred for smooth approval).

The architect will also help you submit documents for the application. This includes:

The drawings of the extension
Your sales and purchase agreement (S&P)
Latest property tax receipt
Certificate of Fitness (CF) or Certificate of Completion and Compliance (CCC). This is to show the original plans of the property. If you bought the house second hand and don’t have it, the local town council can supply you a copy based on their own records (for a fee)
Copy of your IC
You may also require a signed “letter of consent” from your neighbours. Please check with your local town council on this

ALTERNATIVELY, some town councils provide a pre-drawn “standard plan drawings” for rear extensions. If you follow these basic plans, then you can save money on the architect. However, you MUST build according to the plan. If an inspection later reveals that your extension was not according to plan, you may be fined.

When the renovation is done, you will need to make a final application to get an updated Certificate of Completion and Compliance (CCC). THIS IS IMPORTANT as it means that banks will recognise the new renovations and include it in the new value of the property.

Source: recommend.my blog
post Nov 24 2017, 01:53 PM

756 posts

QUOTE(GadgetzKL @ Nov 6 2017, 01:41 PM)
Anyone can advice the estimate time to obtain the DBKL permit? my house is a terrace house
DBKL usually very fast. If your plan complies to the by-laws and documents required are fulfilled, typically within 1-2 weeks.

This post has been edited by 2387581: Nov 24 2017, 01:53 PM
thrifsthor
post Jul 2 2018, 11:09 AM

QUOTE(2387581 @ Nov 24 2017, 01:53 PM)
DBKL usually very fast. If your plan complies to the by-laws and documents required are fulfilled, typically within 1-2 weeks.
how about if not comply? Will it take a long time to approve?
shadow_walker
post Jul 9 2018, 12:09 PM

1,288 posts

QUOTE(thrifsthor @ Jul 2 2018, 11:09 AM)
how about if not comply? Will it take a long time to approve?
if not comply u have to change the design to comply lar. if u fast redo the change than should take much time. if dont comply later cannot issue CCC
sonypshomer
post Jul 10 2018, 10:11 AM

1,595 posts

None of these can be allowed in Penang.

but so many penangite houses broke the law.
thrifsthor
post Jul 23 2018, 10:09 AM

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Jul 10 2018, 10:11 AM)
None of these can be allowed in Penang.

but so many penangite houses broke the law.
can i know which area in particular? Because I'm currently doing a study in illegal/ non compliance building renovations. Finding a good case study would be a huge help.
sonypshomer
post Jul 23 2018, 11:04 AM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(thrifsthor @ Jul 23 2018, 10:09 AM)
can i know which area in particular? Because I'm currently doing a study in illegal/ non compliance building renovations. Finding a good case study would be a huge help.
1. First call those city council draughtman / architect and pretend to ask what's allow and what's not. but must be specific i.e
a. extend the front porch as a garage
b. extend corner lot house until the fence
c. build up partition wall up to ceiling at neighbour

Then let see what those idiot told you. Then go to any taman, see whether they got follow. If none ask the owner why they didnt follow, then if they answered already got approval, then take the approval and throw back to the architect face and document all these in a video form and upload to youtube.

Lcy23 P
post Sep 16 2019, 03:45 PM

Probation

Hello all

I need some help on my renovation project and hope someone can point me to the right direction

Basically I want to renovate a 2 storey intermediate terrace house in Damansara Heights KL.

Can someone please let me know if each of the below needs a permit application and if so, what type of permit:

1) Car porch - to tile it up and enable 2 cars to park in

2) A small extension out on balcony to make room bigger ( using glass doors)

3) Break down a wall between 2 rooms upstairs

4) Breakdown the wall between the wet and dry kitchen

5) Cement the backyard and erect simple fence

6) retile and renovate the all the toilets

7) retile and renovate the whole kitchen

Can someone recommend a architect in DBKL panel who can help me draw up and apply for the required permit

Lastly anyone know bought what the cost should be?

Thank you

post Sep 20 2019, 12:34 AM

756 posts

QUOTE(Lcy23 @ Sep 16 2019, 03:45 PM)
1) Car porch - to tile it up and enable 2 cars to park in - Can do without any submission. No one will bug you.

2) A small extension out on balcony to make room bigger ( using glass doors) - Need to submit building plan for approval.

3) Break down a wall between 2 rooms upstairs - Need to submit building plan for approval.

4) Breakdown the wall between the wet and dry kitchen - Need to submit building plan for approval.

5) Cement the backyard and erect simple fence -If there is no fence it is not part of your land. By-law says you cannot do anything to it.

6) retile and renovate the all the toilets - Consider maintenance works, can be done in one week and if no complain no one will bug you.

7) retile and renovate the whole kitchen - No idea what extent your 'renovation' is. Just add counter and all can just do it.
Although by-law says any work is consider building works and needs submission. But if you have other parts of the building which needs submission, those other parts like tiling car porch can be included. Building plan for renovation only captures what is being demolished and what is being added. If like previously the WC and basin is there and after you 'refurbish'' it the new WC and new basin is at the same spot, no point in submitting for approval.

Lcy23 P
post Sep 21 2019, 02:43 PM

Probation

QUOTE(2387581 @ Sep 20 2019, 12:34 AM)
Although by-law says any work is consider building works and needs submission. But if you have other parts of the building which needs submission, those other parts like tiling car porch can be included. Building plan for renovation only captures what is being demolished and what is being added. If like previously the WC and basin is there and after you 'refurbish'' it the new WC and new basin is at the same spot, no point in submitting for approval.
Thank you for your reply! Most useful!.
If I just do maintenance work like retile and change the toilet items and retile and change cabinets in the kitchen, is there a work permit of some sort that I might need from the council?
Something to state working hours and duration of the work to be displayed at the house gate?

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:04 AM