MSI Gaming Notebook, Check out Post #3! Gathering time!

Deckard Cain
post Oct 7 2011, 04:39 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Oct 6 2011, 02:47 AM)
glad to see u still around tongue.gif..enjoying ur laptop? brows.gif

Im wondering if hd 7 series will be out anytime soon..planning to get another laptop as my "graduation" gift  flex.gif
It's arcsoft companion 3..i believe the CD has it no? O.O
Definitely. The gt683 is worth every damn penny smile.gif. Been blasting on it since i've gotten it. Surprisingly i can run most game on highest setting even if its a 560m card. The turbo a bit err.. let down. Doesn't actually boost much. HD 7? O_o.. too much racun eh. I gotta chill for a bit with the buying. Killing my credit card already. Btw, what happened to you planning to start your own business? happening anytime soon?
Deckard Cain
post Oct 21 2011, 01:22 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(fatjoe13 @ Oct 20 2011, 10:06 PM)
Bought from ebay, frostycomputer, there was another company that offer cheaper barebone but only accept wire transfer only, afraid of fraud & scam. I bought the parts separately. Next time is a very long next time, because got scolded by my wife. Loaded....nope, actually i've got into a tragic accident a few years before witch made my right arm paralyzed & a weak body, so using my insurance money to buy this laptop. Besides that i've started a small computer shop, was hoping this laptop can attract a few customers to buy from me....huhuhu wish me the best of luck friends smile.gif
E-bay!!?? wahh.. u got guts man. I buy stuff from e-bay but electronics is just so damn scary. Any small issue is a big issue. Anyway, nice set up for a barebone. Don't worry about the dynoaudio's. Just buy an epic external speaker. That would be much better. Though you might want to check the warranty again for barebones. Btw, if i go to your store, got discount? hu hu hu

Added on October 21, 2011, 1:38 pm
QUOTE(Sanko @ Oct 19 2011, 12:57 AM)
pandah: we have replace it to GT683. Cheers.
Btw, here is the updated pricelist for Oct-Nov. All listed is SRP. It may vary depending on the dealers/resellers.

Gaming Series
1. GE620DX [15.6", 1366 x 768, Intel HRV i7-2630, NVIDIA GT540M/GT555M, 8GB DDR3, 640GB, Win7 Premium] - RM2999
2. GE620DX-FHD [15.6", 1920 x 1080, Intel HRV i7-2670, NVIDIA GT555M, 8GB DDR3, 750GB, Win7 Premium] - RM3299
3. GT683 [15.6", 1920 x 1080, Intel HRV i7-2670, NVIDIA GTX560M, 16GB DDR3, Intel 120GB SSD + 750GB 7200RPM, Dynaudio Sound, Win7 Premium] - RM7299
4. GT780DX [17.3", 1920 x 1080, Intel HRV i7-2670, NVIDIA GTX570M, 8GB, 750GB 7200RPM, Dynaudio Sound, SteelSeries Gaming Keyboard with Backlight, Win7 Premium] - RM5299
Very reasonable price. Same spec with my GT683R but with better processor for that price. Affordable and not too steep. I think this will definitely racun ppl into buying MSI's instead. It's much better then ordering from low yat plaza. They quote me RM7500 for 2630!!!! Anyway, finally got my aunt to get it for me. The GT780DX looks like the best deal of the lot. just without SSD and less ram compared to gt683r. You shouldn't have posted this. Now i'm itching to get the GT780DX....

Added on October 21, 2011, 1:44 pm
QUOTE(pandah @ Oct 19 2011, 09:35 AM)
seems that the ssd option really jack up the price of the 683 alot, something like the 780 looks ok to me, with a lower graphic card i was expecting something cheaper, looks like it ain't happening...
and the selection at the courts is just disappointing  sad.gif  mostly low range, some are even the 1st gen processors...
The SSD is pricey but it helps especially for gaming load time and such. I used my SSD for window 7 and gaming. It does everything in secs. well, not everything but you get my point. You might want to consider having SSD biggrin.gif . it's definitely a +

This post has been edited by Deckard Cain: Oct 21 2011, 01:47 PM
Deckard Cain
post Oct 23 2011, 02:39 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Oct 22 2011, 02:00 PM)
Here's the GT683DX variant. Going to be featured in the upcoming PC Fair. Together with GT780DX. The GT683DX pricing is set @ RM5099. Spec wise, totally the same as GT780DX.
http://my.msi.com/product/nb/GT683DX.html#...v=Specification
Dirt Cheap!!!! Without the SSD and with 570M card it's still a good bargain. I could've waited for the 570M variant but cannot tahan already. Anyway, kudos to MSI for bringing them in. At least we won't have to go through hassle. thumbup.gif
Deckard Cain
post Oct 23 2011, 02:41 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(Reizz @ Oct 22 2011, 10:08 PM)
I have a situation here... According to usps.. I have a tracking number... But the tracking number only track locations in US.... I dont know how to track it in singapore.. Pls help me =w=

Added on October 22, 2011, 10:08 pmAs i will be working for whole day untill 8pm ill be at home
Call USPS tell them your tracking number and location and ask them to clear the confusion? I'm sure they have USPS HQ in SG.
Deckard Cain
post Oct 23 2011, 10:13 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Reizz @ Oct 23 2011, 01:01 PM)
There is no usps in singapore...
well, then you should go through USPS website. According to my friend, he tried USPS too, had the same problem. He went through USPS website, customer service, faqs then pick tracking, confirmation and delivery. They'll clear up the confusion
Deckard Cain
post Oct 23 2011, 10:16 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Dee-san @ Oct 23 2011, 03:10 PM)
4. GT780DX [17.3", 1920 x 1080, Intel HRV i7-2670, NVIDIA GTX570M, 8GB, 750GB 7200RPM, Dynaudio Sound, SteelSeries Gaming Keyboard with Backlight, Win7 Premium] - RM5299

Where can i get this now? I'm ready to be 1 of the user biggrin.gif
Well, there will be a pc fare from 4th november onwards and MSI is going to be showcasing it. Might want to be there. I'm definitely going to be there to fiddle with the 780 smile.gif Check Sanko's earlier posts
Deckard Cain
post Oct 23 2011, 10:17 PM

66 posts

Btw, anyone going over to pc fare this time round? I'm gonna be there to fiddle with the 780 and hassle the MSI peeps. tongue.gif Anyone joining?
Deckard Cain
post Oct 25 2011, 09:37 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Spiritviper @ Oct 24 2011, 11:08 PM)
Whew... seems like its forever last time I was here  biggrin.gif

Can't make it to the more recent ones, but might be able to make it to the KLCC one on 2-4 December though. Need to take a few days break from my FYP

Will try to get to the MSI booth and test out the GT780DX first  tongue.gif
Errr,no way. I'll camp right in front of the fare and hog the 780 brows.gif
Deckard Cain
post Oct 27 2011, 11:28 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Oct 26 2011, 11:57 PM)
MSI barebone notebook should be using the same adapter.

Seems like MSI is starting to be really successful here tongue.gif. BTW Sanko and MSI-MY, i would like to say thank you all for showering us with latest MSI laptop/products and selling them at a really reasonable price.

In-fact the price can fight with what the US MSI market is providing as well. I would say that is a good job. Hope to see more MSI event in future promoting MSI to the public tongue.gif.

The GT780 prices are really tempting....dam you poison T_T
Viruz, going over to PC Fare to check out the 780's?
Deckard Cain
post Oct 27 2011, 11:35 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Oct 27 2011, 10:33 AM)
willman, between the GT780DX and GT683DX, it's the same. Only that one is 17" with Steelseries Keyboard. Also the design is a bit different. And the price difference is not really hugh. So if you are into 17", i guess GT780DX is a good choice.

fatjoe13, our ASP do sells adapters and since we are bringing in GT780DX, i guess you should be able to get it. ASP = authorized service provider, which is a third party service. i'll check for you on the pricing. but do take not it won't be cheap. lol.
Just a suggestion but maybe you guys should like throw in vouchers and free gifts for purchasing MSI's gaming laptops. This would definitely be a plus. I'm quite sure you guys will give some free gift or something. When I bought my GT683R, it came with a bagpack ( errr.. not too shabby ones ) and a gaming mouse. Its was a surprised that they even included a mouse for me eventhough i already have a Razer but i really appreciated it.
Deckard Cain
post Oct 31 2011, 11:52 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Dee-san @ Oct 28 2011, 04:16 PM)
I would like to join butI can't make it. My wedding is on the 3rd Nov.  Will be a long week for me as my friends and relatives going to around. Hope to see some updates here on that day though..
Congratz man and All The Best! well, there's one more in december so maybe you can make it for the december ones. smile.gif

Added on October 31, 2011, 11:53 pm
QUOTE(Sanko @ Oct 28 2011, 04:38 PM)
Super tempting! This guy is taking it to the next level with the cinematic music and all. Like an Intro to an epic movie

Added on November 1, 2011, 12:00 am
QUOTE(viruz019 @ Oct 28 2011, 03:37 PM)
it around december no? im not sure..during that i wud be quite bz..graduation soon..gonna plan those party wid friends n stuff tongue.gif..then goin back homecountry edi sad.gif
Oh man, well hope you can make it for the Dec ones since you're going back homecountry. I'm not sure if i can make it for Dec one as well. I got 2 stores opening then. Aiyo.

This post has been edited by Deckard Cain: Nov 1 2011, 12:00 AM
Deckard Cain
post Nov 11 2011, 04:39 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(seng9338 @ Nov 9 2011, 08:36 PM)
Not really a hardcore gamer.
Since decided to buy such laptop at such price, I'm juz expecting it can perform the best.
lol, expected too much on a laptop, as long as it can play everything well, I will be satisfied.
Don't worry. MSI gaming laptops is way beyond just gaming. It's almost everything bundle in one Disco Machine. I call it Disco Machine because my friends all think it looks like one when i turn on all the lights tongue.gif. You will definitely be satisfied. Only issue is, you'll be doing quite a lot of cleaning as it comes with glossy body but that's ok.
Deckard Cain
post Nov 14 2011, 10:06 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(lonelywolf90 @ Nov 14 2011, 05:09 PM)
Any models? Not exactly every model is available. MSI-MY only offer certain models which they think might meet the demand of consumers of Malaysia.

If you want what was found on the net, usually the US models, then u might have to order them via Newegg, Gentech, Xotic, and many other reseller sites from US.

As for other models, I'm not really aware.

But y would u want to buy overseas when the models offered in Malaysia are just as good? Price is reasonable, you get the full warranty, there is nothing more to ask I think.

What specs are u looking for exactly?
Very true. I think given a choice, I would've bought mine here instead but it wasn't available then. I think the specs that Sanko presented and the specs are pretty good. Just minus SSD which is acceptable. Furthermore, the prices offered is very affordable. Conversion rates vary so it might be cheaper today but slightly higher priced tomorrow as we are buying it in foreign currency and it makes a difference when paying for shipment as well.
Deckard Cain
post Nov 14 2011, 10:27 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Polytechnic @ Nov 14 2011, 10:23 PM)
But the problem about outside malaysia / singapore reseller

They dont provide the branded company warrranty =(
The warranty is international. Eventhough the resellers don't provide it, as long as it is a legit MSI product, the warranty is valid everywhere.
Deckard Cain
post Nov 16 2011, 12:09 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Nov 15 2011, 11:54 PM)
U mean the dummy SD Card which prevents ur Card Reader covered by dust eh. I didn't get it with my G53SX as well. Using a real 128MB SD card as substitute.
I think he meant that which reminds me.. my GT683 comes with one too but i forgot about it blink.gif ... fail. Now have to get one too

Added on November 16, 2011, 12:14 am
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 15 2011, 07:59 AM)
How to get fake ?
i also wondering...

Added on November 16, 2011, 12:17 am
QUOTE(lonelywolf90 @ Nov 15 2011, 09:13 PM)
Guys, any idea where to get a cover for the card reader? I believe most GT780 owners here does not have a card reader cover.

The cover is a shape of a memory card which is inserted to the card reader slot.
I'm going to go around find one too since you mentioned it.. i forgot i had a card reader on my lappy. Will let you know if i do but if you do find one 1st, let me know k

This post has been edited by Deckard Cain: Nov 16 2011, 12:17 AM
Deckard Cain
post Nov 21 2011, 07:13 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(WimpyKid @ Nov 21 2011, 05:39 PM)
Okok.

Its core i7 2630 QM, 12gb ddr 3 ram, 1TB hard disk 500*2 7200rpm,BD Combo Drive and Nvidia Gefore GTX460/1.5GB GDDR5.

Got it last month bnib from my supplier. Open and played with it less than 6 times. The accessories that comes with it are all unopen.

Think i don't need such high spec and its huge. Not suitable for me,thats why thinking of selling it off.

Hope sifus here can tell me what would be a reasonable price to sell it. Check with my supplier and he said the warranty is 2 years for msi.

Appreciate your help. Thanks!
Looks exactly like the attached picture. got this picture from the web. smile.gif
Why not just use it since you already have it. The spec is bonus. It still is a laptop nevertheless. You can use it to do so much other stuff. Just in case you get into graphic design or videos, this would be a plus.

Added on November 21, 2011, 7:17 pmStill no 780 owners yet? I thought by now we would have a few already? Any of you guys getting the 780 soonish?

This post has been edited by Deckard Cain: Nov 21 2011, 07:17 PM
Deckard Cain
post Nov 23 2011, 11:27 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(seng9338 @ Nov 21 2011, 07:35 PM)
No MSI online reseller in Malaysia?
I would wan to do some customisation for upgrade.

Gentechpc is a good choice, but I have never made any online purchase from oversea. And dont understand anything about wire transfer.
I've read a few post back, the procedure seems not difficult, so I will try to purchase from there after Exam....Exam takes really long time...till mid of December...haiz

The local one is uncustomizable, rite?
If you want it to be easier, you could try asking someone to pay for you via credit card. Wire transfer charges can be quite expensive at times. Also, bear in mind that you're also paying for shipping costs. I think the stock versions locally are pretty good. The only upgrades available are RAM, CPU's and whether you would want SSD but I think you can make do without the SSD. The stock CPU is sufficient for gaming and you only need 8gb ram max. 16g is overkill and expensive (though mine did come with 16g ram blush.gif ) SSD is a good option but not really necessary. It is super fast but it does cost quite a lot. Buying it locally has some bonuses though. 2years warranty + no shipping cost, no shipping risks + immediate services since you're buying it directly from MSI and the plus is definitely cheaper and affordable. You might want to consider getting it locally. Don't give in to the poison of upgrading everything tongue.gif . I can tell you this though, MSI gaming laptops are great. You'll not regret buying one. The only problem i have is ..... i need to clean it all the time and i'm lazy half the time. Other then that, performance wise, it's beast and I've not had a single problem since I've purchased it.

Added on November 23, 2011, 11:30 am
QUOTE(Dee-san @ Nov 23 2011, 09:59 AM)
Waiting for my pre order to arrive. 19th shipped out already as per Sanko but dont know when will it arrive.
CONGRATULATIONS! I know the feeling of waiting for it to arrive. It feels like forever. The moment when someone calls you up and tells you your baby has arrived cannot be described. biggrin.gif Are you buying it for gaming purposes mainly?

This post has been edited by Deckard Cain: Nov 23 2011, 11:30 AM
Deckard Cain
post Nov 23 2011, 06:18 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Dee-san @ Nov 23 2011, 12:29 PM)
Yea, I'm buying it for gaming definetly but also for media purpose. Now am waiting for the lappy only. Just bought a backpack, steelseries sensei + 4HD pad and ori bf 3. smile.gif
Oh man u really prepared ahhhh!! already future purchase mouse and all that biggrin.gif .. I'm already playing BF3 on my GT683 but of course the 560M card can't play too high. Actually even the 580M cards find it hard to cope at high setting, only at mid at 1920 x 1080. Laptop is laptop. Anyway, see me on BF3 MBT server. I'm Electroclashed. Am not so pro but it's damn fun

Added on November 23, 2011, 6:32 pm
QUOTE(seng9338 @ Nov 23 2011, 12:35 PM)
yea, I want to have a larger RAM, SSD, blueray drive and better network card.
Who knows larger RAM would be very significant in the next few years?  hmm.gif
If I play online game in my room with this current laptop, the internet signal will fall a lot, hence a better network card is necessary for me tho...
Well, I'm not expertise in this these stuff yet, I might be wrong, its just my assumption  blush.gif
What is your current laptop? Also, don't worry, mine comes with the stocked network card and it plays MMO's beautifully with no problem with signals and mine's the slightly older GT683. BF3 runs great but of course you have to have a good internet provider la. Larger RAM won't be as useful as you won't be able to customize your laptop in the future. At the moment 8g is really enough for your current GPU and CPU. SSD, well, it's definitely a plus to have for sure. I have SSD 120gb and seriously loading is super fast. My window 7 and games are set in SSD which is great. If you do not have budget constrain then go ahead and maximize it. It's definitely nice to have the best if we can afford it.

This post has been edited by Deckard Cain: Nov 23 2011, 06:32 PM
Deckard Cain
post Nov 23 2011, 06:55 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 23 2011, 06:44 PM)
@seng9338, or you could spend the money on a better wireless router..
That's actually a good idea
Deckard Cain
post Nov 24 2011, 11:51 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(Dee-san @ Nov 24 2011, 09:22 AM)
Will sure find you if I start playing. I can't wait to play liaw. smile.gif
It's pretty crazy.. bombs everywhere and all that.. I even dream of being a soldier at night!!! It's crazy fun. Eh btw.. CONGRATULATIONS! ur baby has arrived! w00t!

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0544sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:36 PM