Samsung LED TV Thread, owners pls share

Mea Culpa
post Dec 1 2011, 12:38 AM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(kianlun @ Nov 30 2011, 11:09 PM)
Using 40D6400 here. Anyone got light bleed with this model? Mine's quite serious in total dark room. Light bleed can claim warranty?
No warranty on backlight bleeding or hotspots, by commercial standard they are considered "normal". Its quality control issues, not all TV of the same model is the same, so test your luck. Its quite common on LED backlight sets, uniformity issues.
m

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Dec 1 2011, 12:40 AM
Mea Culpa
post Dec 1 2011, 09:26 PM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(kianlun @ Dec 1 2011, 06:25 PM)
I see..thanks for the info..guess i'll have to live with it..now just hope to calibrate my TV so that the light bleed will become less visible.

Full screen movies you can't notice but those movies with 2 black bars..u can notice it's quite disturbing..

Any guides on how to calibrate your TV? Digital Video Essentials good enough?
The "bleeding" is due differences of light intensity coming from the arrays of WLEDs. You cant expect all bulbs have the same brightness intensity, some even varies in color spectrum. White LEDs phosphor will wear and produce more violet into the color spectrum.

perhaps the WLEDs are more uniform at certain level of brightness.

-Try increase brightness and reduce contrast,
-reduce or increase backlight see which is better.
-reduce gamma level
-or probably zoom out the black bars

Thats a plus to CCFL LCD TV, with only 1 bulb tube, you get good uniform brightness and color.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Dec 1 2011, 09:39 PM
Mea Culpa
post Dec 1 2011, 09:44 PM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(47ronin @ Dec 1 2011, 09:38 PM)
over 100 Hz TV, IMO the movie played will look like 'plastic' (? too smooth playback in stead of standard movie 24 fps). hmm.gif
Frame interpolation feature can be turned off, the 24hz movie will be displayed at 4:4 pulldown at 96Hz, depends on the spec, some uses 72Hz 3:3 pulldown.

The best is 120Hz TV at 5:5 pulldown at 120Hz.

The content frame rate is maintained at 24hz but with high refresh rate.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Dec 1 2011, 09:46 PM
Mea Culpa
post Dec 2 2011, 10:36 PM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Dec 2 2011, 03:21 PM)
I had confirm that my Samsung 46D5000 fail to play BD ISO file.

So far it is the first format that I fail to play out of all my HD collection...  cry.gif

Hope new firmware in the future can fix this problem....  sweat.gif

Btw, I already check if I am using the latest firmware...
lol .. perhaps they want to counter piracy!!

Just ripped it then...

Mea Culpa
post Dec 8 2011, 10:23 PM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(faiz21 @ Dec 8 2011, 10:09 PM)
just bought samsung UA46D700 for 5499 plus 4 3D glasses.. worth it?? laugh.gif
D7000 is considered mid-high end. 1 glasses cost around 400+, do the math smile.gif

But the motion processor seems not doing really good, try google users reviews. key (motion plus + ghosting)

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1693532

Mea Culpa
post Dec 8 2011, 10:36 PM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(faiz21 @ Dec 8 2011, 10:25 PM)
hahhaha..alright bro.. thanks.. just gonna enjoy the smart hub and 3D features tongue.gif
For motion alway go for Plasma.

But I still love LCD due to their immune of image retention.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Dec 8 2011, 10:37 PM
Mea Culpa
post Dec 8 2011, 10:40 PM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(faiz21 @ Dec 8 2011, 10:38 PM)
but plasma are so damn cheap!! just now i saw a 55' plasma just for 2999 ohmy.gif hhahahaha
Most shops only sell entry-level plasma only.

You try check Panny VT30

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Dec 8 2011, 10:42 PM
Mea Culpa
post Dec 8 2011, 10:47 PM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(faiz21 @ Dec 8 2011, 10:44 PM)
yeah.. maybe thats the case
you know lah.. malaysians like the bright bright ones only.. don't care much about picture quality, so shops dont dare to keep high end plasma.

Added on December 8, 2011, 10:51 pm
QUOTE(faiz21 @ Dec 8 2011, 10:25 PM)
hahhaha..alright bro.. thanks.. just gonna enjoy the smart hub and 3D features tongue.gif
It's a good buy though.. smile.gif

BTW LCD make a good couple with PC.

Plasma hates PC biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Dec 8 2011, 10:51 PM
Mea Culpa
post Dec 8 2011, 10:57 PM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(faiz21 @ Dec 8 2011, 10:53 PM)
but this is LED.. its the same as LCD???
Only LED as backlight, normal one use CCFL (Cold cathode florescent lamp). The Pixel panel is the same LCD.

No. They are not available yet in malaysia, perhaps in Japan or Korea only.

True LED TV is OLED TV or AMOLED TV. Real LED pixels has much faster refresh rate around 900hz or even higher, yes higher than plasma.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Dec 8 2011, 10:58 PM
Mea Culpa
post Dec 10 2011, 12:48 AM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(faiz21 @ Dec 8 2011, 11:01 PM)
owhhh ok.. mine is just 600hz..
but samsung picture quality is more sharper and quite detail compare with toshiba for my point of view
WARNING!!

600Hz LCD DO NOT EXIST. Fastest LCD is only limited to 240Hz.

600Hz LED flashing is the same like flashing your LED pasar malam torch light right behind the LCD panel at 600hz.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Dec 10 2011, 12:48 AM
Mea Culpa
post Dec 10 2011, 07:56 PM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(faiz21 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:03 PM)
its not LCD la bro.. samsung UA46D700 smart tv
The TV panel is made of LCD matrix and lit with LED "sugar coated" backlights.

Literally means LCD TV = LED TV.

Real LED TV only available in 20 feet size, thats the smallest full HD i guess.. no offence smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Dec 10 2011, 07:58 PM
Mea Culpa
post Dec 13 2011, 09:44 PM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(kumar8831 @ Dec 11 2011, 04:02 PM)
Im just bought my tv,model UA46D6400UR. They stated that the tv is 400Hz, how to identified the refresh rate on tv ?.
How to set the refresh to max. But im still not satisfied with the clarity of  SD channel,especially sports channels its blur.Can somebody help me how to solve this problem, and i cannot register my tv online. Watching HD channels perfect.
400Hz indicates the LED flashing pulse rate, yet the matrix LCD refresh rate is at 120hz.

You eyes can hardly tell anything above 100hz.

The clarity problem has nothing to do with the TV.

Viewing SD content on Full HD does not improve picture quality. The bigger the size, the worst.

Try watching the TV further away, 10-15feet.

Mea Culpa
post Dec 14 2011, 01:28 AM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(faiz21 @ Dec 13 2011, 11:29 PM)
mine is ua46D700 for 5499 with 4 3D glass tongue.gif
Those 3D glasses battery type or rechargeable type?
Mea Culpa
post Dec 17 2011, 09:20 PM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ Dec 16 2011, 10:41 PM)
hei guys got a series 4 451 plasma just yesterday.

sadly not full hd but at 1024x768.

wanna ask astro hd nid add RM20 right?

I'm currently have sport and axn channel....so auto will get hd channel for sports and axn? what do I get? just wanna ask hehe.

In reality average Malaysian only use up to 720p.

480p, 576p - DVD , Standard Astro

720p - PC gaming, PS3, XBOX360, BD Ripped, Astro Beyond, and etc...

1080p - True Blu-Ray, Full HD recorded contents..

For PC gaming at 1080p 60hz performance, you'll need at least a GPU with GT560 or HD5850 with DDR5 ram or higher, else might as well forget it.

HD Ready sets with 768p lines can take all 480p, 576p,720p and 1080p and up-convert/down-convert it.

At sensible viewing distant , 720p and 1080 is not noticeable to our even on Full HD 1980x1080 set.

If PRICE , PERFORMANCE and SIZE matters the most, HD-Ready plasma is the best candidate.

New models Full HD Plasma are quite expensive by comparison to LCD or LED/LCD. They also consume 25-30% more power than their HD Ready counterpart.
Mea Culpa
post Jan 11 2012, 01:26 AM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(sayboon @ Jan 10 2012, 04:02 PM)
I know LED is still new in the market, how long do you think these LED TVs will last? 10 years?
With the amount of electronic components in it, ehemm.. I doubt that. CRT still rules !!

Mea Culpa
post Jan 17 2012, 11:35 AM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(Aimar Walabi @ Jan 16 2012, 02:37 PM)
yaaa.. juz need mid-end spec.. not so hi-end.. huhu..
You need to be specific when you say , mid-end or high-end. What technology that you want your set to have say for example.. local dimming LED.

For example only Series 7 (D7000) and Series 8 (D8000) sets that can really compete with plasma performance in picture quality especially with contrast and black level, thanks to LED LOCAL DIMMING technology. Series 6 (6600) and series 5 and below DO NOT have local dimming technology.

Locally dimmed LED produce picture that has very little wash-out color, they appear deeper with greater contrast.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Jan 17 2012, 11:40 AM
Mea Culpa
post Jan 19 2012, 02:57 PM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Jan 17 2012, 01:45 PM)
Are you saying the black tint of plasma still much better than a decent LED on current market?
Yes definately, compared with LED/LCD TV without dimmable LED.

Not just the black, but for deeper color and contrast.

An LED backlight without Local dimming technology is no more better than a LCD ccfl backlight other than boosted brightness but NOT contrast ratio.

THE ONLY THING that can beat a plasma is LED/LCD TV with arrays of RGB Tri-color LEDs backlight not white LEDs. http://gizmodo.com/5013722/sony-hosts-xbr8...-guess-who-wins

Added on January 19, 2012, 3:02 pm
QUOTE(Mar-1-A @ Jan 17 2012, 09:23 PM)
I'm having the blur problem when playing PES2012 mainly.
Anw, thnks for ur help..
Did you turn on Motionplus while gaming? Turn it off. Gaming console can generate real 60fps at 720p.

Motionplus only good for 24fps and 30fps video content. Average interpolated frames created is around 50fps but pulldown 2:2 to 100hz, but its still around 50-60fps only.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Jan 19 2012, 03:06 PM
Mea Culpa
post Jan 21 2012, 11:00 AM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Jan 20 2012, 10:10 AM)
I thought this black tint problem on nowadays new LED/LCD is almost on par with plasma.
You are right if you talk about during 3 years back. (Your link article is posted on 2008 too  smile.gif )
Now even Pioneer Kuro (Those day favorite plasma) already stop production.
you didnt't state any kind of LED TV for comparison.

To be on par with plasma black you have to reduce your backlight volume, thus contrast do suffers too. This is true for non-dimming LED.

Black tint still suffers at odd viewing angles. IPS type panel reduces this effect, but its still there. These panels are only on high end to mid models.

My post refers to a RGB LED technology by sony. Samsung has never produce any Tri-color LED not even a prototype.

Added on January 21, 2012, 11:08 am
Conclusion, ONLY LED TV with Local Dimming technology can compete with plasma black.

Samsung Series 8 and Series 7 is equipped withocally dimmable LED + Lookup processor = MicroDimming they called it.

Series 6 and below blacks not so much better than regular LCD TV, perhaps too little.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Jan 21 2012, 02:58 PM
Mea Culpa
post Jan 22 2012, 12:46 AM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(faiz21 @ Jan 21 2012, 10:57 PM)
I think 6 series and higher have the converter nod.gif
Yes, Series 6 is 3D centric with 120hz refresh rate.
Mea Culpa
post Mar 1 2012, 11:47 PM

5,180 posts

QUOTE(gnoy @ Feb 27 2012, 04:49 PM)
What is the difference btw d5000 and d6400 in terms of pq. 3d and smart features is not important for me. Just wanna know is there any difference in terms of 2d image. 6400 smoother image?

Watching action movies and gaming most of the time.

Higher refresh rate LCD/LED produce less artefact, thus much sharper picture at fast motion scenes, better motion clarity but still beaten by plasma tho.

Series 5 - 50/60hz refresh rate

Series 6 - 100/120hz refresh rate + active 3D

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1125sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:42 AM