10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung LED TV Thread, owners pls share

Haruji Sora
post Apr 28 2017, 01:54 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

Coming from a 5 year ish old LED TV (Samsung 55 inch ES6220)

Have PS4 Pro.

Thinking of upgrading to 55 inch or 65 inch HDR capable TV.

So far saw Harvey Norman offering the KS7000 55 inch for around RM5.6k?

Not sure should I up the budget to go for like 65 inch LG UH770T or not. (I heard bad blacks and HDR capability on IPS panel?)

And where did you ppl find sub RM5k KS7000 man.

Lazada and 11 Street all like 5k plus.
Haruji Sora
post Apr 28 2017, 05:16 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

AVSForum is full of people complaining KS8000 (KS7000 here) back panel separation after few months of usage.

Malaysia unit got this problem?
Haruji Sora
post Apr 28 2017, 05:19 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Apr 28 2017, 04:55 PM)
Waiting for 55" KS7000 price to drop once the QLED is out, currently still lingering around 5k
Well I got an offer of RM4950 from another nearby store (non 11 Street)

So i guess prices are currently lingering around there.

Though the seller did mention something about basically now it is stock clearance, after supplier run out of the stock you probably cant find it brand new anymore.

I kinda doubt it wont drop too much anymore. Maybe a couple more hundred.
Haruji Sora
post May 2 2017, 06:53 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ May 2 2017, 06:46 PM)
Saw in Aeon Midvalley

55" MU8000 - RM7999
65" MU9000 - RM12999
55" Q7 - RM12999
The MU series isnt Quantum LED though if I remember correctly
Haruji Sora
post May 3 2017, 10:43 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

I pulled the trigger on KS7000 55 inch @ RM4950.

Even though I would prefer a 65 inch to replace my older 55 inch TV (4.5 years old, Samsung ES6220 LED 3D TV). However due to the 65 inch price almost double of the KS7000, and KS7000 superior panel, I crashed in the purchase haha.

So far everything is fine, 4k HDR is good for PS4 Pro, upscale for older 1080p and 720p stream video is reasonable, color and supremely good (I never though I would say Red is much more spot on haha)

Had some trouble with AnyNet+. Turns out to pinpoint the problem to HyppTV box alongside a faulty HDMI cable (if either HyppTV box connected direct to TV, or if i use that fault HDMI cable, it will auto kill off the whole network of HDMI-CEC/Anynet+ capability)

Although I kinda got hit by either electricity or static electricity through the stand while I was fiddling around the things on my cable, unsure if that metallic light stand very prone to static electric or there is some weird leakage on my TV set.
Haruji Sora
post May 3 2017, 06:52 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

As a reference my unit that I bought was with a sticker stating March 2017 stock. Seeing that the MU series are coming in as per April 2017, I believe KS will be gone soon.
Haruji Sora
post May 4 2017, 10:35 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(nomar @ May 3 2017, 11:59 PM)
TQ,  went to see the new Samsung TV but only got MU9000 & 7000 , didn't see much difference/upgrade compared to KS7000.   No Q7F model displayed but I wouldn't pay the asking price anyway.

Actually waiting for Sony X900E and now only realised Sony not bringing it here !
The MU series are basically same design, but slightly inferior panel when compared to the KS7000. (But I do agree the build quality improved abit more)

I believe the contrast is lower than KS7000 (but still fulfill HDR 10 standard, or as Samsung like to call it, HDR1000), color gamut is lesser (mean color band is actually lesser).

In fact, Q7F looks to be more of a KS7000 successor as compared to the MU7000+ in terms of panel specification (just that Q7F taunts that new QLED thing)

Regardless MU7000 is a decent buy, but given a choice, getting KS7000 at around RM5k compared to MU7000 at RM7999 is a steal. You get a superior contrast panel as well a much brighter panel through the KS7000.

But of course eye balling both set (I did it at Harvey Norman the other day cause they had a KS7500 and a MU7000 side by side) you almost see everything identical (minus color, cause I agree KS looks slightly more vibrant)

This post has been edited by Haruji Sora: May 4 2017, 10:44 AM
Haruji Sora
post May 4 2017, 11:58 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 4 2017, 11:51 AM)
If receipt lost or bought used TV without receipt how?
Can try use MySamsung App and register TV using model and Serial Number.

But in the end iinm during warranty claim you still need to produce some form of proof of purchase.
Haruji Sora
post May 4 2017, 12:02 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ May 4 2017, 11:58 AM)
If MU series pricing eventually fall to the current KU series pricing (KU6400/KU6500) of RM3-4K, then it's will be a good entry-level 4K HDR TV (by then) because of the 1000-nit brightness and 10-bit panel (though lacking wide color gamut).

As of now, the so-called cheap 4k HDR TV of many brands is just a marketing gimmick. Can't get bright enough and using 8-bit panel but market is at HDR Premium/Pro etc.  shakehead.gif
There is a MU6100 in Malaysia. It has a RRP of 7299 (65 inch). I believe that's the one that will drop to the region of RM3k to 4k.

The higher MU7000+ probably will hover at max around the 4k+ region judging from history.

The Q series went ballpark to a way different price range already.

HDR Premium/Pro is basically yeah, can accept signal but can't exactly output the HDR experience correctly. (If you point directly to a sun you'll see what it means hahaa)
Haruji Sora
post May 4 2017, 12:07 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(spyderman88 @ May 4 2017, 12:01 PM)

You can http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/mu8000 review for MU8000,. It is worse  than KS series in all regards with measurements to boot.
The new Q7F also performs worse than KS series  (check rtings review for Q7F).  KS series especially the 65 inch at around 9K plus  is a steal and performs better than the newer series.
Pity there is no 65 inch flat version of KS7000 in Malaysia.

I inherently dislike curve cause of my living room size. (it's pretty wide)

And yeah Rting did measure KS to be a superior panel, however when eyeballing in showroom unit (set to showroom setting), your eyeball cant really see much of the difference except for color difference (which I have to add, the KS7500 perform horrible in color when viewed in an angle, damn curve)

And since Showroom unit never show HDR video running, you cant see both units in peak brightness, which is exactly where the KS series will triumph.
Haruji Sora
post May 4 2017, 05:00 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ May 4 2017, 04:33 PM)
I don't think the QLED will be lousy. Just that the incremental performance will not be large enough to justify the huge price differential.

One thing that I don't quite like about the QLED is the new OneConnect box. It requires another power outlet by itself, because the new wire is thin and just used for transmitting video signal.
The new QLED TV are using optical cable (think of it like your Unifi optic cable from the junction box to your BTU). It is capable of sending vast amount of data at huge speeds and not limited to video only, it include sound and etc.

Due to optic behavior however, both ends need to be powered to process and beam such light information.

And yeah I agree QLEDs are not lousy. It's just the gain / loss from the prior year Quantum LED TV isnt very far.

QLED gain more wider color gamut (hell it beats OLED color gamut from LG Flagship) but suffer from peak brightness. Dont forget QLED had a different LED pixel arrangement when compared to Samsung 2016 flagship, they probably still figuring out how to make the best out of it.
Haruji Sora
post May 4 2017, 05:41 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

I use PS4 Pro for HDR content.

I got a number of HDR enabled games in my collection (The Last of Us, Horizon Zero Dawn, Uncharted 4, Ratchet and Clank, and a few more)
Haruji Sora
post May 8 2017, 11:19 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

After a week ish usage of KS7000.

It's been great. Except my aging Samsung BD Home Theather (HTE6750W) ARC/Anynet+ decide to break down and refuse to pair with the TV LOL. ( i tried changing many cables. The first few days it can still see HDMI receiver but when try outputting using it no sound, now it outright refuse to show)

Everything else works, HDMI-CEC works on every single device plugged in (PS4/PS3/Pi2 runninng Kodi)

It just refuse to run on the Home Theather hahaha. Oh well old fashion Optical cable to the rescue.
Haruji Sora
post May 8 2017, 11:21 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

I might go loan a Soundbar just to test it is not the HDMI 4 port on my TV is broken hahaha.

Need to ask local electric shop can loan me one sound bar for a few hours or not haha.
Haruji Sora
post May 8 2017, 01:57 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(Omnislash9999 @ May 8 2017, 01:38 PM)
any budget HDR 4K tv to recommend? 50" and where to buy? im from seremban.
You no say budget range also XD

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ May 8 2017, 01:52 PM)
eyeing for 55inch ks7000, any shop in klang valley have best bargain?
I dont see anymore less than RM5k price tag for the TV now. Cheapest for now would be SengHeng/Harvey Norman, RM5699/RM5799 (new unit)
Haruji Sora
post May 8 2017, 03:28 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(AskDS @ May 8 2017, 02:14 PM)
Need help on two area on my 55UAKS7000.

1. Is there a way to fixed the contrast of the SUHD TV to natural permanently? Even when I sent it manually to natural, it will automatically change to Dynamic Contrast after a while. Yet to find a way to get around this.

2. Anyone has wall-mounted your KS7000? The M8-40mm screw provided by most wall-mount set is too short for the lower wall-mount hole at the back of the TV. What brand of wall-mount are you using currently? The alternative is to find M8-45mm screw from DIY shop. Not sure if it is available as I was at HomePro last night and they don't carry this size.

Any help is very much appreciated.
1) Mine is permanently on Movie mode with custom setting. It "remembers" the setting by HDMI port and device connected to it.

Make sure your changes are to effect This Source only in Expert Setting (not All Source)

If you regularly plug out the HDMI and swapping device, then iinm by design it is supposed to reset the setting on new device plug

2) I didnt wall mount but there should be those spacers (black rubber thing) that you supposed to insert so you can use shorter screws?
Haruji Sora
post May 8 2017, 05:40 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(AskDS @ May 8 2017, 04:19 PM)
Thanks for the reply.

Changed the setting to Movie mode with custom setting to "Current Source" but the it still change to Dynamic automatically after a while. The HMDI connection is permanently connected to HDMI 1 on the HDMI CEC. Will need to research more on how to fix it.

The screw provided is too short with the spacers. Checked the AVS forum and most recommend to use M8 45mm screw which is not easy to find.
Hmm there is one place you should check.

Under Settings, Expert Setting, TV mode is on Home Use or Shop/Retail Mode?

Need to be at Home Use.
Haruji Sora
post May 9 2017, 11:13 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(Secret Hunter @ May 9 2017, 01:05 AM)
which harvey norman did u go to?
still have stock for it?
Before I pulled the trigger on my local store, last weekend I went to Harvey Norman 1 Mont Kiara. They still have stock for 55 KS7000. Also I called Harvey Norman Ampang Point. Also have new stock at that time.

Difference of price is like a few ringgit, but 1 Mont Kiara offer free delivery while Ampang Point ask you to carry it home yourself.
Haruji Sora
post May 9 2017, 02:52 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(pmchin @ May 9 2017, 02:50 PM)
just calle HN paradigm, new set RM5679+77 delivery.
can do 36months installment.
Try call 1 Mont Kiara. I think roughly same price but with free delivery.
Haruji Sora
post May 12 2017, 10:41 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(shinchan5347 @ May 10 2017, 09:37 AM)
Guys is there any big difference in terms of picture quality between ku6000 and ks7000 cause I'm planning to get ku6000 but afraid that I don't get satisfied with the picture quality
Highly dependant on budget. Of course human nature we won't be satisfied and buyer remorse is real (even on KS7000 i have buyer remorse not upping my budget to OLED TV for "true" blacks) However since budget play a big role, and KS700 was the best bang for buck for me for a TV sub RM5k range. And on that price range not many other TV can come close to color and brightness reproduction. For KU series I believe you can get sub 4k (or maybe lesser now) for a 55 inch variant.

QUOTE(Omnislash9999 @ May 11 2017, 11:32 AM)
around rm4k bro, i heard alot ks7000 which is rm5k, abit out of budget sad.gif
KU6000 maybe?

sorry this is samsung thread but is samsung brand better than the rest? any other brand option that i should consider?

thanks.  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(voncrane @ May 11 2017, 11:46 AM)
TLDR: Samsung makes the best non-OLED TVs... For the best OLED TVs? IMO... that goes to LG.

Haha... You go to Sharp thread, owners there will say theirs is the best... Same with LG and Sony owners threads... Of course, as Samsung owners, we'd say its the best.. Samsung builds great displays.. No doubt there and so far their proprietary TV OS is only surpassed by the Android TV OS. However, the implementation of the Android TV OS is bad on many a TVs out there running it.
I concur with OLED TV best brand is LG.

For non OLED however, Sony and Samsung is pretty much in par, however Sony price seems to be slightly tad more expensive when compared to a similar product range with Samsung (not talking about RRP, both fairly similar, but when it comes to discount Samsung is able to throw a lot more discount for some reason)

On Rtings, Vizio seems to have a good mid range/entry level reviews, however I dont really see this brand over here in Malaysia.

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:03 PM