Samsung LED TV Thread, owners pls share

Mea Culpa
post Aug 18 2015, 05:42 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 18 2015, 05:25 PM)
Dude... I wrote that plasma TVs do NOT have to worry about LED Lights flashing Like LCDs cuz they are gas operated... In addition, your comprehension skills are severely lacking. Not the same thing as "flashlighting", more-so the result of certain contained gases (Neon or Xenon) being excited. doh.gif  You are really the stupidest of them all.. Stupid doesn't even begin to define what you are... I'm simply going to stop here by linking a page to "your" rtings.com. A page which explains plasma, how plasma TVs work and compared to an LCD...
Plasma vs LED: How They Work

Further reading to support my so called "false" claims.
How a plasma TV set makes its picture
How Plasma Displays Work.

I'm not going to pursue this any further as Albert Einstein says “Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.”

icon_rolleyes.gif
Stupid for replying to your post that is.

Light flashing? Plasma no flickering? Bull bull bull . most of your post is utter bs and makes no sense at all.

Please point out where this NO REFRESH RATE AT ALL in those www?

Again. Your claim is proven to be false.

Please quote me any "false" claim I had posted.

Harrassment detected! typical for low intelligent ppl like you. Only a fool would call another a fool. Throwing insults then chicken out? Quote Einstein sumore walauu... Talk about maturity. rclxms.gif

Forumers looking to get good advice on getting a TV. Do yourself a favor ignore this user.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Aug 18 2015, 09:14 PM
Mea Culpa
post Aug 19 2015, 02:32 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 19 2015, 01:46 AM)
Nah, you are just plain ol stupid and u know it. Proved it yourself repeatedly, you see. Sort of like a kid waving your 1 incher around claiming to be bigger. Of all the numerous points and counterargument I made, your "not low IQ" chose to rest on that 1 typo or as I would like to call it, a hurried sentence. Remember what I said about you and being likened to some really vocal officials? Anyway, to clarify, in my haste to reply your previous post I typed out "With Plasmas, there is no refresh rate at all." Rather than the slightly more wordy "With Plasmas, there is no need for higher refresh rate at all", as plasmas operate somewhat differently and don't suffer from motion blur in the exact way an LCD does. Love your new siggy by the way! I'm honored to have made such a huge impact in your life. Pls do post a lot around the forums and I would appreciate it if you added more color, like blues and green.

Wise men don't need advice. Fools won't take it.
--Benjamin Franklin
You're such a jerk and you know that. I have no idea how your inputs could be any good to other readers.. Your continous attack on my posts was intentional harrassment with rude language... Waiting me to make mistake ...

My post are mostly my reply to pms. Mods can check my pm. Those posts not for you .. Why reply? Sigh..
Contributed alot for this forum.

So some arrogant snob can just run foul mouth no holds barred. Flaming and now name calling totally legit here?

MOD please BAN both account. I'm out.

Retaliation is inevitable!

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Aug 19 2015, 04:32 AM
Mea Culpa
post Aug 19 2015, 10:45 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Aug 19 2015, 10:20 PM)
Hi Guys

Everybody have their own preference

The really is no need to say one opinion is relevant and another opinion isn't.

Would be a shame if this topic is closed because everyone cannot get along

So everyone okay?
I'm OK if ppl poke fun on my ideas just like RWI.

Calling ppl stupid. Poor English or that sort ..could hurt ppls feelings. I know my English is crap..so yes No personal attk pls.

Personal attacks like 1 incher xxx kid is a no go for me.

If ppl want to stick to one inch dxxk aka 60hz led let them lah..

A higher TV only meant much for AV guys.. Not for common ppl who just want a working TV.

Mea Culpa
post Aug 19 2015, 10:48 PM

5,184 posts

Keywords : provoke the mind NOT emotion.

Once fire started retaliation follows...

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Aug 19 2015, 10:57 PM
Mea Culpa
post Aug 19 2015, 11:34 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 19 2015, 11:13 PM)
As cool as a cucumber...  icon_rolleyes.gif
Why stick it out like that.. Its your dignity bro. Lol

No worries.. I'm cool. But not sure about the forum MPAA rating.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Aug 19 2015, 11:36 PM
Mea Culpa
post Aug 19 2015, 11:59 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 19 2015, 11:52 PM)
**Mumbles something about Dad's teachings about sticking to one's guns to end in a blaze of glory*** biggrin.gif .. Glad u r cool too... thumbup.gif Wanna go another round? This time about sound quality?  brows.gif
My hearing low quality only .. Family members hate loud noises.
Mea Culpa
post Aug 26 2015, 12:07 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Aug 25 2015, 08:50 PM)
i am using 48J5500. First of all, it is cheap for a 48" (got mine 2.6K or 2.8K cant remember)

Got 2 unit but one got flashlight effect and bad backlight bleed (warranty once but the panel replaced is not that good either.. so getting another)

If got extra budget go for higher series.
If you're migrating from LCD TV its quite normal you'll notice the black uniformity issue on almost ANY LED TV. This is because most if not all LED TVs are EDGE Lit. For 2014+ Samsung LED TV its from Series 5 up to Series 8 and some of its series 9 except the Series 9 flagship.

Some older 2013 Series 5 are using Direct Lit LED, similar with full array except no local dimming. See if you can still find them? Most Direct Lit LED are quite thick over 2.5 to 4 inch

IMO its not really a problem when viewing normal programs only dark scenes will be affected. Adjust the room lighting and you should be fine. Dial down the BACKLIGHT to comfortable brightness. For dark room, set around 30%.

Below is a 2013 Sony Direct Lit LED at 30% backlight. Its an entry level similar to samsung Series 5

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Aug 26 2015, 11:09 AM
Mea Culpa
post Aug 26 2015, 07:53 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Aug 26 2015, 07:27 PM)
for yours is truly black on the edge. Well, this is my first TV. The old one was the first gen LCD
Direct lit LED is a backlit LED. But they no longer common nowadays.

Your older LCD TV is also a Backlit TV, just that the light source is not LED but CCFL florescent lamp. So flash lighting is not an issue. But due to the way light being disperse and difuse with CCFL lamp black is not as black as LED.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Aug 26 2015, 07:57 PM
Mea Culpa
post Aug 26 2015, 08:06 PM

5,184 posts

Backlit TV generally quite thick due to the fact the backlight is directly behind the panel. Bad aesthetic

Another cons will be power consumption. The increase in numbers of LEDs with size is also why size beyond 42" the edge is preffered by manufacturer to cut cost. 32" Series 4 is still a direct led probably with lesser LEDs than edge as they looked quite dark and lack brightness.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Aug 26 2015, 08:34 PM
Mea Culpa
post Mar 24 2016, 11:48 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Mar 24 2016, 04:31 PM)
Problem with this F9000 TV is its boot looping. I see the samsung logo then it keeps restarting... will a factory reset actually help? What's the problem actually? the TV? or that oneconnect box?
If you did received firmware auto updates or patches probably some core component might be corrupted during updates causing a crash during boot ; thus boot looping. Factory reset will not fix.

Best solution is send for repair to reflash firmware.
Mea Culpa
post Mar 24 2016, 11:50 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Mar 24 2016, 04:31 PM)
Problem with this F9000 TV is its boot looping. I see the samsung logo then it keeps restarting... will a factory reset actually help? What's the problem actually? the TV? or that oneconnect box?
If you did received firmware auto updates or patches probably some core component might be corrupted during updates causing a crash during boot ; thus boot looping. Factory reset will not fix.

Best solution is send for repair to reflash firmware.
Mea Culpa
post Mar 25 2016, 02:49 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Mar 25 2016, 04:08 AM)
Actually some days it doesnt boot loop, but most of the time it bootloops... taht's the strange part.
Faulty hardware. its common with electronic component that has developed "dry joints". Like ghost.

Send for full hardware inspection
and reflash (re-install) firmware to factory default without updates.
Mea Culpa
post Mar 25 2016, 03:06 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(kayz1e @ Mar 25 2016, 02:13 PM)
have you guys ever considered professional display?

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3901906&hl=

even tho i'm selling it, could someone identify the clear differences between this and a conventional LED TV?
The differences is the requirement to meet industry standard.

Such as durability... Tolerance against vibration, pyshical impact, heat, 24/7 grade components. Screen should b impact resistant for most. (Not all)

If the TV is just going to sit in a comfortable home. I'd say no diff. But due to some military grade components..I'd say they just might last longer.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Mar 25 2016, 03:17 PM
Mea Culpa
post Mar 25 2016, 08:13 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Mar 25 2016, 05:35 PM)
i did resolder a lot of the joints on the power board.... but at this point i dont think its the power board problem already.

should i look for cold joints on the "motherboard" ?

understand that, the boot loop occurs when the oneconnect device is connected. the tv itself can remain on without it for an entire day....
Not those big soldered joints I meant those SMD type prone to it, they can't by reflow using conventional ways.

I think it has to do with the box. Could be broken connector, hardware or firmware. A short to could trigger the reboot. Check for ribbon cables in the box make sure they r properly secured. Is the box has its own powersupply? outputting proper current/voltage?

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Mar 25 2016, 08:20 PM
Mea Culpa
post Mar 25 2016, 08:23 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Mar 25 2016, 08:12 PM)
Model is 55h6300. From google only mentioned full hd. Im not a tech savvy guy but it sound like my tv not support uhd right?
Uhd capable has a. "U" in its model name.
Mea Culpa
post Mar 26 2016, 12:04 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Mar 25 2016, 08:46 PM)
After second time checked, it is ua55h6300ar. Yay it's UHD right
Nope.

Its HUxxxx. Not Hxxxx

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.1117sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:42 AM