Samsung LED TV Thread, owners pls share

Haruji Sora
post Jun 22 2017, 05:43 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Jun 22 2017, 04:46 PM)
u guys use USB to update your firmware?

I use the auto-update feature, but it says I'm using the latest version already (1169)
I havent update yet, on avsforum alot of ppl say PQ has improvd greatly.

At least yesterday it didnt prompt me to update so I guess maybe it's not up yet in Asia servers?
Haruji Sora
post Jun 29 2017, 11:37 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

RM5.1k is darn expensive for a display set.

For that price you can hunt down for a brand new unit (even though stocks are pretty rare now)

Well maybe you can nego and see (some forum peeps over here manage to get an additional 3 years warranty for free on display set [Harvey], another manage to get Samsung swap the panel before purchasing it [Best I think])
Haruji Sora
post Jul 11 2017, 11:12 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ Jul 10 2017, 09:16 PM)
FYI..

I'm still maintaining this setting. PQ is superb, plus after I got a new Himedia q10pro...fuyoh, the Imprex 2.0 engine is tweaking my usual 720p (yeah, pathetic but does the job  blush.gif ) to a mindblown PQ. No kidding! It's like I'm looking out the window  rclxm9.gif Never knew a really good media box can be so good.

For the record, I used to own bluray discs and player in the past, but never tested on my 4K Sammy before, but the current 55" 4K TV+box combi is showing much better PQ compared to my earlier 42" FullHD + Bluray combi (Personal view) nod.gif
Off topic abit buy how much you got you Q10 Pro for?

I'm tempted to upgrade my aging Pi 2 to 1 4k box (even though kodi has almost zero 4k content now)

HAHA.
Haruji Sora
post Jul 11 2017, 12:24 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

My Sammy TV is on Wifi and still able to stream 4k off Netflix/Youtube and also Screen Mirroring is no problem (i screen mirror my smartphone pics to the TV)

But of course the router is like, right beside the TV haha since my Unifi box is along my TV table.

Didn't find the need to swap to Ethernet yet since I used up my 4 ports (1 to PS4, 1 to upstairs router, 1 to Pi2, 1 HyppTV)

I think you can maintain Wifi for the TV connection as long as the signal strength is good and you're on Wireless-N (or AC) standard.

Haruji Sora
post Jul 12 2017, 11:16 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(brownbeav @ Jul 11 2017, 08:02 PM)
Between samsung mu6100 and sony x70e, which one is better guys? Already went to shop to compare, but still feel undecided  confused.gif
Rtings x700e (equivalent US model) review is not out yet sadly.

However judging from x700d model review and spec (i'm not sure they switched the spec up on the newer model or not) it is an IPS panel.

MU6100 is a VA panel.

Basically in general thumb the regular difference between IPS and PVA is like, IPS has much better viewing angle, PVA has better colors/contrast (usually), IPS has some image retention problem (model dependent)

Personally I'm a VA person for LCD tech, cause I dont really use the TV on a very wide Living (it's give it or take, about 3 seater sofa and a 1 seater at the side of it), but some ppl vouch for IPS.

And in the end it also boil down to Price point.

For these budget TV, the HDR support is there, however it's a decent HDR support (both TV cant go very high nits, but that's due to the price point)

And inherently both TV has similar upscale tech (my bias opinion i find Samsung has the slightly better upscale, follow by Sony, then LG being the worse)

If the shop you demo the TV has internet connection to their TV, you can try going to Youtube and search for 4k HDR demo video.

It's the best video you can use to test for PQ, and see which TV panel suit your needs.

Some ppl say IPS is more "natural"(?) color, however i find it abit washed out.

Anyways different ppl different taste.
Haruji Sora
post Jul 12 2017, 11:21 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

Oh I forgot to add, Sony TV is usually better if you watch Sports iinm, in general motion is handled better in Sony sets compared to Samsung.
Haruji Sora
post Jul 12 2017, 04:57 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(ngks @ Jul 12 2017, 04:34 PM)
I think this have to do with factory tuning and the processor capability.
I seen same panel on both LG and Sony, both perform very differently.
LG has the most weird color reproduction on IPS panel. It just look washed out to me. Sony is slightly better lol

Oh yeah, just another note when doing video demo in shop for TV, please loan the remote from the sales and change the picture setting LOL. Most Demo unit left it on those super weird DYNAMIC setting or something hahaha. Kinda not very usable on day to day basis.

You can leave it at Movie / Game (depends video type) as Mode as a benchmark.

Haruji Sora
post Jul 13 2017, 06:49 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Jul 13 2017, 05:40 PM)
Btw, is it better to 'shutdown' the TV before turning off the power?
I usually just switch off the power plug when the TV is still on.
Powering down the TV through the remote before physically turning off the switch is recommended as TV has become complex and powering down allows "some" functions to go to standby mode.

Killing the power is not supposed to happen unless you know, your electricity got cut off.

Put it this way, for your desktop you dont want to kill the plug power before you shut down Windows right?
Haruji Sora
post Jul 14 2017, 11:36 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Jul 14 2017, 11:16 AM)
PC operating is different with TV, the hardware (eg: HDD) are still running and the OS is much more complex, therefore a proper shutdown is required before turning off the switch.
For TV, power off using remote just 1 second with blink animation and goes to black screen with red light up at the TV infrared port, does that consider completely shutdown in 1 second? Because it don't have fan running, which can indicate the device is completely shut off unlike PC if screen goes black after shutting down but fan still spinning is actually not completely shutdown yet. How long actually have to wait before killing the power switch?
Another example would be our router / modem, do u shutdown before killing the power?

Is there any proof that shutdown using remote is necessary before cutting off the power because I read the manual nothing mentioned about how to off the TV in proper way.
Yea... this is what we practice in our daily life for electronic appliances. But let me ask u again, do u shutdown ur modem / router before u kill the power switch?
For what security reason? hmm.gif
Quoting from other Forum I'm reading in relation to killing the power

"In the case of a digital television, you're talking about a power transformer inside the set that is really rated to handle those peak voltages, even at startup - but over time when you constantly subject a component to that spike it simply ages quicker.

The short answer is - no, you can't damage a digital TV by using a power strip to turn it off (especially if it's a high-quality surge protector), but yes it can age the set more quickly by putting the power components in the TV under a little more stress than they need to face."

"Electrical it's not advisable: You will certainly shorten the life of the power strip and or switch until it is damaged.

Whenever you intercept a circuit (using a switch or pulling the cord) an electric arc is created. Usually this arc exists only for a millisecond (or less)."

So basically, it won't spoil your set instantly, but it may cause some "degradation" to the power supply (the one that takes the 240v and convert to electric that your TV needs). It will be minor degradation but it will compile over time and in the long run it may cost problem.
Haruji Sora
post Jul 20 2017, 03:29 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(spkow @ Jul 20 2017, 12:36 PM)
Hi, I have just bought  samsung qled 55q7f tv for a week, I found that One Connection Box seemed to be very hot, Is it the normal case or my connection box is overheat?
Mine isn't QLED but the previous year KS7000 One Connect Box has virtually almost no heat at all at my home.

Guess the fastest way you can find out actually is go to Harvey/Seng Heng/any other electrical shop that has that model in Display and try to molest the box LOL. Ask the staff for assistance since they usually hide it behind some furniture or behind the mounting.
Haruji Sora
post Jul 27 2017, 10:44 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(hizad @ Jul 26 2017, 08:40 PM)
Just get an android box or a Raspberry Pi 3 or something. It isn't too expensive.

And the problem with the guide is that it is forcing android Kodi running on Tizen via emulator, one can imagine how the performance would be LOL.
Haruji Sora
post Jul 28 2017, 11:09 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(spkow @ Jul 25 2017, 11:13 AM)
Samsung Support has released new firmware 1123.2. Has anyone already updated firmware to 1123.2?  Any changes or improvement?
QUOTE(spkow @ Jul 25 2017, 11:41 AM)
UA55Q7FAM, factory default firmware version 1106. Update or not?
LOL just saw this msg smile.gif Anyways just update.

Meanwhile KS7000 still stuck at 1180.5 (from June 2017)

I need them to fix the Game Mode HDR setting not sticking.

Come on it isn't that hard. It's already been more than 1.5 years LOL.
Haruji Sora
post Jul 28 2017, 03:09 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(spkow @ Jul 28 2017, 01:11 PM)
This is the firmware 1122.2's info.txt:

upgrade type: USB
major version: 1122
minor version: 1
model string: T-KTMUABC
image: TIZEN-3.0-TRUNK2017-KantM-RELEASE_20170618.1
gendate: 20170623
imgdate: 17061801
release name: SWU-OU_T-KTMUABC-01122-170623-Release
firm code: SWU-OU_T-KTMUABC_01122_170623
firm version: 1122.170623
used key type : UNDEFINED_KEY[204662050] / UNDEFINED_KEY[3899045674]
tool version: 6.9.1 / cc00530b5f1971b5a5d163ba0311650342b918fb / downloaded: 2017.05.16-10:33:57
pinfo: 01020304050607080910121314151819

You see the major version is 1122!

So may be something wrong with firmware 1123.
Did you download the firmware from Samsung Malaysia site?

Cause same problem with my KS7000, the UK firmware refuse to install on my TV, have to redownload the MY version instead.
Haruji Sora
post Aug 3 2017, 11:32 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Aug 3 2017, 08:31 AM)
yeah, weird that it still available for sales online
You can call the direct SengHeng HQ number and ask them to check stock availability.

Last few months before I got my KS7000 I did call SengHeng and they check and say the system states Cheras have stock, but not 100% guarantee available as the branch might not have update the system after they sold it (sometimes they take a week or so to update the system)

So the online system of SengHeng is not accurate.

Anyways it's already been like 4-5 months since KS7000 is discontinue and lots of people have already snapped away the leftover stock+display unit.

It's going to be hard to find it now.
Haruji Sora
post Aug 3 2017, 11:36 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Aug 3 2017, 10:38 AM)
Any review on Samsung QLED Q7F 55" UHD 4K?

Some one offer me RM7080. Should I take it?

Initially looking for either KU6000 or KS7000 but due to no stock... so they suggested me this model.
LOL KU6000 to KS7000 to Q7F is a big price difference, you talking about price range like 3k to 5k to 7k, each iteration is like a RM2k jump.

If budget allow, Q7F is a decent buy.

If you like LED tech, then Q7F is the way to go (but do try look around OLED offering from LG as their prices are roughly the same or sometimes cheaper abit than Q7F)

For that RM7k range, I probably go for OLED series instead and be careful about burn in (yeah OLED can burn in, although most of the time it is just temporary, but who knows it might be permanent if you left it on a same channel for a few months)
Haruji Sora
post Aug 3 2017, 02:05 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Aug 3 2017, 01:34 PM)
LG which model? Let me go n have a look look.

Yeah. Initially I was looking for KU6000 but no more stock from many of the electrical shop I've been.
Also looking for KS7000, again, limited to none the stock.

Then they start inject me with Q7F for RM7000 ish... The shadowing is quite good and no more reflection compare to other panel.
But it may cost me a bomb. I know... which I hope I dont end up in their poisonous sting ... (well, who's knows right!?) Samsung provided onsite training, 10 years warranty for panel, and free wireless keyboard after installing and gave them a call for assistance.

OLED, I m have bad experienced with OLED before. Not so kin as two of my device using OLED and AMOLED. Both inside got burnt mark after certain time and usage. Quite unpleasant if u ask me. Tho I wow at the silky smooth of the display, but again I m afraid for my next purchase as I'm use TV quite often.

Wanted to enjoy cinema-like kinda of environment and some time PS4. I don't mind KU6000 certainly dont mind to pump a bit more to KS7000. But of coz, cheapest still win provided stock are available. If KS7000 is around RM5 near 6K, I would rather go to Q7F straight away.
LG you might want to see last year B6 Model. It should be roughly 6k to 8k ish (with or without soundbar price)

I know a few months back I saw it for 8xxx with one free soundbar for the 55 inch variant.

OLED is prone for burn in however there are build in tools that you can run occasionally to negate that issue.

You can go to rting for Q7F review (very in depth)

http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/qled-q7f-q7

Not so reflection most probably due to the "moth eye" coating they have, it is present on KS7000 as well (MU removed that coating, boo on them)

Is your primary concern future proofing for HDR? Or just want to the best bang for buck on Picture Quality?

If HDR is a concern, you probably won't get satisfied with KU6000.

KU6000 is good value for money, have very decent PQ, as long as you dont be too fussy with HDR (and let's put it this way, HDR content is fairly limited now).

Past few month ago I saw a KU6000, 60 inch going for like RM5599 (before discount) on a local shop near my place.

I end up cave in to KS7000 55 inch @ RM4950 a few months back, snapping one of the last few units in Sg Buloh cause my primary concern was PS4 Pro and HDR support .
Haruji Sora
post Aug 3 2017, 03:02 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Aug 3 2017, 02:51 PM)
Check the Rtings before for Q7F.
For me, I'm planning to buy somewhere in the middle, between the best and the affordable range. Coz TV for me not changing yearly type of device. So planning to get a good one with good features.

Few months back, I also posted about KU6000 from Sengheng here b4. For about RM2599 but I didnt resort to buy it as my new house is not ready yet and the shop dont wanna keep the stock for too long. Hence, didnt seal the deal.

Now my new house is almost ready in few weeks, so its bout time to get it. But no stocks for both KU6000 and KS7000 model.

I'm looking for 55" UHD with the best available feature whether at entry (RM2-3K) or middle price range (RM3-5K),
Slightly above middle/average (RM5-7K) and high range (RM8K ++) I'm not so kin. as these product price will depreciate eventually. Not really a budget constraint issue but more like I dont feel good to spend so much at the moment as house reno, furniture and other things is costing me a bomb or two edy.

Q7F did caught my attention is the "next generation" TV... but price... really dont feel syok to grab that. I dont mind getting it but personally deep down I would rather die die find a KU6000 or KS7000 or similar products and grab another laptop for gaming edy or use the money invest in a proper sound system or other stuff...
If you dont mind curved screen, KS7500 should have several stocks hovering around various shops.

I do agree 7k is pretty steep esp after just done renovation (went through that, omg so many things overbudget near the end)

If HDR is not a concern, and you can't find KU series as well, perhaps you can look into the MU series.

I believe 55 inch MU series should be roughly between the RM4k range ish.

MU8000 has better build quality than KS7000 (albeit the design look the same) and similar colors output. Only downside is no moth-eye (so slightly more reflective and lesser peak brightness performance) The MU6xxx is the one that's cheaper, and it is the successor for the KU6300
Haruji Sora
post Aug 3 2017, 03:36 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Aug 3 2017, 03:22 PM)
Yeah. Hardly find.
Online, I saw many seller. But I need to contact them to arrange a delivery and installation so this quite difficult especially in Lazada with no seller contacts.
I'm dont mind curve screen but would prefer flat instead. Gonna hang on the wall.
Yeah... already over budget really doh.gif trying to cut down n minimize. And again, these things dont change always. So better get a good one.
MU8000 I saw yesterday, non curve RM3599 and curve is RM3999. Was quite reflective. Tats y they suggest me Q7F. Higher contrast, black is really black and shadow was good but it was launch not long ago and price is not cheap. Can-Afford but is tat necessary?!

I m gonna paint my tv wall into greyish wall paint with nippon paint.
This type: http://decor.mthai.com/app/uploads/2015/04/elegant.jpg

And mount my TV on d wall. And would prefer black bezel frame. Q7F is using silver bezel and it support universal remote. Q7F remote very cool.

So if i found KU6000 or KS7000 I may not think twice, just buy first. Next time when got budget only buy a better one, and these KU6000 or KS7000 will switch to my master bedroom... hahaha...
Then I highly suggest not to go for Q7F since QLED is kinda a gimmick now and overpriced atm. You probably can get Q7F for like 5k or lesser by next year (that's how far KS7000 dropped in a year)

Is your living wide? If your seating area is wide then you can also forget about Curved screen.

Also how far is your viewing distance from the sofa to the screen? It will affect how big screen you need (I got 55 inch cause i cheapskated, end up moving the sofa a good 1 feet away more towards the TV to make do LOL)

You might also can look around Sony last year offering for those clearance stock (though I find Sony Malaysia discount is quite bad compared to Samsung)

I'll avoid LG SUPER UHD LCD though, not sure why but it looks damn washed out to me (maybe cause IPS panel)
Haruji Sora
post Aug 3 2017, 04:06 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Aug 3 2017, 03:50 PM)
Yeah... U have the good point.
Tats y I m felt so not good with Q7F now.
When its launch it was around RM12k, and after few weeks, it drop to RM8k. Yesterday I checked, it become 7K ish... it drop drastically.

My sofa is a L shape type, the distance is about 6ft ish and 8ft ish from the wall. Btw, is a condo. I'm dont mind 60" or more as long as hanger can hold and not over big. Of coz later will pump in a carpet from IKEA and 1 or 2 bean bag ...

After painting, I will somehow soundproof (not 100% of course but to minimize the sound to avoid disturbance to other neighbors) the area.

And yes, I avoiding LG IPS Screen, Haier, Hisense, Philips these brand.
Looking into Samsung and Sony at the moment. Other like Panasonic, Sharp... not really like it.

Clearance stock? Didn't see it... And I find Harvey Norman quite expensive compare to other shop.
Hunt around shops like Hoe Huat, Seng Heng / SenQ, or if you know a local trustworthy shop, you can ring / visit them and just get prices.

For 6 feet ish, you're probably need at min 55 inch, at max 65 inch.

KS7000 is probably more or less sold out now, but it is value for money at that time due to the price cut.

Haruji Sora
post Aug 3 2017, 05:08 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Aug 3 2017, 05:03 PM)
Yeah. I do some hunting yesterday. Seng Heng, SenQ, ESH, no more stocks even their branches.

I'm just wonder is there any merdeka sales started already for the Tv?
I see a number of Merdeka promotion for LG, Samsung, and Sony.

Though mostly on the newer models.

Old stock usually wont show up haha.

Frankly I'm quite surprised you're having difficulty finding KU6xxx series. Just like a month or 2 back I see it everywhere.

Wasn't really visiting Electrical shop nowadays though.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1207sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:20 AM