LYN Breastfeeding Support Group, may u b bless wif abundance of supply~!!
sbux
Aug 5 2011, 12:35 AM

congrats! and don't give up!!!
hmm... dont pat him.. its soothing for him..
I always tell my friends, baby would wake up for feeds if he is hungry. so don't worry if baby sleep through.
Tell ur hubby, at this time, baby should be swimming in your womb. So he may not be ready.
U don't stress.. if baby not feeding, u still have to pump every 2 hours to stimulate milk production. Stress will make your body produce less milk.
AND, try to wake baby and latch on around 3am.. where the prolactin hormone is the highest and greatest...
What can u do if there is nipple confusion? Drop the bottle and only offer baby your breast. Its easier said than done, i know. but once baby is looking for milk, offer your breast first.. Try spoon feeding.
Erm, most importantly, talk to hubby...
sbux
Aug 6 2011, 02:51 AM

Have u tried feeding baby with a cup or spoon? I know its difficult and tough.. But maybe by doing this way, the nipple confusion issue will resolve.
I am not so sure about the meconium issue though.
Yes i agree with phythia. Dont panic. Talk to ur baby. It works for the first few days when i was in the hospital. Baby too hungry and she need to work so hard for milk. So the nurse talk to her... Telling her to try... I did the sam as well. When baby is so restless on my breast, i will talk to her.. It works...
And, maybe some of u would disagree, but plz... Dont be guilty if ur baby is drinking formula. I forced myself too much till i felt like slapping myself everytime baby drinks formula.
Hang in there... Soon u will hope baby will sleep for a longer time instead...
sbux
Aug 7 2011, 09:33 PM

One of my sil maid still feeding the 3 yr old formula. It seems that she 3 yrs old wake up twice a night asking for milk...
She told me... "budak minum susu baik... Ada susu, baru ada darah..."
*faints*
sbux
Aug 7 2011, 11:17 PM

Oh.. The issues i encounter with my in laws will never be solved.. Lots of issues.. Seriously, I thought of bringing baby back to my mum's place already... But come to think of it, it isn't right. Baby loves her daddy... And, if bring baby, have to send the maid along.. Then i have to do housework eh.. LOL... Somemore, no one gonna wash my baking utensils d...
sbux
Aug 16 2011, 01:26 AM

I kena before when i let my milk engorged 7 hours because i lazy to pump when i was out shopping. (it was the first day after my confinement!)
I came home, turn on the shower, and use the water pressure to massage it. The water must be hot. Then, direct bf baby. It clears of immedietely.
sbux
Aug 20 2011, 12:07 PM

When it happened to me lsst time, i gave my baby a pacifier.
When i think she's had enough, i would give her the pacifier instead. Sometimes, they are not really sucking for milk, ut sucking for comfort. The sucking motion is different.
sbux
Aug 25 2011, 02:55 AM

I manage to get only 4oz every 4 hours during full moon. That also baby is drinking 4oz every 3 hours so no choice have to top up.
I also have no patience in pumping.. its a different story if i have the ipad with me. I will just fix the pump, play a game or watch movie or surf... then i milk myself mad.. that also the flow stop after half an hour.
BF goals? 1 month, 2 month, 3 months.... 1oz, 2oz, 3oz...
sbux
Sep 8 2011, 12:10 AM

surprise... WOW... impressive! I can never fill up my freezer..
Qarezma.. is baby on full BM now? Cuz when my baby was on full BM, her highest record was 6 days... As long as the stool is not hard.. then should not be a problem.
sbux
Sep 13 2011, 03:39 PM

lol... erm.. i think the problem with breastpump is the valves. check the valves and see..
i did not use medela before but my old breastpump's valve always tear thus resulthing in lower suction.
sbux
Sep 16 2011, 12:50 AM

Phythia, silicon bra is the answer!! hehe..
oh and my super boob size gone after i stop pumping. its like.. now u see it, next morning no more... funny la.. suddenly it shrinks. and i think even smaller than pre pregnancy...
I don't burp Samantha after she is 3 months.. she sort of master the way to burp herself..
sbux
Sep 19 2011, 01:07 AM

Tess, pumping 3oz for every 2 hours consider a lot already. At full moon, i can only get 4oz every 3 hours...
Do continue pumping for every 2 hours to increase supply if u cant latch on. Make sure u schedule one pump between 2-5am.. best if once at 3 am and once at 5am. Thats how i increase my supply.
EBM is never thick. Its usually much much more watery than FM.
u are doing very well actually!
Added on September 19, 2011, 1:09 amand u better tell ur CL.. she work for u.. u pays her.. She is your employer so she have to listen to u.. don't get bullied by your CL.
This post has been edited by sbux: Sep 19 2011, 01:09 AM
sbux
Sep 22 2011, 01:18 AM

Tess,
Re your CL, u must be very firm with her. u tell her, baby won't sleep quietly if he is still hungry. Hungry baby will make noise and fuss. Then u asked her, of all those years she worked as a CL, she must have some experience right?
And where is ur hubby in all this issue? Get him to stand behind ur back.
Like my hubby, i told him already. No matter what he MUST support me in BF. if not, i will bring baby back to my mum's place for confinement. Wahlao.. he is so damn supportive. I wanted to give up when my nipple cracked and bleed but he told me cannot. must continue. hahahahha...
what breast pump are u using? a good pump shouldn't take that long. But its good also cuz its stimulating your milk production.
the only way to toughen up your nipple is to direct latch. no other ways. and the applying breastmilk way works!
sbux
Oct 13 2011, 12:24 AM

Salute my hubby's niece... She is a primary school teacher. Just gave birth to her 4th baby just now. First baby bf for 3 months as she need to be away in another state attending teacher's training for 6 months. 2nd baby bf 9 months then eventually stop because supply cannot cope. 3rd baby, bf 11 months then stop as my SIL (that anti-bf GP) told her cannot bf while pregnant with 4th child. Now is 4th baby. Was bf when i visit her in hospital! She is my hubby's brother's daughter.. they have 5 siblings.. She and the other spouses are all bf. No formula on standby because mummy WILL ALWAYS HAVE MILK! CLAP CLAP!!!!
sbux
Oct 28 2011, 02:46 AM

No my baby didn't get confuse. Like Xander, She of course prefer the real thing in the initial days.
My CL doesn't encourage pacifier. She said more work for her as need to wash and clean often. But in the end she surrender cuz i can't rest when my girl need to pacify to sleep. So we offer the pacifier.
Nowadays, after i stop bf, my girl rely on it to sleep. And the maid have been secretly using it to stop her making noise when she need to work. I was damn furious and told her if she continue using it, i will throw it away. U r responsible if my baby cries. LOL.. So cruel...
sbux
Nov 4 2011, 01:45 AM

I ate like normal after i completed my confinement. Hawker la.. Sashimi la.. Coffee.. tea... alcohol maybe a can of carlsberg but that also right after i feed/pump.
CL actually let me drink Stout.. lol...
the more u stress on your amount produced, the lesser u would produce.
sbux
Nov 11 2011, 12:00 AM

Your baby is taking too much nap during the day.. U have to slowly adjust her sleeping timing.
What i did was this. (I started when baby full moon)
8pm is her sleep time. Lights out totally. Change pyjamas. Rub tummy with oil. (A chinese way) change diapers. If she wakes up, give her milk, change diapers, dont look into her eyes. Dont talk to her..don't switch the lights on. Pat her back to sleep. Repeat for the rest of the night. If your wife is direct latching, get her to latch by lying sideways.
When morning comes, say 7am. Curtain open.. lights on.. music on.. Throughout the day, her nap is outside the room, not in her night baby cot. Lights on, curtain open, we talk loudly.. music on.. etc etc...
U can try and buy "the contented little baby book by Gina Ford". Very good book to put your baby on schedule.
My method above was more or less adapted from the book. This changing of schedule is not something that u can achieve in 2-3 days.. If ur wife is starting work soon, have u tried starting the botttle? Many bf babies have problem with transition from breast to bottle.
sbux
Nov 22 2011, 03:07 AM

"bilirubin".. Baby need to flush out the bilirubin in their system. So in order to do that, they need to poo and pee. To poo and pee, they need to be constantly breastfed. Ask your wife to maybe check with gov hospital whether there are some sort of hostel or extra bed? so that she can stay there longer time to bf? Don't bother about chinese pantang larang for now. Baby more important. Also, can join FB group http://www.facebook.com/groups/128537811172/. If chinese pantang is valid, they say u can always "pou" back during your next confinement. continue breastfeeding ya... and keep us updated.
sbux
Dec 24 2011, 04:45 PM

This is a BREASTFEEDING support thread. We do not tell mothers to feed formula here.
I know there will be some who mix feed, or maybe feed formula at night, but that is entirely up to the parents' choice.
Do not tell a new parent to supplement. It will just make the mum's supply going lesser and lesser.
sbux
Feb 3 2012, 01:04 AM

Please do not give Gripe Water.. aka Fatty Water.. its just a sweetened syrup to make baby drinks more water.
And also, water is not necessary is the baby is exclusively breastfeed.