22 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Folding@Malaysia needs your help!, Fellow hardware gurus, please read !

AlexZai123
post Sep 11 2011, 11:36 AM

Dream, Plan, Achieve
950 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Sep 10 2011, 11:45 PM)
won't slow your system, as long as it's priority is set to idle. nod.gif
it will give priority to your work in your pc,
so it only used the remaining idle cycle to perform calculation. biggrin.gif

let say on this moment, your pc used 10% cpu cycle for your work,
so the fahcore_a3 (core to done calculation) in smp client will only use the remaining 90% cpu cycle to done the calculation.
and let say on next moment, your pc used 60% cpu cycle for your work,
so the fahcore_a3 (core to done calculation) in smp client will only use the remaining 40% cpu cycle to done the calculation.
won't interfere with your work. biggrin.gif

and not necessary have to run 24/7. biggrin.gif
just make sure that the work unit can be done before the preferred deadline in order to receive bonus points. nod.gif
Thanks for reply bro, will continue to fold. ^^

em0ti0n
post Sep 13 2011, 12:02 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(AlexZai123 @ Sep 11 2011, 11:36 AM)
i still can play games with SMP client turned on.. but, feels a bit laggy sometimes.. smile.gif
saturn85
post Sep 14 2011, 04:42 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(AlexZai123 @ Sep 11 2011, 11:36 AM)
yeah, see you on stats page already. rclxms.gif
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/use...php?s=&u=568441
AlexZai123
post Sep 14 2011, 03:22 PM

Dream, Plan, Achieve
950 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Sep 14 2011, 04:42 AM)
Wow, cool! How do you find me in the stats page? tongue.gif
saturn85
post Sep 14 2011, 06:41 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(AlexZai123 @ Sep 14 2011, 03:22 PM)
Wow, cool! How do you find me in the stats page?  tongue.gif
haha, usually we refer to this stats page: brows.gif
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/use...t.php?s=&t=2999

come visit our forum as well: biggrin.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/Folding@Malaysia
exhauster
post Sep 14 2011, 07:30 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(AlexZai123 @ Sep 14 2011, 03:22 PM)
Wow, cool! How do you find me in the stats page?  tongue.gif
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sig...123&t=2999&.jpg

Might as well consider put this into siggy biggrin.gif
ArianneG
post Sep 16 2011, 03:11 AM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

Hi to all Folders here. I just joined up to do my bit for science, currently folding my first WU... I'm on a Dell Inspiron 1420 with a Core 2 Duo T9300 processor with 4GB RAM. How should I configure it to maximise performance without having it overheat, or kill my electricity bill? (Previous GPU overheat issue burned my chip, don't want to pay Dell another RM300+)
saturn85
post Sep 16 2011, 03:46 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(ArianneG @ Sep 16 2011, 03:11 AM)
Hi to all Folders here. I just joined up to do my bit for science, currently folding my first WU... I'm on a Dell Inspiron 1420 with a Core 2 Duo T9300 processor with 4GB RAM. How should I configure it to maximise performance without having it overheat, or kill my electricity bill? (Previous GPU overheat issue burned my chip, don't want to pay Dell another RM300+)
welcome bro. rclxms.gif
try setup smp client for the cpu, and see how is the full load temperature first? unsure.gif

available here:
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/DownloadWinOther
Windows XP/2003/Vista/2008/7 SMP2 client console version 6.34.

installation guide:
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/WinSMPGuide

put -smp at the additional parameter there. nod.gif

and visit our forum: biggrin.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/Folding@Malaysia

This post has been edited by saturn85: Sep 16 2011, 03:47 AM
MOBAJOBG
post Sep 16 2011, 10:16 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(ArianneG @ Sep 16 2011, 03:11 AM)
If you decide to join our group called Folding@Malaysia, then fill up the "Team number:" with 2999 during configuration. Its preferable to get a passkey from http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/getpasskey.py when you choose to do SMP work units as such and having completed 10 SMPs will entitled the next one to secure additional bonus points.
ArianneG
post Sep 16 2011, 11:04 AM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

QUOTE(MOBAJOBG @ Sep 16 2011, 10:16 AM)
If you decide to join our group called Folding@Malaysia, then fill up the "Team number:" with 2999 during configuration. Its preferable to get a passkey from http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/getpasskey.py when you choose to do SMP work units as such and having completed 10 SMPs will entitled the next one to secure additional bonus points.
But bro, I need the SMP client to do SMP work units right? I currently have the normal installer (CPU) with graphics in the systray version.
MOBAJOBG
post Sep 16 2011, 11:47 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(ArianneG @ Sep 16 2011, 11:04 AM)
But bro, I need the SMP client to do SMP work units right? I currently have the normal installer (CPU) with graphics in the systray version.
Yes, you're right however it's good to start off with the uniprocessor systray client until you've acquired more experiences performing its simplest work units while learning or researching into the advanced stuff at your own pace.
saturn85
post Sep 16 2011, 09:54 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(ArianneG @ Sep 16 2011, 11:04 AM)
yes, you will need smp client to run smp work unit. biggrin.gif
ArianneG
post Sep 16 2011, 11:35 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

So should I try running the smp client now? I think I *could* handle installation on Windoze, but worried it may conflict or something with the CPU client. Do I need to uninstall the CPU client first?
saturn85
post Sep 17 2011, 05:45 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(ArianneG @ Sep 16 2011, 11:35 PM)
So should I try running the smp client now? I think I *could* handle installation on Windoze, but worried it may conflict or something with the CPU client. Do I need to uninstall the CPU client first?
you can try the smp client. brows.gif
follow the installation guide will do.

no need to uninstall the cpu classic client,
won't have conflict. biggrin.gif

and when running smp client,
usually didn't run the cpu classic client. biggrin.gif
AlexZai123
post Oct 29 2011, 12:07 PM

Dream, Plan, Achieve
950 posts

Sifu, got questions here. How to get bigger WUs? Is it possible to get bigWUs for GPU? Or could I do -bigadv in SMP with core 2 duo to get better score? Now my point is 1.6k ppd.
saturn85
post Oct 30 2011, 04:29 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(AlexZai123 @ Oct 29 2011, 12:07 PM)
Sifu, got questions here. How to get bigger WUs? Is it possible to get bigWUs for GPU? Or could I do -bigadv in SMP with core 2 duo to get better score? Now my point is 1.6k ppd.
i think stanford assign work unit according to gpu model.
maybe you can set "big" when configure the client. unsure.gif

cannot fold -bigadv with core 2 duo,
sure cannot finish before deadline.
and in order to download -bigadv work unit,
your system require 8 threads.

visit our forum, see how other opinion: biggrin.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/Folding@Malaysia
goldfries
post Oct 30 2011, 04:40 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

bigger WU does nothing if you can't processs it well.
MOBAJOBG
post Oct 30 2011, 06:37 AM

241 posts

According to the Folding@home CPU PPD Database, an Intel E4500 @2.2GHz processor can attain ~2100 PPD.
AlexZai123
post Oct 30 2011, 09:37 PM

Dream, Plan, Achieve
950 posts

I see, thanks for answers. smile.gif

Added on November 12, 2011, 8:39 pmAnyone who interested can join this group ya. blush.gif

This post has been edited by AlexZai123: Nov 12 2011, 08:39 PM
DrBlueBox
post Nov 30 2011, 09:38 AM

789 posts

Right now waiting for my GPU to get back from RMA and then join this. Since the card will be inside a media server, and the media server will be always on, then why not use it to fold as well right? XD

22 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:09 AM