Sep 28 2007, 01:07 AM
96 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(Namqul @ Sep 27 2007, 08:21 PM) guys, since this thread is moved to the 2nd page, ill ask a question to make it active again. lol~. here it is: i only change it when i break it, basically due to my financial constraint, not anything else. how often u guyz change skins of your set? just to gauge should i change mine. if i can have all the money i need, i will change it every week, twice! haha. and to be reasonable, i think i will change it every 1/2 months maybe? |
Oct 3 2007, 07:20 PM
its an okay cymbal if u judge according to its price.
Oct 4 2007, 07:35 PM
but if u're willing to up your budget to around 300-600 u can really get some fine sounding mid-end ride.
Oct 5 2007, 01:41 AM
QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Oct 4 2007, 08:25 PM) hey guys..i have a question... if the tiny bit that came out is not too much, it wont affect that much except for the ride cymbal. how often do u guys change.....drumsticks??? do u guys change even when there's a tiny bit of it came out???? will that tiny bit affect the sound on drums?? but if it wears out alot, the strokes u make might be less driven since it's thinner. i usually stick to my only model im used to so i have loads of the same pair. i will change it when its broken. Added on October 5, 2007, 1:42 am QUOTE(Namqul @ Oct 4 2007, 08:25 PM) huh, around 300-600? thats 300 difference. lol. hmm, from what ive found out, price for 402 is rm290. for B8 is 420. and im too noob and worse, too broke to go and buy things more then 500. haha, coz got lots others thing to spent on. and now that ive working, cant go and ask money from parents. man that hurts. seriously! so is it okey to go with 402? hahaha. anyone can try to change my mind? u've gotta hear it for urself really. buy what is most value for money for you.if the 402 aint too bad for u, why not? This post has been edited by chuckenscream: Oct 5 2007, 01:42 AM |
Oct 6 2007, 03:26 AM
QUOTE(Namqul @ Oct 5 2007, 06:07 PM) only in my room. my kit never leave its place. so does his siblings i.e pedals, cymbals etc. lol! haha alrght let me try.. hmm.all of your sentences are playing safe to not to fall on any sides. lol! i want to hear what u think, not what i think. coz i still have much too learn. haha. so? if it doesnt leaves your room and you would love to save on cash, then go fo the paiste one. its okay really judging based on its price. but if i was given a choice i'd love to go for those mid-high end cymbals because they really sound good, and it'd really please my ears! so thats why its up to u again, haha. u'd really love to hear those steammy nice cymbals sound, dont u? haha, it'd really makes you feel like sitting in front of your drum set longer haha. This post has been edited by chuckenscream: Oct 6 2007, 03:28 AM |
Oct 6 2007, 11:55 AM
ehh dudes, i never broke 7 sticks in a day/gig/week/show/session/jam before, haha what the f*** wei??! hahaha.
Oct 6 2007, 03:41 PM
Oct 7 2007, 09:23 PM
u wont break a ride would u? a ride cymbal would last u very long, unlike crashes, haha. why not go for a great one?
for less than 500 im not really sure as im not really going after rides so i dont do much research about it. good luck in getting the one u need anyways. |
Oct 17 2007, 01:40 AM
im use vater5A sometimes too, and vater ProRock and Power5A is my favourite sticks and they are my regular sticks. vater sticks are damn good and i dont think its the problem with the sticks. probably its the way u tune your snare drum i guess, u dont have to come to a conclusion that u need to change your snare drum. try fixing the snare sound first. by the way what snare drum are u using mate?
hope u get it right. |
Oct 17 2007, 07:06 PM
haha, im just using a small mapex kit with some low end cymbals, which many of them have been broken. only thing kinda cool is my zildjian crashes, and even for that i broke 2. im not gonna change them because i will be leaving for overseas to further my studies next year.
so nothing that i could be proud of and show here dude haha. but if u insist, i have old picture with my set up last year. |
Oct 17 2007, 09:46 PM
maybe its the spring's tightness, hmm how many strands mate?
Oct 18 2007, 02:04 AM
QUOTE(Namqul @ Oct 18 2007, 12:01 AM) any plans of letting go some of your stuff before going overseas? lol. not that i insist but if u dont mind posting it. it surely can make this thread more active. lol. haha i dont think i would wanna sell anything. okay, let me try getting one old one. this is my set up last june, i took off one of my tom to experiment with the classic one rack tom set up. now i've put back the tom, and adjusted it to a double bass drum positioning set up(hmm, if u get what i mean haha). i dont have any pictures lately, my set is all cranked up, f***ed up basically haha. okay here it is. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i dont know how to quote the pic, its small sized , sorry haha. This post has been edited by chuckenscream: Oct 18 2007, 02:06 AM |
Oct 18 2007, 06:51 PM
yea, u can use all kinda wires for any snares. im using a pearl one for my mapex set. its okay.
Oct 19 2007, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(shinjun @ Oct 18 2007, 07:38 PM) Mind to share which series of Mapex drum u using n how was the quality compare to Yamaha Stage Custom Advantage? its a V series drums. its a small sized one as i've mentioned before, 18' bass drum, 8' 10' 12' toms. 12'snare. sounds not bad to me.i've never tried the yamaha stage custom before, so i cant make comparison, sorry mate. |
Oct 19 2007, 07:35 PM
yea its in my house, i tried putting a heavy mattress agaisnt the window to reduce the noise to my neighbourhood but the old man next door just seemed not too happy. i tried to put another layer of glass too, at my window. it still dont work fine for them. finally, the old man got too frustrated and he suffered heart attack one day when i drumed! hahaha. stress. but now he's kidna fine with it, but i can only drum during evenings.
cymbals high = really good? hmmm..... its not really high by the way, maybe its just that my drumset is small so it looks high. if i sit straight, the cymbal is around my eye level. i think thats the most comfortable for me. This post has been edited by chuckenscream: Oct 19 2007, 07:36 PM |
Oct 21 2007, 12:04 AM
haha im just slightly less than 6 feet, and i really think it looks high because my set is damn small dudes!!! haha.
Oct 22 2007, 06:27 PM
yeap, im taking the Rockschool's Grade 8 drum exams in 2 week's time.
tough shit haha. what about the others? |
Oct 22 2007, 10:31 PM
to namqul -
im not taking any lessons, just learning up the exam songs myself and taking the exams. exams are around 600 including the book and the registration itself. what kinda important basic things are u missing mate? try some instructional videos? u will learn quite some there. but basically the key in drumming is just keep playing/practising consistantly. Added on October 22, 2007, 10:34 pm QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Oct 22 2007, 09:42 PM) try music schools? they have some good teachers there, wont go too wrong. but then u have to compare the prices to make sure u aint paying too much.but if u have mastered the basics, paying for lessons might be a bit expensive. listening to more songs, and watching great drummers play will infact be more beneficial. This post has been edited by chuckenscream: Oct 22 2007, 10:34 PM |
Oct 24 2007, 12:33 AM
namqul - isnt it the same whether u're left or righty? its just like looking into the mirror, maybe its even easier?
shinjun - try googling for drummers and their videos, and get those good ones by downloading the torrent or get the orginal dvd. i know JS sells many of those great drummers dvd by the way. |
| Change to: | 0.0424sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:22 PM |