Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D3100/D5000 V12, Future Dark Lords

TSGeneral_Nic
post Oct 27 2010, 12:21 PM, updated 16y ago

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

Click here to be redirected to the V1 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V2 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V3 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V4 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V5 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V6 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V7 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V8 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V9 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V10 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V11 thread.
D40
user posted image user posted image

Review of D40
Dpreview of Nikon D40
Ken Rockwell's Review

D40x

D40x specifications

D60

Review of D60
Dpreview of D60
Ken Rockwell's review

D3000

Review of D3000
Dpreview of D3000

D3100

Review of D3100
Dpreview of D3100

D5000

Review of D5000
Dpreview of D5000

USER LIST

D40 User List:

D40x User List:

D60 User List:

D3000 User List:

D3100 User List

D5000 User List:

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Nov 15 2010, 01:44 PM
TSGeneral_Nic
post Oct 27 2010, 12:22 PM

3,508 posts

Information Zone

Autofocus Problem on Entry Level Body.

Many have ask about the problem of AF(AutoFocus) on entry level body, the problem here is whether the camera body has build-in AF motor or not. And unfortunately, for Nikon's entry level body, they don't come with build-in AF motor, hence in order to autofocus, the camera have to rely on the lens. While the lens must have its build-in AF motor, since the absent of the body AF motor. So, in Nikon's line-up, we have the "AF-S" and "AF-I" lens which has build-in SWM motor for the lens. Therefore, user of the entry level body, will have to look for lenses which has build-in AF motor in order for the autofocus function, else, the user will have to end up doing manual focusing.

While for the "AF" or "AF-D" lens from Nikon, it still can be mount on the camera, but since there is no AF motor in both the camera body as well as the lens, then the user have to work on for manual focus ONLY. On the other hand, the medium to high end of Nikon camera body will come with build-in AF motor, hence it allow the user to achieve autofocus through the camera's motor rotating the lens' element.
Below is for illustration,

Body without build-in AF motor.

Body with build-in AF motor.

Off camera flash setup

Body Area

Nikon DSLR current line-up comparison chart.

Lens Area

Nikon mount lens review

Various lens and camera accessory review.

PhotoMalaysia user product review.

The Motley Pixel: DSLR Lens Review

Technical Terms

Cleaning prices as of 09-07-2010 at nikon service center

Nikon body sensor cleaning = RM20.00 for warranty, RM60.00 for non-warranty.
Nikkor lens cleaning = RM130.00 minimum for fungus cleaning.

43 DIY lighting and setup mods tips and tricks

http://www.diyphotography.net/43-photograp...nd-diy-projects

8 On-Camera Flash Tips: How To Get Better Lighting From Your On-Camera Flash

http://digital-photography-school.com/8-on...on-camera-flash

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Oct 27 2010, 12:23 PM
TSGeneral_Nic
post Oct 27 2010, 12:23 PM

3,508 posts

Event and Outing Section

Kuala Lumpur Photography Festival
Date : 29th-31st October 2010
Venue : Midvalley Megamall Exhibition Centre

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Oct 27 2010, 12:31 PM
TSGeneral_Nic
post Oct 27 2010, 12:36 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Oct 27 2010, 12:32 PM)
Cleaning kit. It's very cold in Beijing.
err, cleaning kit got wat to do with cold weather? rclxub.gif
he nid extra batt more likely

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Oct 27 2010, 12:33 PM)
ND filter tongue.gif
no tripod no point tongue.gif (but usable without tripod to some point la laugh.gif )
TSGeneral_Nic
post Oct 27 2010, 12:42 PM

3,508 posts

most important is super warm glove, or it'll b too cold for him to even hold his cam n press shutter laugh.gif
TSGeneral_Nic
post Oct 27 2010, 12:54 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Oct 27 2010, 12:51 PM)
LOL, it different from the weather.
I just came back from Beijing 2 days ago.

Winter starts early this year.
A few days before I left the city and it's officially winter already.

Bring good gloves, or else your hands will be very very stiff, can't press shutter button.
cold weather affect battery n a few other stuffs in d camera, i know
but u haven explain y u suggest cleaning kit? lol
TSGeneral_Nic
post Oct 27 2010, 01:00 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(seng87 @ Oct 27 2010, 12:56 PM)
probably the dusty condition in China..? Lol..
BTW just remember to keep ur battery warm..
hands will b frozen b4 battery is warm, hahaha laugh.gif

QUOTE(Vampyr3 @ Oct 27 2010, 12:56 PM)
to wipe the lens due to condensation?
so cold that condensation hardly occur when entering warm room, lol

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Oct 27 2010, 12:57 PM)
Travelling ma, of course need cleaning kit !
Beijing is very dusty and the air is like  shakehead.gif

Added on October 27, 2010, 12:58 pm
Not really on the condensation, coz humidity there is low.
Based on my experience, when going from cold places to a warm place i.e shopping mall or restaurants with heater, it doesn't condense so badly like in Malaysia.
Maybe humidity is lower there.
cos d way u said jz now is like must bring cleaning kit cos weather is cold mah tongue.gif
TSGeneral_Nic
post Oct 27 2010, 01:10 PM

3,508 posts

i didn bother to keep my cam batt warm during my trip to Paris
i was too bz keeping myself warm instead, lol
bt i still manage to get 800+ pics with 1 charge
TSGeneral_Nic
post Oct 27 2010, 05:25 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Oct 27 2010, 01:22 PM)
my d3000 battery full charge cant get me 800+ pic .... sad.gif
QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Oct 27 2010, 01:23 PM)
Mine around 450 max.  biggrin.gif
so low?? blink.gif
using pop up flash? cos if i use pop up flash i'll get around dat number oso

QUOTE(seng87 @ Oct 27 2010, 01:24 PM)
@General_Nic
Haha.. Nice one.. But wat i mean is keep ur backup battery warm... lol..
oh, my backup batt is in bag, sure warm 1 biggrin.gif
TSGeneral_Nic
post Oct 27 2010, 05:31 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Oct 27 2010, 05:26 PM)
No flash used.
Just normal shooting.
Maybe weather problem.  hmm.gif

The weird thing is, my 4 Energizer 2000mAh batteries for Di622 lasted for the whole 7-day journey !  doh.gif
Energizer 2000mAh can last dat long? blink.gif
did u frequently use during dat 7 day period?
i nvr tried my 2500mAh ones' can last how long, i usually charge them cos i dun wanna take risk of no power
TSGeneral_Nic
post Oct 29 2010, 11:12 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(SeanLee85 @ Oct 29 2010, 02:59 PM)
Is there a point upgrade D3100 kit  to D90 kit? What interesting me is D90 kit lens. Or juz get 55-300mm lens?
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Oct 29 2010, 03:49 PM)
you need to ask urself do you need the build in AF motor ?
if u plan to use old cheap lens , like 50mm f1.8d , f1.4d , or else just get the 55300 .
i thk he meant upgrade D3100's 'kit' 18-55 to D90's 'kit' 18-105, or get 18-55 with 55-300, lol

QUOTE(faareast @ Oct 29 2010, 08:28 PM)
what i heard is, compare it side by side, the 55-300 look like suppose to be more.. in other word 300mm dont look like actual 300mm..

i donno... i read it in some online review... maybe the review is wrong..
QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Oct 29 2010, 08:48 PM)
If 300mm isn't 300mm, why do they even bother to say it's 300mm ?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Got 1 forumer here use 55-300, go ask him.

Forgot who he is liao, but I remember his avatar is a husky dog.
i thk is breathing issue u r talking abt, where d focal length outcome not equal to stated focal length
d new 70-200 VRII has dis problm, n it seems 28-300 oso has
Nikon new lenses r getting this problm? shakehead.gif

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Oct 29 2010, 10:17 PM)
For 85mm f/1.4G and SB700, no pricing showed yet. I asked the fella, no one is sure about it also. Well for D7000, they say the RRP price should be around RM5k.

Added on October 29, 2010, 10:20 pmBtw, SB700 seems much more user friendly compared to SB900 laugh.gif
Cant wait to have it tongue.gif
u going 2moro? wat time?

Added on October 29, 2010, 11:13 pm
QUOTE(ehor @ Oct 29 2010, 11:11 PM)
hi guys

may i know is there any remote shutter release for D5000
there is, both wireless n wired

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Oct 29 2010, 11:13 PM
TSGeneral_Nic
post Oct 29 2010, 11:32 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(ehor @ Oct 29 2010, 11:20 PM)
General_Nic, do you know wat brand/model is good and what is the price range?
there's so many type n prices, depends which u like
i list some here for u biggrin.gif
http://shashinki.com/shop/rme2-wireless-in...ll3-p-1388.html

http://shashinki.com/shop/nikon-mll3-wirel...eras-p-158.html

http://shashinki.com/shop/phottix-infrared...etc-p-3769.html

http://shashinki.com/shop/phottix-cleon-wi...ble-p-2890.html

http://shashinki.com/shop/phottix-wired-re...ble-p-5159.html

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Oct 29 2010, 11:25 PM)
No wor, i going on Sunday
Tmr i will be back Melaka for some business sweat.gif

Added on October 29, 2010, 11:31 pm
Lol, got any shots for the model search? I waited there till 6.30pm, then my friend can't wait any longer, so i left  cry.gif
adui, too bad then
y everybd going on sunday 1 sad.gif
TSGeneral_Nic
post Oct 29 2010, 11:46 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(SeanLee85 @ Oct 29 2010, 11:39 PM)
Fcuk get what i mean. i sell my d3100 to brother, then i having dilemma to choose D3100 kit plus 55-300mm or D90 kit since both ard 3k. i need more focus length than 55mm, 18-105 might enough for my use. The other factor is iso performance, is D3100 one stop better than D90?
ic, i misunderstood then, sory notworthy.gif
afaik, D3100 iso performance is very good, better than D90, but by big margin or nt im not sure
TSGeneral_Nic
post Oct 30 2010, 07:44 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(Vampyr3 @ Oct 30 2010, 12:39 PM)
Thanks, was using 55-200mm for these shots
Digicolor model search at KLPF yesterday smile.gif

Few more shots.....

i c alot of handshake blur, nid train more to have steady hands tongue.gif
most of it r underexpose, but assume cos u dun have flash, rite?
for 1st few pics of d foreigner, abit overexpose, guess its due to camera metering confused by his black shirt
pic #6 overexposure i dare to say its bcos too many flashes around laugh.gif

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Oct 30 2010, 07:46 PM
TSGeneral_Nic
post Nov 3 2010, 11:26 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Nov 3 2010, 11:13 PM)
Hmmmm.... using DCR-250 or +4 filter?
dun underestimate 18-55 minimum focus distance tongue.gif

QUOTE(yin13 @ Nov 3 2010, 11:24 PM)
What is  DCR-250 and +4 filter ? I am using kit lens o..
macro adapter n close up filter, google for more info smile.gif
TSGeneral_Nic
post Nov 6 2010, 12:14 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(whtrader @ Nov 5 2010, 10:51 PM)
Hi Dark lords,

New D3100 user reporting in. Just bought few days ago. Loving it.
wrong, the dark lords are in d D300/s/D700/D3/s/x thread
we here puny apprentice oni tongue.gif
TSGeneral_Nic
post Nov 6 2010, 10:04 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Nov 6 2010, 12:48 PM)
He's using a Di622. Can do Nikon CLS meh ?  rclxub.gif
Nissin Di622 got slave mode, trigger wirelessly using optical trigger, any brand any camera with flash can trigger it
but no TTL, must set power manually

but latest firmware do support TTL iinm

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Nov 6 2010, 12:49 PM)
By the way, i read your link and found this
It means that the speedlite will keep flash for a period of time?
model light is jz multiple flash compressed together so fast to human eyes it look like continuous light
its jz to let u test d illumination effect of flash b4 d real shoot
it cant b used for shooting, jz test

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Nov 6 2010, 04:39 PM)
It SHOULD work but I'm not quite sure because the Di622 is kinda old. Dunno need firmware upgrade or not.  hmm.gif
Di622 MarkII shud have latest firmware

QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Nov 6 2010, 05:18 PM)
How did u do wireless flash here? Mind to share? Entry level body can't do CLS right?
entry lvl cant do CLS, but doesnt mean cant do wireless flash
as wireless flash have few types: radio trigger, optical trigger, radio+optical trigger
for optical trigger, as long as there's a flash on d camera(even handphn), it can do wireless flash

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Nov 6 2010, 05:21 PM)
It's called slave flash. Activated by the built-in flash.
I'm not sure about about the CLS. Maybe cannot because don't have the **forgot name** mode.
Nissin Di622.

p/s: spoiler image pls.  nod.gif
commander mode

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Nov 6 2010, 10:05 PM
TSGeneral_Nic
post Nov 6 2010, 10:10 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Nov 6 2010, 10:07 PM)
yes yes yes commander mode.  doh.gif  forgot liao
how much does the di622 mkII ?
price similar to MarkI iinm
maybe slightly abit more expensive
TSGeneral_Nic
post Nov 6 2010, 10:20 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Nov 6 2010, 10:17 PM)
How radio triggered flash work? How does it flash at the correct time?
radio trigger means d camera or d trigger sends out radio waves to release flash at d moment u press shutter button
Nikon's SU800 work dat way
TSGeneral_Nic
post Nov 6 2010, 10:55 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Nov 6 2010, 10:23 PM)
radio triggered is more expensive lo? Ok.. So optical triggered not good for aquarium photography la?

Because the external flash is mounted on top of the aquarium or fish(subject).. and to use the built in flash to trigger the external flash you will get reflection on the glass of aquarium.. Is this true?

Added on November 6, 2010, 10:24 pmsorry thread jacking
actually d biggest downside of optical trigger is no TTL
u nid radio wave to transmit info to d flash
Nikon bodies with built-in commander mode uses radio+optical trigger
radio wave is used to send info to external flash for TTL, while built-in flash to trigger d external flash

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Nov 6 2010, 10:48 PM)
Of course get the new one !
If you were to buy a car, say Waja. Will you buy the 1999 version or just add RM2,500 to buy the 2005 version ?  laugh.gif
but MarkI n MarkII difference is only extra slave modes, it depends whether want d extra function or nt

0.0307sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:08 AM