AMD Radeon™ Discussion V4, Cut Cut Cut!~ Go Red !

ahbenchai
post Oct 26 2010, 12:58 PM

what do you mean you people?
1,210 posts

what is ur opinion on a reference cooler on hd6870 and waiting for a custom cooler hd6870 in the future? worth the wait? bring much difference in performance?
ahbenchai
post Oct 26 2010, 01:20 PM

1,210 posts

QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ Oct 26 2010, 01:09 PM)
IMO, wait for better custom cooler. Some more the price will go down smile.gif
well i might opt for a hd6850 instead, is already cheaper den gtx460, saw some1 selling sapphire hd6850 775mhz for rm649
i believe tat prices will always go down so, gonna get one tis week
ahbenchai
post Oct 28 2010, 03:38 PM

1,210 posts

anyone tried overclocking a hd6870 yet?
ahbenchai
post Oct 29 2010, 01:03 PM

1,210 posts

reference fan boleh tahan long term oc kah? or a good air flow from casing will do
ahbenchai
post Oct 29 2010, 09:19 PM

1,210 posts

speaking of which, how do u determine when a proc/ram is bottlenecking the graphic card, hd68X0
ahbenchai
post Oct 29 2010, 10:14 PM

1,210 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Oct 29 2010, 10:07 PM)
Well.. you can always find that out by overclocking your processor smile.gif. If a big increase is seen, your processor is bottlenecking the whole system.
is there a chart or a program which could tell u that? overclocking seems alot of work, lol
ahbenchai
post Oct 30 2010, 09:59 PM

1,210 posts

why do different brand of hd6870 cost so different

arent they using the same chipset, all same reference cooler also

only sticker dif, haha
ahbenchai
post Oct 30 2010, 10:12 PM

1,210 posts

no wonder people advice to go for the lowest price, and dont care about brand.
they can jack up until rm8xx

for some reason i find the reference cooler much cooler looking, especially the one with xfx sticker
ahbenchai
post Nov 2 2010, 07:50 PM

1,210 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Nov 2 2010, 07:26 PM)
dis is yielding.
in chip world, every chip has @ least 1 "younger brother". it is to improve yield.

the "younger brother" chip is basically cripple version of the original chip.

simply put it dis way, 6870 has 1120 sp, 6850 has 960.
wen ati order this chip from TSMC, impossible TSMC can produce 100% perfect chip.
those perfect chip will b made into 6870, while those wit som leakage, or problem, the problematic sp will b disabled & made i into 6850.

only those chip which has <960 working sp will b thrown away.
like dis, less chip is wasted.
wow i did not know that
so the cacat chip is made into a slower version of the card eh
man they really know how to milk every sen out of it

QUOTE(Dickong @ Nov 2 2010, 07:47 PM)
Just got my Sapphire hd6870 but playing COH with jagg line before that nothing wrong can anyone using 6870 help solve this problem, i might try to reinstall window later, need some input to solve this problem, any sifu can help.
gah, another guy wit jagg line problem?
my sapphire hd6870 still on the way arriving, tis is really giving my doubt
ahbenchai
post Nov 3 2010, 12:30 AM

1,210 posts

69xx is suppost to be in which price range? RM1xxx like 59xx?
ahbenchai
post Dec 28 2010, 02:02 PM

1,210 posts

for the new hd6870 driver, i should download this

AMD Catalyst 10.12

correct?
ahbenchai
post Feb 13 2011, 01:04 PM

1,210 posts

should i still be using ccc 2010.0930.2237.39732 version, or is there a newer stable version out
ahbenchai
post Feb 16 2011, 09:01 PM

1,210 posts

after this is 7xxx series, correct?
ahbenchai
post Feb 18 2011, 01:42 PM

1,210 posts

i dont think it effects ur card performance if u use ati instead of nvidia because ur proc is amd, bang for buck !

0.0175sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:35 AM