5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V6, Please read FAQ at 1st page!! Vroom...

kmrdeva
post Oct 22 2010, 04:36 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(jiidaineko @ Oct 22 2010, 04:34 PM)
so did the official Europe Froyo cure the lag sickness?
Nope. But voodoo, oclf, and z4mod do..
kmrdeva
post Oct 22 2010, 04:50 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(jiidaineko @ Oct 22 2010, 04:40 PM)
but are these fix sustaining? I think I've a number of comment saying it does help much.
For those familiar with the open source software world, there is no real final fix. Generally, the fixes gradually improve, from version to version.

As for myself, I need a lagfix - currently testing z4mod (ext2).
kmrdeva
post Oct 22 2010, 05:42 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Oct 22 2010, 05:40 PM)
which minfree manager u guys using now?
Autokiller (donate version).
kmrdeva
post Oct 22 2010, 06:19 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Oct 22 2010, 06:09 PM)
i bought my sgs month ago, still reading and understanding for rooting & updating my sgs firmwares. currently eclair.dxjg4 still. mine is still a virgin sgs originally from maxis data plan.

still in a scary situation flashing it on my own.. gathering more info b4 doin it. but i MUST do it. haha...

got some silly question here.
1. can i flash my sgs without my sim card? reason is i dont wants unwanted disturbance eg. ppl calls/sms in.

2. can anyone provides me more details steps from 0 on whats my needs and importants things i needs to know b4 i flash my sgs? as i said.. i read this in month time and i still could not understand it very well. dumb me >.<

thats it currently tongue.gif
1. Can flash with or without SIM, if you're using ODIN.
2. You should read the stuff on page 1, the FAQ. Most if not all the info you need is already there. If you're still unsure after reading the FAQ, maybe flashing is not for you.

Good luck.

kmrdeva
post Oct 22 2010, 06:31 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Oct 22 2010, 06:25 PM)
2. though i m dumb and hard to understand it now, i may need to read more n more.. but i wants to flash it smile.gif is a must!! i found that a lot of things and apps i can used if i dont root it.
I don't think you're dumb. Different people have diff tech understanding level due to many factors. For example, I follow most of the kernel improvement discussions in xda-developers forum but I still can only understand maybe 5-10% only.

Another option is to ask a friend to help. I am helping my 2 colleagues with SGS to upgrade firmware, root and lagfix their phones. I test the latest lagfixes on my phone, but I install the slightly older, more stable lagfixes for them. Scared they will call me at midnight and 'wash' me nicely for lost data.. biggrin.gif
kmrdeva
post Oct 22 2010, 07:23 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Oct 22 2010, 07:20 PM)
i can't disable voodoo, will this give problem when i flashed later?
After flashing firmware, just go to recovery mode and wipe to factory defaults and wipe cache too. You will be alright.

I kena many times already (forget to disable voodoo before changing firmware).
kmrdeva
post Oct 22 2010, 08:20 PM

4,776 posts

This msg is for angel-girl. If you want to try JPM Froyo firmware and apply z4mod lagfix (ext2), please download from the hotfile link below:

http://hotfile.com/dl/77589231/e19a066/z4z...101022.zip.html

It contains all the necessary files plus a readme.txt that I've added with instructions. Hope the files and guide are useful to you.
kmrdeva
post Oct 22 2010, 09:23 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(naimadam @ Oct 22 2010, 08:53 PM)
okay, then maybe i will try flash that later, restoring 300+ apps take so long.
Ya i find z4mod to be quicker overall compared to voodoo. However z4mod is less mature so maybe data loss risk is higher. Seems to suck less power too, so far. Will test for a week to be sure.
kmrdeva
post Oct 23 2010, 12:13 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 22 2010, 10:41 PM)
Does z4mod wipes apps away during installation?
Not that I experienced.

Added on October 23, 2010, 12:15 am
QUOTE(christinayang @ Oct 22 2010, 11:12 PM)
Hi there, I know this might not be relevant for this post but since all of you are pro SGS users, you might be able to help me to clear a few things up

1. Most of you bought the phone (RRP) or signed contract with Maxis?  Been hearing a lot of complaints about Maxis's data plan, izit really that bad?

2. If i were to purchase the phone from Maxis at RRP 2599, and keep to my Digi plan instead of maxis, will it affect any of the phone's functions? access to android market? or anything?
1. I had bought the phone at full price from Maxis, because I am already a Digi user. There were no options for AP units when I bought my SGS - I am located in Penang.

2. Other than reduced phone price and 1 or 2 year contract, Maxis has not done anything to the phone itself. All functions work fine under Digi.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Oct 23 2010, 12:15 AM
kmrdeva
post Oct 23 2010, 01:15 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 23 2010, 01:12 AM)
Should I Froyo or not to Froyo?
Your phone, your decision..

kmrdeva
post Oct 23 2010, 01:30 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 23 2010, 01:22 AM)
I shall do z4mod but... how do I extract my current JG4 kernel?
If the PDA file is a .TAR and not .TAR.MD5, I think you can use a utility like 7zip to extract the kernel file (zImage) from the .TAR and patch it via the z4mod online patcher site.

The resulting zImage.tar file needs to be applied as a PDA update (without pit) via Odin before you apply the z4mod update.zip which has the scripts that do the actual filesystem conversion.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Oct 23 2010, 01:31 AM
kmrdeva
post Oct 23 2010, 01:31 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 23 2010, 01:28 AM)
And does Kies still work after z4mod?
Dunno, don't have Kies, never used it before.
kmrdeva
post Oct 23 2010, 11:41 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Oct 23 2010, 11:29 PM)
got an issue here...
my battery indicator stuck at 100%...
wont drain...
but it is draining actually...
so how?
need to calibrate?
If you're rooted, maybe you can consider calibration.

For me, I just replaced the battery indicator icon with the 'circle batt mod' that is supported for the firmware I am using, and has a design I like (for JPM, version D). Very accurate, and colour scheme for the battery levels is nice.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=765419
kmrdeva
post Oct 23 2010, 11:44 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(tplus1 @ Oct 23 2010, 11:41 PM)
Zzz.. still cant access to KIES... F KIES!

reformatted the internal SD and reinstall kies, reboot, still cannot...

seriously... even connecting to my PC is annoying... no hope for this phone.. Zz
What are you needing Kies for? Connect phone to PC for which purpose? Tethering (as modem), Storage (as thumb drive), etc?

kmrdeva
post Oct 24 2010, 02:32 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Oct 24 2010, 01:09 AM)
USB debugging is not really necessary for accessing the drive in the phone. Just the USB mounting thing will do.

USB debugging is needed if want to access the phone using adb.exe though.
Plus, USB Debugging is needed when using the phone as a modem (i.e. usb tethering) under Ubuntu 10x.
kmrdeva
post Oct 26 2010, 01:40 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 26 2010, 01:24 PM)

Added on October 26, 2010, 1:34 pmWarning. Do not try full z4mod conversion by RyanZa (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=8731921&postcount=674)

It's not ready yet.

My recovery menu doesn't want to work now. It returns invalid argument and reboot, not allowing me to revert to RFS or root. Looks like I need a reflash.

No personal data will be saved in every reboot. In every phone restart, I get a phone without contacts. Good for demo purpose.
I kena this a number of days back. When I posted my experience and attached the z4mod.log file, RyanZA could only say, hmm, it should not do that.

Anyway, I have reflashed my phone to fresh JPM, rooted it using the 1.2 CF Root kit, and have applied the so-called optimized kernel. Testing now without any lagfix - first thing I noticed was more available RAM (~329MB).

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Oct 26 2010, 01:49 PM

kmrdeva
post Oct 26 2010, 01:51 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Oct 26 2010, 01:43 PM)
Without lagfix? How is the battery life and lag experience?
I just flashed about 30 mins back. Will need to use for a number of days first before I can be sure about lag and battery. Am restoring apps/data with Titanium Backup now.

Added on October 26, 2010, 1:52 pm
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 26 2010, 01:44 PM)
Sigh, you used Odin to flash JPM? I actually prefer KIES for Eclair to Froyo conversion because it has the right PIT file to use. Sadly JPM is pulled off KIES already.
Yes, I used ODIN with 512 pit file (repartition checked) and flashed down to Eclair JM9 first. Then used ODIN with 803 pit file (repartition unchecked) and flashed up again to JPM. Works everytime for me.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Oct 26 2010, 01:52 PM
kmrdeva
post Oct 26 2010, 03:04 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Fries @ Oct 26 2010, 03:01 PM)
hi
what's the supposed ram size for jg4?
i'm on stock jg4 and my available ram is 326mb.

cheers
Not sure about JG4, but original JPM ram size is 304MB, if I remember correctly.

Gawd, this phone is unusable without a lagfix. Am gonna lagfix it now..
kmrdeva
post Oct 26 2010, 07:09 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 26 2010, 06:55 PM)
Using JM8 Voodoo. Run time looks fine already, the phone does go to sleep.

Sigh, regretted doing z4mod. It was a big screw up today.
Yes, I kinda regret using z4mod too on my JPM firmware. Now have removed z4mod and am testing sztupy's Universal Lagfix kernel for JPM.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=814228

Currently using the 'No-RFS Advanced JFS: all partitions are jfs' mode.
kmrdeva
post Oct 27 2010, 10:11 AM

4,776 posts

I'm currently testing sztupy's 'Universal Lagfix 0.3' kernel for JPM. Wow, he has done great work on the recovery menu - so many options available, and can even change lagfix schemes on the fly without losing installed apps and data (there is a nandroid backup/restore function built in).

Some highlights:

1. Rooting (i.e. install SuperUser) is available as an option
2. Many lagfix schemes are available (i.e. OCLF-like, Voodoo-like, partial ext4, partial jfs, full ext4, full jfs)
3. Systems tweaks are also available
4. Option to boot to download mode and recovery mode also available

My only concern now is battery life, need to monitor.

Note: The jfs_advanced scheme has a bug where timezone settings are lost at every boot. I've gone back to ext4_advanced scheme where the /data, /dbdata and /cache are converted to ext4, unlike in voodoo where only /data is converted to ext4 (I think). No data lost in the filesystem conversion, woohoo!!

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Oct 27 2010, 10:19 AM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.5637sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:49 AM