4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V6, Please read FAQ at 1st page!! Vroom...

Harddisk
post Oct 22 2010, 02:59 PM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Oct 22 2010, 02:26 PM)
WM phones are smartphones?  rclxm9.gif

I always thought the nokia feature fones were pretty smart. It can wake itself up from sleep to wake me up.  laugh.gif But do remember to turn off the alarm if your heading into the plane. I was on an early flight and had already switch off the phone, it woke itself up to tell me it was time to wake up  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

WOoo hoo!! v6!  this thread got some serious POEWAHHH
Most of the time, I slept through it.

I think smarter phones would be to slaps me awake. laugh.gif
Harddisk
post Oct 22 2010, 08:06 PM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Oct 22 2010, 06:09 PM)
i bought my sgs month ago, still reading and understanding for rooting & updating my sgs firmwares. currently eclair.dxjg4 still. mine is still a virgin sgs originally from maxis data plan.

still in a scary situation flashing it on my own.. gathering more info b4 doin it. but i MUST do it. haha...

got some silly question here.
1. can i flash my sgs without my sim card? reason is i dont wants unwanted disturbance eg. ppl calls/sms in.

2. can anyone provides me more details steps from 0 on whats my needs and importants things i needs to know b4 i flash my sgs? as i said.. i read this in month time and i still could not understand it very well. dumb me >.<

thats it currently tongue.gif
Welcome to the club, mate.

1) sim removal is not necessary as most firmware flashing happens before Android is loaded, which means the telephony service is not loaded. Your sim won't be receiving calls.
Harddisk
post Oct 23 2010, 12:05 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Oct 22 2010, 08:25 PM)
ahhh.. now i got more info on this. is almost like this example

flashing is like installing windows, i need to boot the installation files on the clean boot which means that the windows is NOT on operation. i got it i got it! thats y we need to reboot the phone. smile.gif thank for the clear explaination. i noted it.
Yeah, I always treat my phone like a micro-computer more than just a phone like Nokia (which can wakes up on alarm clock settings, lol).
Harddisk
post Oct 23 2010, 01:43 AM

2,962 posts

Fring 1 - 0 Tango
for being able to utilize the front camera on video call and ability to have text chat.

Fring 1 - 0 Facetime
for being instantaneous on video calling, while Facetime takes decades to establish connections on both ends.

No sharing option for Facebook S!, a big boo-boo. You need to do that using FB for Android instead.
Harddisk
post Oct 23 2010, 10:37 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(daryl020189 @ Oct 23 2010, 08:54 AM)
so wat is the best calender or to-do widget? like previously i used on my nokia n97..there is a calendar widget where i write any to-do note or event and it will show in the homescreen
You can try placing the Daily Briefing widget onto your homescreen. It kinda sucks, I know, but if you tap on it, it will bring you to the app with listing of today's schedules. Works almost similarly to what you wanted.
Harddisk
post Oct 23 2010, 12:25 PM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 23 2010, 10:51 AM)
I learned a new way to avoid lag. Lag fix will become slow gradually. Lag fix is not a necessity to speed up the phone. If you feel lag just move RFS to EXT2 by lag fix. Then when lag fixed phone lags, just undo lagfix to move EXT2 to RFS. The lag will be gone. Repeat this cycle until we get frozen froyo.

My observation so far.
This is similar to defragging the partition.

Without reformatting the partition, just by moving the data into the sdcard temporarily, then do a clean wipe on the partition then move back the data, might be able to fix the lag too.

Anyone know how to write this kind of script and run it as update.zip? laugh.gif
Harddisk
post Oct 23 2010, 01:10 PM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Oct 23 2010, 12:59 PM)
thank you for the explanation, i think i will make a "sgs rooting/upgrading for dummies *like me..haha*" after a gather all the needed info and with my 1st success rooting/flashing experince on it smile.gif
This would be good. rclxms.gif

I wanted to compile something similar, but I'm just too lazy and busy at the same time. Besides, I don't bookmark everything that I read/went through. So it's gonna be a pain to dig them back up on the net.

A first page on a new thread called "Risky Stuff You Can Do To Your Samsung Galaxy S" would be nice, with all the information compiled together and reachable with 1 click. laugh.gif
Harddisk
post Oct 23 2010, 02:06 PM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 23 2010, 01:19 PM)
but i already provided the most simple rooting/flashing method in 1st page
Yes, you did.

But chronically, one should check to see if 3-button recovery/download mode is enable on the phone.

Before, proceeding to rooting the phone or applying any other kinds of patches/fixes/firmwares of whatsoever.

This is the kind of 1-click page thing that I'm expecting to look at, rather than reading through the whole thread, the whole 6 versions.

It's more like a friendly guide for newbies whom just bought their phones.

Added on October 23, 2010, 2:09 pm
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 23 2010, 02:02 PM)
u can try one click root which is way more easier...
can get it from Market
If this is the case, then your 1st page is no longer providing the 1-click convenience that we were discussing earlier.

Anyway, I still have the OneClick Root files with me. The DOS batch file, which is more widely compatible than running the Windows program which requires .NET framework 4.

I can send the files to the starter for that guide page that we talked about earlier.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Oct 23 2010, 02:17 PM
Harddisk
post Oct 23 2010, 04:27 PM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 23 2010, 02:22 PM)
my root/flash methods were there before the 1 click thingy released..and i never update it
IF u dun have any recovery mode enabled,u can simply choose odin method to root..

since there is 1 click method released and available in Market,  the instructions also included too  and i no need provide any guide for that

and i can't keep up(or lazy) with the latest methods/patches/fixes/firmwares/etc as u mentioned and update the 1st page..therefore i just put the most basic FAQ on the 1st page and the rest are reachable at xda forum
That's why a new thread, preferably sticky, with ALL the necessary info for the risky patches.

Aside from that, reply to thread preferably restricted to contributions, rather than speaking their hearts out kind of replies. Then TS can update on the 1st (2nd or 3rd if deem necessary) posts on the info contributed by the community by crediting the poster and the source of info (if any). Replies made would be deleted once TS updated the top posts in order to keep the thread clean so other new owners don't have to scroll through the pages.

Who's free to monitor his/her own thread and do updates. Otherwise, we could create a joint blog, where searching for info might be easier and more accurate.

Harddisk
post Oct 24 2010, 12:03 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 23 2010, 04:38 PM)
i dun mind if some1 can create a new thread and provide all the info..
but try to make the thread clean?impossible..no matter how "useful" or "informative", there still will be always people asking for "help"

plus there are many ROMs,lagfixes,fixes,etc around, it's hard to "catch up" with them

if someone is free enough to do all those works, maybe he can become new TS after this thread so that all the info compiled in 1 thread
Yes, there are indeed many ROMS to catch up to that I don't even bother checking them out, yet.

But first and foremost, we can always start with:
1) check if recovery/download mode is available for the phone by trying the 3-button salute, without connecting any cable to the phone. If it doesn't work, confirm and see if it works by connecting the cable to a PC (with SGS USB driver installed) and try the 3-button salute again.

2) Once step 1's recovery mode is attained, instructions on rooting the phone can be provided on step 2. Links to download One Click Root will be provided, which is pretty foolproof with simple instructions provided [optional] <-- (flagged as optional step)

3) As for step 3, it's for our important lag fixes. For Voodoo, we can skip step 2. As for OCLF, step 2 has to be performed first. With brief and simple, easily understandable instructions. Additional warning notice on using z4mod (did I spelt it correctly) as it might risk wiping the data. [optional] <-- (flagged as optional step)

4) etc etc...

These are the few simple stuff I can think of right on top of my head. Of course, these has to be compiled in a more "formal" manner with better English grammar and such. Easily understood instructions as well. This would helps a lot of newbie, such as myself without have to hunt high and low in Google/XDA.

As for keeping it clean, we would need moderators' help already.

It would be best if we don't put these on the next version as the version keep rolling and TS has to keep copying the 1st post. Might as well start a new 1, with sticky and hopefully users would only submit contributions and not questions. Questions in asking for additional useful info to be added would be most welcome, of course.

Just my 2c worth. laugh.gif

And of course, those lucky HTC Desire owners wouldn't have to go through what we had did to our phone. Mainly on lagfixes. lol

PS: I started to sense slowness in my phone after Voodoo Beta4 now. Will reboot the phone and see if it helps.
Harddisk
post Oct 24 2010, 12:07 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Oct 23 2010, 05:00 PM)
but i personally think this thread is very informative and good enough... we canot demand so much coz is free and somemore thread starter + all the members in here is 100% helpful as i gone thruso many ep. and pages smile.gif if i really manage to compile the dummy set i will put in PDF and let u all download from this thread maybe? or just put the link inside my signature smile.gif
Hi skydrake,

Instead of compiling into PDF, perhaps you can start a Google Doc's Word document and shared it to the few who would volunteer to contribute info on their knowledge and experience? For once, I could provide you with 3-button recovery fix and 1-click root info + files.

What do you think?

PS: we should add in links to download the official Eclair ROM for users who bricked their phones during the flash process. So they wouldn't have to search high and low only when their bricked their phone. You know how it's like finding stuff during desperations.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Oct 24 2010, 12:09 AM
Harddisk
post Oct 24 2010, 12:25 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 23 2010, 09:43 PM)
not surprising...
i won't waste my time to tell my frens about android because i know they don't  even know what is android...
Likewise. I'd rather they buy iphone4 and don't come bug me with problems if their SGS/Android phone requires more than just normal user's intervention.
Harddisk
post Oct 24 2010, 12:28 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(edison1437 @ Oct 23 2010, 09:40 PM)
guy any idea 2 get the tron theme?
tron
Wow, sweeeeet! Very good for our screen too, power saving. thumbup.gif
Harddisk
post Oct 24 2010, 12:43 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Oct 23 2010, 11:21 PM)
there's no copy contacts option. Now im pissed
Friend, are you on Eclair?

I got the Contact -> Menu -> More -> Copy contacts -> Phone to SIM/SIM to Phone options.

Mind telling us which firmware version you are on?

Home screen -> Menu -> Settings -> About phone (last entry) -> scroll to bottom
Can state to us the last 4 entries?

Firmware version, Baseband version, Kernel version, Build number

Hope the veterans here can help.
Harddisk
post Oct 24 2010, 12:47 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(Fornx @ Oct 23 2010, 11:25 PM)
did you guys notice.. this thread is going faster than desire... much much..
Because Desire users don't discuss about applying lagfix? tongue.gif

*lari*
Harddisk
post Oct 24 2010, 12:51 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Oct 23 2010, 11:29 PM)
got an issue here...
my battery indicator stuck at 100%...
wont drain...
but it is draining actually...
so how?
need to calibrate?
What's your battery's voltage when you are at 100%?

Go to dialer, press *#*#4636#*#* (it spells "info" in T9), select "Battery information".

I've got my battery status posted here. Yellow = pre-deletion of batterystats.bin

https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=0Am..._GB&output=html

Not very extensive. I wished I had recorded more before I rooted my phone and deleted the batterystats.bin on a whim.
Harddisk
post Oct 24 2010, 12:54 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Oct 23 2010, 11:36 PM)
ya sure do the calibration if you feel need to. but you need to root. or you can use a mod to change the batt icon to much more sexier and accurate icon, not sure if that need to root thought, if im not mistaken dont need to
Like this? rclxms.gif
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=765419

No more going back to home screen to check on Battery Stat widget. biggrin.gif

This is the next best mod after lagfix. Even rooting the phone has to be placed 3rd compared to this. biggrin.gif
Harddisk
post Oct 24 2010, 12:59 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(tplus1 @ Oct 23 2010, 11:41 PM)
update of firmware 026 for x10 really makes it smoother than ever..

Zzz.. still cant access to KIES... F KIES!

reformatted the internal SD and reinstall kies, reboot, still cannot...

seriously... even connecting to my PC is annoying... no hope for this phone.. Zz
Ever occur to you it could be your PC's problem?

Anyway, I'm on WinXP Pro SP3 and I had never encountered any problem on connecting to Kies or USB driver or whatsoever. I just installed Kies from the CD supplied. Then it just happens to manage to connect to my PC. I was afraid it might face problem even after installing drivers cause my Windows memang sot sot 1.

Later after that, only I noticed in the forum that many can't get their USB to work. I guess I was lucky? It just works fine on 1st install.

Aside from that, Kies sucks. It's damn slow interfacing with the phone via USB. Too bad no BT options, like Nokia's PC Suite/Ovi. hmm.gif
Harddisk
post Oct 24 2010, 01:09 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Oct 23 2010, 11:57 PM)
if you want to copy/paste file..first seet your device to debugging mode (application > development > usb debugging)
then connect your phone to your pc , drag the notification bar and select copy files from/to computer..let it's install driver first..
USB debugging is not really necessary for accessing the drive in the phone. Just the USB mounting thing will do.

USB debugging is needed if want to access the phone using adb.exe though.
Harddisk
post Oct 24 2010, 01:11 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Oct 23 2010, 11:59 PM)
It will, but u can always flash back to the stock rom, no problem at all
I've heard this countless times. But I still have no idea how to flash back to stock ROM.

I mean, where do we get the firmware files? Or just force it through via Kies?

I hope someone can explain on this to relieve me of my worries.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0742sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:43 PM