News Dell XPS 15 is back! ~ rm2999 ~ It has launch!, Core i5, GT420M, 4GB, 500GB, JBL subwoof

eugenechiuu
post Oct 22 2010, 07:14 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Oct 21 2010, 10:12 PM)
Knockout? You are totally forgetting that is the converted US price.

Check the US price of a Studio XPS 16, or an Asus G53JW, or a MBP, and think again.
Nowadays the new products coming out have similar price tag in Malaysia as well in case you haven't noticed.. Look at the recent M101Z... Price tag in Malaysia is similar to USA and other parts of the world is selling it at least RM2k+.. Another one is the new MacBook Air.... USD 999, Malaysia selling it for RM3299... That's almost direct conversion already... G series is a whole diff story I guess.. Many factors affecting it also..
eugenechiuu
post Oct 22 2010, 08:35 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

anyways, malaysia's version is out... it's much more powerful and price is reasonable as well...

http://configure.ap.dell.com/dellstore/con...s=dhs&cs=mydhs1

eugenechiuu
post Oct 22 2010, 05:51 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Oct 22 2010, 01:24 PM)
But eugenchiu you are forgetting the specs of USA laptops and Malaysia laptops are not the same. They typically get more, and better, options, for a much lower price. And you cannot compare the mini because it costs only like, what, RM1000? How does this RM1000 compare to some laptops which cost more than RM1500 more than the one in the USA? Shipping or tax cannot even reach RM1500.
If u mean Netbooks being overly cheap in USA, it's a true fact cause in US they kinda did this on purpose so everyone can have a laptop from the first release...

Well put that aside, I am talking about the recent models of laptops of same specs... If you have checked UK and AUS price for M101Z, you'd know that after conversion both UK and AUS selling it for more than RM2K while Malaysia selling it for RM1.5k for the same thing... US around the same price as Malaysia as well...

for MBA, i guess u'd know that USA sells the cheapest Apple Mac products and how everyone tries to get hold of 1 from USA... Remember how Apple products are overpriced in Malaysia? Even the entry level MBP was like 40% more expensive than USA... Now the new MBA is only like 5% more expensive than USA.. it's definitely a fact that the prices of laptops in Malaysia are slowly shifting...

So in Malaysia now, laptops are not necessary much more expensive just that our options are more restricted....
eugenechiuu
post Nov 25 2010, 08:39 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Alpha Wolf @ Nov 25 2010, 07:06 AM)
Care to share a screenshot of the detail for your Windows Experience Index?
I think his WEI should be around 6.7, 5.9, 4.4, 6.5, 5.9

eugenechiuu
post Nov 30 2010, 09:16 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(arinsms @ Nov 29 2010, 04:00 PM)
ATI Rdeon HD 5730 is definately better than gt435
According to benchmarks, it's almost the same with 435m slightly higher in 3dmark06... Not much of a difference also when playing games, mostly 2-3fps?
eugenechiuu
post Dec 3 2010, 09:53 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Casperwinde @ Dec 3 2010, 09:25 AM)
studio xps 16 seems is better ... got HD5730
abit regret =(
435M and 5730 is more or less the same thing lol...

0.0545sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:57 AM