News Dell XPS 15 is back! ~ rm2999 ~ It has launch!, Core i5, GT420M, 4GB, 500GB, JBL subwoof

astria
post Oct 21 2010, 09:53 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

no numpad... sweat.gif
astria
post Oct 21 2010, 10:26 PM

22,158 posts

well, the hinge is similar to the one on my Asus N81V, though mine is way bigger than XPS...

i thought now the trend is let the monitor to sink a little for easier viewing???

honestly, the design is really like the old Asus N series...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 21 2010, 10:27 PM
astria
post Oct 21 2010, 10:30 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Oct 21 2010, 10:30 PM)
You want numpad get XPS 17 smile.gif But no FullHD B+RGLED
i think i would want XPS17 for GTS445M... laugh.gif

that's gonna kill off AW m15x...
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 07:19 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Oct 21 2010, 11:13 PM)
Well, Alienware has 19200x1200 vs 1600x900 of XPS 17.
XPS 17 has GT445M 3GB but not GDDR5/GDDR3.

Added on October 22, 2010, 12:21 amUp already, starting RM2999 with i3. But cannot buy yet. Zzz i3.

Added on October 22, 2010, 12:48 amOK buyable now.

Added on October 22, 2010, 1:29 amForget it. Crappy options, not worth it. Waiting for next gen laptops with AMD or Sandy Bridge.
lower resolution = higher graphic performance... i can live with that...

now only problem is wat VRAM is Dell going to use... if it's DDR3 instead of GDDR5, it would really break the deal...
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 04:10 PM

22,158 posts

it's juz bundling sales tactic... nothing surprising over there...
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 05:08 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Oct 22 2010, 04:58 PM)
Ok, yeah, since GT 420M is like GT 335M, I suppose this is an alternative to the Acer and Asus laptops below RM3000 with 14 inch screens. But then again we were expecting something equal or better to XPS 16, that is the main point.
well, not much choices for them...

there's only ATi and NV... dun have a third company...
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 06:37 PM

22,158 posts

not really a wrong move, more like THE only move...

if they continue to use HD5000, they can't differentiate XPS from SXPS...

Added on October 22, 2010, 6:38 pm
QUOTE(LightningFist @ Oct 22 2010, 06:35 PM)
Trying to negotiate i5 + GT435M. Then I will buy. Or else, a long wait sad.gif Was really looking forward to this and I like the metal parts.
if i were u, i would go for SXPS16...

HD5730 is not too shabby... unless u re a die hard NV fanboy... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 22 2010, 06:38 PM
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 06:43 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Oct 22 2010, 06:41 PM)
I would prefer an XPS 17.

But I liked that XPS 15 had an unobstructed vent, and USB 3.0 (for what it's worth), and no leather (I think SXPS comes with leather here by default does it not).

Of course upside is ATI 5730 which is the best decision ever made by a Dell employee in my honest opinion. If only this simple feat could be repeated once, and quickly.
honestly speaking, i ve some doubts on USB 3.0... especially when LightPeak is a much more promising alternative, and Intel is also funding for the project...
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 07:24 PM

22,158 posts

nah, they juz want to bundle everything together...

any chance if complain to consumer's association? laugh.gif

Added on October 22, 2010, 7:28 pmi juz checked Dell AU...

XPS 14 = 740QM + GT 425M + 6GB RAM
XPS 15 = 740QM + GT 435M + 6GB RAM
XPS 17 = 840QM + GT 445M + 8GB RAM + BD

starts from AU$1499 (14 & 15) and AU$2499 (17)... laugh.gif

now that's wat ia call product differentiation... less headache for the buyers...

pretty good deal considering that SXPS 16 starts from AU$1599 with 460M, HD565v and 6GB RAM...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 22 2010, 07:32 PM
astria
post Oct 22 2010, 07:34 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Oct 22 2010, 07:32 PM)
LOL nice try but it has little to do with the consumers' association I'm afraid. But it really irks me that they would lie about it - not just MY, but USA, UK, France, etc. But at least they have XPS 17, we don't!

Dell can go ahead and lose all the customers it wants. Promotes optimus but restricts the actual product.

Oh and when I was asking Dell (MY) about it, one "agent" cut me off, while the other "agent" initially claimed that the XPS was only launching in the future. Psshh...

Don't Buy XPS!
juz let it get over first...

iirc at first SXPS 16 also restrict HD5730 must go with quad core... later they relax it also...

Added on October 22, 2010, 7:35 pmok, i juz checked, it's the same thing in Dell SG... higher spec graphic card must go with quad core...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 22 2010, 07:45 PM
astria
post Oct 23 2010, 08:59 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(lengnui89 @ Oct 23 2010, 03:13 AM)
is it really that bad? why u so hate it? mind give some explanation?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

i thinking to buy a new 15" laptop <3.5k. after seeing that u state dont buy xps so i begin to Hesitate.  rclxub.gif
hardware wise it's pretty alright... nothing much surprising in there since u get the same thing from Asus N53Jq...

the sore thumb are mainly the plain design compared to SXPS and the original XPS, and the bundling sales tactic of GT 435M must come with quad core (that's a real deal breaker if u ask me... customization has always been Dell's advantage over the other brands, but now it's no different from others, not to forget u lose Optimus when u do that, and Dell's SA have not been helpful on explaining the reason of that either)

Added on October 23, 2010, 9:00 am
QUOTE(nabielz @ Oct 23 2010, 07:19 AM)
nice!!
but still cannot challenge studio xps design.
honestly, imho the original XPS design is the winner... take a look at XPS M1730...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 23 2010, 09:00 AM
astria
post Oct 24 2010, 10:15 AM

22,158 posts

swt = sweat.gif

astria
post Oct 24 2010, 03:10 PM

22,158 posts

well, there's still a difference... but still, a rm100 earphone is still better...
astria
post Oct 24 2010, 06:35 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(dagnarus @ Oct 24 2010, 06:33 PM)
a good effort by dell indeed, waiting for a counterattack by asus and acer. they wont sit still for sure. IMHO, more models will be released prior to christmas, let see how they'll react...
Asus already has similar stuff a few weeks ago...

N43Jq and N53Jq, 740QM, GT 425M, rm3999...

rm500 gets u better design (imho), Bang & Olusfen Audio, and 2yrs warranty...

at rm3599 there's Asus A42Ja, 740QM + HD5730...

Acer already has got Aspire TimelineX 4820TG at the lower price range (rm2599), 460M + HD5650 + long battery life... at the same time, there is Lenovo Y460 at rm2999 with 460M and GT 425M...

honestly, with the hardware bundled together, it's not easy for XPS to distinguish itself...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 24 2010, 06:38 PM
astria
post Oct 25 2010, 06:11 AM

22,158 posts

talk abt int'l warranty, none is better than Asus...

default already 2yrs int'l warranty, with the option extending to 3...

that's y i dun mind importing one from US to use for my study in Australia...

besides, the general build quality of Asus, imho, is better than Dell...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 25 2010, 07:15 AM
astria
post Oct 27 2010, 11:02 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 26 2010, 09:15 PM)
not fair if u full load a i7 (quad core) stress test compare to dual core, disadvantage in temperature since its doing more work
try load 2 out of 4 core from i7, that is fair comparison

generally the graphic chip (IC only) can go over 100°C, but other components are not.
if u do that, might as well get a dual core in the first place rit??? sweat.gif
astria
post Oct 28 2010, 09:06 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Oct 28 2010, 06:01 PM)
Lmao look at the damn weight of G53/G73!

I was using a 14 inch notebook or 5 years (but it was not really light). So when I bought a 15.6 inch laptop, weighing in at 2.75kg, it was very bulky at first - hard to move around on the table. Of course it isn't heavy to move around, but I mean it's really bulky. If you're not the type who likes huge machines, the G series is a bad idea. Otherwise, Alienware or G series would be good (except you have to import G series as it is hugely overpriced).

Now if Dell quit screwing about and offered i5 + GT435M then I would buy XPS 15. They only offer 3 years warranty through customisation here >.<
weight is expected for the hardware u re getting...

if a Asus G or AW is light, i rather not buy it...
astria
post Oct 29 2010, 08:50 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Oct 29 2010, 06:40 AM)
If it is a good deal then why has it been disappointing to many? Seems to be a contradictory statement.   unsure.gif
1) design... compare that with Studio XPS, or even the classic XPS, u'll get wat we mean

2) customization... it's either quad core + GT 435M or dual core + GT 425M... does not make sense at all considering Dell has always been flexible when comes to hardware combination... and the SA have not been helpful in explaining why... my guess is either Dell juz want to bundle up the hardware, or they are using different mobo for different CPU (but for the latter, quad core + GT 425M should still be possible)

3) JBL audio... i ve no experience with JBL audio, but according to some ppl who ve dealt with it before, volume is on the soft side...

at base spec, yes, it's a pretty good deal, considering Lenovo Y460 with the same spec is selling at the same price as well... but if u want quad core + GT 435M, well, there are other alternatives... such as Asus N53Jq, rm500 more with GT 425M, but with better features (Bang & Olusfen audio for a start) and design...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 29 2010, 08:52 AM
astria
post Oct 30 2010, 09:49 AM

22,158 posts

Windows 7 is slow??? wat re u talking abt man?
astria
post Oct 30 2010, 11:47 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Oct 30 2010, 10:38 AM)
to me, the best OS still XP.. biggrin.gif
honestly i dun find any reason to use XP anymore, especially on a new computer with at least 2GB RAM... however i can find many reasons not to run XP...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 30 2010, 11:47 AM

0.0386sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:10 AM