5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Acer TimelineX 3820TG & 4820TG, Owners and visitors discussion

hottemper
post Feb 8 2011, 06:07 PM

248 posts

Did anyone over here bought 4820TG or 3820TG from Evernew in PJ Digital Mall? They say warranty's price can't be deduct, it's fix. Is it true?

This post has been edited by hottemper: Feb 8 2011, 06:56 PM
hottemper
post Feb 9 2011, 02:10 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(h4dRi @ Feb 9 2011, 01:01 PM)
i bought my 4820 from them, they offer me rm168 for 3years warranty by them or rm198 for 3 years warranty by acer..even if the warranty's price is fix, u can always nego. from total price...
thanks for the info~~ Think of purchasing thru credit card or thru cash..
hottemper
post Feb 11 2011, 05:37 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Feb 11 2011, 12:31 PM)
Who buy the 3820TG from digital mall pj? Any shop good? I wanna wait for 3830 but it is taking way too long to reach. Sigh. Guesa i gotta live with the 3820 kb. Sigh
I heard someone bought it from a shop named Evernew. Around 2.3k~ I oso seeking for good shops.
hottemper
post Feb 13 2011, 10:13 PM

248 posts

off topic : do highpoint do modification on mini pc? Mine is acerpower 1000, the CPU will auto shutdown when it reaches 90C.
hottemper
post Feb 15 2011, 02:07 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(jedi_dc @ Feb 15 2011, 02:04 PM)
Hey guys, went to see the 3820tg and 4820tg,

Gonna get either one of them ,

One thing though , does the 4820tg have dual heatsinks like the 3820?

For RM 300 extra, i'd get an optical drive, core i5, 14"  and 2.3kg total weight.

Is there really a significant difference from i3 compared to i5? ,

Help is appreciated, laugh.gif
From what I saw in this thread,
3820TG have two small fans, without optical drive, 1.8kg

4820TG have only one big fan, with optical drive 2.2kg
hottemper
post Feb 18 2011, 12:02 PM

248 posts

RM2119 (3820TG) + ACER EXTENDED WARRANTY (SUPERCARE 1) RM140+ RM75 (Corsair) should I go for it?
hottemper
post Feb 19 2011, 11:20 AM

248 posts

oh ya, I got one question. Can the Acer backup it's factory setting to a USB drive?
hottemper
post Feb 19 2011, 04:06 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Feb 19 2011, 11:50 AM)
i suppose you can burn the CD to a VirtualCD to create the ISO. then, use a USB tool (http://download.cnet.com/Windows-7-USB-DVD-Download-Tool/3000-18513_4-10972600.html) to put it into a USB to make that USB bootable.

never try that before and may not even work  hmm.gif if u get it work, share with us the technique!

actually, you dont need the CD so as long as you did not delete / resize the hidden partition in the hardisk or change the hardisk. you can press Alt-F10 during boot up to restore it to faction.
If i'm buying 3820TG, how do i burn CD? Virtual CD is?

If I wanna do a clean install of win7 later, shall i not delete the hidden partition?
hottemper
post Mar 2 2011, 08:46 PM

248 posts

People!
Will be getting my hands on 3820TG by tomorrow! ^^

First thing, how to make a backup DVD, if I don't have internal/external DVD drive?

hottemper
post Mar 3 2011, 06:03 PM

248 posts

I'm a proud 3820TG owner~~~ Just played SC2 will high / ultra. No lag, + damn smooth~~! 3Dmark06 nid to download? i wanna view my com score...

One more thing, it comes with one drive only, which is C drive, can I resize it and make another D, E, or F drive?
hottemper
post Mar 3 2011, 10:02 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Mar 3 2011, 07:16 PM)
Glad things are working out for u!

Added on March 3, 2011, 7:21 pm

Welcome to the club! Guess there are still not many 3820tg owner, mostly are 4820tg... but i make no secret, i like the 3820tg better  tongue.gif

You can download the 3dmark06 here:

http://www.futuremark.com/benchmarks/3dmark06/download/

Just download the demo version.

Yes, you can resize it to make another drive using Disk Manager found in Device Manager. Just make sure your dont delete the Recovery Partition.
Done resizing. XD.
WOW, the 3Dmark06 600MB? i lazy to download~ lol doh.gif
hottemper
post Mar 3 2011, 10:53 PM

248 posts

Well, this is my first boot time~ rclxms.gif
hottemper
post Mar 4 2011, 11:07 PM

248 posts

Is there any software I can view my CPU / GPU temperature?
Is there any software I can see the FPS of my games?

P/S : Currently super satisfied with the heat management. The fan is as silent as a grave. Sui~~

As for the sound system, it's consider quite loud for me. It's still acceptable when it's turn to max.

As for the gaming, I will give it 10/10 for a lappy that's 13.3! The GPU is superb! Maybe because I seldom play high specs game~~~ However, I kinda towards performance, not quality, so jagged edge might be seen.

As for the battery life, I don't know if I look wrong, I saw 11hr 16mins at 98% battery. That's my best time ba!

This is a short review from me ba~ [3820TG user]
hottemper
post Mar 5 2011, 12:16 AM

248 posts

Here's a short post about the GPU/CPU temp while gaming.

I was playing NFS : Hot Pursuit for 15 mins inside an air-con room of 24 degree C while having the lappy raise up by inches.

Setting was as below :
1366x768
High Resolution Texture On
Motion Blur On
Shadow Level High (Highest)
Anisotropic On

Here's the temperature :

Here's a screenshot of the gameplay~

Average FPS : 40-50 ( quite smooth overall, although sometimes will drop to 30++, rarely though)

Hope there will be more games for me to test~ thumbup.gif
hottemper
post Mar 5 2011, 08:59 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Mar 5 2011, 08:19 AM)
The temperature looks good.  biggrin.gif See? 3820tg is amazing right? You didnt even use a cooler right?
I just put a 3cm thing to lift it up. icon_idea.gif
I have no money to buy a cooler la. XDDDD
U guys have any ideas where to buy a keyboard protector? In this forum ada sell this kind of things?
hottemper
post Mar 5 2011, 09:28 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Mar 5 2011, 09:09 AM)
I brought one, but end up not using it... so, i m not sure you really need it.

i dont mind dusk gathering up in the keyboard, coz after 5 months, i only vacuum it once...
U got vacuum? cool~ haha...
IF i wanna buy a wireless router, which model should I aim?
hottemper
post Mar 6 2011, 10:31 AM

248 posts

I have a question,

My WIFI powered on before I reach the logon screen. It doesnt connect to any network yet. I hope to disable it at startup, but still can be switch on thru Fn+F3.

IMO, having a wireless adapter switched on waste energy. biggrin.gif

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Another thing, I cant submit my 3DMark06 Score!

This post has been edited by hottemper: Mar 6 2011, 10:46 AM
hottemper
post Mar 10 2011, 12:04 PM

248 posts

my 3820TG Touchpad isn't really sensitive + smooth, is this normal?
hottemper
post Mar 10 2011, 05:54 PM

248 posts

my touchpad uses Alps and can do multi gesture or so, it's the physical feeling. When I touch, it likes very rough, and my finger hardly can glide thru the pad surface. Perhaps my finger is sweating? hahaha

Added on March 10, 2011, 7:15 pmFinally finish Starcraft 2 campaign. Superb storyline, superb graphics, all in one small laptop~ XD
My temperature never went more than 80C while in native resolution + high preset graphics~ Cant wait for the second chapter of SC2!!!

Now what games should I play?

Added on March 10, 2011, 8:20 pmI played Medal of Honor for about 20mins, the temperature flung from 71C to 90C, which I never establish before. I scare it will explode, so I stop playing it.

Is this temperature normal? with 1366x768 and all medium setting!

This post has been edited by hottemper: Mar 10 2011, 08:20 PM
hottemper
post Mar 11 2011, 09:36 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Mar 11 2011, 07:29 PM)
Been playing Dragon Age 2 for 2 hours. Using DirectX 11 but only setting it to High graphic setting, not Very High and with no AA:

- Graphic has definitely improved, it look much nicer than Dragon Age 1
- Although playable, but 5650 is just barely catching up! Graphic can be much smoother if running on DirectX 9.
- Max CPU: 89
- Max GPU: 81

I chose a Rouge, it's more difficult to play than a Warrior...
when i see the gameplay of DA 2, it looks boring. LOL. Is it somehow like Titan Quest, Diablo series?

We can set the directX we wanna use? This is new to me~ rclxub.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0499sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:47 PM