Bank panel of lawyer or adhoc better ?

SUSjalsrix
post Oct 19 2010, 08:38 PM, updated 16y ago

1,927 posts

Should we hire the bank loan panel of lawyer or ad hoc lawyer ?

What are the pros and cons with hiring an ad hoc lawyer for the purchaser ?

Seremban_2
post Oct 19 2010, 10:06 PM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Oct 19 2010, 08:38 PM)

I would vote for Bank Loan panel lawyer as there are expert on that area,the best,efficient,got latest bank document and money release to them faster.

dariofoo
post Oct 19 2010, 10:34 PM

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Oct 19 2010, 08:38 PM)

I beg to differ fr Seremban2. It depends on the service by the law firm. If it's big law firm handling numerous files as they are on the full panel, don't expect any personal service anytime you make a call to enquire on the status of your file. Most loan docs are standardised docs anyway so it doesn't give full panel firms any edge at all.

When you say ad hoc, I presume that you meant your S&P lawyer will do your loan doc as well (hence the ad hoc basis). In the end it would be better as it eliminates the need for another firm to be in the picture and things can (hopefully) move faster. It would be easier to be updated as with one call you can find out the status of the S&P as well as the loan.
SUSjalsrix
post Oct 19 2010, 11:50 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Oct 19 2010, 10:34 PM)

When you say ad hoc, I presume that you meant your S&P lawyer will do your loan doc as well (hence the ad hoc basis). In the end it would be better as it eliminates the need for another firm to be in the picture and things can (hopefully) move faster. It would be easier to be updated as with one call you can find out the status of the S&P as well as the loan.
You're right. Ad hoc means the lawyer is not the bank's regular panel of lawyers.

I am trying to find a lawyer that does both S&P and loan.

The panel of lawyer recommended by the bank is just a small firm (not big firm), so which is better for purchaser ?

kok_pun
post Oct 20 2010, 09:53 AM

Mortgage Expert
854 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Oct 19 2010, 11:50 PM)
You're right. Ad hoc means the lawyer is not the bank's regular panel of lawyers.

I am trying to find a lawyer that does both S&P and loan.

The panel of lawyer recommended by the bank is just a small firm (not big firm), so which is better for purchaser ?
Jal, you may pm me... I am a banker, not a lawyer.

I have connections with a few lawyers who do both S&P and Loan legal matter.

As lawyers are not allowed to deal directly or do any advertisement (adhering to their code of conduct), the only option is either to go and find 1 yourself or look for a mortgager..... like me smile.gif

0.0173sec    1.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:09 AM