Nokia N8 v8 - Great Multimedia Device, For Starters, read the first page

EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 06:18 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 21 2010, 06:15 PM)
yes it will...just wanna ask, switching to between GSM/3G and GSM only still need to restart phone?
cos for me when i was using prepaid, i would just use the data when i need it, since digi max is RM5/per day, so if you are using Digi and wanna go online some day, u can just switch to 3G mode then start browsing..
Restart ah? Not sure. If have to restart sure the phone will request one...
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 06:19 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(moniqee @ Oct 21 2010, 06:18 PM)
i multitask heavily and my n8 never failed me so far...

this is my list of multi tasking
the menu page is always running
music player on ( coz if i exit the songs i played will be gone and i have to searched for it again )
pdf adobe reader on
games on ( angry BIRD )
ovi store on
ovi music store on

and so far... it's effortlessly and smoothly... =D even my sis is trying to cajoling me to exchange my n9 with her 5800...
LOL Exchange N8 with 5800. Is she kidding ah?
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 06:24 PM

1,715 posts

In short, dun judge by mere the numbers and values of RAM and processor, but, at the same time, dun be greedy - dun expect it to be as fast as iPhone or a computer and multitask too many apps at once
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 06:31 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 21 2010, 06:26 PM)
fuyooo... surfing with my lappy u think what will i do leh... IE with more then 10 tabs, youtube, fb, pps... apa caplang jalan saja.... but the IE do have stability issue lah...  shakehead.gif
U try new IE9 onot? Not bad. Juz dun simply add toolbar.
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 06:34 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(EroTe @ Oct 21 2010, 06:32 PM)
Guys, try read this blog about N8, funny tho tongue.gif

http://n8fail.tumblr.com/
Someone juz posted it juz now. Troll site is troll. We have people who set up sites to bash Nokia, but we also have sites that bash Android and Apple. Fair and Square.
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 06:35 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 21 2010, 06:33 PM)
it's already being posted....suspect is a 'paid to humiliate' website..and normally u know only one company that is unethical enough to do that
It is unhealthy material, better go porn site than read this site, seriously. more unhealthy than porn.

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Oct 21 2010, 06:36 PM
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 06:39 PM

1,715 posts

There's no "Symbian^x" anymore, just Symbian!
"Future improvements ... will be compatible with the existing Symbian^3 platform"

http://www.finanznachrichten.de/18304559

http://www.engadget.com/2010/10/21/nokia-r...-qt-and-ends-s/

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Oct 21 2010, 06:40 PM
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 06:45 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 21 2010, 06:42 PM)
personally, i think it will fail, reason is simple...we all know, Symbian s60v5 is running uberly underpowered 434Mhz without any GPU
if the app./games is built for S^3, which obviously runs on higher clock and GPU, even though it can be installed at a s60v5 device, it's not gonna run well
and if it's build based on s60v5, every game/app will look exactly the same as it is right now....as much as i like the concept, sorry, i don really want that to happen...they should just phase our s60v5 and replace with S^3...that is the lower limit of a competitive touch screen OS the market can have now
No, u got it wrong, S60 seems to be out of question. Actually, future improvements/new firmwares will be compatible with Sym^3, not necessarily the old Sym^1. That means Sym^3 is the base for future development.
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 06:50 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 21 2010, 06:46 PM)
A good news for n8 users nod.gif
Remember that n8 cpu is underclock. We might seee true clock speed in the future.
When the need arises, they will eventually use 1Ghz processors, and that doesnt seem far away.

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Oct 21 2010, 06:50 PM
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 06:53 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Oct 21 2010, 06:51 PM)
Now , i have just called 2 Nokia Centres in JB .

1st one said they have Silver instock only , Rm1690

2nd one said they have Silver , Green and Grey Rm 1699

Question is , which colour should i pick ? Green is definitely a nono for me.
This is a matter of preference actually. Mine is RM 1730, but i will make the retailer gimme free spine case (my previous purchases also like that lol).
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 06:59 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 21 2010, 06:56 PM)
green color somewhat looks like the green on MyVi to me, with more 'goldenish' coloring..so on certain lighting, it really looks like light gold color..IMO it's rather nice..and personally i dislike the silver one
doubt that, and i certainly don hope so..the last thing i need is nokia to continue split up their software team resource due to the number of models on the market, and result in shitty firmware in almost every phones...also, if they can do that, i think there will be modders that make the original N8 unlockable as well..seeing how it's possible, i'd guess nokia would have use some software method to bump the clock speed...maybe even just flashing the firmware will do..i don think nokia will attempt such move
who said that?
N8's camera is likely to remain superior to others for sometime, maybe 2 years. When Nokia tries to compete in the smartphone race, hardware is no longer a matter of concern - Thats what most Android phones ditched - good camera. Not to say all are bad, but most of them. The only hardware aspect they focus is build quality and the screen.

EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 07:00 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 21 2010, 06:57 PM)
Eldar and some people in mynokiablog.com
Eldar's news can be accurate although he is quite a troll himself (hencereviews are not accurate). Most of the time Nokia new model leaks are his work. If he expects that to happen, it might happen.
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 07:05 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ne0cz @ Oct 21 2010, 07:01 PM)
troll?
Troll = People who are very hardworking at criticizing others because he thinks what he prefers is better than anything else.
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 07:07 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 21 2010, 07:01 PM)
rather affordable if you ask me...i think certain seller from garage sales are selling 15xx..if u can get it with the price, it's certainly better...

i have to say, the camera is second to none when you are comparing with digital camera and phone camera, no kidding..
and my range of the term digital camera id not including semi pro cameras, those have bigger sensor, better lens and manual function, it's unfair to compare with those
But people like me prefer to bring a minimum number of gadgets while going out. You might need a good digital cam or DSLR if you are on vacation overseas, but you dont really want to bring too many stuff out, like, a meal/birthday celebration of a friend at some nice restaurant right? This is when a good camera phone comes handy.
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 07:13 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(squall3377 @ Oct 21 2010, 07:10 PM)
1.5k... damn tat cheap! i bought my n97mini for 1400 May2010... if i waited longer, this baby would hav been mine...

i bet 3-4months later price would be around 1.3k...
N8 was announced in April. I thik you should check online constantly for new upcoming gadgets whenever you plan to get a new phone. Dont buy existing available models, unless you are in a desperate need of one. I was looking for a new camera phone back in May, when my finals exam finished, and was considering phones like N86 8MP and N97 but couldnt decide. Found out the news bout N8 online and waited till today.

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Oct 21 2010, 07:14 PM
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 07:18 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(squall3377 @ Oct 21 2010, 07:15 PM)
i salute ur determination and patience ...  notworthy.gif

i guess no harm waiting a while more for the price to fall... since buy now, price drop later = regret
Im desperate actually thats y i dun wait for price to drop. My N95 is still functioning well, but i really want a new phone to replace it. (So many Nseries phones were released after the N95 till now i havent changed one).
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 07:31 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(punkysue @ Oct 21 2010, 07:22 PM)
will nokia release the ORANGE n8 in the future?
November, from what i expect, but they might make it "limited" and charge you more.
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 07:53 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(squall3377 @ Oct 21 2010, 07:35 PM)
ifon4 is a much better show-off device .. . .

those ppl whom buy later than u will lol
A "when u buy?"
B "october 2010"
A "price must be 1.7k"
B "yea.."
A "i bought mine 1.3k"
B "fuuuuuuuu"
If you choose to wait till price drop, by then maybe got newer release that you might like. So, if you wait months for price to drop then buy, literally you are buying outdated model.
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 07:57 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 21 2010, 07:54 PM)
Maxis sucks

Seriously, i dont understand the list at all, how they charge, how they count, how they deduct, and for what... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif But the figures are outright outrageous... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
EXkurogane
post Oct 21 2010, 08:01 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 21 2010, 07:58 PM)
if u have 500mb and go for 3gb or 1.5gb, they penalty you RM500!!! They never told me the penalty!! DAMNNNNNnnnnnn
WTF?! Digi if you exceed limit no extra charge, and still can use rite? But only speed reduce to 128 kbps izit?

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0386sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:14 PM