QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Nov 25 2011, 04:11 PM)
8% per annum upon balance purchase price calculated on daily basis. Lawyers Corner, A one-stop centre on lawyers and queries
Lawyers Corner, A one-stop centre on lawyers and queries
Nov 25 2011, 04:42 PM
2,795 posts Joined: Aug 2010 From: District 9 |
Nov 25 2011, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Nov 25 2011, 04:47 PM) Okay, Call your mortgage agent and bug him. See what he can do to help. It's very highly unlikely to occur though. What was the nature of the delay?So if the delay is cause my my occumbrance (my bank), what can I do to ask my bank to absorb the LPI? QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Nov 25 2011, 04:47 PM) 'Cuz right now it seems that my lawyer is favoring more towards the vendor side rather than my side. I am the one who hire my lawyer and the vendor is using my lawyer as well. Why do you say so? |
Nov 25 2011, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Nov 25 2011, 05:15 PM) Hi Dario, I personally think that it is not the job of the lawyer to call up the mortgage agent. To call up the bank, yes, but not the mortgage agent as you are the direct link to the agent, not the lawyer. There must be some form of chain, for example:Yes, already bug the mortgage agent, but it was very late already. Reaches my 3 months SPA period. The reason I say so is because my lawyer didn't help me bug mortgage agent loh.... Mortgage agent -> borrower/purchaser (you) -> lawyer -> bank Of course the bank is linked to the agent and vice versa. However, the gap is there between the lawyer and the agent, and between you and the bank. As I have advised many times before in this thread, get a copy of the correspondence to locate the source of the delay in the transaction. Don't be hasty and point fingers. If possible, get the lawyer to explain to you the reason for the delay. It'll be easier once you gather more info to have a better understanding of the situation. |
Nov 25 2011, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(pohbc @ Nov 25 2011, 10:35 PM) Hi, A caveat is lodged upon a title (geran) of a property to lock/block/stop any transfer of the said title to another party. It is an indication of a person claiming a right over the property.Can anyone tell me what is the definition of a "caveat"? I recently came across an auction for a property in an area that I had been having my eye on. After getting the proclamation of sale from the agent, I found out that the property had five separate caveats on it. The agent also said no point proceeding any further. What actually is a caveat in the perspective of Malaysia law? In a normal scenario, a person lodges a caveat when he puts in a deposit [usually 10%] to purchase the property. It may take at least 3 months from the date of the SPA in order for title to be transferred in his favour. In the interim, to stop the vendor from transferring the title to another party and defeat the purchaser's claim, the purchaser will lodge a caveat over the title. With the caveat, it serves two purposes: 1) To stop the registered proprietor of the property from transferring the title to another person; and 2) As a notice to the world at large of the purchaser's beneficial and legal interest in the property (by virtue of him placing the 10% deposit). A person can only lodge a caveat if he has a caveatable interest over the property. Most of the time this would be like the example given, i.e. it is lodged by the purchaser. A caveat can also be lodged by a person who has obtained judgement against the owner for a certain amount of money. It can be lodged by a financial institution as well. A person who does not have a caveatable interest over the property but had nonetheless lodged a caveat can be sued by the registered proprietor for unlawful entry of caveat. The caveator would then have to pay damages to the proprietor if he failed to prove the legality of him lodging the caveat. In your case, there are 5 caveats upon the property. Am sure that one of it is from the owner's financier. The other 4 could be by other creditors. Others have asserted their respective right over the property. It would be the wise thing to back out from it now as it could be problematic to remove the 4 caveats without much hassle and cost, which has to be borne by you, by the way. I hope the above clarifies things accordingly. This post has been edited by dariofoo: Nov 26 2011, 12:13 AM |
Nov 27 2011, 02:46 AM
QUOTE(jessy123 @ Nov 26 2011, 09:31 AM) hi Dario Hi Jessy,with regards to the caveat - does that mean its only useful to place a caveat only on the prop if the title is already out? Yes, it is only needed when title is already out. If it is still under Master Title, there's no reason to worry as the vendor can't do anything - title is still under the developer or proprietor's name [The proprietor in this case refers to the landowner who enters into a JV with the developer]. QUOTE(jessy123 @ Nov 26 2011, 09:31 AM) usually the lawyers will not place a caveat unless the client specifically request for it since additional fees are payable? Here's the thing - it depends on the lawyer in question. There's no hard and fast rule. It depends on the honesty (or knowledge) of the lawyer and how much they have the best interests of their client at heart.A few scenarios as example to illustrate my point: 1) Property under Master Title SPA lawyer - no question - no need to lodge caveat. Loan lawyer - the lawyer can request the bank to waive the requirement to lodge a private caveat over the master title as it is not really needful, as long as the developer (and end-financier-if Master Title still encumbered) gives the relevant undertakings and disclaimers. 2) Property under Individual/Strata Title - property still encumbered by way of Charge created in favour of Vendor's Financier (VF) SPA lawyer - can advise the client to waive lodgement of caveat as property still encumbered in favout of VF. As such, the vendor can't do anything funny in the interim. However, there are lawyers who just bill the client for it and just lodges the caveat nonetheless. Loan lawyer - bank would require caveat to be lodged to protect bank's interest. No choice there. * Imagine if same lawyer for SPA and loan - two caveats lodged and both costs and fees are borne by the purchaser. First one is not really needed, more so if the loan is approved fast, so the bank's caveat is lodged very soon after the SPA is executed. One caveat is all it takes. 3) Property under Individual/Strata Title - property not encumbered SPA lawyer - should advise client to lodge caveat as property not encumbered. Loan lawyer - bank would require caveat to be lodged to protect bank's interest. No choice there again. [same as scenario (2)] * In this case, it would be prudent to lodge a caveat at the first opportunity as the property is unencumbered. However, there can still be a situation like scenario (2), i.e. the bank's caveat can go in early, and thus, saves the purchaser a bit in costs and fees to avoid duplicity of caveats. Just an idea as to costs of entry/withdrawal of caveat: Legal fees (fixed): Entry of caveat - RM200 Withdrawal of caveat - RM150 Disbursements (varies and depends on land office) Entry of caveat - RM300 Notice - RM20 Withdrawal - RM70 Misc - RM50-100 TOTAL: approx RM800 QUOTE(jessy123 @ Nov 26 2011, 09:31 AM) No, not at all. In some SPAs a clause is inserted whereby the vendor consents to the lodgement of a private caveat. However, even if the clause is not inserted, it is understood and is common practice that the purchaser has a caveatable interest once he pays the 10% downpayment upon execution of SPA. |
Nov 27 2011, 02:50 AM
QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Nov 26 2011, 10:07 AM) Thanks Dario! Your calculation is correct if assuming that the RM100K loan goes straight to the vendor and there is no redemption sum to be paid out to the vendor's financier beforehand.So given an example, the mortgage loan of RM100K, and the LPI is calculated on daily basis; the delay is 14 days, so the calculation would be: (100K x 8%)/365 x 14 days? If there is a redemption sum to be paid, that sum must be deducted from the loan sum of RM100K. So let's say the redemption sum is RM60K - the balance purchase price is only RM40K. So the LPI is calculated on RM40K. |
Nov 27 2011, 02:53 AM
QUOTE(cik_piz @ Nov 26 2011, 04:04 PM) Hi, The SPA is subject to approval of loan and subsequent disbursement of the loan by your financier. Only then can you claim a legal status as purchaser.Just wanna ask, can we sell a house that is under construction? condition: already signed the SPA with developer lawyer's but not apply bank loan yet. the house is estimate complete within 6 months.. so if somebody want to buy the house, can we sell it? So technically you can't sell it - but you can inform the developer that you want to back out and perhaps they can cancel your SPA and proceed with a new one with the new purchaser with minimal fuss and some processing/admin fees to be borne by you. |
Nov 27 2011, 03:15 PM
jessy123:
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Why are you paying for all this? It's supposed to be borne by vendor. It's the vendor's duty to obtain consent. |
Nov 27 2011, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(eddytbd @ Nov 27 2011, 04:00 PM) please take note... consent to transfer is apply by the seller/vendor... You're absolutely right. Thanks. but consent to charge (charge to purchaser's financier) is apply by the purchaser/borrower... dont confuse this 2 different consents I misread jessy's post. For some reason I did not see the consent to charge part. Silly me. This post has been edited by dariofoo: Nov 27 2011, 06:01 PM |
Nov 27 2011, 06:00 PM
Nov 27 2011, 11:23 PM
Nov 29 2011, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(Octopuz @ Nov 27 2011, 11:46 PM) hi dario, Am not sure about the fees for registration of MOT for Johor but what I do know is that for certain land offices, the fees are scaled according to the SPA price (one example is the Kuala Pilah Land Office in N9). So it could be the same method for your case. Perhaps you can directly ask your lawyer as to how they arrived at that figure? would like to check regarding the "registration fee for MOT" bought a double storey terrace house (rm 370k) and i have already signed SPA (developer's lawyer)... but i was charged > rm 8k (excluding lawyer fee which borned by dev).. stamp duty for MOT -> 6400 (standard charge) registration for MOT -> 1500 (overcharge??) disbursement -> ~500 fyi, the properties is located at Johor... thanks |
Nov 30 2011, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(k3v1n @ Nov 29 2011, 05:41 PM) There are no stupid questions bro QUOTE(k3v1n @ Nov 29 2011, 05:41 PM) My lawyer give me a duplicate copy of stamped snp but she said vendor still haven't provide her the vendor's loan date so the snp got one statement leave blank there, she couldn't give me the original copy cause not complete info, so can I use this incomplete stamped duplicate copy to apply EPF withdrawal? Or need to wait the original copy? She said better wait everything complete first baru apply EPF but I really need money to clear all the outstanding dept of house purchasing. And for next time when i get the original copy, what is the purpose of this duplicate copy? Thanks! Four copies will be sent for stamping - all four are identical as to contents - one will then be marked with a chop as ORIGINAL while the other three will be marked as DUPLICATE.So, the blank part which you are referring to would be in all copies, not just your duplicate. With regard to EPF, they would mostly just check on the purchase price, property particulars, the parties to the agreement and cross-refer with the letter of offer from your bank to see if the details match. I doubt if they will make an issue out of the omission. Keep your fingers crossed they don't notice it. QUOTE(k3v1n @ Nov 29 2011, 05:41 PM) If you're taking a bank loan, then the bank will retain the original until the loan has been subsequently redeemed wherein all original documents will be returned to you. In the interim, you can keep the duplicate which is duly stamped and has full effect in law. |
Nov 30 2011, 10:55 AM
Nov 30 2011, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(babyekc @ Nov 30 2011, 02:07 PM) Hi Dario, Consent to transfer - to be obtained by vendor at vendor's cost.What's the different between Consent to Transfer and Consent to Charge? Does these 2 involve in Land Office? Which Consent execute 1st? Consent to charge - to be obtained by purchaser at purchaser's cost (unless cash purchaser) Consent to transfer is applied first. However, if you have a scenario as follows: a) Vendor is unrepresented and vendor authorises purchaser's solicitor to apply for consent to transfer; b) Purchaser's solicitor is handling the loan documentation; and c) Loan has already been approved with letter of offer out, the lawyer can make apply for consent to transfer and consent to charge in one application. |
Dec 1 2011, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(leoleo584 @ Nov 30 2011, 08:18 PM) i hv question here hope forumers can help.. Deposit - RM30K, lawyers fee - do use the legal fees calculator at the first page to calculate. Don't forget stamp duty also.I plan to buy property rm300k. How much cash i should prepare to pay deposit and lawyer fee if pay deposit 10%. Can i fully loan 100% with basic RM3800 Thanks... With regard to your query as to whether you can get a full loan you might want to check with a mortgage consultant instead. |
Dec 1 2011, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(k3v1n @ Nov 30 2011, 09:54 PM) Thanks for your reply and clear explanation, I wanna ask, what is "deed of assignment"? cause I read EPF website, this is one of the required document to submit, I dun have this doc yet... When there's no title, Deed of Assignment (DOA) is the document which proves transfer to beneficial ownership of the property from the vendor to you.Are you sure that they require the DOA? Unless you're buying by way of cash? From what I understand, they require the SPA, letter of confirmation from the developer and letter of offer from your bank as supporting documents. * am assuming that this is a subsale and you're taking a loan. http://www.kwsp.gov.my/index.php?hdl=bin&rp=1286 |
Dec 1 2011, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(Felixchui80 @ Dec 1 2011, 12:55 PM) How long to register a transfer of land tile lets say if you submit everything such as original title, stamped transfer, quit rent and assessment on monday? Depends on the land office in question. Different land offices, different policy. Shah Alam Land Office guarantees it to be issued in 3 working days.I search internet and the result is 20-60 working days but some say 1 day only. If you're taking a loan, proof of presentation of the MOT (via official receipt) is sufficient to advise the bank to drawdown the balance loan sum. There is no need to wait for the new original title. That can be collected and handed over to the bank later. |
Dec 2 2011, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(wongck @ Dec 1 2011, 01:47 PM) I'm buying a house. And the owner lawyer set these terms. Is it fair to me? Please advise. TQ. Some vendors are kind enough to allow a get-out clause whereby part of the deposit will be refunded if the purc fails to obtain a loan within a certain period of time - say 1 month from the date of the SPA.e. The Purchaser(s) may obtain a loan from a financial institution (hereinafter referred to as “the Financier”) for a loan (hereinafter referred to as “the Loan”) to assist the Purchaser(s) to complete the sale and purchase herein. The failure by the Purchaser(s) to obtain the Loan shall not be a reason or an option for termination of this Agreement by the Purchaser(s). Some vendors are the opposite - like the one in your case - or most probably it's the lawyer If you've got a loan approved then I suppose there's nothing to worry about in this clause. If you don't and if you're not confident, then what it means is that you have to foot up the balance purchase price in cash or risk your 10% deposit being forfeited if you fail to complete the SPA in time. QUOTE(wongck @ Dec 1 2011, 01:47 PM) DELIVERY OF VACANT POSSESSION This is unfair. It is normal practice for the vendor to be penalised if he delays to surrender VP to the purc after receiving the full purchase price. The effect of the deletion is that the vendor can just delay after the expiration of 5 working days and would not be penalised for it. The Vendor(s) shall deliver vVacant possession of the said Property shall be deemed delivered to the Purchaser(s) within Five (5) working days from the date of full settlement of the Balance of Purchase Price and all interest accrued thereon (if any) and apportioned outgoings in accordance with the terms of this Agreement. You must insist for the deleted part to be included. In fact, 5 working days is very gracious. The norm is always 3. Good luck. |
Dec 2 2011, 12:04 AM