AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V24, Thuban or Bulldozer!? Its 6-Season

cloudwan
post Jan 13 2011, 10:14 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Jan 13 2011, 08:48 AM)
Ha Ha Ha...sudah tukar ye... :/rolleyes: , BTW care to share ur personal train of thought bout NINJA 3 & Ur new khooler bro...i need to know as well... :/respect: & how much does it cost you? :/wub:
Ha Ha Ha sori bro, wanna told u earlier but takut u'll beat me with a stick sweat.gif laugh.gif

To me both are good, each have their own pro & con, to make it easy let me list out them:

Scythe Ninja3

Pro
1. Its quite affordable, the only below RM200 high performance HSF for me
2. The contact surface of the HSF is seriously lapped to perfection to me, its all shiny glittering wub.gif
3. The provided fan Kaze jyuni is very powderful, at full blast IMO can push 110cfm as advertise

Con
1. At full blast the provided fan is a bit kinda noisy like my old HD4870 blower fan only not that too annoying
2. The HSF assembly is kinda a bit trickier to assemble compare to the D14
3. Only 1 set of fan clips included, if u wanna do push pull u gonna have to look for the 2nd fan clips elsewhere doh.gif
Noctua D14

Pro
1. IMO it can handle higher heat threshold with it twin grill design & the assembly is much easier to assemble
2. The provided fan are quite good, the middle 14cm fan capable of blowing 110cfm without making too much noise, at stock u can hardly hear em spinning
3. The accessory provided is generous, 2 sets of fan clips, 1 large syringe full of their high performing TIM & even a screw driver for assembly thumbup.gif

Con
1. Its quite heavy & large, improper handling & assembling can break ur mobo laugh.gif
2. The fan color is gay doh.gif
3. They could have lapped the contact surface much2 better, malu when compare to the Ninja3 doh.gif
4. The price is as usual i believe is quite high *not applicable to me tho coz i got it 2nd hand from SG with a help of a hensem unker wub.gif

cloudwan
post Jan 13 2011, 11:54 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Jan 13 2011, 10:39 AM)
nice simple review :/thumbs:
tat ninja is mine soon :/hyper: btw, i wonder if i use 212+ fan clip can anot (d metal 1, not plastic) :/hmm: might boro from my fren to try it since its for 12x12cm fan :/P
U can always try bro, no harm in trying, tho i'm not really sure bout it coz from pic the ninja3 looks a bit smaller than it really are smile.gif

QUOTE(coolice @ Jan 13 2011, 10:50 AM)
i was told ninja 3 has less effective with additional fan, so a single fan would be suffice.

any statistic data on temperature of them against each other? :/D
Hahahaha, didn't try it on a single fan config, always thought push pull is better doh.gif doh.gif
The weakness of me doing some test is that always tend to forget keeping SS of it doh.gif doh.gif laugh.gif
cloudwan
post Jan 13 2011, 01:29 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Jan 13 2011, 12:32 PM)
@unker khoo..

ah_khoo suda jadi tokey cooler plak doh.gif doh.gif sweat.gif laugh.gif
Ask him to bring in Thermalright Archon lah tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Jan 13 2011, 02:51 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jan 13 2011, 02:38 PM)
u guys will know it 1st if it's available. so far no shop carry that cooler yet...  hmm.gif

btw, something just arrived...  brows.gif

Hahahaha, that banci logo also u wanna take pic ka? Hahahaha..
Naise looking ram there bro, a pity it isn't red in kaler whistling.gif whistling.gif
Here's hoping the performance is good thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Added on January 13, 2011, 4:44 pm@sarahlah

Wooot a review of ur ram just came out, seems like a gud investment lah this blue ripjaws thumbup.gif biggrin.gif
Tho the review is done on a P55 board tho sweat.gif

Demm just notice, this is a 2x4GB ram, not really the same as sarahlah doh.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Jan 13 2011, 04:52 PM
cloudwan
post Jan 13 2011, 07:31 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jan 13 2011, 05:15 PM)
those waiting for BD,

nom nom sos

ohmy.gif  drool.gif  flex.gif
Hahahaha i don't understand the translation at all laugh.gif
Here's an easier link i think:

Bulldozer 50% Faster than Core i7 and Phenom II
Here, take some salt. AMD reportedly gave out performance figures in a presentation to its partners, performance figures seen by DonanimHaber. It is reported that an 8-core processor based on the "Bulldozer" high-performance CPU architecture is pitched by its makers to have 50% higher performance than existing processors such as the Core i7 950 (4 cores, 8 threads), and Phenom II X6 1100T (6 cores). Very little is known about the processor, including at what clock speed the processor was running at, much less what other components were driving the test machine.

Taking this information into account, the said Bulldozer based processor should synthetically even outperform Core i7 980X six-core, Intel's fastest desktop processor in the market. Built from ground-up, the Bulldozer architecture focuses on greater inter-core communication and reconfigured ALU/FPU to achieve higher instructions per clock cycle (IPC) compared to the previous generation K10.5, on which its current Phenom II series processors are based. The processor is backed by new 9-series core logic, and a new AM3+ socket. AMD is expected to unveil this platform a little later this year.

Sos Nomi Nomi

cloudwan
post Jan 13 2011, 09:25 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jan 13 2011, 08:37 PM)
@cloudwan

outperform 980x? for real? so how much will be the price then? not going to be cheap.. funding now tongue.gif

sounds promising. but wonder this is  true..

all we have to do is wait tongue.gif

is am2+ support BD? just asking..
cuz got ppl said that the IMC, the prob that AMD cant go far in ram clocking is because the IMC got both ddr2 and ddr3.
Hahahaha take it with a grain of salt bro, as long as the cpu isn't out and done benchies by tester worldwide i won't take the news wholeheartedly yet.. hmm.gif
The price depends on the performance i think, if let say the performance is around 90% of intel's new replacement LGA2011 i think it will price itself accordingly below it i think..

Just to clarify a few things is that BD won't be able to be use on AM2+, only on AM3+, AM3 cpu's can be use on AM3+ mobo but not vice versa sweat.gif
From where i see it is that they gotta scrap the DDR2 support to let them use a better IMC on the new chips and let them support officially dual channel DDR3 1866mhz.. wub.gif
I hope by then my DDR3 2000mhz can at last be fully use lah, that's if i still have the moolah & heart to upgrade somemore sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Jan 13 2011, 09:54 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jan 13 2011, 09:32 PM)
ya loh.. fogot that BD only on am3+.. been reading confusing articles...so that details like that also been twisted..

1866mhz support by AMD..means a divider or what? if a new divider, wow.. if only supported by OC..not a wow since most motherboards already stated DDR2000 support on most 8series mobo..kekeke

btw..still very early to figure things out.
Hahahaha, actually 1866mhz is a standard set by JEDEC, according to them DDR3 standard are 800mhz, 1066mhz, 1333mhz, 1600mhz, 1866mhz & 2133mhz smile.gif
I believe it will be on a new divider..

Wikipedia

cloudwan
post Jan 15 2011, 08:40 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jan 15 2011, 08:12 PM)
i only use 3.6 ghz for daily use

wont see much difference nod.gif
When try running at highspeed with CnQ enable is really hurting me.. Can't seem to be able to find that sweet setting yet on high ghz.. hmm.gif

Added on January 15, 2011, 8:42 pm
QUOTE(Sanko @ Jan 15 2011, 08:38 PM)
how good intel is, i'm sure getting more interested in AMD. cause the community here is more interesting than intel. wkkwkkwk
Coz we sepam a lot? sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(Sib @ Jan 15 2011, 08:39 PM)
1~2fps diff in gaming wor, who knows if go pass 4.0GHz can get another 1fps?  :/P

i guess i have to live wif my current speed... *sigh*

btw, i very the jeles wif those who get to pass it  </_<
Yeah, u and me both.. No 4ghz prime stable yet doh.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Jan 15 2011, 08:42 PM
cloudwan
post Jan 16 2011, 09:24 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jan 16 2011, 12:38 AM)
kekeke... thuban 1st.. then BD.. dont skip..no good..kekeke

btw.. a result.. so long d havent post result of daily oc here

guess..
hint.. corsair..keke
btw.. i sense this sticks wont last long..

eh..just notice.. why my prime all 1024 test? deng..
Naise timings/speed there bro, are those corsair value rams? hmm.gif

BTW atlast able to crack why with this mobo when play2 high HTspeed could not turn on CnQ, cpu & cpu-nb voltage cannot use manual option, have to use offset option only doh.gif sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Jan 16 2011, 11:02 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jan 16 2011, 09:50 AM)
no.. now no more value ram for me..kekeke

iinm , the offset or non offset option (what is the name eh? the one that key in real value) both are cpu-controlled volt..
right? donno la ur mobo.. my evo is like that.. kekeke

how high ht speed u able to pull? how much volt needed?i never oc ht
Oooooo not value ram meh? Hmmmm surely not Corsair Vengeance right coz got no XMP profiles hmm.gif
Maybe Corsair Gaming RAM? laugh.gif tongue.gif

I believe the offset option is like what u said, donno why tho when set to manual volt select the mobo will only let u use CnQ up until a certain point only doh.gif

I'm in the midst of play2 getting the right setting with oc plus CnQ laugh.gif I'll try to see how high HTspeed/FSB can go later k.. tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Jan 16 2011, 11:36 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Jan 16 2011, 11:11 AM)
Corsair Vengeance no XMP profiles? The one i tested got wor...
LOL i meant it couldn't be Vengeance laugh.gif

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jan 16 2011, 11:16 AM)
woi.. u think i rich a?kekeke
well.. a old d9 chip inside.. kekeke
not any new ram.. this ram atleast 1.5 yo and above.keke

edit: eh..the HTspeed u mentioned earlier is the HTT eh? i tot u talked about HTlink speed.kekkese
okeh2.. go go.. wishing for >350mhz.. kekeke
i think me mean my sticks is not vengeance cuz got no XMP
Old corsair DDR3 with D9? U mean Corsair DHX or old Dom Dom eh? hmm.gif

Hahahaha, whatfor oc htlink, i must be ting tong then to oc that laugh.gif tongue.gif
Don't really believe can go > 350 lah, the best i saw in review around 330mhz only sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Jan 16 2011, 11:55 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jan 16 2011, 11:40 AM)
actually 330 is very easy to get..

and i dont trust review.. u know wat, i read a review that said
"manufacturer told us that this can go up to 36x. with a lil bump on Nb volt, but we dont want to spoil the mobo and able to get 30X only"

like that la.. this is a review site.. not from forums like xs.. for oc review, i only take forum base review..

and..
http://hwbot.org/hardware/motherboard/cros...?tab=2drankings

nais figure from there.. kekeke
Ok ok ok ur request is my command laugh.gif
BTW can i only do short prime test like 30mins only? So bosan want to wait for an hour test sweat.gif tongue.gif laugh.gif
cloudwan
post Jan 16 2011, 12:34 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jan 16 2011, 12:11 PM)
ala bro.. the way u say is like i pushing u to do that

i just want to to share.. so it is up to u bro..
anything u obtain, just share with us here.. thats all..
but if priming, very hard to get high htt i guess.. still is up to u..
Hahahaha don't take heart bro, i was as usual j/king around laugh.gif tongue.gif

As per ur wish, FSB@HTspeed at:

cloudwan
post Jan 16 2011, 01:19 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jan 16 2011, 01:02 PM)
wtf?! doh.gif

SOS
What? AMD board wants the company to be a tidbit slate/smartphone processor producer ka? If yes why the hell did they let them sell the ARM division of their company to qualcomm doh.gif doh.gif sweat.gif

@kunta
Bad news bro, try as i might ic could get up to my previous SS HTspeed@FSB only.. Above that would be prime unstable.. At 360Mhz cannot even boot doh.gif
cloudwan
post Jan 16 2011, 07:18 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Jan 16 2011, 06:55 PM)
If sked then no need to play lor? easy is it sweat.gif ...haishh... doh.gif
Oooooooo komplot between u n kunta meh? Ish ish ish, where is ah_khoo as my backup.. x puas ati nih.. Komplot berdua sahaja vmad.gif mad.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif

cloudwan
post Jan 16 2011, 08:26 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Jan 16 2011, 07:26 PM)
He He He...and exclusive ram from coolice bro...he lend him a pair of nice ram that capable of doing CL6-6-6... wub.gif

I cant wait anymore,thats why push him hardly... laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Woot A-Data rams? shocking.gif Now that's a brand that we rarely associate with great oc performer, its using hypers kah? drool.gif drool.gif
cloudwan
post Jan 16 2011, 09:52 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Jan 16 2011, 08:53 PM)
Its not adata bro...a-ram from Hong Kong... brows.gif

R&D in Hong Kong
Confirm seriyes never heard about them shocking.gif shocking.gif
cloudwan
post Jan 16 2011, 10:14 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jan 16 2011, 09:56 PM)
never heard of a-ram sweat.gif unknown brand? tongue.gif
Must be a new manufacturer, the name is still ok compared to olskool classic like tomato ram or pineapple laugh.gif tongue.gif
What matters most is the chips drool.gif
cloudwan
post Jan 17 2011, 10:08 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jan 17 2011, 09:43 AM)
i'd say prime 95 is one of d best tools for stressin amd chips. some prefer occt which is just fine to my book.  wink.gif
Yup most of us using prime95 to do stress testing on our cpu, i used to prefer OCCT but got racun by the crowds in here sweat.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Jan 17 2011, 10:32 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jan 17 2011, 10:22 AM)
could be also... plan to get better cooling when got moolah.. h60 ke tongue.gif

congrats on you winning thuban category, your result more awesome with UD7 drool.gif thumbup.gif
Oooooo iyer ker? where? where? how come i didn't know, if i know i could bring my pompoms to cheer bro verdict.. wuhuuuuu rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif flex.gif laugh.gif

20 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:16 PM