Nokia N8 - V6 - [The King of Camera Phones], Nokia N8... It's Coming!!!!!

andrekua
post Oct 14 2010, 10:58 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 14 2010, 10:50 PM)
wah... the Lenovo look nice man...

this Godlike phone..  http://www.gsmarena.com/meego_soon_to_be_a...n-news-2000.php
Of course la...
Its the first thing that make me jump out of my seat for so long... now if it had Android 3.0, then would be very very nice...

Meego? Erm... the prototype does not look anything spectacular... maybe need a year or two to mature like Android? I would no doubt skip the first version and see if Nokia still stick to it or what...
andrekua
post Oct 14 2010, 11:00 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Since N8 is so near, I think should just focus on that one...

Now Im thinking if I should bring my LX3 and left it in the car, get smashed and stolen, so that I can buy the new LX5... LOL
My OCBC Titanium just arrived yesterday... time to swipe kao kao... laugh.gif
andrekua
post Oct 14 2010, 11:16 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Oct 14 2010, 11:14 PM)
yeah yeah thats the one... rm3 unlimited internet per day ... laugh.gif

i not sure bout it cause i will be buying the simcard this week...
Prepaid speed is slow lar... limited to 384kbps.
Why not sign up for Smart Plan? Dont take phone la.. no need sign contract then. Use it till you bored liao then switch back to prepaid...
andrekua
post Oct 14 2010, 11:32 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Oct 14 2010, 11:24 PM)
cause i dont wan billing tongue.gif i wan i use den cut no use why i need to pay hahahaha ... plus there is always wifi zone tongue.gif
sad.gif i preorder late ... i now scare scare i no get phone cry.gif  cry.gif

i love prepaid wub.gif
Prepaid is a bloody trap...
andrekua
post Oct 15 2010, 11:27 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 15 2010, 11:18 PM)
Actualy 12+2 months warranty. So makes it 14months
??

We went back late and BBXiong did enquire about the warranty and its 24months, same as preorder...
andrekua
post Oct 15 2010, 11:52 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I have to say, a big congratulations to Nokia team for making this happens. There is one thing I really like about, is that they are actually having a N8 along with a competitor phone like Iphone or N1/SGS/Desire for their own usage and was able to understand the pro's and con's of Nokia N8. thumbup.gif

Honestly, I just got my hands onto it and havent explore much yet. There are some changes made, pro's and con's. This phone is turning out not as bad as I would expect in the first place. Although S^3 really does not differ much from previous version, what made up for it was the overall responsiveness of the system which is comparable to my HTC Legend running on Android 2.1. The strong point of N8 is definitely its multimedia capability. Camera and Video looks amazing, HD playback is very smooth, 5.1 sound... What really surprised me was by using HDMI out and bypassing the N8 DAC, the audio quality is really good, depending on your audio system of course.

BTW, for the someone who posted the picture of portrait keyboard in N8, thats not going to happen... confirmed that no portrait keyboard... but there is some surprise for landscape keyboard. It actually has a mode where it will default to word suggestion correction which is a nice touch. This is a good step forward.

I must find ways to port my contacts and see if they have implemented alphabet scrolling... back to testing...

This post has been edited by andrekua: Oct 15 2010, 11:53 PM
andrekua
post Oct 15 2010, 11:53 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ Oct 15 2010, 11:47 PM)
to ranger...this phone got warranty?

also how to disable the auto lock?
Confirmed 24months warranty
andrekua
post Oct 16 2010, 01:36 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Oct 16 2010, 12:06 AM)
So , happy about it?
What about the Legend comparison ?
Hard to say. Too tired to test it right now. Im just using it to surf right now and feeling not right. The stock browser default to mobile view without an option to disable that like its used to with s60v5. There are some part where rendering error occurs like the 'desktop version' at the bottom which become unclickable, some error with the font (Nokia error perhaps as the bold'ed font exceed the ']' bracket. There is somethin strange with the keyboard as there appear to be double spacebar when you press the spacebar once but can delete twice to return to the original space.

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Oct 16 2010, 12:08 AM)
andrekua, can N8 replace your HTC Legend?
If can I may consider N8 to replace my HTC Hero.
Is it possible to install Google Maps on N8?
Too early to judge. Browser is my main priority but coming from Android, it really tax my patient right now. Stock browser have pinch n zoom and flash lite but rendering error. Im getting quite pissed with the keyboard. Will take a video now.
andrekua
post Oct 16 2010, 02:25 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

OK...

Apparently the keyboard problem only exist in the browser, while its working fine with messaging.

For example, when you press spacebar, it will double-spacing. Look at my previous 2 replies in page 132. All the words are double-spaced but I only press spacebar once. Thats not so annoying. Whats annoying is that after you fullstop, it does not auto-capital letter unless you press back once. Hopefully will be fixed.

Anyway, for those who enquire about Opera, I tried it out as well. Why I dont want to use it because first, it dont support pinch and zoom. Secondly it was not as smooth as stock browser.
andrekua
post Oct 16 2010, 07:19 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Oct 16 2010, 05:38 AM)
So, N8 doesnt have alphanumerical keyboard in portrait mode? rclxub.gif

Something like this

Thats a keypad... not keyboard...
Thats what currently on the N8...

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0478sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:32 AM