I have had some friend or people surrounding me that have babies and kids. I can see the trend of young parents nowadays are very careful with their child.
Let's take one of this friend I have for example. On her first child, she is really kiasu with everything. Any negative things she hear from a friend, she will avoid. Like example, drinking coffee is not good for the child..she like coffee but during her pregnancy did not drink a SINGLE DROP. Compared to someone else who drank liquor and smoke during pregnancy and baby came out fine. Even during breastfeeding years, she did not drink any coffee.
Another example is shaving baby's hair. Normally, a lot of parents shave their baby's hair because those inborn hair are ugly and scarce. I know chinese and indians have the tradition of shaving baby's hair. But this friend heard about other friend's baby hair not growing after shaving until like 3-4 years old. So, she so scared that she refuse to shave the baby's hair despite it look ugly. Looks like those people with hairloss problem. Well, if you research properly, the hair growth is just depends on the baby or toddler itself. It will eventually grow and shaving them or not does not cause it not to grow. But you know...kiasu mom want's THE BEST for the child.
So I am asking you parents, are you really that kiasu when it comes to your child? Such that you cannot think straight and fear this and fear that?
Why do you want to hear all those horror stories from a friend and then being so scared about them?
Personally, I think there should be a balance between protecting your child and letting them to their own devices. You cannot be there forever with your child. You must eventually let them face the outside world alone. Doing too much precautionary will only make it worst when your child need to face the real world. And fearing about every horror stories that come your way is just too much. You were given education and wisdom. Use them wisely instead of doing things like a robot programmed to only give BEST to the child.
Kiasu parenting or just being safe?
Oct 6 2010, 11:52 AM, updated 16y ago
0.0199sec