CLOSED

terranova
post Nov 29 2010, 01:38 PM

1,161 posts

Quick review of my weekend session.

Currently the only Bee Gees documentary on blu-ray. if you have not owned or watched previous documentaries on Bee Gees, such as Keppel Road or This Is Where I Came In: The Official Story, then this would be a good buy. it summarises their career spanning some 40+ years, and leads you through the various eras in music history. Very nostalgic and heart warming, eg when they talk about Andy Gibb, Maurice's death, or how Barry was going through so much back pain while performing their One Night Only concert (which is my fav on dvd - can't wait for that to be released on blu-ray, along with Eagles' Farewell Tour - my top 2 in my wishlist). however, even a 2-hour documentary such as this would not be enough to cover over 40 years of Bee Gees music, so not every milestones were touched on or elaborated. you'll also discover that Bee Gees was originally made up of 5 guys. tongue.gif I loved the Immortality section (with Celine Dion), and you'll see Barry cry at Celine's interpretation of the song. just beautiful.

However, most of the clips and interviews were re-hashed from earlier dvds, and as such felt like cut and paste from various earlier sources. but like i said, if you havent watched the aforementioned dvds, then this is a good summary. only the latest interview done after Maurice's death (which arcs the entire documentary together) are new, and ends with an "unplugged" rendition of To Love Somebody and How Can You Mend a Broken Heart by Barry and Robin.

PQ - most of the sources were not originally recorded in HD, so you won't be getting to see these footages in HD glory. save for the more recent interviews and the unplugged session at the end, the rest are dvd-like SD quality. don't expect this to be reference material.

AQ - the blu-ray comes with DTS-HD MA 5.1 audio track. overall, it sounded decent and very clear. however, you need to remember that many of the older footages were not originally recorded in "surround", so don't expect too much from the side speakers. after all, this is more a documentary than a 2-hour concert.

i had problems getting this to playback on my Oppo. did the usual remedies eg clear persistent storage etc. to no avail. so watched this on my ps3 instead. have emailed Oppo on this, and apparently this had been previously reported by other owners as well.

No need to go into the movie, as i think this is well explored in its 45 yrs history. all i can say is that it was good to re-watch this again after so many years, and the 3 hours runtime flew past very quickly. great entertainment value for the family, even if your kids start off by saying "why are we watching such a boring oldie?", only to find them teary-eyed and going "awwwww so cute" at various parts of the movie.

PQ - absolutely gorgeous for a 45-year old. the colour and clarity of blades of grass atop the hills, the wall texture on old buildings, inky blacks of the dark scenes etc. just gorgeous. look, don't expect this to match your Iron Man 2 ok? there is no high contrast colour tones here, bright reds and shiny golds. this is not reference material PQ for demo if i had to choose one, but for a 45-year old, it looks great.

AQ - comes in DTS-HD MA 7.1. honestly? a little underwhelming. maybe i was expecting too much. i could play the whole movie on reference level (0 db). the music was great and all, but mostly channeled through the fronts and centre. i was hoping for a wider soundstage, but it was not to be. maybe they didn't want to tamper too much with the source but just cleaned it up. don't get me wrong, it still sounds great, just not demo material great. but then again, this is a group of talented actors singing to an accompanying guitar, not a Van Halen concert.

This post has been edited by terranova: Nov 29 2010, 01:41 PM
chan14
post Nov 29 2010, 01:54 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Nov 29 2010, 01:38 PM)
Quick review of my weekend session.

Currently the only Bee Gees documentary on blu-ray. if you have not owned or watched previous documentaries on Bee Gees, such as Keppel Road or This Is Where I Came In: The Official Story, then this would be a good buy. it summarises their career spanning some 40+ years, and leads you through the various eras in music history. Very nostalgic and heart warming, eg when they talk about Andy Gibb, Maurice's death, or how Barry was going through so much back pain while performing their One Night Only concert (which is my fav on dvd - can't wait for that to be released on blu-ray, along with Eagles' Farewell Tour - my top 2 in my wishlist). however, even a 2-hour documentary such as this would not be enough to cover over 40 years of Bee Gees music, so not every milestones were touched on or elaborated. you'll also discover that Bee Gees was originally made up of 5 guys. tongue.gif I loved the Immortality section (with Celine Dion), and you'll see Barry cry at Celine's interpretation of the song. just beautiful.

However, most of the clips and interviews were re-hashed from earlier dvds, and as such felt like cut and paste from various earlier sources. but like i said, if you havent watched the aforementioned dvds, then this is a good summary. only the latest interview done after Maurice's death (which arcs the entire documentary together) are new, and ends with an "unplugged" rendition of To Love Somebody and How Can You Mend a Broken Heart by Barry and Robin.

PQ - most of the sources were not originally recorded in HD, so you won't be getting to see these footages in HD glory. save for the more recent interviews and the unplugged session at the end, the rest are dvd-like SD quality. don't expect this to be reference material.

AQ - the blu-ray comes with DTS-HD MA 5.1 audio track. overall, it sounded decent and very clear. however, you need to remember that many of the older footages were not originally recorded in "surround", so don't expect too much from the side speakers. after all, this is more a documentary than a 2-hour concert.

i had problems getting this to playback on my Oppo. did the usual remedies eg clear persistent storage etc. to no avail. so watched this on my ps3 instead. have emailed Oppo on this, and apparently this had been previously reported by other owners as well.

No need to go into the movie, as i think this is well explored in its 45 yrs history. all i can say is that it was good to re-watch this again after so many years, and the 3 hours runtime flew past very quickly. great entertainment value for the family, even if your kids start off by saying "why are we watching such a boring oldie?", only to find them teary-eyed and going "awwwww so cute" at various parts of the movie.

PQ - absolutely gorgeous for a 45-year old. the colour and clarity of blades of grass atop the hills, the wall texture on old buildings, inky blacks of the dark scenes etc. just gorgeous. look, don't expect this to match your Iron Man 2 ok? there is no high contrast colour tones here, bright reds and shiny golds. this is not reference material PQ for demo if i had to choose one, but for a 45-year old, it looks great.

AQ - comes in DTS-HD MA 7.1. honestly? a little underwhelming. maybe i was expecting too much. i could play the whole movie on reference level (0 db). the music was great and all, but mostly channeled through the fronts and centre. i was hoping for a wider soundstage, but it was not to be. maybe they didn't want to tamper too much with the source but just cleaned it up. don't get me wrong, it still sounds great, just not demo material great. but then again, this is a group of talented actors singing to an accompanying guitar, not a Van Halen concert.
Just got my parcel with the The Sound of Music BD. Was looking forward for this after so so long, always love this movie in my younger days thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by chan14: Nov 29 2010, 01:55 PM
allycat
post Nov 29 2010, 01:57 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(allycat @ Nov 29 2010, 12:30 PM)
So tempted.........makan lunch first then decide.

never decide on a hungry stomach. tongue.gif
Ok, stomach full and have decided to buy it. Ordered the box set at GBP 59.95.
maskedchan
post Nov 29 2010, 01:57 PM

6,022 posts

BF is already over..
time to review what have you buy...

just finish watch from paris with love..
cheap price so get it and not disappointed with it..
alot of action pack in this movies...

AQ ok, not that bad...just the gunshot n explosive not very loud loud....less thing from surround

PQ also okok...

This post has been edited by maskedchan: Nov 29 2010, 01:58 PM
chan14
post Nov 29 2010, 01:58 PM

116 posts

Anyone knows what time & date (malaysia time) for the sale of the Home Alone Trilogy?
That would be my last BF purchase after a week of burning my wallet sweat.gif
andy_lhc
post Nov 29 2010, 01:59 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(allycat @ Nov 29 2010, 01:57 PM)
Ok, stomach full and have decided to buy it. Ordered the box set at GBP 59.95.
Bought it last time at GBP99.........no regrets..... smile.gif .

brilliant series.... thumbup.gif
allycat
post Nov 29 2010, 02:01 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(andy_lhc @ Nov 29 2010, 01:59 PM)
Bought it last time at GBP99.........no regrets..... smile.gif .

brilliant series.... thumbup.gif
Great, I'm a big fan of this show. Have watched the DVD version twice.

Looks like I got a good price for it.
valho
post Nov 29 2010, 02:28 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(allycat @ Nov 29 2010, 02:01 PM)
Great, I'm a big fan of this show. Have watched the DVD version twice.

Looks like I got a good price for it.
sweat.gif got tempted and bought it, together with BSG: The Plan. I am scare to look at my CC statement now

saiya
post Nov 29 2010, 02:52 PM

209 posts

hi there, i never bought blueray disk befor, whats the diffrent if buy from amazon and buy from local shop? seems lots of you guys ordered from amazon..
kit615
post Nov 29 2010, 02:58 PM

150 posts

First time buying bds at BF sales...

So far got:

28 Days Later
Live Free or Die Hard
30 Days Of Night [Blu-ray]
Hancock
Terminator Salvation
Transporter 3
Pandorum [Blu-ray]
Prince of Persia
The Departed [Blu-ray]
King Arthur
V for Vendetta
Spider-Man - Trilogy
Wanted
Harry Potter Years 1-6
Batman Begins [Blu-ray]
The Dark Knight
Night at the Museum: Battle of Smithsonian
The Vampire Diaries: The Complete First Season
The Wizard of Oz
The Hurt Locker [Blu-ray]
The Taking of Pelham 1 2 3
Saving Private Ryan

Tonight gonna check out BTTF ...

Starting tomorrow gonna eat FOC biscuits in my office pantry only....
valho
post Nov 29 2010, 03:00 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(saiya @ Nov 29 2010, 02:52 PM)
hi there, i never bought blueray disk befor, whats the diffrent if buy from amazon and buy from local shop? seems lots of you guys ordered from amazon..
usually cheaper than local store if you don't mind waiting for it to ship to you

QUOTE(kit615 @ Nov 29 2010, 02:58 PM)
First time buying bds at BF sales...

So far got:

28 Days Later
Live Free or Die Hard
30 Days Of Night [Blu-ray]
Hancock
Terminator Salvation
Transporter 3
Pandorum [Blu-ray]
Prince of Persia
The Departed [Blu-ray]
King Arthur
V for Vendetta
Spider-Man - Trilogy
Wanted
Harry Potter Years 1-6
Batman Begins [Blu-ray]
The Dark Knight
Night at the Museum: Battle of Smithsonian
The Vampire Diaries: The Complete First Season
The Wizard of Oz
The Hurt Locker [Blu-ray]
The Taking of Pelham 1 2 3
Saving Private Ryan

Tonight gonna check out BTTF ...

Starting tomorrow gonna eat FOC biscuits in my office pantry only....
hmm FOC biscuits from pantry, I will need to do that already haha
low98944
post Nov 29 2010, 03:02 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(chan14 @ Nov 29 2010, 01:58 PM)
Anyone knows what time & date (malaysia time) for the sale of the Home Alone Trilogy?
That would be my last BF purchase after a week of burning my wallet  sweat.gif
Our local time is start at 8:40pm tonight. laugh.gif
allycat
post Nov 29 2010, 03:33 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Nov 29 2010, 02:28 PM)
sweat.gif got tempted and bought it, together with BSG: The Plan. I am scare to look at my CC statement now
same here sweat.gif

but the order and shipping notices keeps reminding me sweat.gif

but luckilly year-end bonus coming soon rclxms.gif
chan14
post Nov 29 2010, 03:33 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Nov 29 2010, 03:00 PM)
usually cheaper than local store if you don't mind waiting for it to ship to you
hmm FOC biscuits from pantry, I will need to do that already haha
Wah got FOC biscuits in office blush.gif
I think I also need to take some home to eat sweat.gif

QUOTE(low98944 @ Nov 29 2010, 03:02 PM)
Our local time is start at 8:40pm tonight.  laugh.gif
Wohooo my last order NO MORE buying arghhhhhhhhh cry.gif

valho
post Nov 29 2010, 03:40 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(chan14 @ Nov 29 2010, 03:33 PM)
Wah got FOC biscuits in office  blush.gif
I think I also need to take some home to eat  sweat.gif
Wohooo my last order NO MORE buying arghhhhhhhhh  cry.gif
yeah FOC biscuits, coffee/milo and soft drinks too biggrin.gif

I still got some stuff on preorder, but not going to add anything else for now until like months later haha
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Nov 29 2010, 03:42 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Nov 29 2010, 03:40 PM)
yeah FOC biscuits, coffee/milo and soft drinks too biggrin.gif

I still got some stuff on preorder, but not going to add anything else for now  until like months later haha
You got everything you wanted for the next few months i guess. Quite a buy..
Boy96
post Nov 29 2010, 04:34 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Home Alone Trilogy tonight ke?

Haihzz, dah la I bought during black friday without permission...

Im dead..
low98944
post Nov 29 2010, 04:40 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Nov 29 2010, 04:34 PM)
Home Alone Trilogy tonight ke?

Haihzz, dah la I bought during black friday without permission...

Im dead..
Ya! Tonight start at 8:40pm laugh.gif
low98944
post Nov 29 2010, 04:40 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

Mine Salon Kitty arrived... ph34r.gif
iman_210
post Nov 29 2010, 04:50 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts