Sharp 40 inch LCD TV, LC40L550M or LC40L55M

TSi2cute
post Oct 4 2010, 09:44 AM, updated 16y ago

Need some help here… There is 2 model of sharp 40 inch LCD TV and both model have different spec and cause me confuse to chose… Wish you can give some advise on this…

LC40L550M – RM2499
• 40" Full HD LCD TV
• Dynamic contrast ratio of 50,000:1
• 8-bit signal processing for smooth picture
• 1080/24P signal input for film frames just like in theatres
• 10 watt x 2
• Bass Enhancer
• Optical picture control (OPC)
• USB input-Playable mkv files
• SRS TruSurround HD
• Dimensions (W x H x D) mm Display (w/o stand) : 986 x 640 x 115
• Dimensions (W x H x D) mm Display (w stand) : 986 x 685 x 262

LC40L55M - RM2399
• 20 watt x 2 speakers
• Revolutionary New Dynamic Sound System (R.D.S.S)
• 50,000:1 dynamic constrast ratio
• Signal booster with L.N.A.S.I
• 100 Hz/ 120 Hz Fine Motion Advanced
• 40" Full HD Audio Intelligence series
• High-definition multimedia interface
• HDMI Input : 3 (Rear: 2, Side: 1)
• Resolution : 1,920 x 1,080
• Dimensions (W x H x D) mm Display (w/o stand) : 990 x 651 x 117
• Dimensions (W x H x D) mm Display (w stand) : 990 x 714 x 264

This post has been edited by i2cute: Oct 4 2010, 10:04 AM
wahchai
post Oct 22 2010, 09:49 PM

19 posts

I've the same question as you.
The sales man of Harvey Norman intro us L550M and then we ordered from other retail shop which we get it at RM 2300.
However, today they delivered the wrong model L55M to us.

So, I'm wondering which model is better?
I saw the price from Sharp website:
L55M - RCP: RM2,999.00
L550M - RCP: RM2,699.00
Is this mean L55M has better feature than L550M??

Please advise..thx
mask rider
post Dec 22 2010, 12:20 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(wahchai @ Oct 22 2010, 09:49 PM)
I've the same question as you.
The sales man of Harvey Norman intro us L550M and then we ordered from other retail shop which we get it at RM 2300.
However, today they delivered the wrong model L55M to us.

So, I'm wondering which model is better?
I saw the price from Sharp website:
L55M - RCP: RM2,999.00
L550M - RCP: RM2,699.00
Is this mean L55M has better feature than L550M??

Please advise..thx
I also confuse which model to buy , i still prefer the lc40l55m design(all black) instead the new design lc40l550m design(chrome/steel lining above the speaker), but the old model is 100hz lcd compare to new model which lc40l550m with added usb capability to play media file and some SRS HD sound.

The price for LC40L55M is RM2,299 and the price for LC40L550M is RM2,249.

Can anyone give some opinion or sharing the experince of using one of this model.

colim98
post Dec 22 2010, 01:31 AM

60 posts

i was thought before to get lc40l550m, but somehow i really dun like the chrome/steel lining bar above the speaker, might cause reflection while watching...

as for LC40L55M, i heard some bros here commented that the 100hz on this model actually does nothing...u need to search those info share before within this forum.

Added on December 22, 2010, 2:22 ammay be consider this..

LC-40L500M Full HD 10W x 2 Speakers 3 HDMI Input Latest Model RM 1799.00

LC-40L650M Full HD and 100hz Low Price RM 2399.00 New revised price....19/12/2010

This post has been edited by colim98: Dec 22 2010, 02:22 AM
mask rider
post Dec 22 2010, 06:38 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(colim98 @ Dec 22 2010, 01:31 AM)
i was thought before to get lc40l550m, but somehow i really dun like the chrome/steel lining bar above the speaker, might cause reflection while watching...

as for LC40L55M, i heard some bros here commented that the 100hz on this model actually does nothing...u need to search those info share before within this forum.

Added on December 22, 2010, 2:22 ammay be consider this..

LC-40L650M Full HD and 100hz Low Price RM 2399.00 New revised price....19/12/2010
Thank for reply, yes but somehow i really dun like the chrome/steel lining bar above the speaker, might cause reflection while watching...

C-40L500M Full HD 10W x 2 Speakers 3 HDMI Input Latest Model RM 2099 in penang.

40LC55M - RM 2,299 in Penang
SUSMatrix
post Dec 22 2010, 07:52 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Save your money. The 40LC55M 100hz doesn't work. Get the cheaper model.
nwk
post Dec 22 2010, 09:11 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 22 2010, 07:52 AM)
Save your money. The 40LC55M 100hz doesn't work. Get the cheaper model.
how do you know it doesnt work?
SUSMatrix
post Dec 22 2010, 09:14 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ Dec 22 2010, 09:11 AM)
how do you know it doesnt work?
Use eyes watch. I also have an older Sharp 32" with 100Hz. No difference. The newer Quattron LED 100Hz does work though and is pretty good.

TS: The 550M can be bought for RM2K i think. I bought a 500M recently, same as 550M but no media player. Only RM 1.9k. Buy the cheapest model you can get without all those useless feature, then save the money for a dedicated media player like WDTV Live. The 550M/500M support 1080p/24, which is very important for watching HD mkv movies. Make sure you buy a media player that support 1080p/24 like WDTV Live. If not, then you'll experience juddering.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 22 2010, 09:21 AM
mask rider
post Dec 22 2010, 01:52 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 22 2010, 09:14 AM)
Use eyes watch. I also have an older Sharp 32" with 100Hz. No difference. The newer Quattron LED 100Hz does work though and is pretty good.

TS: The 550M can be bought for RM2K i think. I bought a 500M recently, same as 550M but no media player. Only RM 1.9k. Buy the cheapest model you can get without all those useless feature, then save the money for a dedicated media player like WDTV Live. The 550M/500M support 1080p/24, which is very important for watching HD mkv movies. Make sure you buy a media player that support 1080p/24 like WDTV Live. If not, then you'll experience juddering.
Anybody know where can get the old model Sharp LC40L50M and LC40L55M in Penang.
already survey a few shop in Penang but only got display unit only.

SUSMatrix
post Dec 22 2010, 03:05 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(mask rider @ Dec 22 2010, 01:52 PM)
Anybody know where can get the old model Sharp LC40L50M and LC40L55M in Penang.
already survey a few shop in Penang but only got display unit only.
Why buy those old models? Their design looks fugly. The 500M/550M looks way better. Specs also about the same.
trapezohedron13
post Dec 23 2010, 11:07 AM

703 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 22 2010, 09:14 AM)
sure got on the 100 hz anot...by default its off wo...
SUSMatrix
post Dec 23 2010, 11:14 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(trapezohedron13 @ Dec 23 2010, 11:07 AM)
sure got on the 100 hz anot...by default its off wo...
Like i said, those old models 100Hz are USELESS. No difference. You can go to the shops and make sure the settings is on (or maybe they have split screen demo mode). See if you can tell the diiference. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 23 2010, 11:19 AM
trapezohedron13
post Dec 23 2010, 11:20 AM

703 posts

means its on anot when u see it? maybe the source or ur eye got problem, or really its not working. and from ur last sentence... sound just plain sarcastic and dun intend to help ppl.

EDIT: wah edit it so fast...should have quoted ur reply just now. nvm. maybe u understood how it sounded.

This post has been edited by trapezohedron13: Dec 23 2010, 11:21 AM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 23 2010, 11:22 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(trapezohedron13 @ Dec 23 2010, 11:20 AM)
means its on anot when u see it? maybe the source or ur eye got problem, or really its not working. and from ur last sentence... sound just plain sarcastic and dun intend to help ppl.
Ok, sorry, sarcasm is my trademark. tongue.gif If u don't believe, go test urself is best, advice is given, take it or not up to u. smile.gif
trapezohedron13
post Dec 23 2010, 11:27 AM

703 posts

no la, just asking only cos thought maybe u not aware of the on/off thing as i also didnt realise until check manual. still sense some sarcasm in ur reply... hmm.

imo those demo display source cannot be trusted...and some shops using just dvd-upscale component input, might not stretch it to the max. ownself hav ori bluray player, hdmi, ori blu ray and good movie to test only can judge.

EDIT: and of coz the difference is very minimal for small tv (32-40inch). if bigger ~50+ inch, then can notice wan... 720p and 1080p and original blu-ray. its still subtle, but noticable if u have very sharp eyes and an enthusiast.

This post has been edited by trapezohedron13: Dec 23 2010, 11:29 AM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 23 2010, 11:36 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(trapezohedron13 @ Dec 23 2010, 11:27 AM)
no la, just asking only cos thought maybe u not aware of the on/off thing as i also didnt realise until check manual. still sense some sarcasm in ur reply... hmm.

imo those demo display source cannot be trusted...and some shops using just dvd-upscale component input, might not stretch it to the max. ownself hav ori bluray player, hdmi, ori blu ray and good movie to test only can judge.
I guess you didn't read properly....i have a 32" Sharp with 100hZ Finemotion. I watch HD 1080p on it everyday. Can split the screen somemore in demo mode. Absolutely ZERO difference. Same goes for all those old 100Hz Fine Motion. Motion tech, doesn't matter if ur source is HD or SD. Even SD can see difference if it works (albeit with more motion blurring and pixelly dots..maybe even looks more horrible with it on then off). If you want REAL 100hz Motion that shows significant difference, go for the new Philips HD Natural Motion, Sony's MotionFlow or Sharp's LED Quattron with 100Hz.

And yes, i am still sarcastic...don't be a lazy bum and expect an answer in a forum and get ur lazy arse down to the showroom to test it yourself. laugh.gif
davegan84
post Dec 23 2010, 11:41 AM

97 posts

very good trade... ekekek....
i'm now decided to buy 650M / 500M

where can i get this price?? >>>

trapezohedron13
post Dec 23 2010, 11:42 AM

703 posts

lol... not doubting ur answer, rather wan to clarify only. and i also just did mention that demo display (those in showroom) can be deceiving...go there test also might be deceiving. i think u get my replies the wrong way edi bro...haha.

so to summarize: if u indeed have the 100 hz thing on, test it at home, and no difference, then ok.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 23 2010, 11:48 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(davegan84 @ Dec 23 2010, 11:41 AM)
very good trade... ekekek....
i'm now decided to buy 650M / 500M

where can i get this price?? >>>

500M for rm 1.8k??? Where bro?? I also wanna know!

650M for 2.4k...not worth the money IMO...i think can buy Philips 40" LED with Full HD Natural motion for RM3k. Not sure how much is the cheapest Sharp LED Quatttron 40".
colim98
post Dec 23 2010, 01:44 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 23 2010, 11:48 AM)
500M for rm 1.8k??? Where bro?? I also wanna know!

650M for 2.4k...not worth the money IMO...i think can buy Philips 40" LED with Full HD Natural motion for RM3k. Not sure how much is the cheapest Sharp LED Quatttron 40".
check kevin thread from the sales section, very good seller.....i think he revised the price last 2 days. biggrin.gif

0.0217sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:11 PM