The SONY NEX Discussion Thread, Sony NEX firmware v04 now available

eugenechiuu
post Oct 27 2010, 07:14 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(oHkereD @ Oct 27 2010, 07:02 AM)
haha, i bought that, Transcend 8gb Class10. work perfectly fine.
I thought of shipping a SD card from M'sia cause UK here SD card so damn expensive, as in outlet retail price, 8gb 40 pounds, i was like wth.
until i saw this Transcend in amazon, i straight purchase even without thinking twice. Even cheaper than malaysia price i presume. lol
Yes.. This is definitely cheaper than Malaysia... 9pounds - RM45 can get you a 8gb Class 4 only in LYP... I bought my Transcend 4gb Class 6 in LYP for Rm39..... I guess higher class memory cards are still not the market for most Malaysians except Photographers... Pendrives and Portable HDD's are cheaper in Malaysia...
eugenechiuu
post Oct 27 2010, 10:12 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Anly @ Oct 27 2010, 08:53 AM)
are you guys all currently in uk??? class 10 8gb sd card with only rm45 is really cheap.. i saw cheapest is rm89 if i not mistaken.. too bad after adding the delivery charges from uk to msia, the price is quite near to the price in here and the risk of posting also.. tongue.gif
yup I am studying there... It's the very first time I saw memory card here cheaper than Malaysia lol..

Anyways I just bought it LOL, however only after that I saw there're a few negative reviews on it being faulty easily and not performing what a class 10 does...
eugenechiuu
post Oct 29 2010, 12:29 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(freak_z @ Oct 28 2010, 11:28 PM)
hiya....just wondering how much did u get the camera in HK ? i heard from ppl that in HK is cheaper compare to in Malaysia ? any warranty problems ?
HK is a lot cheaper than Malaysia... twin lens package around rm500 cheaper... their single lens package are the same for both 16mm and 18-55mm... single lens package for nex3 around rm1.6 or less if i didn't rmb wrongly.. But they keep asking u to buy accessories which is expensive though...
For Warranty, if you're a traveller buying in HK, you can get the traveller's warranty but it's only valid for 1 year... Whilst buying in Malaysia you get 2-3 years...

Added on October 29, 2010, 12:33 amanyways, just bought an extra rear lens cap and camera body cap for around rm20+ from eBay... Supposed Sony doesn't release it and the one I bought is Capalang one, but boy I am surprised it looks exactly like the real thing LOL....

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Oct 29 2010, 12:33 AM
eugenechiuu
post Oct 29 2010, 02:43 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(ahtsong @ Oct 29 2010, 01:47 AM)
i don think HK cheaper by RM500 for twins kit.

NEX 5D HK is selling 6000+- with the currency rate at 0.4+ = RM2400+ so the dif should be >300

those shop told you they are selling at HKD 58xx are those without stock, actually they are short of stock for twin kit same happen here. Thus mostly all selling at HKD6200+- range
Well I am comparing their Sony Style retail price... Malaysia NEX 5D = RM3099, HK = 6290HKD == approx RM25xx... Around there lar... NEX3D = RM2699, HK is 5390HKD == approx RM21xx

source

Comparing street prices is not the right way as you said a lot are out of stock...

eugenechiuu
post Oct 30 2010, 01:58 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

brown colour is fugly tbh... most girls would choose pink over brown anytime...
eugenechiuu
post Oct 30 2010, 08:11 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Guys, don't ever buy Transcend SDHC cards LOL... Though they are cheap, but they don't even perform par with other brands of lower classes...

Just got my Class 10 8gb transcend SDHC card today, did a benchmark and the performance is lower than a Sandisk Class 4 Ultra II....

Then I did another benchmark for my other Class 6 Transcend SDHC.... It's only slightly better than Class 2 of other brands...

edit: OMG Transcend sucks, my 3 year old SDHC cards of 512mb and 2gb respectively performed better than the so called Class 6!

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Oct 30 2010, 08:18 PM
eugenechiuu
post Oct 31 2010, 04:35 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(oHkereD @ Oct 31 2010, 03:20 AM)
overall i still love nex's color. lol
GO GO SONY NEX!

Added on October 31, 2010, 3:24 am

SERIOUSLY. shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
It just performed slower than what class 10 does. at least it's reliable. as long i have no problem using it on my NEX-3, everything's okay for me. lol biggrin.gif
i dunno about reliability... but it's really slow.. just do a benchmark test on it and it'd surprise you how bad it is....
eugenechiuu
post Oct 31 2010, 10:21 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(oHkereD @ Oct 31 2010, 04:43 AM)
I just ran a benchmark on my Transcend 8gb Class 10 i bought from amazon.co.uk for 9.19quid, and it shows class 10 performance.
AM i lucky to get the real thing or what? lol
here's a screenshot.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1402773
refer to this topic... let's see whether ur result is the same as mine...

I got the exact same thing as you.. 9.10 pounds isn't it?
eugenechiuu
post Oct 31 2010, 07:56 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(oHkereD @ Oct 31 2010, 06:33 PM)
bro, the test u ran not class 10 performance meh? lol
more than 10MB/s le
Yea but did u see the list compiled by the TS of the thread? Seems like other brands of lower classes performed better lol..
eugenechiuu
post Nov 2 2010, 07:45 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Nov 2 2010, 03:10 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1623705
sony nex 3K RM1699, 5K RM2099 ONLY !!!

I am selling this camera now, go take a look, at a SUPERB PRICE drool.gif
Wah reminds me how expensive I got mine for><
eugenechiuu
post Nov 2 2010, 11:54 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Nov 2 2010, 09:26 PM)
gt Nex 3 wif pancake lens at rm1850 frm Sony Centre Mv Megamall
Asked d salesman how much is d fisheye adapter is, he said he nvr heard b4 sony gt produce such thg  doh.gif
Hahaha roflmao... The salesman can lose his job anytime now.. And I thought Sony centre employees should be more trained
eugenechiuu
post Nov 4 2010, 01:23 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Nov 4 2010, 12:24 AM)
she looks uncomfortable but pretend to be comfortable lol  rclxms.gif
Haha yea noticed her right arms bit stiff.. But I think it's quite dangerous at that position to loosen up lol
eugenechiuu
post Nov 8 2010, 08:19 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Danbo got a new Toy
eugenechiuu
post Nov 10 2010, 08:33 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Got the Sony wannabe casing from eBay... Not bad I must say, but a bit disappointed it only fits the 16mm instead of the 1855mm...

eugenechiuu
post Nov 10 2010, 11:49 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Bought it off eBay for around 14pounds.. So around rm70.. But not recommended seller though.. It took almost 1 month to deliver to UK and during this period the price dropped to 11 pounds which is rm55..
eugenechiuu
post Nov 11 2010, 10:25 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Nov 11 2010, 09:56 AM)
send to uk 1 month ?

u are in uk now ??

is it possible to mail to malaysia ?  sweat.gif
3weeks+ like that lar.. No 1 month... The seller from HK, but he dunno use what kind of postage that have to go through China one... Other stuffs I bought from HK didn't even take that long to reach.... Why cannot mail to Malaysia? Maybe got tax only lar...

Just checked eBay Malaysia, not much choices realy..
found one for 1855
http://cgi.ebay.com.my/Case-bag-pouch-sony...7#ht_2105wt_962

those stuffs from HK/china all very cheap one la.. I bought my body cap and extra rear lens cap as well... It was only rm20 our money for both... Looks exactly like the real thing..

Added on November 11, 2010, 10:33 amthis is the guy which I bought it from...
http://cgi.ebay.com.my/Leather-Case-bag-So...1#ht_2423wt_905
Don't buy from him, his delivery takes forever and he's not very polite when I contact him regarding the delivery...

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Nov 11 2010, 10:33 AM
eugenechiuu
post Nov 11 2010, 10:37 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Anyways, it's quite nice for such a cheap item...

I like the grip given by the lower half casing which I feel a lot steadier when taking photos
eugenechiuu
post Nov 12 2010, 06:40 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Guys, I need some help on buying extra battery for Sony NEX...

Looking through eBay, I see a lot of sellers selling Sony NEX battery that resembles/looks exactly like the genuine packaging so I am confused which ones are actually genuine... Apart from that, our original battery is only 7.2V, 1080mAh... There are a lot of advertised ones are like 7.4V, 1500mAh.... I was wondering if they would pose any damage to my camera if I use those?

For example, this one looks exactly like the real thing..
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NP-FW50-NPFW50-Batte...#ht_3233wt_1050

this one seems to be the best selling one
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Battery-Sony-NP-FW50...=item20b48e773c

I am thinking maybe I should go for the best selling one as it might sound more safe? Please help!
eugenechiuu
post Nov 12 2010, 10:06 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

[quote=DolphinDiver007,Nov 12 2010, 09:00 AM]
[quote=Ah hao,Nov 10 2010, 03:46 PM]
nid adapter bro smile.gif

u meant for ALL lenses, one adapter will fix the prob???
I'm having Sony DSLR now, thinking of getting an NEX......

[/quote]

Different lenses have different adaptors... Sony EA Mount is just for Sony A-mount lenses...

Other lenses have third party adaptors to mount different brand lenses on it..
eugenechiuu
post Nov 12 2010, 08:17 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(hapa @ Nov 12 2010, 06:28 PM)
hi, i hv both memory stick PRO Duo and PRO-HG Duo (HX series), but when im copying pic from the card to my pc. both copying speed seem almost the same. is there a problem?

will it bcoz of the ciplak brand card reader? as the HX card claim can achieve speed of 30mb/s  hmm.gif

icon_question.gif
yea, card reader affects transfer with a maximum cap speed...

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0546sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:58 PM