The SONY NEX Discussion Thread, Sony NEX firmware v04 now available

Deerc
post Oct 8 2010, 01:09 PM

~ KeV ~
762 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Oct 8 2010, 12:27 PM)
timer is accesible from the drive mode button, in fact there is an option for you to select the timer from 1 to 10 seconds
as for the rest, firmware v3 should fix most of it
nod.gif looking forward to v3. Helps alot when you can assign the function buttons.
micdy
post Oct 8 2010, 01:35 PM

406 posts

The more you all explain... The more poison for me to resist... That feeling is so not nice... sad.gif
Deerc
post Oct 8 2010, 02:13 PM

~ KeV ~
762 posts

Just list down what you feel about both nex and Slr, do your choice based on pros n cons.
venice123
post Oct 8 2010, 06:11 PM

24 posts

me me tongue.gif Nex-3D (black)
aeran
post Oct 8 2010, 06:51 PM

194 posts

Does anybody know where to find caselogic bags in KL?
lwk523
post Oct 8 2010, 07:48 PM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

Does anyone can tell NEX5 worth to buy ??? If I compare to Lumix LX5 and another compare with DSLR D3100 ?? Need advice ><
edwardgsk
post Oct 9 2010, 12:34 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Oct 8 2010, 07:48 PM)
Does anyone can tell NEX5 worth to buy ??? If I compare to Lumix LX5 and another compare with DSLR D3100 ?? Need advice ><
LX5 doesn't have interchangeable lens.

D3100 and NEX5 basically both on the same par at performances, but NEX5 is much more smaller because it doesn't have a viewfinder built in. NEX5 has a built in 3D panorama features too, which i use a lot myself tongue.gif

The only trade-off for NEX5 now is the adapters for DSLR lens to mount on NEX5 available in the market currently, doesn't support auto focus. So if you plan to use DSLR lens on NEX5 with an adapter, you need to manual focus.

Otherwise, if you just stick to the 3 original Sony E-mount lenses available for NEX5, it's a good buy biggrin.gif
lwk523
post Oct 9 2010, 12:41 AM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

wont regret ?? biggrin.gif blush.gif
then buy NEX5 instead of D3100 laugh.gif Now, I have limit budget and U think which lens I must take .. 16mm or 1855??
edwardgsk
post Oct 9 2010, 01:02 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Oct 9 2010, 12:41 AM)
wont regret ??  biggrin.gif blush.gif
then buy NEX5 instead of D3100  laugh.gif Now, I have limit budget and U think which lens I must take .. 16mm or 1855??
NEX5 you wont regret de lah. Just use it as a compact, it will serve you more than enough. If you can only afford 1 lens, of course go for 18-55 as it is more convenient and useful than 16mm, but if possible, take both lens together because the 16mm alone also worth a lot if you take a lot close up photos. The 16m and the f/2.8 make quite a lot differences.
Mikeshashimi
post Oct 9 2010, 01:06 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

Guys... i want to know.. As owners of DSLRs, why u guys get the nex?

why not PEN or LUMIX or G11/G12?
sniper on the roof
post Oct 9 2010, 03:07 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Oct 9 2010, 01:06 AM)
Guys... i want to know.. As owners of DSLRs, why u guys get the nex?

why not PEN or LUMIX or G11/G12?
I don't have but wanted a NEX for the APS-C sensor, tilty screen and the small size.

I haven't got the NEX yet because there isn't a f1.4 20-30mm range normal prime for it that AF's

I have to get something like the NEX eventually because of increasing big-camera-phobia among the public.

I won't get a PEN cos AF is slowish and the LCD is rubbish.

I won't get a LUMIX GF1 because it's high ISO is crap.

I won't get the other LUMIX Micro Four Thirds because of the small'ish sensor, 2x crop and cos they look like bonzai DSLR.

I won't get a G11/12 because of the tiny sensor ( already have a S90 anyways)

eugenechiuu
post Oct 9 2010, 03:31 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 9 2010, 03:07 AM)
I don't have but wanted a NEX for the APS-C sensor, tilty screen and the small size.

I haven't got the NEX yet because there isn't a f1.4 20-30mm range normal prime for it that AF's

I have to get something like the NEX eventually because of increasing big-camera-phobia among the public.

I won't get a PEN cos AF is slowish and the LCD is rubbish.

I won't get a LUMIX GF1 because it's high ISO is crap.

I won't get the other LUMIX Micro Four Thirds because of the small'ish sensor, 2x crop and cos they look like bonzai DSLR.

Seems like u might be able to get one in few months time when the new lens coming out next year =P
kaigraphy
post Oct 9 2010, 04:39 AM

465 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 9 2010, 03:07 AM)
the body is indeed small...but the lens is big so kind of negation...

calvin_ng
post Oct 9 2010, 09:23 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

QUOTE(micdy @ Oct 8 2010, 11:59 AM)
How much did you get it for? I thought the twin lens kit had been phased out in Malaysia?
I tried the NEX 5 just now, kinda wish that it has a dedicated button like the ones in my compact camera for ISO, Timer, and others for easy access... But yeah, generally still leaning towards DSLR.

But then again, the small and compact body of the NEX 5 is really the biggest selling point for me thus far... Imagine going to fine dinning restaurant, me in my suit and a big bag full of DSLR gadgets... Kinda looks weird... Or going out for a formal dinner and bringing a DSLR to take a good pictures which is kinda ridiculours.. (Me thinks..) XD
Yeap twin kit is no longer available I'mm the last one so called the cammie shop take the kit 16mm from NEX-3 to give it to me so called LEGO lah kekeke so I get it for like RM3K for 2 lens...
sniper on the roof
post Oct 9 2010, 09:25 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Oct 9 2010, 03:31 AM)
Seems like u might be able to get one in few months time when the new lens coming out next year =P

Didn't really see what I want on the roadmap leh.

QUOTE(kaigraphy @ Oct 9 2010, 04:39 AM)
the body is indeed small...but the lens is big so kind of negation...
True.. that's why haven't bought yet. If they come out with a fast normal prime that is sharp and even if its still thicker than the current pancake then can di.

The current available lenses not useable for me sad.gif
calvin_ng
post Oct 9 2010, 09:39 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

I get a NEX-5 because.....

1. It is Small... it is the same size as a compact cammie (well slightly bigger)
2. It has a tile LCD and the pixel is AWESOME who needs viewfinder whith this screen...
3. it take Full HD recording 1080i (6ofps) and 1080p (30fps) with full auto focus!!!
4. with adapter (sony) it can take all the sony lens with auto focus (Firmware V3)
5. with other adapters you can fit ALL LENS!!! (that include Voltlander 50mm F1.1) at only RM3K WOW!!!! 50mm F1.1!!!!!
6. it can fit Canon, Nikon, Sony, Voltlander, Leica, Micro 4/3 lens with adapter!!!
7. it is a APS-C Cmos sensor and look at the Noise handling at high ISO!!!
8. It has sweep pano, HDR, 7fps Burst shot with AF
9. The current firmware has limited button assignment but V3 will fix most of it...

I like it!!!!!
lwk523
post Oct 9 2010, 09:53 AM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

Does anyone wanna let his NEX5 go ?? drool.gif I'm interested...
Mask13
post Oct 9 2010, 10:05 AM

84 posts

are NEX capable to shoot like this?

just wondering hmm.gif

Mikeshashimi
post Oct 9 2010, 10:10 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

mask13 : definitely can.. its all down to the editing.
electron
post Oct 9 2010, 10:16 AM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Oct 9 2010, 12:41 AM)
wont regret ??  biggrin.gif blush.gif
then buy NEX5 instead of D3100  laugh.gif Now, I have limit budget and U think which lens I must take .. 16mm or 1855??
if you want both lenses, why not consider NEX3 twin kit?

129 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:57 AM