Any Yamaha YHT S400 Soundbar owners out there?, New owner here needs feedback

TSdariofoo
post Sep 27 2010, 11:45 PM, updated 16y ago

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

I just got the Yamaha YHT-S400 soundbar.

Although the reviews found online are pretty good, I'd like to hear from some owners out there who can give some feedback and probably some tips on maximising it's performance,etc.

Would welcome feedback/comments from any home theatre enthusiasts out there as well.

Cheers.
TSdariofoo
post Sep 28 2010, 12:22 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(esma_ezhar @ Sep 28 2010, 01:23 AM)
Nice sound bar bro.. How much u bought it bro..? Interested to get one..
Hey there.

Well I haven't set it up yet as my house reno isn't done but it sounded great when the guys at Harvey Norman tested it out at their sound room. Was initially thinking of getting a 5.1 BD home theatre set up but was pretty convinced by this in the end. Plus, Yamaha are pretty much experts in audio.

Check out this review:

http://www.trustedreviews.com/home-cinema/...Sound-System/p1

With regard to the price, I'm not too sure exactly because I bought several items altogether and only a grand total is stated in the invoice but if i'm not mistaken it's around RM1600-1700. A Panasonic 5.1 BD HT set was selling at RM2,599 and Philips 5.1 BH HT was selling at about the same price, or about RM2,499, I think.

So this was a pretty good deal.

I buy all my stuff at Harvey Norman because of their after-sale service and warranty coverage. smile.gif

If you're keen, go to HN Midvalley and look for Raju. He's alright. Can bargain nicely with him. smile.gif

Cheers.

TSdariofoo
post Sep 29 2010, 10:20 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(LoonFay @ Sep 29 2010, 09:56 AM)
Make sure you disable the UNIVOLUME feature, as it will lower your volume.
Yeah thanks for the tip. thumbup.gif Don't think i'll be using UNIVOLUME much. AirSurround function sounds cool.

Did you get the YHT S300? Is it serving you well? smile.gif
TSdariofoo
post Oct 1 2010, 11:36 PM

2,795 posts

Thanks for all the input (no pun intended)

I changed my mind, changed my order and decided to get the Yamaha RX-V467 AVR and NS-P380 5.1 speaker package instead.

A review of the AVR can be found here:

http://www.trustedreviews.com/home-cinema/...maha-RX-V467/p1
TSdariofoo
post Oct 4 2010, 11:42 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Oct 4 2010, 09:57 AM)
he's sharing it more over here.. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1168880/+420

btw, I went ahead to buy this YHT S400 Soundbar... my living room is a bit too small to fit the 467 (comes with 2 tall boys, 2 rear and 2 middle @ RM34xx) which I wanted to buy (area is only about 3m x 4m)
will try it out to see how good it really is in such a small area because I've been reading up on a lot of good reviews on it
Thanks for bro for the assistance in redirecting our curious friend smile.gif

Where did you get the deal for the 2 tall boys? The one on offer at HN only comes with 4 satellite ones. Or is that a 7.1 set up which is quoted at RM34xx? hmm.gif

And how much did you get the S400 for? Where? Hope you got a good deal! I'd definitely had taken it if it could decode HD audio. Such a pity!
TSdariofoo
post Oct 4 2010, 01:22 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Oct 4 2010, 12:50 PM)
I saw it at HN Penang.
Can't quite remember which model it was but I think it's one of those older model speakers set cos I saw it there previously as well but packaged with the 465. It's a 5 set up actually, the sub is not included but the tall boys has 2 small subs drivers built in I think cos there's a teeny bit of bass when playing music and movies.

I got my S400 for RM18xx, add RM2xx for the docks. Hope it's a good deal cos I had to call their GM brows.gif

I notice that there's another S4xx Soundbar that's 3D ready on the Yamaha website (but still no True HD or Dolby HD audio) but I'm quite ok without HD audio at the moment cos most of my media only comes with DTS, my ear also can't detect the difference between HD audio and DTS or Dolby Digital and I only have less than 120 BDs at the moment... sad.gif
wanted to change to the proper AVR set up but I think God intervene... just as I was trying to get approval from 'Finance Director' while talking to the sales man, some guy shopper standing next to me said that he also bought the S400 Soundbar and that it's pretty good for a small area and there's the 'Air Surround' thingy... there.. gone are my hopes of upgrading cos 'Finance Director' straight away said 'NO!' sweat.gif He also added that it needs a bit of tweaking to get the right sound out...

Yours would be the Sound Projector right? Which I think should be better cos it should have more drivers (20 over mini drivers?) in it... brows.gif
Dato', what's with all the RM18xxxxx la? shakehead.gif Share with us the price la nod.gif

Am not sure if my ears can tell the diff between DTS and HD Audio but since BDs come with HD audio, I figured I might as well get an AVR which can decode HD audio. Half of BD enjoyment is the audio anyway, in my humble opinion biggrin.gif

BTW, 120 BDs is a lot! notworthy.gif

Added on October 4, 2010, 1:26 pm
QUOTE(richard912 @ Oct 4 2010, 12:17 PM)
The S400 looks nice and sleek but if I remember correctly, it's only a 3.1 channel. Still, good value for un-messy set up as compared to the more traditional AVR + speakers.

I've been using my YSP 3000 and am happy with it although if budget allowed back when I made the purchase, I would have gone for the 4000 model
You should check out the YSP-5100 sound projector - 40 beam drivers, two woofers and two tweeters - 120W total power which sounded like 1200W coming towards you at full force when they demo-ed it at HN for me. It'll make your balls shrink!

This post has been edited by dariofoo: Oct 4 2010, 01:26 PM

0.0178sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:32 AM