Nokia N900 V6 (More than 140 owners), Where Tablets Meets Mobile Phone

Andy214
post Oct 20 2010, 01:53 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 20 2010, 01:43 AM)
Managed to get bits of info on PR 1.3 leaked version

Maemo Talk! 'According to the konuşulanlara PR1.3 Week 36 version was leaked to the Internet. FLASHING leaked version of the device need to set up, yet for some, this is not the same as the final version.

Leaked version file name, the RX-51_2009SE_20.2010.36-2_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM.bin 36.cı week confirms that this version, you probably can say that embraces the changes until September.

Although a description of the Nokia side, PR1.3 'fame in a few months can predict the future, even after this latest update to Nokia's also possible to acquire speed. This version is the final version or not and what the host bilinmezken, you can still install and tried according to the users:

There is a slight improvement in the map.
Hildon-desktop and modestly updated to the latest version.
Quick search function is now much more accelerated.
Reduced volume of the jumps.
Using the front camera is no longer a red warning light is on.
Autofocus speed seems to increase.

Of course, these are still only speculation, but looking at here with a very large functions or enhancements will not say PR1.3. PR1.3 support for Nokia, Qt is already out and a new feature duyurmamıştı Dualboot. Thanks to the leaked version, and Google can be found on the Internet known ways, but the details are not clear, and we recommend that you wait for establishing a serious will not receive earnings.
I mau Flash 10.1 with GPU acceleration
As an Internet Tablet and first device to get Full Flash.... no Flash 10.1 is unacceptable leh... moreover, N900 was used for testing and demo Flash 10, but others get it already still no news for N900/Maemo cry.gif

Other wishlist:
Official MSN and Yahoo IM plugin?
Contacts Grouping?
Ringtone for Contacts/Contacts Group
SMS to Contacts Group
Show additional column/details for each number when call/sms; If a person have 2 or more contact, we can't always remember which is his primary line.

Smoother video recording; Sometimes, can experience frame drop... or lag/etc. When post to FB, the video do not play smoothly.

Better memory management; should always allocate process for the Task Switcher and Menu and X-Terminal; If some app hang, we should be able to switch to Task Switcher, go to Menu and run X-Terminal to kill the program/process. Currently, the app can take away all the resources and the device respond very slow or almost non-responsive; bad...

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 20 2010, 01:54 AM
Andy214
post Oct 20 2010, 02:05 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 20 2010, 01:57 AM)
Then I cry.gif

Andy214
post Oct 20 2010, 09:45 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Oct 20 2010, 06:50 AM)
There's 1 OS that did pretty badly : Symbian^1...at least that's my experience from N97 and X6...S60v3 was total ownage but whenthey convert it... doh.gif

Some people who totally fired me with statements critisizing all of Maemo...that's very close-minded...can't everyone just be more open-minded and think more before saying?  rolleyes.gif

Quote : Wise men speak because they have something to say
Stupid men speak because they need to say something tongue.gif

Added on October 20, 2010, 7:03 am

Mulitouch has benefited themobile gaming industry and immersive contents smile.gif
For Symbian^1, I think depends which version and which model; 6600 was a great Symbian, N-Gage too, then N95, etc.
N97, after one of the update, it's better already; but N97 Mini is actually better more available user memory; I actually thought of getting the N97 but the specs and problems pull me back. I already suffered with my N81. Other smartphones fails to attract me, I have Windows Mobile which is my 2nd phone, the contacts, and phone functionality can't beat Symbian. Then Maemo came, it was good enoug to make me let go of the phone functions in Symbian. But I'm disappointed that until today, Maemo phone functions have no improvements. They're from the same company, they should learn from each other the "GOOD" things; Symbian is great in phone functions, they should try to apply the phone functionality available for Symbian. Is it so hard to make contact grouping? Is it so hard to make ringtone assignment to contacts/group? Personally, I don't think it's a hard thing to do at all.

Regarding the open-minded vs close-minded; I can just say not everyone is the same.
Wait, are you referring to someone here or N8 thread; If N8 thread, then can't blame, got many godlike users, or people who jump to conclusions or judge people without knowing people, too many bullets ready to fire anyone; If you say something, you need to prepare to be fired from all angles.

But if you're talking to people in this thread; or me, then I'm very sorry if I have made you feel so because I really have no intention to fire anyone (well, maybe bebudak kipas who come in to disturb); As I said in one of my previous post, I don't like making enemy or keep hate towards people. My intention is to explain and make others understand on certain topic, discuss about it. I type/talk a lot, I know some people prefer straightforward/straight to the point, but everyone has their way and style. Personally, I think it's better than godlike users who just "fire" and never give explanation, how people can benefit. I don't mind they "fire" me, but if you see, most of them don't explain; Now that in my opinion, is bad and just want to find trouble or tease people for fun.

I've owned N900 since before the N900 thread started, we were just discussing in the "announcement" thread and then aspire make the first BIG step and start the N900 thread (Thanks a lot to aspire). For then until V6 now, the experience in N900 thread has been pleasant, we do have some occasional slightly heated discussion among N900 members, but in my opinion it is in good and matured manner and it's normal; We also have the times when we have to face many bebudak kipas epal who come in and tries something funny, but I think it's a fun time to have some spice in the thread and to see the community stand up and work together like a family.
But when I first entered N8 and post/explain, omg, I was so shocked to get those "bullets" from all angles as if I'm done something very wrong; suddenly got name calling, wild claims, etc. It's really sad to see, I also see some other N900 members there facing the same situation; Actually not just N900 members.

What can say, I don't understand the purpose of doing that. The thread was supposed to be dedicated to N8 or related discussion, information sharing, etc. Forum is suppose to be a fun place for the users or community of the device. But there, it don't feel so. You see people shooting each other for fun, sometimes don't even know it's joke or trying to provoke or tease, etc. New member come in will immediately enter firing range, LOL!!!

Anyway, hope you're not having any hard feelings in this thread; If it does, please accept my sincere apology, and don't keep any hard feelings.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 20 2010, 09:45 AM
Andy214
post Oct 20 2010, 10:00 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Oct 20 2010, 07:45 AM)
Multitouch is just an extra gesture that can be used for gaming. it has certainly not revolutionized gaming.

Consoles / Handheld Consoles and the humble PC have revolutionized gaming.

take for example, the Nintendo Wii, the wireless motion sensing controller is just a new interface for gaming, nothing revolutionary.

Nintendo has been making consoles and games for ages...

Joysticks were revolutionary. The mouse was revolutionary. Touch screen was revolutionary.

Multitouch is just an added advantage when playing games on touch based interface.

Multi-touch can be implemented on Resistive screen too right?

Actually, I don't find capacitive screen great; except current it's supporting multi-touch very well.

In terms of sensitivity; I think N900's resistive screen is sensitivity is just nice. I've tried iPod/iPhone capacitive, it's was too sensitive; I think there should be a balance, it's should be sensitive enough but not too sensitive.

Next, about pressure sensitivity, resistive has some kind of pressure sensitivity; This is beneficial especially for PAINT/SKETC/HDRAWING programs, and also with the support of stylus and accuracy, we can use it to draw fine arts, which is not possible with capacitive.

With accuracy and ability to use finger-nails or stylus, we don't need to always zoom in to click on links; I browse Desktop version of FB page, I don't zoom in at all, I can use my finger-nails to click on links or use stylus. For capacitive, most of the time you will need to keep pinch-to-zoom especially for those links nearby, later click the wrong link. That's one reason why pinch-to-zoom is very important to capacitive screen, they can't touch accurately, must always zoom in.

For me, the advantages of resistive is more than capacitive; For work, resistive is better, but for gaming which requires multi-touch, capacitive will be better (but not all games, there games which require you to touch accurately; these games have to be optimize for touch unless the screen is BIG like iPad).

Don't get me wrong, I like multi-touch; I don't actually care about which screen technology, but touch accuracy, pressure sensitivity and the ability to use any objects (finger-nails, pen, stylus, etc) to touch is important for a touch device; It's called a touch device, it didn't say for hand/finger only.

Andy214
post Oct 20 2010, 10:28 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Oct 20 2010, 10:05 AM)
but if you are on default clock speed, Flash Video kind of lags a little sometimes smile.gif

Yup, Flash consume a lot of resource, so it can really slow down your device, especially Flash Games.
Flash 10.1 uses GPU acceleration, which I suppose should be much better, but why no news for N900 cry.gif

The trick for Flash Video is let it load a bit first, and make sure the page has stable down. You can make sure the page is stable down when the scrolling is smooth. Or put Flash Video to full screen, wait for a while then only play.
If you OC, it will be better of course.

For me, I use OC on demand style by jakiman (using titans-kernel), press the custom "NOS" button, boost of power. hehe

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 20 2010, 10:28 AM
Andy214
post Oct 20 2010, 12:06 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 20 2010, 11:30 AM)
First reason why its call HD games because of the quality and detail.

Last time nokia games they use java u should see how crappy the graphics.
Now 1 game 80MB  vs java game 8mb = like iphone games u see how detail it is even on the phone

Added on October 20, 2010, 11:32 am

Actually iphone games are already in high quality but only other phone manufacturer now call it HD .
For iPads and iPhone4, the games are HD version; Go into App Store you will see HD version and normal version.

iPhone games can be really big in size... like Prince of Persia... and many other recent games. Haven't seen HD games size though for iOS.

But surprisingly, the same game on Android, the file are much smaller? Same goes for N8.

Andy214
post Oct 20 2010, 12:37 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 20 2010, 12:10 PM)
How do u describe the games on iOS? High quality lol? so Nokia skip that part straight to HD before that java lol
High Quality on iPhone 3GS?
For older iPhone 3G and 2G, the quality is lower and less smooth.

Anyway, long ago, N-Gage already provided very good quality games; I used to play N-gage games on my 6600, can even bluetooth multiplay, King Of Figthers! That time, most other smartphones just running cheap quality Java games.

Added on October 20, 2010, 12:42 pm
QUOTE(janethiew @ Oct 20 2010, 11:42 AM)
Sifus,

S.O.S...Problems with key board

After pressing 2 times on the blue alt key  to lock the numbers mode,
the phone went blank and exit to dekstop with messg : "Internal error, Application conversation closed".

Same thing happened when I tried to caplock.

Can someone please help me.....TQ
Whats the last thing you install? Maybe something you installed that cause this problem.

The 2nd last resort you can always do is to flash the firmware yourself; If not, if your is authorised set, you can send to Nokia Care and ask them to re-flash for you.
You can also use Nokia Software Updater to reinstall for you.

NOTE: Remember to backup first.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 20 2010, 12:42 PM
Andy214
post Oct 20 2010, 12:58 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 20 2010, 12:54 PM)
learn fast ma u give me android 1 week haha i can be the android thread too di.
I not sifu le Andy is our sifu.
aspire is GRANDMASTER SHIFU, SIFU for all SIFU in this thread tongue.gif
Andy214
post Oct 20 2010, 02:14 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 20 2010, 02:02 PM)
my LCD is 1920 X 1200 . I think i wan change to 1920 X 1080 haha

Added on October 20, 2010, 2:04 pm

i wish lor if i so geng i sure beyond GODLIKE. Then andy is beyond infinity godlike.

Andy since u at klang u go the I-city take some photos with N8
Nono, we cannot be GODLIKE, the title is belong to some people already; Later we kena from them. tongue.gif

N8 cry.gif
I never been to I-City before also, haha

Suggest N8 Gathering @ I-CITY, promote N8 there, do photography session... Or... maybe Nokia can organize one brows.gif

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 20 2010, 02:15 PM
Andy214
post Oct 20 2010, 02:20 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 20 2010, 02:18 PM)
+1 hahaha yea we are not entitled to that rank. If i am not wrong its very near klang le. That time i use sygic to bring me there i also scare scare using outdated map somemore.

For the others havent seen I-city here it is
http://www.flickr.com/photos/thenokiagalle...1066945/detail/
Yea, it's very near; Haha; Can also see from the highway itself lo; If you're driving on Federal, when you reach the Klang toll, you will see I-CITY already.
Andy214
post Oct 20 2010, 02:47 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 20 2010, 02:31 PM)
@Andy
When you return to NCC to pick back your N* can you ask the workers there whether they are selling the ori USB-OTG cable?
Sure thing, but I doubt it'll be cheap, even the USB cable itself cost a BOMB...

Btw, anybody know where to get nice "hand strap" for handphone? Nowadays hard to find those nice one, I don't like those long long ones; last time I was using the transformers one, remove the "toy" just using the strap. I want something like those and the size of those.

Andy214
post Oct 21 2010, 02:24 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 21 2010, 02:12 PM)
sifu 15 more posts to unleash your super alien power already in godlike mode.

Last time i use sygic to go klang i got lost because the road keep changing sigh
Correction, Jedi Master mode; godlike title is reserved for godlike people only whistling.gif tongue.gif

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0523sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:37 AM