Personal financial management, V2

kparam77
post Jan 8 2012, 06:43 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(cubiclecarbonate @ Jan 8 2012, 05:26 PM)
Hi all,

Im a fresh graduate, 23yo and just starting my career with a 2.5k salary. Right now, the only saving i have done is 30% from my salary. I just started my job last month in the middle of Dec.

I need some suggestion on investment. What should i do with the rest of my salary? I drive a kancil to go to work. Can claim petrol and company sponsored the seasonal pass for parking for 160 per month. Since right now is the beginning of the year, i want to do some investment. What investment is good and promising?

Which is good? Buy a house or made some savings or investment like ASB or FD or Gold investment? Since im still 23, so i dont have to care much about the repayment time, but based on scenario la.

Thanks. Peace.
FD is saving not invstment.

setup emergency fund in FD... at least 6 month ur monthly expecses.

if u bumi, ASB is the right choice for the safety.

buy insurance first, medical card enaugh for health protection.

take sometime to educate urself for riskier invetment like stock, unit trust, gold, properties and others. subscribe to the edge personal money will hep u too for the knowledge.
kparam77
post Jan 15 2012, 02:57 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(VictoryBlue @ Jan 15 2012, 01:48 PM)
What I have:

Income
=====
6,000 pm (After income tax and Socso)

Cash
===
FD:            85,000
Unit Trust:  10,000
Saving Acc: 15,000

Home
====
Already paid 68,000 downpayment. Now, waiting to pay monthly instalment starting mid 2013

Car
==
Using Dad's car.

Thinking of spending my money wisely. Age 30. Single. How?
rm85k in FD at age 30, good. i think u already spending wisely too.
how much ur monthly instalment will be? still got 1 yr to start the paymnt.
ur other commitmends?
any plan to buy own car?
saving acc shud hv ur monthly expenses X 6. can be increase to time to time if ur monthly expenses increase.
any insurance?
any plan for ur marriege?, i think no prblem for u since already hv sufficiant amnt in FD.

at last how much u can safe montly.

spilt it by 40% in FD and 60% in unit trust. or 30%/70% since u still young. or other saving/investment as u wish.

make user u very well undrstand abt investment and also the involve riskk too.

just my 2 cents.

kparam77
post Feb 5 2012, 11:32 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(techie.opinion @ Feb 5 2012, 09:23 AM)
I support it... Stock INVESTING, not TRADING tongue.gif

Added on February 5, 2012, 9:28 amI just start saving RM200 monthly into bond fund... as i am worried the risk on the equity fund and it also expensive.

Any advice on the equity? Probably I can load another RM100 monthly if feasible to invest in equity. Interest with Kenanga Growth Fund... sweat.gif
the important is, how u understand abt the fund objective. not all the equity fund has same invetment objective/strategy.

some fund focus on capital growth and dividends second. some focus on dividend and capital growth comes second.

u must chosse which fund is match with ur own objective.

also ur risk tolerance.
kparam77
post May 9 2012, 11:07 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ May 9 2012, 07:44 PM)
Guys, as much as possible simply means of the highest possibility la. I know kidnapping is very possible but I don't think it's a good idea LOL. All I want is possible earnings like FD, or like suggested the flexi mortgage but I am not eligible for that. So what is other solution that commonly people do to have an addition of money instead of just keeping the cash in the savings account.
read this http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...0906&sec=nation

kparam77
post Jun 14 2012, 05:21 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jun 14 2012, 03:39 PM)
Hi everyone ... 1st time in this subforum smile.gif Hope to get some guidance from all sifu here (especially sifu wong?) First of all, quick intro ... I'm 27 this year .. working experience 3 years but until 2 months ago .. 0 savings  cry.gif Why 0 ... no need say la hehe .. juz wanna say i regret and I want to change now .. Also I don't meant to be spoon feed here sad.gif I tried to google around for financial planning and stuff but mostly also US based? Haha .. If anyone got any readings to share it's much appreciated smile.gif So let's get into some quick stats:

Summary .. savings 1k (~20%). Is this fine or not? For me ... percentage wise sounds ok but amount wise very  shakehead.gif 1 month save 1k save until die also cannot buy house lol. My colleagues are all quiet uncle so everyday hear them say house expensive family expensive I'm very worried. When only got courage to get gf and get married sad.gif I need to start to change right now. Any suggestion is greatly appreciated smile.gif Hope to hear from you guys!
Operation No 1:
put ur 6 months monthly expenses in bank/FD as emergency fund.

Operation No 2:
cut down ur unnecesary expenses. why letrik so high?

Operation No 3:
waht is ur goals, buy house? get married?invest? any others? research/study/plan wisely and act on it.

Operation No 4:
do not buy/invest which is u not understand.

Operation No 5:
repeat above 4 operations.
kparam77
post Jun 14 2012, 05:44 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jun 14 2012, 05:26 PM)
Hi Sir thanks for your reply !

1) Yes that's my first goal .. 6 months emergency is for in case I loose my job right?

2) Erm like I said before, just to repay my parents. They cannot tahan hot so house air cond on alot heh  sweat.gif It's ok I will cut my own expenses ... by the way any comments on 20% savings ?

3) I'd love to invest but 0 idea now which obviously won't act at all .. currently studying gold investment smile.gif Slowly move on to house and marriage

4) Yes for sure ... any recommendation for "risk-free-low-return" investment besides FD ? Or maybe low-risk-low-return ?
Fd is saving not investment.

u can concider BOND FUNDS for low risk-low returns as a beginer.

subcribe to the edge personal money.

suggestion only:

set for short term and long term goals/plans. for short term u may put in low risk investment. for long term, u can concider high risk, but not nessacary if u low risk taker since u understand reward also low.

do not over commit. it may spoils ur plan.
do not put all the money in one palce. spilt it according ur plan. the lowers for long term and the highest for shor term plan.
u may get increment/bonus every year. so, increase ur asset portfolio/allocation yerly basis.

wahtever is make sure ur health and wealth protected well with insurance.

kparam77
post Jun 15 2012, 11:52 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 14 2012, 10:02 PM)
Personal Money is a monthly published magazine. U can buy a copy @ Popular Bookstore to test water & if U find it good, subscribe. It's ok lar as one of the better ways to spend $10+/-, more value to me than a cup of Starbucks tongue.gif
tis too http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/
kparam77
post Jul 12 2012, 05:35 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Jul 12 2012, 11:52 AM)
hmm.. me too.. having spare cash of 1.2k per month. now have cash of 15k in savings acc. plan to move 10k to FD. Shld i consider investing in REITs?
unit trust?
kparam77
post Sep 28 2012, 10:54 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(jootat @ Sep 28 2012, 10:33 AM)
thumbup.gif that's exactly what i experienced.  Last time i also have some spare cash and thinking to put in PMF as i am thinking 3 - 5 years as medium term investment.  Guess what? till today i am still making lost.  But i have recently re-invest in those funds and average out the cost.  Hopefully i will get break even or gain some profit in next 2 years.  That's pretty sad isn't it? Total of 7 years and i am just hoping for break even or slightly gain. 

P/s: Just to make things clear, i am pretty lazy to manage my portfolio last time in terms of PMF investment. But i will pay extra attention to it now biggrin.gif
lost money in which fund and swich to which fund now?
kparam77
post Mar 31 2013, 10:26 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(helob @ Mar 28 2013, 12:48 PM)
I am a 60+ non-bumi retiree. I still have some fund in my EPF account which I can withdraw any time. EPF dividend for 2012 is 6.15% which is not too shabby.
However I would like to seek advise/recommendation on alternate low risk investments which has better return than EPF.
Much appreciate your inputs.
Thank You and Have a nice day.
60+,

better keep ur money in epf. low risk investment not guarantee the returns as well.

0.0209sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:57 PM