Personal financial management, V2

jasontoh
post Mar 31 2013, 08:15 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Mar 30 2013, 08:10 PM)
I do market survey on property from North till south. I open few portfolio already coz wanted to invest /buy property again just waiting for election.

RM50K appreciate is quite easy to reach as KL and selangor new condo is more than RM400 per sqft. If concentrate on major area like PJ, Cheras, Ampang, Kepong, Subang Jaya, Puchong, klang etc. I agree if u looking at area a bit further like sungai buloh, those maybe a bit hard.

It is easier to appreciate RM50K in Penang island as land is limited. My buddy bought a condo from develepor in Penang island 2 yrs back in 2010 at RM380K, now just half way building already price shoot up to RM550K.

A shop in Ipoh near station 18 when purchase in 2010 is just RM400K from develper, now an agent just offer RM600K for it. Station 18 is near Aeon Jaya Jusco.

Kepong just look at the Nadia Condo Desa Parkcity the price double too from purchased in year 2008
http://www.propwall.my/desa_parkcity/nadia

Kepong Menjalara, look at the property there those landed hse either semi-d or double storey, the price hike up triple. tongue.gif

JB look at Pasir Gudang. A shop back in 2008 cost around RM280K, now it cost RM460K

JB look at Permas Jaya should be another good place to invest as near AEON Jusco. The price for condo there still below RM300K.  smile.gif

Invest in KL now need to be a bit careful coz a lot of foreinger especially Negro ..look at Puchong, Serdang, Cyberjaya and Putrajaya, SJ where a lot of college , because of them the price condo drop. Even near commuter , etc no use if the environment is unsafe to stay. Ppl stay in condo because want security and facilities.

Invest in Penang now a bit hard as the property is very expensive bcoz of foreinger invest they either they buy a lot of unit or the entire condo then subsale. Requirement for foreigner is RM1 million for condo and RM2 million for landed property if not mistaken. Thus developer take chance increase property price.

Invest in JB now maybe a good choice. Singaporeans are coming over to buy in JB. They are coming over the weekend to do shopping as their currency is double 2x. Same like Brunei ppl go over to Miri everyweekend to do shopping coz their currency is also double 2x. Now if u go JB most hotel you will see a lot of japanese there. Why? Since the cyanide spill in Japan, it is a bit expensive to rebuilt factory anywhere nearby or in Japan. Thus most of them looking at opening factory at Sabah and JB.  Sabah property grow after the chemical spill but bcoz of the current Lahad Datu they also scared. Thus they invest in JB. While waiting for the homes to be ready, the japanese whole family is staying at hotel.

The thing I scaed invest in JB is they mention a non bumi property if sold to a bumi, will become bumi lot cannot be resale to non bumi unless get MB consent. Not sure true or not. I am checking it out too.

The japanese also like to stay in Penang. A lot of condo consist of Japan community in Penang.

Same like koreans they like to stay near the embassy in ampang putra residency in KL. If not mistaken one of their block years back, they went to korea selling like RM500 per sqft.
I really admire the hard work that you do on the properties from North to South. Unfortunately most of the time, what we see is just the surface. True, like you mentioned the shops around Aeon Station 18 in Ipoh, agents are asking 600K, but how many buyers are out there. What are the banks valuation? I think to me, a lot of subsale properties are way a bit out of valuation. Not necessary the buyer will be able to get the loan, should the potential buyer interested. This is actually happening almost every places, I've got friends failing to buy a condo because the seller want it above 50% from the bank valuation and not many are able to fork out the downpayment. Finally, many of the potential buyers will opt for new properties as they can get close to 90% of the loan, if not 100%. In fact, there are some of my friends who bought their house like 3-5 years back and sold theirs now at just breakeven. It is always easy to look at what the agents price, but the bank valuation is the one that matters.
jasontoh
post Mar 31 2013, 10:14 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Mar 31 2013, 09:13 PM)
Agent is offering RM600k, the owner already sold to the agent for Station 18 shop.

You are right how much is worth is evaluation until really sold. Money in seller hand is profit.
New property is at even higher price smile.gif

the example I given is good. A South City condo 1000sqft RM188K, Ampang Prima condo 1000sqft RM250K,  new condo in KL 1000sqft easily above RM400K.

If below RM250K also cannot afford to buy, how to buy new condo RM400k? Need to enlighten me coz bank borrowing 33% of the salary.

http://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-li...or-sale-1774112
http://www.propertyguru.com.my/new-propert...ala-lumpur-3280
I come to know that some speculator can nego with bank that he will opt to pay only interest for the first 3 yrs and not pay any principle at all..

Normal let say loan RM400K, installment around RM2K

Buy if pay interest only and not pay the principal, the speculator may pay less like RM1.5K per month instead of 2k

With so many speculators, foreigner, investors around unless govt is setting control or else very hard for local to buy property especially in Penang island.

It is a free market. There is seller and there is buyer. bank valuation hardly can control the market.

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...could-bury-dap/
Because 400K requires no upfront payment? icon_idea.gif
Actually, bank can borrow up to 80% of your salary, as long as your monthly commitment is less than that, then sure approve. Bank valuation controls the subsale, mainly because no matter what the price the seller put, eventually it still boils down to whether the potential buyers have the affordability to pay the downpayment. That is why properties are not easy to sell out. I give one example....if banks value property A at RM300K, and the seller is trying to sell RM500K because he say new development is RM600K, the likelihood of the deal goes through is not high. Imagine you need to fork out 230K for the downpayment and get another 270K loan. Banks might try to mark up the property like 10%, but still it is about 200K cash that is requires. That is why we see subsale slows down, but new development still go through because the buyer still can get the loan from banks finally. Of course, on and off, it will go through, but the chances are low. I get some information from banks on the valuation and last transaction price always before I go nego with the agents, but it is not easy to get those that are matching with the bank valuation. I remember I saw some selling almost 400K, but banks are giving me 250K valuation, and that was like the price of the last transaction price which a number of time happen weeks ago. I am not saying property price not worth that much, but it's just that for subsale it is not as easy as new launched properties.

And btw, you cannot compare the vast different price in 2 different areas. You should compare with the neighbouring areas, then you will see that a lot of subsale properties are priced slightly lower than the new development only,

This post has been edited by jasontoh: Apr 1 2013, 08:45 AM
jasontoh
post Apr 1 2013, 04:54 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(Maximillian88 @ Apr 1 2013, 02:24 PM)
Hi all, a hypothetical question here.

Just wondering, is there any way for a salary-earner (RM60,000 per annum) to be able to move from being a low-medium income earner to a high-networth individual? I'm 26years old and I've seen how the wealthy live and its really sickening. Apparently I just found out that being wealthy and rich are 2 completely different things.

Its like they send their kids to high-end international schools, the type whereby the kids have to fly all the way to Germany as part of their history education (I also just found out that there are different classes of international schools too). I was told too that their monthly expenditure easily exceeds RM100,000 per month.

Are low-income and middle-income people kinda doomed?
My thought is if you are salary earner, you can be financially free. From financially free, if you can do something out of your passive income, then you might be rich, and if you are very good in optimizing your money, you can be wealthy. No doubt, it is not easy. By the way, rich and wealthy are really 2 different things and it is how you spend your money that separates you from being rich or wealthy and how much you can earn is differentiating you from poor, middle class and rich. Rich or wealthy - which are you?
jasontoh
post Apr 1 2013, 10:40 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 1 2013, 08:56 PM)
To be financially free must do something, no point talking and doing noting.

I know is hard but something must be sacrificed with time and luxury.

Like wise; must have discpline saving and cut unnecessariy spending. Im also salary-earner (RM60,000 per annum) age 31, no car, no airasia, no ipad, no fancy hanphone, no fancy haircut, no fancy old town , non-smoker, no clubbing, no broadband, no laptop, no pet but got 1 wife.
I can save, so can YOU.Happily save together.
Do you think 60K good enough? I'm thinking from this 60K, how much you save ....in terms of %, and do you have house? Without broadband and no laptop, I think I will die lo sad.gif
jasontoh
post Apr 3 2013, 10:29 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 3 2013, 08:56 AM)
You can call the bank to ask for early loan settlement. They will give discount.
It not much , i give you example settle rm2k remaining loan ; the bank can give discount rm40 only.
Previously when I early settlement for my 1st car, I get roughly about 10%
jasontoh
post Apr 3 2013, 11:33 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 3 2013, 10:42 AM)
hi jasontoh,

Thanks for the infor. How much left for the outstanding loan.
2 years.....roughly 8K+. So I get about almost 900 discount.
jasontoh
post Apr 4 2013, 03:46 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 4 2013, 02:18 PM)
young man with age like you suppose do something usefull and important.
Focus on your Career 1st then you hv easy day later.

No career - > no money -> no saving -> no marry.

When a man didnt Achieve anything , one day the women whose marry you will look down on you.

When courting gals ask yourself how to be good financial mangement.

"Saving for marry is important or Spending on relationship/courting is important"

Ask yourself is How strong the Gal Love when you are worthless ?

You must know that outside alot man can replace You as her boyfriend as long they hv $$$ and Time to spend on her.
I think focusing on career is important, but at the same time, don't neglect relationship. This is the key learning I have. I consider myself "not that bad", in terms of financial, education and even career. However, I find that because I focused on career during my last 10 years, ended up, girls my age either taken or already become mother of others. My take is, if there is a girl out there you like, go ahead. Of course not to the extend of spending all your savings, if she is really gold digger, I don't think the relationship will last too. Anyway, I'm just saying, career + $$$ is important, but don't put it as priority as you might end up like me. biggrin.gif

jasontoh
post Apr 4 2013, 03:48 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 4 2013, 01:49 PM)
In this Facebook/Instagram era, ppl especially women demand more from men in $$$.

They see their friend, BF/hubby bring them go overseas vacation, buy them expensive dinner/gifts, then they also kiasu, want their partner to do the same. Look around you, hear the women's conversation, its becoming the norm nowadays. This is the age of consumerism, spend spend spend, make yourself look good is of utmost importance.

But seriously, to put it in a crude manner, u eat sushi or u eat char kueh teow at kopitiam, at the end of the day u pangsai also the same sh*t comes out. WHY PAY MORE? laugh.gif

Work so hard but at the end of the day the $$$ goes down the drain (your sh*t flows to IWK sewerage pipes, right? tongue.gif ). Some may say, "enjoy life ma...", but I personally find that hawker food is more satisfying to me than a meal that costs hundred over at a high class restaurant, and my Bata/Power shoes feel not much different compared to the more expensive Nike shoes. biggrin.gif
I think is because they think $$$ drop from sky. If she is earning about 3K, she should be realistic to think that her bf is also earning the same. Others are able to spend luxuriously, sometimes not because they can, it's because they wanted to. So they borrow money from bank or others or sometimes most of them end up no savings.

jasontoh
post Apr 4 2013, 05:23 PM

8,425 posts

It's easier to say that. I always thought that when guy grew older, they got more value and have more choices of girls, but come to think of it, the larger the age gap you have with your partner, the more not "suitable". And the financial goal might be badly affected because of this age gap.
jasontoh
post Apr 7 2013, 04:28 PM

8,425 posts

Looking at your expenses, since 2.8K was your take home pay and you manage to save 2K per month, I was wondering how you do it. I know you have listed down everything, but I don't see anything like giving to parents below. So, do you mean your expenses of 800 never included them? Just curious how people with <3K take home pay able to save so much. For me, that kind of expenses is just PAMA fund that I allocated and since I'm working outstation, thus I pay rental. Food wise, we have about the same allocation. I would say that not everyone able to save 2K, in your case a vast 72% of your take home pay due to we have other commitment such as parents. You've been pretty much impressive about savings, but then again, it does not apply to everyone, even people with higher take home pay than you.

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Jan 1 2013, 10:21 PM)
I am 32 years old, still noob and need your help. Here's my summary of my earning and deduction:

Salary: 2800 (after deduct EPF + Sosco)

Internet: 88
Utilities - RM100 (Electricity + water)
Apartment maintainance fees - RM150 ( I usually paid in advance quarterly coz I hate go every month pay)
Petrol: 150
Phone credit: Digi Prepaid balance RM650+, super long talk time.. I think cannot finish credit, I seldom reload..
Food: 400
Car loan: No (settle) - BLM
House loan : No (settle) - Living in Condo
Education loan: No (settle)- PTPTN
Credit Card: No
Personal loan: No

Basically I just spend RM800+ a month, sometimes work OT got a bit more money ok to pay the Indah water, miscellaneous bill, dunno wat bill wat bill, bill come I just go settle them..

Net savings per month: RM 2000 / I just make it easy count, I dump in extra RM1K into savings making it RM25K per year.

Rough calculation today I have around RM150K cash in FD, Sukuk, etc.. use the intrest go holiday jln jln around RM3K per year

I take old ppl advise practise - "AFISH". I do not like risk, no investment. Money must be protected by PIDM up to RM200K.

A - ASN, Wawasan 2020, Sukuk, etc
F - FD
I - Insurance
S - Shares (Dare not buy)
H - House (Done)
Can I retire at 50 years old?

I read about this
http://budgeting.about.com/od/Why_Budget/a...Millionaire.htm
If You Save: $2000 per month

You'll Be a Millionaire In: 19 years and 7 months.
jasontoh
post Apr 7 2013, 10:18 PM

8,425 posts

As per my expectation, you get additional buffer there by not requiring yourself to pay your parents. Anyway, I usually thought Asian will do that as a sign of filial or at least to me, I just give because I wanted to.

I am impressed with your savings rate and success story but honestly speaking, I will not think of it as my financial goal, mainly because of the extreme savings rate, you actually depends on your family for most part of your life. You might be earning your own, but for major part of your life like groceries and stuff like that, your parents are in one way or another are actually providing for you.

Anyway, for j.passing.by I'm not trying to pour cold water. I am just being realistic here. And trust me, when the pay is not even 6K, it is close to impossible to save up to >70%, let alone 2K. I just look at my most low cost plan without the house + car + education loan, I still cannot come up with the 2K savings per month. I know a friend who did it when his pay was way lower than mine, that is also because he has "privilege". So, it's even within my expectation that 4A4B can save a lot also because he doesn't give his parents a portion and based on my understanding he might be previously staying with his parents without the need to give them a portion, so he is actually saving on rental as well as groceries as well as food. Majority don't have the privilege to do so. Just do some search back on people seeking for advice, you will see majority do need to allocate a portion on that.

jasontoh
post Apr 7 2013, 10:55 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Apr 7 2013, 10:40 PM)
Nowadays cannot rely too much on siblings being filial. I also do not wish my children to give me $. I will try to be independance at senior age. Do not want to be a burden to them.

My parents are in Ipoh. I am working in Penang, groceries those all my own expense. I do not stay with them after I come out to work.

The reason why I save so extreme is I think of future. Golden age senior citizen that time, when can I retire.

RM1 today is not same value as RM1 tomorrow.

Easy example is

I save RM2k per month now, spend expenses RM800 per month. I able to survive. Good.

If I now spend RM2K per month and save RM800, now RM2K just enought for my spending, do you think RM800 in 30yrs later is enough for me to spend monthly? I may not be able to survive with RM800 per month by then so need to depends on children to being filial give me some $ to survive?

I am like buying insurance for myself to retire without need of children to be filial. What if they being filial can afford to give you RM500 when single. After marriage have children too, maybe they can afford to pay u RM200 only. With the RM800 + RM 200 per month, can you still survive?

Now 2013 minimum wage in RM900. I don't think RM1K per month 30yrs later can survive.
So, you are from Ipoh as well? I thought you were staying with your parents in Penang. My bad. You are right about if you spend less now you will be able to survive with the savings. Anyway, I'm not asking you to be filial just so that your children will be the same in the future. Just that I'm thinking it is part of the culture. Since you are staying by your own and not leeching your parents, then you are really on your own and you have my respect for that.

This post has been edited by jasontoh: Apr 7 2013, 10:56 PM
jasontoh
post Apr 23 2013, 10:12 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(aby3342 @ Apr 21 2013, 10:53 PM)
hi sifu,

i hv income for rm2.4k and having saving for 500 every month.

feels like the 500 wont generate any interest in return if i save it and plan to have some investment(public mutual fund) instead of putting the money in bank.

Is that a good move for my current condition? need a piece of precious advice from sifu here...
If you have enough emergency savings, why not just invest it? I also started my investment with few hundreds. It's now don't know how many times compare when I first started, maybe few hundred times more (but then again, I always set aside some money to top up on the investment)
jasontoh
post May 1 2013, 10:52 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(aby3342 @ Apr 25 2013, 10:03 PM)
hmm, thanks jasontoh for the precious advice (: then i should start allocate some money into investment rclxms.gif but b4 i start invest, i need to do some homework about what am i going to invest,right?
Of course you need to do some homework. Else you will end up like many innocent souls who lost their money in investment.
jasontoh
post May 2 2013, 10:20 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 2 2013, 12:34 AM)
Hi guys. Does anyone have any recommendation on how to go about with tracking personal finances (expenses, incomes, etc.)?
For eg., keep track of your investments and its profit/loss, incomes from savings such as FDs, and your misc. expenses.
I'm looking more at a software or excel spreadsheet.
Also, what's your experience for those currently already practising keeping tabs on your portfolios?

I'm using Excel sheet to keep do from budgeting to keeping track of my expenses as well as keeping track of investments portfolio.
jasontoh
post May 13 2013, 10:12 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(bobkf @ May 13 2013, 01:52 PM)
Net Salary: Around RM 3200

Commitment:
Property Loan: RM900
Car Loan: RM500
Savings: RM300
Food: RM500
Internet + Phone: RM200
Electricity + Water: RM50
Misc Expenses (GF), groceries etc: RM300
Credit card payment (new house renovation, furniture etc) = RM450
Total: RM3200.00

Nothing left for emergency or any other purposes. It is common for me to fall into deficit each month where it showed in accumulating credit card payments.

My status:
1. Owed credit card about RM4,000.00. Each month pay some but then uses the back the same amount. Hard to reduce. Always got emergency, car maintenance etc.
2. RM360 investment in Instaforex with friends. For fun. So far grew 10% each month.
3. RM4k savings in another account. This money cant be touched, need it by end of this year.
4. No part time job.

I need to find more ways to cut my spending and increase my income through part time. Anyone can give me any idea ?
Can feel your instaforex is a scam. Anyway, you already have forced savings of RM300 every month, which is not bad. Once you save enough for emergency, then maybe you need to look for investment.
jasontoh
post May 24 2013, 11:14 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ May 23 2013, 05:25 PM)
Got invest in PRS?
Did you invest in PRS? I just did recently to reduce my tax, though I think it will be about 500-700 tax difference from my current tax bracket.
jasontoh
post May 24 2013, 11:35 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ May 24 2013, 11:22 AM)
this month, after get my salary. imporatant is mine no service charge 3%
I directly pay 1 lump sum of 3K. Will be getting 5.xK annually after I retired. Anyway, it is a good way to save money at the same time reduce tax. at 19% tax bracket, it is almost RM600 savings per annum, then at 21% it is 600++ and at 24% it will be over 700
jasontoh
post May 27 2013, 02:06 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ May 27 2013, 08:55 AM)
get back tax relief also money to invest more.
This is exactly why I "invest" in PRS. The best part is, you get 10 years tax relief.
jasontoh
post May 27 2013, 02:25 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ May 27 2013, 02:19 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  Where you invest PRS? Public Mutual or Hwang ?
I thought we buy something like insurance? Anyway I bought mine from Great Eastern, since my brother has some connection to it.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0767sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:05 PM