As smartphone users rocket, Android ousts Symbian, Android is growing... market view.

TSMyWifeCar
post Sep 21 2010, 11:48 AM, updated 16y ago

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

Ok, I never know that the market was actually monopolised until now...still Symbian.

...but Android is coming up... very strong. biggrin.gif

http://www.telecoms.com/22493/as-smartphon...-ousts-symbian/

a13solut3
post Sep 21 2010, 11:51 AM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

Symbian is dead long time ago, just because Android is still quite new in market, now it's chasing up.
Andrew Lim
post Sep 21 2010, 12:15 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

I still find my Symbian-based N86 more reliable than my Android HTC Hero. Android phones don't seem to work with my home router WAG54G2 properly. Also sometimes when it says "Connected to Mobile Network", it's still not really connected.

Can't wait to test Symbian^3...
TSMyWifeCar
post Sep 21 2010, 12:27 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Sep 21 2010, 12:15 PM)
I still find my Symbian-based N86 more reliable than my Android HTC Hero. Android phones don't seem to work with my home router WAG54G2 properly. Also sometimes when it says "Connected to Mobile Network", it's still not really connected.

I think I know what is your problem. WAG I assumed is Linksys?

What is the encryption protocol used??
Andrew Lim
post Sep 21 2010, 12:30 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Sep 21 2010, 12:27 PM)
I think I know what is your problem. WAG I assumed is Linksys?

What is the encryption protocol used??
Using WEP. My Hero can connect the first time, but if I disconnect or leave the area it cannot connect anymore. I have to restart the router.

None of my other gadgets have this problem.
zamanjaafar
post Sep 21 2010, 12:45 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Sep 21 2010, 12:15 PM)

isn't it supposed to be 'connect to wifi'?

mobile network is our mobile network eg maxis, celcom, digi internet service
alpha0201
post Sep 21 2010, 12:57 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Sep 21 2010, 12:30 PM)
Using WEP. My Hero can connect the first time, but if I disconnect or leave the area it cannot connect anymore. I have to restart the router.

None of my other gadgets have this problem.
You turned on both Mobile Network & Wifi. You have to turn off mobile network or else your phone will juggle between the 2 which ever have active connection.

I owned E63 previously & I hate it when it decided to connect gprs by itself when connecting to wifi. In Android, off stays off.

This post has been edited by alpha0201: Sep 21 2010, 12:59 PM
ashburn98
post Sep 21 2010, 01:06 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

older generation that uses nokia won't want to spend RM2K for a new phone.

new generation won't spend RM2K on outdated symbian, with iphone and android around.

I'll see how nokia answer/fail to both challenges. I can't see how symbian^3 is going to rescue nokia

sjn hassan
post Sep 21 2010, 01:13 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

i'm not using Nokia / symbian phone since 2003

This post has been edited by sjn hassan: Sep 21 2010, 01:23 PM
alpha0201
post Sep 21 2010, 01:18 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 21 2010, 01:13 PM)
i'm using Nokia / symbian phone since 2003
Who doesn't. Most of iPhone & Android phone users were & still Symbian owners.
decypher
post Sep 21 2010, 01:19 PM

低头族
864 posts

Before my SGS I was on Nokia 6630 for about 6 years...

Android is overtaking Symbian real quick.
sjn hassan
post Sep 21 2010, 01:23 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Sep 21 2010, 01:18 PM)
Who doesn't. Most of iPhone & Android phone users were & still Symbian owners.
typos bro..should be NOT USING tongue.gif

alpha0201
post Sep 21 2010, 01:28 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 21 2010, 01:23 PM)
typos bro..should be NOT USING  tongue.gif
Ah i see. smile.gif

Anyway, all I see in Symbian^3 is just an updated version of Symbian OS 9.x.
PrinceCaspien
post Sep 21 2010, 01:57 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

depends on your needs loh, if camera freak, android still lagging behind on that.
pluginbaby
post Sep 21 2010, 02:25 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Sep 21 2010, 01:28 PM)
Ah i see.  smile.gif

Anyway, all I see in Symbian^3 is just an updated version of Symbian OS 9.x.
i guess its more of a s60v5 make over..
shahz
post Sep 21 2010, 04:45 PM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

Symbian has very little hope currently..Here is my prediction:

Soon, the top will be Android, followed by iOS, then RIM. These two will be the top leaders of the board..Following this will be Win7, then Symbian 3, followed by MeeGo..

There is ONLY ONE way for Nokia to sustain the top ranking of being the mobile phone giant..Join Android revolution.. smile.gif
ashburn98
post Sep 21 2010, 05:30 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Nokia should do a Samsung Galaxy S. Pack an uber spec flagship phone for Android and they'll see how great the sale will be. Then compare the sales with the N8 and Nokia forget about Symbian.

Do Nokia dare to admit Symbian is obsolete?
ohmlawx
post Sep 21 2010, 05:43 PM

732 posts

Nokia is falling, same with Symbian.. go & see how fast the price of those Symbian & Nokia phones drop..
andrekua
post Sep 21 2010, 06:05 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Sep 21 2010, 05:30 PM)
Nokia should do a Samsung Galaxy S. Pack an uber spec flagship phone for Android and they'll see how great the sale will be. Then compare the sales with the N8 and Nokia forget about Symbian.

Do Nokia dare to admit Symbian is obsolete?
Obsolete?
No, Symbian is still pretty good, for a keypad phone. However, Nokia was stubborn and cut off S90 and Maemo despite having better UI for touch interaction. They went back with S60 with a slap-on Touch Interaction which makes it non interesting. If only they give it up and went on with S90 or Maemo, I think they should have fare better.
TSMyWifeCar
post Sep 21 2010, 07:17 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Sep 21 2010, 12:57 PM)
You turned on both Mobile Network & Wifi. You have to turn off mobile network or else your phone will juggle between the 2 which ever have active connection.

I owned E63 previously & I hate it when it decided to connect gprs by itself when connecting to wifi. In Android, off stays off.
No la bro, Android will automatically choose wifi over mobile data. Android also understand the fact that mobile data is expensive.... biggrin.gif

0.0182sec    1.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:28 PM