Hi hope u all can help me in this noob question..
Does warranty claim for HTC Desire (SIS warranty) requires original receipt? Or any form of proof of purchase required?
HTC Desire Official Thread V6, FAQs on First Page (Froyo OTA for SEA!)
Sep 27 2010, 11:02 AM
67 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Hi hope u all can help me in this noob question..
Does warranty claim for HTC Desire (SIS warranty) requires original receipt? Or any form of proof of purchase required? |
Sep 27 2010, 11:12 AM
Oct 6 2010, 09:32 AM
Hope I'm not asking a repeated question here.
I'm using the stock ROM Froyo 2.2, how should I assign a ringtone to a group in People/Contact (eg: Friends, Family, VIP, etc) in 'batch' style? It can be very tedious if assigning one by one in the group. Or is there any application that can do this task? |
Oct 6 2010, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(draco82 @ Oct 6 2010, 09:43 AM) Not sure about that, previously i did assign ring tone with multiple choice but not in group.... Assign ring tone with multiple choice? You mean there is somewhere that I can set the 'rule'/choices on to which contact/keyword the ringtone should assign to?I have different label behind contacts name for me to differentiate which group they are, so i can easily call them out using the label.... but after i join the stream of rom flashing~~hehe... less customize, less problem and less pain..... I think most of the root users here don't customize their phone too much.. |
Oct 7 2010, 10:38 AM
Guys, do you know which custom ROM that could save on power consumption the most?
Oct 7 2010, 11:22 AM
Whoa.. 4 days! I haven't reached that long yet with the stock Froyo.
Thanks for the tips! Will control my usage rather than seeking the power efficient rom then. |
Oct 8 2010, 11:10 AM
Any news/source on Garmin XT is available for Android phones?
I can only find there are attempts of extracting GMXT from Nuvi phones.. wondering is there any further updates from there.. |
Oct 21 2010, 09:59 AM
I am thinking of rooting the Desire to remove some unwanted system apps that took up the internal memory space (i only have around 40MB left.. )
Care to share any tips/guides/links on how to remove the system apps after rooting the Desire? and what are the system apps that should NOT be removed at all? |
Oct 21 2010, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(akachester @ Oct 21 2010, 10:02 AM) If you are rooting and flashing to a Custom ROM, most of the time, unwanted / unused Apps will be removed automatically by the creator. Thus, you do not need to worry about it. Hmm.. what if i just wanna remove the system apps? eg: Friendstream, plurk, RSS stuff etc.. and wanna retain stock HTC Sense? |
Oct 21 2010, 11:27 AM
Thanks guys for all the pointers!
Is it hard to pickup ADB? Any link/guide to learn ADB just for the sake of this system apps removal? |
Oct 25 2010, 09:45 AM
I had asked about assigning group ringtone earlier in this thread. Finally I found a solution for it and would like to share here.
There's an free app called "group ringtones" in the Market that can assign ringtone to each contact groups. At least now I feel the Androud phonebook is closer to what Symbian phonebook could offer me! (I still kinda miss Symbian for its better search name function..) |
Oct 26 2010, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(hazril @ Oct 26 2010, 02:43 PM) i've purchased already kingmax 8gb...planning to flash miui rom....now for my question : Whoa.. I'm still looking for a class 10 8GB MicroSD! May I know where did you managed to get it? and what price? PM me if you feel that's the better place. 1.should i just copy everything from my old card to the new card or do i need to create ext2 first and then only i copy all my stuff to the new card before flashing to a different rom? 2.whats the advisable size for ext2? 3.should i nandroid again using the new card?it will backup all the latest information in my phone right? do enlighten me on what & not to do...thanx alot... Had anyone here tried S-off HTC Desire? Which tool you used? I'm thinking of trying out AlphaRev's S-Off tonight.. Any other suggestion or tool to do S-Off? Hoping there's Unrevoked Forever but can't find the one for Desire GSM.. |
Oct 26 2010, 04:58 PM
I need the S-Off to get an app call Absolute System running in Desire, the apps could play around with system apps and change splash screens/fonts.
And i'm suspecting enabling S-off would make ad-block and busybox installer effective without much help of adb.. Will test this theory soon after i succeed in doing S-off! Still quite scared of bricking the phone.. |
Oct 26 2010, 11:20 PM
Guys I'm back with a Desire S-off using AlphaRev! I'm still using the stock HTC Sense and the whole process finish within 15 minutes!
And yes I can testified the following: - able to use AdFree effectively and smoothly without adb tweak. Previously before S-off would fail to update/implement or just reboot the phone. - able to install busybox using the busybox installer in Market. Previously before S-off would reboot the phone if click install. - able to remove system apps by just using Titanium Backup Pro! (removed Footprint and its widget and so far no ill effect noted). I believe Titanium Backup 'normal' version would be able to do the same job. No longer needing adb to remove! Previously before S-off would reboot the phone if try to uninstall system apps. But the bad news is I still can't get the Absolute System Root Tool up and running. Keep on force close on me. So I have yet to try out the function offered by Absolute System apps including changing the fonts, switch the splash screen, backups, add/remove apps etc.. Hope my info would be useful for those who are still like to use the stock HTC sense but at the same time wish to have the 'true' full rooted phone to tinker around more! This post has been edited by hakumiyashi: Oct 26 2010, 11:23 PM |
Oct 26 2010, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(hazril @ Oct 26 2010, 11:26 PM) sweet bro...!!! Paisie la Bro.. I'm also newbie in tinkering around Desire and still very new in this field of ROM/flashing. got a few question... i've downloaded jstyle miui,the sense animation and battmod circle...the question is i just flash all 3 files right? im still new in flashing so your guidance is highly appreciated... Better for you to throw this question to the open floor and let all the sifus here help us newbies! |
Oct 27 2010, 12:26 AM
If search hard enough.. can get 2nd hand Desire with extremely good condition from LYN here.. at good price too!
HTC android phones is fighting tough fight with iPhone and WM7 phones... |
Oct 28 2010, 10:29 AM
Juz to share with you guys my quick review on Absolute System Root Tool..
I've gotten myself installed Absolute System successfully with the version 1.1.5a. It has pretty high requirement to get running: Root, Busybox (I used 1.17.1 installed from Busybox installer) and S-off! I was glad to see it really has many functions that a rooted phone supposed to have..only for the 1st half an hour though. Later then I felt the overall interface is too slow and the functions are still kinda crude (eg: it has backup function but it doesn't show what it had backup and can be done only for "everything in one go")! I uninstalled it very soon after that.. I'll just stick to Adblock and Titanium Backup Pro for what's essential to me now. So if you really interested in having all the important root tool in 1 app then this might be a good choice. But would be good if can give the dev team more time to refine it for better user experience! |
Oct 28 2010, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(yeelong @ Oct 28 2010, 10:40 AM) Hallo all daiko and sifus, i bought a new 16GB MicroSD, do i need to do anything but just straight replace my current MicroSD? If you are using just on a stock HTC Sense then copy everything from the existing MicroSD you using (including hidden system files, just in case) to your new MicroSD. |
Oct 29 2010, 10:28 AM
Is there any way to get a "separate" A2SD+ to install into the HTC Sense?
Or A2SD+ only comes with custome ROM and no other way to put it into HTC Sense? |
Oct 29 2010, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(finalzz @ Oct 29 2010, 10:56 AM) i don't think there's other methods besides from rooting. besides, it's pretty safe i'd say. Yea I have done rooting and S-off on my Desire with stock Sense ROM.. Does that mean it would automatically has the A2SD+ capabilities? Eg: using Ext2 partition, Dalvik cache on SD card etc?do you guys transfer your widgets apps to a2sd? i tried it before last time and all my widgets decided to crash after my hooking up my phone to my computer |
| Change to: | 0.0198sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:56 PM |