HTC Desire Official Thread V6, FAQs on First Page (Froyo OTA for SEA!)
fonda82
Nov 30 2010, 09:22 AM

hi.. would like to ask.. i planning to buy a 2nd desire.. found a guy using iphone interface MIUI.. does this means its been root? n warranty oso void? any1 can help? advice? TQVM
fonda82
Nov 30 2010, 11:02 AM

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Nov 30 2010, 09:55 AM) Yes, the phone must be rooted in order to install MIUI ROM. In terms of the warranty, if it is direct warranty under SIS (So-called "Original" warranty), the phone will no longer under warranty once rooted. the guy claimed that i can root it back to default n claim sis warranty if anything happen.. is the miui rom ok? cz he's selling at a very attractive price.. tq
fonda82
Nov 30 2010, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Nov 30 2010, 11:18 AM) Technically speaking, once the phone is unroot back to its original state (By installing the original ROM), you should be able to claim warranty as there will be no track on the phone that it had been rooted before. MIUI ROM is one of the many custom ROMs out there, personally i would say it is still a good ROM if you can live without Sense. Since the phone is already rooted, you can always flash to other custom ROM if you found that MIUI is not suit to your usage and preference. oh.. tqvm for the info!! well i'm getting it very soon!!