HTC Desire Official Thread V6, FAQs on First Page (Froyo OTA for SEA!)

akachester
post Sep 22 2010, 11:20 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(vito @ Sep 21 2010, 09:43 PM)
to those that using data plan(3G), do you find the data bandwidth logged by 3G watchdog reliable? will it be the same as what Maxis (or other telco) is tracking?
Have 3G watchdog and NetCounter around and both of them reported roughly about the same bandwidth. So, i guess they are pretty much reliable.
akachester
post Sep 23 2010, 09:16 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

The new GMail, applicable to SEA units via Market without the Enabler?
akachester
post Sep 23 2010, 05:46 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Sep 23 2010, 05:41 PM)
I'm using OpenDesire now (after some bad experience with HDSense ROM), my wife's Legend is using CyanMod6

Both are great ROMs in my opinion, it takes some time to switch from Sense. For Desire users I think OpenDesire is better since it's an improved version of CM6 and it comes with A2SD+ smile.gif
I would personally pick CM6 over OD just because CM6 looks so much better in terms of customization and design compared to OD. OD is slightly better in terms of speed though and the last CM6 that i tried, it do have a battery problem where i am barely getting 1 day of battery life. Cyanogen did say 6.0.1 will solve the battery issue though but i never tested that.
akachester
post Oct 7 2010, 09:37 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Oct 6 2010, 10:06 AM)
anyone manage to change their pic on ebuddy?
I dont think you can smile.gif

Any idea whether Desire owners are getting the new Sense Experience? Saw those videos and they do look lovely.
akachester
post Oct 18 2010, 10:06 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Is it possible to warranty a Desire, if we dont have the shops official receipt and the SIS warranty card?
akachester
post Oct 18 2010, 11:43 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Oct 18 2010, 10:55 AM)
i registered mine online...scanned a copy of my receipt and send to warranty department via email...they said just bring a copy of the email they've send me saying my phone is successfully registered with them...
QUOTE(CKHong @ Oct 18 2010, 11:15 AM)
I registered mine online..
then i sent them an email asking how was my warranty ( cause i bought the phone from someone who wants the package and not the phone )
they said the warranty is done and it valid to 2 years..
they even send me a warranty card to my house..
now i got a warranty card which write my phone , imei no and the date of purchase  =)
Thank you so much for the reply smile.gif I just mailed SIS in regards to warranty claims and they say, if we have lost the proof of purchase, they will refer to the Manufacturer's Date as the start date of warranty. smile.gif
akachester
post Oct 18 2010, 04:49 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Trying to unroot a Desire using the RUU found in XDA. Keeping getting error 140 stating that my Bootloader version is incorrect and not compatible with the RUU. I wonder, is there any other bootloader version out there? I mean, this Desire is confirmed AMOLED and one of the first batch to arrive in Malaysia.
akachester
post Oct 18 2010, 06:40 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Anyone have any idea how do we unroot a Desire using GoldCard? Is there any step by step to it?
akachester
post Oct 18 2010, 09:45 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Oct 18 2010, 06:40 PM)
Anyone have any idea how do we unroot a Desire using GoldCard? Is there any step by step to it?
Just an update on this.

I have finally unrooted a Desire using the GoldCard. Wondering why it is using a slightly different RUU compared to mine. Both is SIS Malaysia warranty. Both is AMOLED set. Both bought around the same time (July & August). However, mine uses the RUU for WWE Asia, while another uses RUU WWE, non-asia version. smile.gif
akachester
post Oct 19 2010, 09:03 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Is there a way to change the region of the Desire? Is it possible to change from EU to Asia?
akachester
post Oct 19 2010, 10:23 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(tyja @ Oct 19 2010, 08:07 PM)
akachester,
do you mind to elaborate the step. we can use as a guide. anyway, my one is SLCD version, what is correct RUU?
SLCD version are said to use a different version of RUU. You need to check with the people at XDA developers cause AFAIK, most of them are for AMOLED version.

There was one guide that i came across that uses this AMOLED RUU to unroot, which will brick the phone (via GoldCard) and then, putting a SLCD update.zip file into the memory card to flash back. I am not too sure about the exact steps though because i don't have an SLCD version.

For AMOLED, this is what i did :

- I created a GoldCard using this steps here : http://www.roothtchero.co.uk/goldcard-2 (am not too sure whether it is needed for other machines or not but somehow, mine couldn't recognize it).

Basically for unroot, all you need to do is find your correct RUU file, click on it and it will be done directly. It happens that way on my AMOLED Desire. On my second AMOLED Desire, apparently it wont work. You will keep getting Error 140 / Error 131 which indicates "Incorrect CID" or "Incorrect Bootloader". I tested with most of the available RUU file and none could unroot back. Thus, after some research, some say i need a GoldCard which i created using the step in the source above.

- Then, i run either of these RUU file if you are ASIAN sets. (RUU_Bravo_HTC_WWE_1.21.405.2_Radio_32.36.00.28U_4. 06.00.02_2_release_126984_signed.exe, RUU_Bravo_hTC_Asia_WWE_1.19.707.7_Radio_32.36.00.2 8U_4.06.00.02_2_release_126179_signed.exe). Both source can be located here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=695667

- Click on both of them and they are bound to run after you have created a GoldCard. Let it complete and run it correctly. After that, you will unroot back.

Apparently, there was one problem i face is that if i use the HTC WWE version, i will get EU Firmware, instead of Asia. Even asking it to upgrade to FroYo, it will still be EU FroYo. And do realise, after you have RUU to a newer version, you cannot RUU back to an older version. So, keep checking the version you are sending. In the end, i fully updated it back to Asia Firmware by locating the RUU FroYo Asia WWE file from a friend and updating it. They are not available from the XDA forum so i do not know where he get the RUU. If you guys would want to search, locate this file name : RUU_Bravo_Froyo_hTC_Asia_WWE_2.13.707.1_Radio_32.44.00.32U_5.09.05.30_2_release_143921_signed. This is the exact file that i used and everything is fine after that smile.gif Hope this helps.

Edited : Found the link to the FroYo Asia file here : http://shipped-roms.com/download.php?categ...3921_signed.exe

For people that are interested to know the steps, look here. Great guys at XDA help me out there. Source : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=812895

This post has been edited by akachester: Oct 19 2010, 10:29 PM
akachester
post Oct 20 2010, 09:50 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(blurr33 @ Oct 19 2010, 11:40 PM)
if im not mistaken,for the RUU,anything above 2.0 shall be ok for slcd,but I havent tried it myself, so take it with a pinch of salt
This is a rough guide on what i found previously at HTC forum.

http://community.htc.com/na/htc-forums/and.../97/t/5905.aspx

I am not too sure about how this works so, some research at XDA is required before you try. In regards to the version, pretty sure you need to find an RUU file for HBOOT 0.83 if you are on SLCD or whatever HBOOT that you are running at the moment.
akachester
post Oct 21 2010, 10:02 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(hakumiyashi @ Oct 21 2010, 09:59 AM)
I am thinking of rooting the Desire to remove some unwanted system apps that took up the internal memory space (i only have around 40MB left.. )

Care to share any tips/guides/links on how to remove the system apps after rooting the Desire? and what are the system apps that should NOT be removed at all?
If you are rooting and flashing to a Custom ROM, most of the time, unwanted / unused Apps will be removed automatically by the creator. Thus, you do not need to worry about it.
akachester
post Oct 21 2010, 10:55 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Easiest way personally for me without learning all those ADB stuff is to locate those Online Kitchen to bake your own ROM exactly like how you want it to be. There is one at Modaco but of course, you will need to play to use that. Else, i remember seeing one at XDA developers. Search for that website and you can bake your own ROM.
akachester
post Oct 22 2010, 05:32 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

No paid apps on my Market though.
akachester
post Oct 26 2010, 12:20 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Is there Gallery3D on Asia OTA FroYo? Cant seem to find it.
akachester
post Nov 9 2010, 10:10 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Nov 9 2010, 09:45 AM)
how do i know if my desire has been rooted?

used unrevoked3 3.21 .... dun see any real difference ...

can i try to supervillain it now?

Added on November 9, 2010, 10:10 amdone revoked - there's a clockmod .. installing the super villain now ...
If you go to your application's menu, there will be a program called Superuser Permission. If you have that, you are rooted.

0.0373sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:29 AM