RTS War40K: Dawn of War Winter Assault / Dark Crusade, Official Dawn of War, M'sia Thread

H@H@
post May 19 2005, 12:40 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

Erm, could someone please post a link for the tournament? I have a friend who's interested, but according to him, the "state" level tourneys are over or something... Could someone clarify? Link at least...
H@H@
post May 19 2005, 02:02 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(king_kong @ May 19 2005, 01:22 PM)
this thread serves as a link for all other tournament information.

the Penang State Prelims are over, Sabah happens this weekend and Malacca in the following week but slots are already taken up.

So, last shot is the KL Preliminaries.

Players who qualify in the semi-s will get a cool prize each!
Okay... Mind giving out info on the Kl prelim then? When? Where?
H@H@
post Jun 8 2005, 06:31 PM

6,727 posts

Enough with the time-telling. Nobody's coming here for a time update (Right below your post date at that... heh) and this isn't Kopitiam. The schedule will be posted, when its posted. Yelling out the times isn't doing anything.

Further spam will be deleted and poster will be warned.
H@H@
post Jun 28 2005, 12:07 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(king_kong @ Jun 28 2005, 09:23 AM)
random is not allowed because it prevents others from seeing the other team. it's a standard rule followed by other RTS's like Warcraft 3.

team changing is allowed, as each race combination require different strategies to counter. startegy is the beauty of this game...
Actually, playing random *is* a strategy as you have the element of suprise. Your enemy will have to waste one unit at least to scout out what you are, thus wasting one worker that could be better spent doing something else. The downside to playing Random of course is that you yourself must be extremely familiar with all the races of the game.

And the WCG doesn't disallow Random race selection for both DoW and WC3. But then again, these are 1v1 games where team dynamics are non-existant. - Damn these crappy eyes!!! Sorry, for misreading.
EDIT #2: Ah, my eyes aren't that bad after all... DoW doesn't have restrictions on playing random races...

PS. One of the biggest reasons why nobody likes Random in DoW is that it totally scews any opponent that plays Eldar and if you end up with Ork, you're done for wink.gif

This post has been edited by H@H@: Jun 28 2005, 06:34 PM
H@H@
post Jun 28 2005, 06:49 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(king_kong @ Jun 28 2005, 09:23 AM)
team changing is allowed, as each race combination require different strategies to counter. startegy is the beauty of this game...
As much as I love DoW, that statement actually makes DoW look shallow and undynamic...

If strategy is indeed a key part of the game, no matter which race you use, there should be an adequate counter within that race, and not by using another race. Switching races would mean that you are admitting that some races suck against other races and such.

An example of how forcing players to use the same race focuses more on strategy:
In the first round, Team B beats the living crap out of Team A.
So, in the 2nd round, if the races are fixed, Team A will be forced to think of something radical in order to overcome Team B. If he's unable to form a strategy that is suitable to ensure victory, then the game is broken in terms of balance as the odds were stacked against A to begin with. But, if he manages to pull something out of the hat and take the victory, then it shows how good a strategist that player is and how incredibly deep and rich DoW is in terms of strategy.

Now, if both teams were allowed to change races for the 2nd round, this would mean that Team A could basically choose a new race (Which requires a different playing style as well as strategies) to counter Team B. This would prove that whatever race Team A was using earlier was indeed "weak" as they immediately changed race the next round as their previous race wasn't up to the task. This in effect, would show how the races in DoW have very limited and stale strategies which in fact isn't the case.

And echoing meneverlearn's statement, yes it may lead to abuse as teams will just make teams that counter the immediate opponents team and not have to worry about the competition on the whole.

Just my 2 cents.
H@H@
post Jun 29 2005, 12:28 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Ravana @ Jun 29 2005, 11:56 AM)
Winter Assualt will be out before WCG grandfinals in singapore, and from what i have heard from some of my online friends, there will be a patch for Dawn of War that comes with the expansion. So hopefully any outstanding issues will be resolved in time for grand finals.
I'm pretty sure they won't use whatever patch that comes out as its too near the competition for teams to adapt... Plus, the patch has to come out considerably earlier than the earliest prelims to allow teams to practice on it. You can't suddenly change versions after some teams have gone through certain stages of the competition.
H@H@
post Jul 12 2005, 08:06 PM

6,727 posts

IIRC, before the economic slump of 1998, expansion sets retailed at about RM40-RM60. Then after that it was RM60 - RM100 or so... In other words, the expansion sets usually cost about 60% of the original title.

So, RM50 would be a good deal for DoW...

Then again, Frozen Throne was sold at nearly the same price as the original (About 10-30 bucks difference only IINM) and ppl lapped it up.

Well, I'd probably get it anyway if you put it at the same price as DoW as its freaking cheap already. biggrin.gif
H@H@
post Jul 13 2005, 03:45 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Jul 13 2005, 01:49 PM)
why must the game traslated into BM??
stay with english ok la.

Its called localizing... That way, they can drop the price of the game seeing as it isn't the same as the American/Europe versions... Why? Because if they sold the American version at RM70 (About USD 20 only), lots of buggers would just import the damn thing back to the states and sell them at USD 40 (Which is still cheaper than the original price of USD 50) and make a profit doing so. So, by making "some" parts of the packaging in BM, ppl can't pull a fast one since its "localized" for us...

That's why Thailand can sell their games at such low prices (From what I heard, the game itself also is localized with Thai language instead of English, but I'm not sure about it)

H@H@
post Aug 30 2005, 12:07 AM

6,727 posts

Here's an interesting piece of trivial info regarding the music of Winter Assault. They're giving it a lot of TLC

H@H@
post Sep 5 2005, 08:35 PM

6,727 posts

I fail to see how the failure to localize this game is akin to killing this franchise... Frozen Throne wasn't localized and yet it sold like hotcakes.

The fact of the matter is, if you love this game, you'll buy it regardless of price (Do note, that this is NOT for publisher's who wish to pump their prices tongue.gif)... So, really, why are you guys b****ing so much?

If you're arguing that the original title, costs less than the expansion, then that's really too bad since its unavoidable... Then again, its still cheaper than buying other games+expansions which would be about RM250 (DoW + WA would probably cost about RM200 only assuming WA is sold normally)

I mean, did you guys love this game for the innovative and fun stuff they brought in, or just the fact that it was cheap?

I myself am still unsure as to getting this, I think I'll wait for reviews first.

Hunt: Just to clarify, DoW wasn't swapped with DotA... I mean, I think its despicable that DotA is even in the WCG, but it didn't take the place of DoW... DoW was dropped earlier and DotA was introduced later as part of the discussions between the Singaporean and Malaysian organizers.

H@H@
post Sep 6 2005, 12:12 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(redeye84 @ Sep 5 2005, 09:01 PM)
If DOW wasnt swap for Dota then why was DOW was remove in Msia WCG?
DoW was removed because of a lack of support. (Really, it was... ) Now, if you can honestly tell me with a straight face that you can get more ppl to join DoW than DotA locally, then I will concede my point. Like it or not, DoW is still a niche title locally, and unless you can get more mindless zombies to actually try something new (The only reason Warcraft 3 was so famous was simply because it was from Blizzard), you're never gonna get it mainstream... This is the fact of the Malaysian gaming industry, I've quit trying to introduce lesser known (But marginally better) titles to the masses already since its an exercise in futility since most gamers locally play what others play and not really for personal enjoyment.

H@H@
post Sep 7 2005, 11:44 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(redeye84 @ Sep 7 2005, 08:32 PM)
H@H@ why did u remove my DOTA example??
You made mention of a warez server for Warcraft 3...
H@H@
post Sep 8 2005, 01:36 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(redeye84 @ Sep 8 2005, 01:01 AM)
whats a warez server
A non-Battle.Net illegal server... Seesh.

Anyway, WA is n0w teh gOlDssss
H@H@
post Sep 22 2005, 12:33 AM

6,727 posts

First reviews are in from IGN and 1UP. Sounds pretty good. Thanks to Evil Avatar for the info.
H@H@
post Jan 31 2006, 03:51 AM

6,727 posts

Here's a little heads up for you guys...

Dawn of War is getting a new expansion!

Introducing 2 new races (One of which is the Tau), more missions, and maps, DoW is looking set to be one of the most heavily expanded RTS of all time.

Courtesy of Evil Avatar

0.0493sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:10 AM