Normal Price for Brake Pad, Vios owner come in

TSIcehart
post Sep 18 2010, 12:41 AM, updated 16y ago

14,899 posts

Hi there, my friend just bought his Vios to change his brake pad (Genuine Toyota Brake Pad) and the workshop charged my friend a total sum of RM 220 including labor.

Is this a fair price? hmm.gif

Also is Vios brake very complicated? It takes the worksman 1 hour to change a brake pad.

This post has been edited by Icehart: Sep 18 2010, 01:00 AM
xMika
post Sep 18 2010, 12:49 AM

我爱中島美嘉
1,553 posts

genuine parts are more pricey. Could be cheaper thou ...
TSIcehart
post Sep 18 2010, 12:54 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(xMika @ Sep 18 2010, 12:49 AM)
genuine parts are more pricey. Could be cheaper thou ...
Thanks for the input. How much cheaper can we go?
Also how long does it really take to change the brake pad for front side for an efficient and skilled man? hmm.gif
imperialrealcs
post Sep 18 2010, 01:43 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 18 2010, 12:41 AM)
Hi there, my friend just bought his Vios to change his brake pad (Genuine Toyota Brake Pad) and the workshop charged my friend a total sum of RM 220 including labor.

Is this a fair price?  hmm.gif

Also is Vios brake very complicated? It takes the worksman 1 hour to change a brake pad.
u can get performance one for a fraction of that price.. try http://www.rapidstopbrakepads.com
btw, vios brake is a simple mechanism..
WaCKy-Angel
post Sep 18 2010, 01:45 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Sep 18 2010, 01:43 AM)
u can get performance one for a fraction of that price.. try http://www.rapidstopbrakepads.com
TOYOTA FRONT

VIOS / ALTIS 1ST GEN 150.00 230.00 340.00
VIOS / ALTIS 2ND GEN 178.00 267.00 490.00

The price charged by Toyota seems fair..I believe this price excluding labour
imperialrealcs
post Sep 18 2010, 01:47 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

ever tried these pads?
stock brake pads from toyota is a joke compare to this.. tested on my avanza, big difference
TSIcehart
post Sep 18 2010, 02:26 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Sep 18 2010, 01:43 AM)
I don't know much about Vios, I feel that my friend kena parang already. I'm advising him to go for OEM brakes instead since they're pretty much about the same. Also, I couldn't believe it takes an hour to change brake pad for Vios because it only takes less than 10 minutes on my Kelisa. My friend says Vios is different because of the existence of ABS.. hmm.gif
imperialrealcs
post Sep 18 2010, 02:48 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 18 2010, 02:26 AM)
I don't know much about Vios, I feel that my friend kena parang already. I'm advising him to go for OEM brakes instead since they're pretty much about the same. Also, I couldn't believe it takes an hour to change brake pad for Vios because it only takes less than 10 minutes on my Kelisa. My friend says Vios is different because of the existence of ABS..  hmm.gif
ur friend is just saying for the sake of saying
ZeroSP
post Sep 18 2010, 03:07 AM

184 posts

Rapid Stop is real damn good... Experienced and never regret
tsg_7
post Jan 30 2014, 06:34 PM

2,223 posts

Hi guys, i just change my vios front brake pad and charged rm180 anf rear rm120.but that guy say original is green colour front and rear is black color.is it true???
davidlow7
post Jan 30 2014, 07:55 PM

StageMaster
8,306 posts

Take Bosch blue pad is just around RM50

Bendix General CT would cost <RM100, Metal King Titanium could be bought around RM100+

Workmanship to install is around RM20+-

*Front only.

This post has been edited by davidlow7: Jan 30 2014, 07:55 PM
tsg_7
post Jan 31 2014, 12:07 AM

2,223 posts

I scare im been cheated..i search online see original is black color.....apa mcm??
ckwhy
post Jul 1 2014, 05:34 PM

367 posts

Grand livina - how much for both front and rear brakepad?
Any recommendation of which brand?
JBSwagger
post Jul 1 2014, 06:46 PM

1 hour all 4 or 2 disc only?

Vios is God car so the price must be expensive but unsure about the time to do it also. Seems long to me, I change Wira disc all 4 also take 45 minutes (front 1.8 Wira disc and rear 1.6 MME Wira disc).

Maybe Wira cannot compare to God car.
harutooong
post Apr 6 2016, 02:31 PM

QUOTE(JBSwagger @ Jul 1 2014, 06:46 PM)

Vios is God car so the price must be expensive but unsure about the time to do it also. Seems long to me, I change Wira disc all 4 also take 45 minutes (front 1.8 Wira disc and rear 1.6 MME Wira disc).

just change vios front brake pad 4pcs RM293.00. less than 5mm
ZZR-Pilot
post Apr 7 2016, 09:42 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 18 2010, 01:41 AM)

Is this a fair price?  hmm.gif

My Sorento's front brake pads cost RM180 for Frixa brand. Not original.

Then Weng Heng tyre shop charged me RM50 labour to install it. Fifty fucking ringgit.

Yeah... go figure!!

So RM220 all in for a genuine set like urs is ok!

therain01
post Apr 7 2016, 10:06 AM

257 posts

Workmanship is normally rm20 for front brake pad if you bring your own brake pad.

Visited Subang 2 car care, Skc Tyre Shah Alam, and fineworks performance garage, all charge at rm20 only.

Fineworks performance garage has price listed in his website though.

Replacing front brake pad can go as soon as 10mins if mechanic is available. For rear brake pad it depend on how easy they could remove the drum cover because it is most of the time stuck.
Verticalclutch
post Apr 7 2016, 04:56 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(JBSwagger @ Jul 1 2014, 06:46 PM)

You seem retarded.

0.0220sec    0.94    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:26 PM