PC Audio Centrance DACport Review, The awesome lightsaber usb dac..

PcWork
post Sep 19 2010, 11:54 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(Leolabs @ Sep 18 2010, 10:30 PM)
Another asynchronous usb dac with separate usb controller(own firmware) and DAC.Similiar to Ayre Acoustics QB9,which is more expensive. cry.gif
this is using adaptive if i am not mistaken.

QUOTE(RyuKageX @ Sep 18 2010, 10:32 PM)
if im not mistaken, the centrance usb technology is used by benchmark and lavry among few others.
ya
lavry DA-11/DA-10 and benchmark DAC1 were both using the USB controller developed by centrance.
hence it can do plug and play without need of driver, yet supporting both window and macOS

PcWork
post Sep 20 2010, 03:18 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Sep 20 2010, 08:11 AM)
i consider ppk more neutral..
yeah i oso think ppk more neutral.
but ppk is amp alone. while Centrance DACport is DAC + amp.
which if u pair ppk with notebook built in soundcard. it can't fight centrance DAC at all.

PcWork
post Sep 20 2010, 06:38 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

it is indeed the most neutral pcs of DAC amp combo i ever heard.
imho it is better / similar to Pico range.
and the good part is, it don't have built in battery, it takes only USB power.
if that that into consideration, that DAC port is indeed the best in my mind.
but it has a little bit of mid coloration, and widen sound effect added to the sound.
and that's the part that it loss a bit to ppk in such sense.
however. it is still one of the best consider it's price, portability, convenient , and sound quality it offered. it indeed stand on it's own kind.

0.0171sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:35 AM