As nice at it seems, these players are really old and cannot afford to compete with the younger SC1 players, that is the reason they decided to switch to SC2.
SC1 pros coming to SC2 (recently JD), KESPA is screwed
Sep 17 2010, 02:18 PM
107 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
As nice at it seems, these players are really old and cannot afford to compete with the younger SC1 players, that is the reason they decided to switch to SC2.
Sep 17 2010, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 17 2010, 02:26 PM) if thats a valid reason, what makes you think they can survive against the younger generations of sc2? (notice that majority of SC2 players at GSL are REALLY young. one as young as 13 year old.) Because the younger players were never real progamers or either B-teamers that never made it big. Even at his twilight years, nada can still head to head with an average starcraft 1 pro with a decent chance of winning, but against the slightly above average players, he never really stood a chance. He'll still beat an average B-teamer without much effort though. |
Sep 17 2010, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 17 2010, 02:35 PM) a huge majority of the GSL players are progamers with valid contracts/sponsors. SC1 has the Korean Air sponsoring them at their back and the top player earned 500K USD$ (not including salary and advertising) this year due to his outstanding performance and what do you mean by odd/insane starts not viable in SC1, those SC1 progamers have easily 200+ to 400 apm average and can do what they want to achieve, its just that playing solidly without silly gimmicks proves to be better in so many ways. And whats with manually spider mining, it isn't even hard and even I can do it while managing my tanks and my econ at the same time my main point is still this: sc2 is the new game and is better than sc1 in so many aspects. one can argue that sc2 is easier to play with better AI and automations (like how workers are completely retarded in mining, or unit pathing/targeting) etc, however that in my (and many others and even the majority of progamers) opinion does not make the game any easier because instead of managing "trivial" issues, you can move on into dealing with greater strategic/tactical heights. many of the "odd"/"insane" strats you see in sc2 are not even "viable" in sc1 due to the nature of the game, be it the unit pathing, or even "not able to micro" because you're probably stuck at managing other stuff like manual spider mining in vultures for example instead of nowdays all you do is shift queue command. tldr: sc1 is old and people should move on already (which they are, and kespa is pretty much ggkthxbainore. You probably think starcraft 2 is doing well in Korea, that however is not the case as it did not even reach the top 10 charts (not even the top 20) and is even beaten by a Counter Strike clone called sudden attack and PC bangs in Korea are still filled with people playing every other game except SC2. Blizzard still has a long long way to go if they even want to make SC2 a successful E-sports and they just blew plenty of good choices they could have made when game was designed. This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Sep 17 2010, 04:11 PM |
Sep 17 2010, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 17 2010, 04:18 PM) thats all pretty much covered on that "scfacts.jpg" and yes i do know a bit of sc2 history with wiki pages/team liquid wiki/even natgeo covered it. Here's a list of reasons of what is going on with SC2 in Korea by a Teamliquid south korean veteran named Mr. Hoonfact: sc1 apm meters takes account into a lot of redundant movements while sc2 doesnt more facts: most pro korean sc1 players can achieve 400-500+ apm, even one guy (on youtube, cant remember him though lol) having as much as 800+ while for sc2, they only got 300-400+ maxed. some of them who transitioned from sc1 -> 2 also achieved lower apm, and as people did pointed out that apm thread - apm is not the be all end all in sc2. (it *could* be the case for sc1, however in sc2 it definitely isnt) so tell me, would manual spamming spider mines, as compared to sc2's intelligent casting/command queueing, which is easier? and which you may prefer? if you still stick with sc1, to each its own i guess. and no, i definitely did not think sc2 is doing better than sc1 in korea for many reasons. amongst them, no doubt, sc1 played an important role in reviving s.korea's dying economy way back in the 1990's, achieving its revered status, and of course lolkespa, which is pretty much dying now anyways. however, think about this: sc2 is already having the most prize pot in ANY esport game TO DATE (AFAIK, do correct me if im wrong. and the money http://wiki.teamliquid.net/starcraft2/GSL 170k with first place at 85k usd, nothing to date, again, afaik, is even close to that) . surpassing world of warcraft/warcraft3/ and of course, starcraft 1. that is something to think about. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Sep 17 2010, 05:16 PM |
Sep 17 2010, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 17 2010, 05:19 PM) you just posted someone's PERSONAL rant/opinion instead of a "list of reasons" and believe it or not, money drives esport, without money there is no esport. sc2 has the most of that. and heh koreans are computer illiterate. cant say i didnt got a good laugh out of that Watch from 2:10 Watch from 6:30 If you think money is what that drives esports, SC2 would still probably be behind as all proteams main players are payed a monthly salary, coupled with Korean Air + MBC game sponsors. (The last OSL was even played at Shanghai) You think you know more than a Korean that has been a moderator in teamliquid for more than 5 years? Think again. This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Sep 17 2010, 06:07 PM |
Sep 17 2010, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 17 2010, 06:13 PM) so umm, you realize that sc2 players are also contracted which also means having a salary on top of whatever they may earn in tournaments (namely GSL) just exactly like SC1, right? lol. Huge majority by you mean tester, Iron, Idra and all the retired gamers? They almost accomplished nothing in their SC1 career that's why?and no, i most certainly did not claim that i know more than a korean in regards to sc or sc2, however whats clear is that sc1 is old, and sc2 is slowly/eventually (but surely, as we can see in GSL, and a huge MAJORITY of sc1 players moving on to sc2 as their contracts expire) replacing it. and kespa is dying thanks to blizzard. let me ask you one golden question: if SC1 is such a godlike game and it supersedes sc2 in whatever fashion you are claiming now, why are you having that sc2 signature? why play something that isnt as good (sc1) ? Added on September 17, 2010, 6:13 pm well its not on tv, how can sc2 be successful? Here's Tester's SC1 track record All: 45-69 (39.47%) Here's Iron's Record (and yeah his real name is Jang Min Chul) All: 1-9 (10.00%) And Here's Idras Korean Record All: 2-4 (33.33%) You wonder why I'm playing SC2? Cause its a fun game? Yeah. Do I still play SC1? Yeah. Why I don't have a Iccup signature, cause I didn't make 1? If you think GSL is successful, just look at the crowd, its not even half of an average proleague audience. Both Nada and Julyzerg are burnout players, which basically means they have no more ability to compete with the average 20 year old player SC1 pro that probably is better than them in almost anyway. Switching to SC2 was not a bad choice for them, but the last time I saw their team sent them out for a proleague game was probably 1 year ago. This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Sep 17 2010, 06:28 PM |
Sep 17 2010, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 17 2010, 06:32 PM) GSL was so popular that the official stream limit for it exceeded within the first few mintues... Yeah and the fact that GSL is trying to kill the proleague as they are afraid of competition? Did you know that GomTV has been trying to forcefully shut down the proleagues recently? I'm just disgusted by the fact that so many SC2 players are blinded by the fact that Gretech does not care about SC1 at all. So popular that the official stream limit exceeded its limit? Of course it exceeded its limit, its free.not to mention thousands of viewers off various restream... This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Sep 17 2010, 06:46 PM |
Sep 17 2010, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 17 2010, 06:48 PM) - why blame gom tv when blizzard already ruled out that no sc1 leagues after august unless its authorized by them? - because gretech knows where to utilize its assets? eg: spending on a game that is current and not a game that is 12 years ago - his point was that many people are watching it, and if its exceeded limit, theres always re-streams. QUOTE so wut if it is free? it still measures the viewership... i dun remember the figures for the paid USD20 services but it was pretty damn high (almost enough to cover the prize pool)... tell me this, why WOULD U NOT WANNA KILL UR COMPETITION? welcome to the real world... Of course, it means nothing to you, you never played brood war neither did you ever watched BW pro-gaming, which I did from the start. If Brood War was never popular and well organised by Kespa, do you think there would be GSL today? |
Sep 17 2010, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 17 2010, 06:55 PM) and you KNOW i never played brood war nor have i never watched BW pro-gaming? wwwwwwwwwwwwwww Blah Blah move on? What about all those progamers that trained like mad just to master SC1? You expect them to just move to SC2?ah, the good old days of LAN (wwwww) and UDP packet bnet. it doesnt matter if kespa or god friggin made sc1 what it is today, it is CLEAR that Starcraft belongs to blizzard and they are free to do w/e the f*** they want with it and not what kespa claimed that sc is a damn football and it should be free. no blizzard NO STARCRAFT. end of story. point was CLEAR that its time to move on. be it from blizzard, or from the majority of CASUALS and FANS. or myself, or the people posting in this sub forum or even YOU, who plays SC2 I'm also pretty surprised that they just launched the tourney just for the sake of money without even patching the game 1st and developing a better map pool, it just seems unprofessional to me. This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Sep 17 2010, 07:07 PM |
Sep 17 2010, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 17 2010, 07:09 PM) why not? The difference is the last patch on balance that was ever needed for SC1 was already applied before SC1 progaming started, just look at the balance and players qualifying GSL now.its like in real life, a real job. a new software is released, employees are expected to adapt, or quit their job. apply this to sc1 and sc2. you either move on and adapt, or stay behind get taken over. you think RL would be so kind to wait for EVERYONE? oh hell no lol. then again i work in IT field, where its a battle field constantly as the market is too damn saturated lol. just like an engineer thats damn expert in windows XP. windows 7 is the current OS, and the company is moving forward for it. you think the company would not move on because their of their win xp pro engineer? no. the company would just reassign or fire that engineer, and hire someone thats pro at win7. thats a harsh reality of life. |
Sep 17 2010, 07:17 PM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 17 2010, 07:11 PM) At Ro32There are only 6 zergs, 15 terrans and 11 tosses made it through At the current state of the GSL, only a maximum number of 3 zergs will reach the ro16 coupled with the crappy maps. I'll say this GSL should have started after a few patches and a more balanced map pool. This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Sep 17 2010, 07:19 PM |
Sep 17 2010, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 17 2010, 07:22 PM) wut i mean is that the good sc1 players would be able to adapt into sc2... It's because its not played at a higher level, once better players play it, you can see the difference when imbalances come in. I'm not saying the zerg players are awful, its just that I believe they should have launched this competition a bit later. You do have to realized that they are giving lots of money for a competition which was one sided in the first place.i do agree about the terran imbalances when top the64 have mostly toss... but again, MLG and IEM is successful... in IEM zerg is 2nd and 3rd... QUOTE you wanna look back at SC1 vanilla way back when it was 2 months old? esport for sc1 doesnt even exist back then during that time ROFL. THATS your comparison Don't make silly comments, I don't respond to retards that post that way. |
Sep 17 2010, 07:32 PM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 17 2010, 07:29 PM) well did u watch cool aka fruitester's game yesterday? But you do have to note that both OGszenio and Idra did not make it leaves only 3 zergs left. Somehow, I knew Idra would never make it, he just has nothing a good player would show.he beat the terran so convincingly and made it to ro16... cool even said that idra is at the same level as him but 2 different playstyle... so IEM is still high lvl in my books... btw now check is doing very very well vs his terran opponent (justfake) who beat the escJung... This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Sep 17 2010, 07:34 PM |
Sep 17 2010, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 17 2010, 07:31 PM) if zerg suck, DONT play zerg. play another race and ADAPT. Did Blizzard launch a tourney for SC1 when it was launched? No? Why? Because of money, there was no esports that time.and hell, YOU'RE THE ONE thats been comparing BOTH GAMES till NO END when it comes to esport. and i make ONE comparison on that post and im suddenly a retard now? good going right thar take a pick: compare or not to compare sc1 and sc2. make up your damn mind. ps: you just responded to me anyways. Idra a good player? Come on, He's arrogant like anything. Thinks he all mighty and views himself as the best foreigner, and during the broodwar times he even boasted that he would take down a China zerg player in a clean sweep. Guess what, he got trashed pretty badly. After that game, all he made was excuses and wonder why he never made it into the CJ entus main squad for even a single appearance during his entire career as a progamer. And the thread title is also super misleading, Kespa is screwed....because Nada goes to sc2? This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Sep 17 2010, 07:46 PM |
Sep 17 2010, 07:56 PM
Sep 17 2010, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 17 2010, 07:56 PM) today's games pretty good especially hongunprime's one sided bashing of zenio... Hongunprime is pretty good as a toss player, I've seen many replays where he expands and gets delayed phoenix which in one case even catches check off guard. Do note that check was a pretty darn good WC3 player before he swapped games.known to have the superb PvZ its expected especially his phoenix control... |
Sep 17 2010, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 17 2010, 08:02 PM) check in ro64 played horribly LOL... The WC3 scene is pretty bleak right now, but I still respect the players a lot, many of them are moving to SC2 which I'm really kinda sad about it. btw check was the one who orchestra-ed idra's defeat... wc3 players are so boring... lots of all-in play into turtle... Grubby Commentates You can watch some recent good games here with grubby commentating. Here's and excerpt from Idra's match against random chinese dude QUOTE I'm very confident. Korean Zerg strategies are ahead of foreign Zergs by about 1-2 years, and foreign ZvT also develops very slowly. I think TvZ is my strongest matchup. I predict I will go 6-1 or 5-2; there are a few maps that are very suited to early rushes, very suitable to his [F91’s] style, so I might lose two games. He loses 5-2 and replies QUOTE why are you pretending you know anything about starcraft? raid assault is covered in narrow passages and high grounds and has a very short rush distance through the center, as well as high ground immediately outside the natural. it also has a total of 2 gas expos outside the mains and naturals, both of which are near impossible to defend vs drops. as such if zerg lets terran get into the mid/long game in good shape, they are going to lose. with 3 hatch the only real option is a 3 hat lurk ling allin to try to abuse the back way, thats quite risky in itself but he wasnt even going 3 hat lair. however, the natural and main are very far apart, there is a cliff over the natural, and the main's min line is backed up against water. this makes 2 hat muta exceptionally good. this means that an intelligent zerg will go 2 hatch, my build was designed to take advantage of that and so lost because he went 3 hatch. going 3 hatch is utterly retarded for the reasons i just explained so yes i did lose because he did something dumb. |
Sep 27 2010, 03:52 PM
| Change to: | 0.0261sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:54 AM |