8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Primitive Fish, Fish that survived Milleniums

[PIMPIN]
post May 26 2011, 12:01 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(kasturipurba @ May 25 2011, 11:38 PM)
people dont do any research before they get something to keep as pet, like gator gars, they will get huge, and by the time the 3ft tank cant fix them anymore, then they release them to the lake.. that's why all this happen..  nod.gif
Sometimes the LFS also don't educate the customers which is why in the US, people buy Giant Gouramis, Pacus, etc not knowing how big they will grow. But customers must also make sure they have all the information as well. Would you adopt a kid without knowing anything about him/her at all?

The practice of releasing into the local waters is the main reason why fishes like these are banned. It's the fault of those who were in over their heads and did not have any other option short of killing the fish.

QUOTE(LeeChiaHow @ May 25 2011, 11:45 PM)
If its already happening,my hopes for cuban and trops are gone  cry.gif
What if they don't ban the fish but issue permits to those that can house them properly? o.o
I think some LFS still have existing stock, plus I don't know if banned for sure but I do know there aren't as readily available now as they were before.
[PIMPIN]
post May 26 2011, 12:27 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(LeeChiaHow @ May 26 2011, 12:09 AM)
Keeping big fish in small tanks is too common
My friends are keeping rtc,tsn and giga's in 10 gallon tanks and they say that they'll just stunt the growth so they don't need an upgrade even after I've told them a million times.Some people just wont learn  shakehead.gif

You've seen shops with cubans and trops?
I saw what might have been a Cuban, it was the fairest whitest Gar I've seen about 6in long at this small fish shop in Centrepoint BU. Could be another type of Gar. Was just last week.
[PIMPIN]
post May 26 2011, 04:51 PM

325 posts

Well the real enforcement will happen on the suppliers/retailers end I suppose. There is no practical way for the government to do anything about the fishes already in the hands of private owners.

Take the case of the hornbill (or whatever bird that was) in Sarawak where owners had a period of amnesty whereby they could surrender their pet with no legal repercussions. That's for an animal native to that part of the world. The fishes we're discussing for the most part aren't native so there is no reason for confiscating aside from destroying the animals.

Added on May 26, 2011, 4:53 pm
QUOTE(LeeChiaHow @ May 26 2011, 12:31 AM)
What was the price? tongue.gif
Cubans should be a light olive green at that size
whats the address of the shop? biggrin.gif
I might be going down to KL next week
Its the only pet shop in Centrepoint bro. Ground floor.

This post has been edited by [PIMPIN]: May 26 2011, 04:53 PM
[PIMPIN]
post May 27 2011, 02:48 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(LeeChiaHow @ May 26 2011, 09:20 PM)
only one left? price? tongue.gif
Under RM50 for sure bro. I'm not sure if its still there lah but if I have time tomorrow I may drop by and check it out, let you know.
[PIMPIN]
post May 27 2011, 06:42 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(LeeChiaHow @ May 27 2011, 06:29 AM)
Under RM50 then cannot be a cuban I think,because cubans go for at least RM300 from what I've heard smile.gif
I don't know bro, I was there very briefly. I just passed the tank, saw this really white Gar and a price written there (I suspect its for the Gar) and got what I came for - feeders. In and out, 3 mins heh. smile.gif
[PIMPIN]
post May 27 2011, 09:34 PM

325 posts

But that doesn't mean they wouldn't appreciate as large an enclosure as possible. I think yours works out to about 50,000 liters or just over 11,000gallons. Have you figured out your filtration system?
[PIMPIN]
post May 28 2011, 02:38 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 28 2011, 12:53 AM)
Thx lee. Glad to hear they don need very deep water.

Thx pimpin. I understand the bigger the better but that's the max size I can do for them. That's why I intend to buy the babies and slowly see them grow, not that slow I know.

Well, haven't figure our filtration but am thinking to engage a contractor for that. Any suggestion for it? Brand of filtration and so on?
Actually you're giving them what 99% of all Arapaimas will never ever be able to provide for them so don't sell yourself short. Don't believe me? Go on MonsterFishKeepers and see how many even have half of that.

I don't think the filtration system for something of this magnitude is something that you should attempt to DIY (unless you or your family are contractors heheh). I've actually considered repairing one of my concrete ponds in the Perlis house (nearly 20yrs don't know how badly cracked it is down there) and redoing it properly with tiles, real proper filtration system such as bottom drains every 10-12sq ft etc but the cost is a bit too prohibitive. The dimensions are very similar to yours only marginally bigger wider and slightly deeper.

And since it was an L-shaped pond, I just thought how about if one part of the L-shape is like a river with proper outlets shooting out water to mimic a river while the other shorter leg of the L can be 'stagnant' water sort of setup. A bit ambitious so decided to go straightforward pond build and asked my cousin who does construction. Basically, to do this sort of sized pond and do to do it properly would be equivalent to building a swimming pool so I'd say on the low end 75k but closer to 100k would be my guess.
[PIMPIN]
post May 28 2011, 03:14 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(LeeChiaHow @ May 28 2011, 03:00 AM)
Not just private fishkeepers,how many public aquariums house their arapaimas in 15k gallon + setups? Maybe a handful of them
Arapaimas actually do quite well in mud ponds without any filtration,so you can try digging one but the visibility will be very bad though :/
Actually for public aquariums 15k gallons is nothing really. But if its just purely for Arapaimas then a tad silly lah.

Of course the Arapaima will do well in mud ponds, so do Koi for that matter but how to enjoy the fish? Luckily the pond where my Gars will be joining my RTCs and Sterlets is a continously cycling pond - all natural, no filtration biggrin.gif
[PIMPIN]
post May 28 2011, 04:04 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(LeeChiaHow @ May 28 2011, 03:32 AM)
I was thinking a amazon river setup like the one on MFK  brows.gif
What the temp. of your pond water? how big are the sterlets,never seen them for sale here for a few years already
Sterlets when put in were quite small, probably 5-6in in a 2000gal space of pond about a month ago. Haven't been to that house lately, my parents were there yesterday but forgot to ask them to check and now they've gone to their other house which has several ponds as well but nothing of interest to me since my Dad stocked them with keli for food only.

Water temp? Hahahah ask ggMing. He's been there several times in fact he released the Sterlets into the pond for me. He should have a better idea of the range of temperatures since he released the Sterlets at night and then the next day he happened to 'swim' in the water LOL rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by [PIMPIN]: May 28 2011, 04:04 PM
[PIMPIN]
post May 28 2011, 06:00 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(LeeChiaHow @ May 28 2011, 04:57 PM)
Will sterlets survive in a tank without a chiller but with more air pumps for increased aeration? hmm.gif
Ideally they would need colder water, but if you can't incorporate a chiller into your setup then I suppose aeration is the next best thing. My water is already cold naturally which is why I bought the Sterlets. If I couldn't house them properly I wouldn't have taken on the responsibility.
[PIMPIN]
post May 29 2011, 11:27 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 29 2011, 11:23 PM)
Ohh...they do take pellets as well...isee...i thought they will only take live food. What is mp ?

Pardon my many noob question.
I'm guessing market prawns? Anyway, if you do decide to go with live food which I firmly believe in then try to ensure its from a reliable source. I've bought hundreds of feeders from ggMing and not a single one died while in their feeder tank. But once they're in the pond its tilapia all the way. But to me, its important they never ever rely on me to feed them because once they're in the ponds, they'll have to hunt themselves although feeder tilapias will be stocked.
[PIMPIN]
post May 30 2011, 01:36 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 29 2011, 11:39 PM)
Hi Pimpin,

Whos is ggMing ? A fellow forummer here?

I understand what you mean, i would want my pair to hunt for their own food as well just as per nature. Tilapia sounds good. How about cat fish ?
ggMing posts under Fins_and_Greens

Jason Pang
016 - 222 777 2
Fins & Greens Aquatics
18, Medan Hujan Rahmat
Overseas Union Garden
58200, Kuala Lumpur

Catfish should be fine as well, depends on what is readily available wherever you're located. Some people use snakehead fry even.

This post has been edited by [PIMPIN]: May 30 2011, 01:37 AM
[PIMPIN]
post May 30 2011, 02:23 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(LeeChiaHow @ May 30 2011, 10:07 AM)
Live food is too expensive over here,I can find any fish farms that sell catfish or tilapia fry
Where are you located bro? Live food seems to be the cheapest form of food in my case. Definitely not massivore or whatever premium food.
[PIMPIN]
post May 30 2011, 06:23 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(LeeChiaHow @ May 30 2011, 02:58 PM)
Penang,tilapia fry cost me 50cents each and catfish fry cost RM1 each and my fish
RM40 worth of tilapia can only last me 1 day but a bag of hikari foodsticks and tetra monster pellets can last me a month smile.gif

Added on May 30, 2011, 3:02 pmforgot to add that I only feed on alternate days,once evry 2 or 3 days for fishes over 30cm
Those under that size get to eat every day,except for my ATFs that get free flow feeders tongue.gif
Bro, tilapia fry is like RM0.04 each or something lah. Where got 40cents. You must buy in bulk, 5000 ekor is only how much.. cheap what.. they grow fast and breed ridiculously fast..

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 30 2011, 05:16 PM)
Thanks Pimpim for the info. I heard there is pet expo coming up in MidValley this weekend. Hoping to see some big fishes there.

Lee, can you show me your setup for your arapaima ? Pimpin as well? It will be helpful for me. Thanks in advance and please, no hurry and no obligations. Only if you guys are comfortable.
My Arapaima aren't in ponds yet. In fact, I've got 3 ponds semi-finished atm. MFK seems to be down at the moment. Or did you want to see the ponds in person? I don't have all the ponds from all the houses pictures because not all houses I spend time in and some haven't been for years.
[PIMPIN]
post Jun 2 2011, 02:30 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(EuJax @ May 30 2011, 05:16 PM)
Thanks Pimpim for the info. I heard there is pet expo coming up in MidValley this weekend. Hoping to see some big fishes there.

Lee, can you show me your setup for your arapaima ? Pimpin as well? It will be helpful for me. Thanks in advance and please, no hurry and no obligations. Only if you guys are comfortable.
Here are some of my ponds, not every single pond as there are at least two mud ponds (one over quarter acre easily) and two concrete ponds (one small, the other 40,000gal). If and when I do go to those houses, I'll get pictures. Sorry about the quality of the pictures but I don't own a camera blush.gif

http://www.monsterfishkeepers.com/forums/s...f-Nothingness-(

QUOTE(EuJax @ Jun 1 2011, 07:49 PM)
Hi guys, I am suddenly craving for Arapaima! anybody have any photos to share? Would greatly appreciate...

Will try to look for fins & greens this weekend...hope I can find it.
Regards
You want to go this weekend? Call me, we'll meet up somewhere and I'll guide you there. Or if you're feeling adventurous just try Google Maps or something like that and you'll find it. Very easy, got 4D/Magnum shop on one end and tire shop on the other. Just after the market/snooker center in OUG. It's basically the row of shops facing the houses. If you can find Steven's Corner, you can definitely find FnG. My car is almost always parked outside haha. Landmark also tu..

QUOTE(EuJax @ Jun 1 2011, 11:55 PM)
Hi lee, that is just lovely and what I needed! Temporary satisfaction for me until I get mine.

Now the question is, how slow can it be for an arapaima to grow in say 2 years? From a small 6 incher perhaps? My new pond will not be ready in at least 2 years but I really want to start keeping one now. So trying to gauge the timing before it outgrow the aquarium. I only have space for an 2 1/2 feet aquarium now.

Meanwhile, anybody else, keep the photos coming.
I suggest you get the ponds ready first. Sort of like what I'm doing now. No point having the fish when you don't already have its home for life ready especially given its rapid growth. For a 6in fish, in 2 years can only fit in you aquarium if you bend it in half hahah j/k

But seriously, they grow FAST.

Added on June 2, 2011, 2:38 am
QUOTE(EuJax @ May 30 2011, 11:22 PM)
Pimpin, I dont mind to see it in person of course provided you are comfortable with me coming to your place. Otherwise i'll just wait for photos, no hurry as the house will not be up anytime soon. Have a long time to go, just doing my research early and hope to start with small monster fish in aquarium, for experience sake, before putting them in that pond.

What are good to share the same pond with Arapaimas? I usually see some giant catfish or gar. And Fly River Turtles smile.gif
Yeah, sure one of these days. Perhaps we can meet up at Fins and Greens this weekend. For all you know, you can't stand me in person rclxm9.gif

Ultimately, I plan to have Arapaimas, Gars, RTCs and Sterlets all together in one pond. Massive amount of tilapia feeders so that there is no reason for them to attack each other. The Sterlet has the slowest growth but I don't foresee any problems as they are now with RTCs double their size and no problems so far.

Fly River Turtles is one thing I don't have but past couple weeks have been reading up on them. I like the fact they're pretty much aquatic turtles but the pond I have in mind might not have sufficient direct sunlight and being reptiles, I don't know if they need to be in the sun to regulate body temperature or whatever.

ggMing - FRT boleh source or not? For me sure can source anything right rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by [PIMPIN]: Jun 2 2011, 07:14 AM
[PIMPIN]
post Jun 2 2011, 07:11 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(3scamry @ Jun 2 2011, 12:33 AM)
This is a great thread .... love it ...... Here's my fishies ...  biggrin.gif

Nice, what do you feed those paddlefish? And what are your plans once they've outgrown that enclosure?
[PIMPIN]
post Jun 2 2011, 10:12 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(EuJax @ Jun 2 2011, 06:20 PM)
3scamry, thanks for the video. Nice collection of fishes.

Pimpin, i think i know where steven corner is, somewhere that the pasar malam is held right? So the shop is around that area isee. I am not sure of when i'll be going but definitely want to make a visit this weekend. PM me your number perhaps ?

Look forward to meet Jason as well. Cheers.
Add me on FB lah, razlan.radzi@gmail.com
[PIMPIN]
post Jun 3 2011, 04:02 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(akidos @ Jun 3 2011, 12:36 AM)
my araipaima committed suicide by jumping out. And from stories i heard, If ur arapaima is big - u better cover with a huge / heavy wood to prevent them from breaking the cover and jump out.

But sturgeon on the other hand ..  I nvr seen them jumping.
Maybe they knew you were going to end up selling them so they decided to speed up the process of separation tongue.gif
[PIMPIN]
post Jun 3 2011, 07:32 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(fedoracore @ Jun 3 2011, 05:47 AM)
hi,can someone recommend me just the place to order custom size tank with affordable price or cheaper within the klang valley?
Dimensions?
[PIMPIN]
post Jun 3 2011, 11:10 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(byakuya8283 @ Jun 3 2011, 10:24 AM)
how much
Apparently in an LFS in Kota Kemuning, they're going for RM200+

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0590sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:52 AM