6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Primitive Fish, Fish that survived Milleniums

L3()nZ
post Jan 20 2012, 12:56 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(beawolf64 @ Jan 18 2012, 03:41 PM)
does anyone here interested on Betta Channoides?i have 1 pair to let go..got many free stuff too...
just pm me if interested
PM me~im interested.

Added on January 20, 2012, 12:58 am
QUOTE(Yeobster @ Jan 19 2012, 11:16 AM)
hi all, im new in this hobby. lots of info i get from u guys  rclxms.gif thanx a lot guys.
all ur collection are fantastic. really hope 1 day i can have more cooler fish like u guys.

btw just share my humble collection:

1st tank (2.5ft):
- 1 spotted gar (10")
- 1 hujeta gar (5")
- 1 peacock bass (7'")
- 1 channa micropeltes (6")
- 1 channa marulioides aka toman bunga (6")
- 2 tor tambroides aka local red kelah (3" and 4")
- 2 thailand blue mahseer aka kelah biru (both 6")
- 1 tiger shovelnose cat (6")
- and 1 common black pleco (5")

2nd tank (2ft):
- 2 Endlychery bichir (5" and 6")
- 1 Senegalus bichir (5")
- 1 Albino Senegalus bichir (4")
- 1 Marble Goby aka ketutu (3")
- 1 Red Tail cat (4")
- 1 Leopard cat (3")-->lfs guy said so...hahaha
- 2 clown fish (both 2")
- 2 blue clown fish (both 3")
- 2 Probarbus Jullieni aka temoleh (3" and 4")
- 1 Siamese Tiger Datnoid (4")
- 2 Black Ghost Knife (both 5")
- and 1 common pleco

3rd tank (1.5ft):
- 1 Australian Pearl arowana aka Scleropages jardinii (4")--> Cricket lighter size..  tongue.gif
- 2 small common pleco

4th tank (1.5ft):
- used to be my quarantine tank but now accommodate 4 climbing perch aka puyu (4" to 7").
adopt them from a fren since he want to cuci tangan and now i  rclxub.gif donno where to put them.  doh.gif

so guys that's all my collection so far. hope all sifu here can give tunjuk ajar.
thanx.  smile.gif
Wow bro that's alot of fish~ and u manage to list them all out. Great job thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by L3()nZ: Jan 20 2012, 12:58 AM
L3()nZ
post Jan 29 2012, 08:19 PM

31 posts

I need someone to adopt my oscar fish. Anyone interested? moving out soon, so ve to get him a new owner.
L3()nZ
post Jan 30 2012, 02:28 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Yeobster @ Jan 30 2012, 12:33 AM)
Hey L3()nZ...i got room for ur oscar..sure can adopt him.  smile.gif
How big he is?
Hi, he is about 9cm. smile.gif
L3()nZ
post Feb 9 2012, 07:52 PM

31 posts

hi, anyone has any 2.5feet tank to let go? i would like to adopt one at my hostel:)
L3()nZ
post Feb 22 2012, 02:53 AM

31 posts

anyone knw whr i can customize 2x2x2 tank in KL? cheap ones...need a one for my fish urgently.
L3()nZ
post Feb 27 2012, 09:34 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Feb 22 2012, 01:50 PM)
Try sg buloh.. Bought a 4 feet tank with stands, filters the whole set for RM400. They custom make aquariums as well.
Thanks bro. Yea just got my tank ordered rclxms.gif

Some updates from my Six footer~ hehe. Just removed the black background. Gonna re install it with a new one soon. More fishes will be added into the tank soon. Some Rays are coming~~ rclxms.gif Give some comments~
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by L3()nZ: Feb 27 2012, 09:39 AM
L3()nZ
post Feb 27 2012, 11:52 PM

31 posts

Next project is a 10 footer tank. Still in progress of setting things up.
L3()nZ
post Feb 29 2012, 09:26 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Yeobster @ Feb 29 2012, 03:53 AM)
nice tank L3()nz....i want it too.. drool.gif .hahaha..
QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Feb 28 2012, 08:50 PM)
That tank.............I want it.  drool.gif
hehe Thanks guys biggrin.gif
L3()nZ
post Mar 2 2012, 12:46 AM

31 posts

Some of the fishes which i am keeping at my hostel~ haha

L3()nZ
post Mar 3 2012, 12:12 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Devillsin @ Mar 2 2012, 06:49 PM)
guys how much do datnoids cost roughly ?
you referring to IT, NTT, NGT or CT?? Price ranged from 30-3xxx. Depends on species.
Normal IT= Indonesia Tiger cost about 30+ for 3-4inch
NTT= northern thai tiger cost about 40+ for 4inch
NGT= new guinea tiger cost about rm220-300 for 8-10cm
CT= Cambodia tiger too rare to get in malaysia. Cost more than 100-500usd.

Haha hope this helps. But this is just from local fish shop price list. Might be different at other place.
L3()nZ
post Mar 5 2012, 01:57 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Yeobster @ Mar 5 2012, 01:30 AM)
is that your definite answer?hahaha...
Hehe maybe this can help abit to identify the tigers. Got this from my fren's web. Hope can help abit.

Also known as Thinbar Datnoid/Tiger, North Thai Tiger, NTT. They can be found generally in Asia and around the Mekong basin.

This species typically has 6 bars or stripes, consisting of a curved bar through the eye, three thin body bars, and two tail stripes or bars. As the common name suggests the bars or stripes on this species are relatively narrow in comparison to other Datnioides. Dorsal spines (total) 12, dorsal soft rays (total) 16-19, anal spines 3, anal soft rays 10-11.

Shape of Body
The second biggest body size compare to other datnioides. The shape of body is more rectangular and slender as compare to the Siamese tigerfish.

Pattern/ Stripes
The species is distinguishable by its regular color pattern consisting of 7 bars on the body.
1. Face stripes
- A single arrow shape stripe cutting through the eye as shown in the diagram.
- It is common for the top tip of the stripe to link to the 1st bar.
2. Bar 1
- Stripe 1 usually runs from the nape or backside of the neck through the opercle onto the thoracic region and across the ventral surface of the body.
- It’s quite common to for indo tigerfish to have full neck rim.
3. Bar 2,3,4 (Body Bar)
- The body stripe 2 and 3 are usually same in thickness. The stripe will slowly tapered as they grown.
4. Bar 5,6,7
- For most indo tigerfish, that’s the tell tales sign that it’s an 3 strip indo tiger fish compare to a Siamese.
- In some case, you will still be able to find Siamese tiger with indo tiger tail pattern.

Color
Stripes on the Indonesia tiger fish are not as prominent compare to Siamese tigerfish. However, if the environment is right, the color and contrast of the Indonesia tigerfish can be as striking as the pulchers. Usually, if within the community tank consist of too many fast swimming fishes or territory fishes, the tigerffish will be frightened easily and the color will be faded. In some cases, the datnoid will hide in a corner and turned charcoal black, only to swim out when feeding time.
L3()nZ
post Mar 6 2012, 01:29 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Yeobster @ Mar 5 2012, 01:18 PM)
hahaha...good to know that..now its clear. thanx also to L3()nZ for ID.
No problem bro. Hope we all share and learn tgt. rclxms.gif

Hehe finally got my 2 x 2 feet tank up and ready for setup. Just ve to wait for my canister filter to arrive tomorrow~ hehe
L3()nZ
post Mar 6 2012, 04:39 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(byakuya8283 @ Mar 6 2012, 11:11 AM)
hai bro ur motoro ray look so skiny....d ray dun want to eat ahh
Yea the female ray is very skinny when I got her. She just arrived my place for one week. But the male one looks better. So far her diet is alright. I feeding her with live shrimps. Hope she will slowly get b her shape....will move them to a new tank and by then will start to pump them with sotong haha
L3()nZ
post Mar 7 2012, 12:41 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Yeobster @ Mar 6 2012, 09:44 PM)
cool..pump her with sotong!!!sliced or 1piece?
sliced into pieces. As they are still small.
L3()nZ
post Mar 7 2012, 07:44 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Yeobster @ Mar 7 2012, 02:02 AM)
well cool...nway how do u feed your bichir?im having problem to feed them after putting sand bed into the tank. previously they feed on small feeder n sinking pellet..now having problem to catch small feeder as the feeder so much faster than they are..and having dificulty to find pellet in the sand.
They accept slice meat too. Or small fish as well. I feed them with some mealworms too. If catching feeder is a problem for them, maybe u have to increase the amount of feeder u give for every meal. When the number is more, chances of them catchin the prey will increase:)
L3()nZ
post Mar 9 2012, 09:24 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Yeobster @ Mar 9 2012, 08:58 PM)
thanx bro..now they have other prob..attacked by alli gar..have to move them to other tank..  sad.gif
How big is ur alli gar? i am also keeping mine with one alli gar. But at the moment the alli is much more smaller then them.
L3()nZ
post Mar 15 2012, 09:40 PM

31 posts

Saw this weird looking polyp...it reminds me of crown tail betta.
L3()nZ
post Mar 17 2012, 04:50 PM

31 posts

I dunno wat sp it tat. It's natural, all the fins are like this. I heard it's bcz of close blood line in breeding.
L3()nZ
post Mar 18 2012, 11:24 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Yeobster @ Mar 18 2012, 12:45 AM)
cool..take a good care of him bro..we love to see him in future.
He is abit weak. Hope that he can survive.

Added on March 18, 2012, 11:29 amuser posted image
Sharing my wild caught Six barred tiger aka AT(american tiger) hehe

This post has been edited by L3()nZ: Mar 18 2012, 11:29 AM
L3()nZ
post Mar 20 2012, 11:18 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Mar 20 2012, 02:32 AM)
guys, what to feed baby indon tiger about 1 inch. i try to give prawn but seem not suitable.
Red Worm, and baby guppies.

Added on March 20, 2012, 11:27 pm
QUOTE(looseand @ Mar 20 2012, 12:18 AM)
SpoonBill. One of the prehistorical fish. A true monster fish. They are like sharks, they move and circle for thier whole life. Never stopping. You will need a huge tank with round edges or u will notice the snout tip will be hurt due to impact on the glass edges. They are like whale shark, as in the wild they feed on plankton and tiny water creatures. As from the ur picture, you can see he is opening it's mouth. Sucking all the things in his way and trap them in his "web filter" features. So as far as i know, only one farm in malaysia is breeding this fish. And only the spoonbill from them can survive and grow to 3-5 feet. As fishes from the farm are trained to feed on pellets. Unlike those which our LFS imports...Feeding will be a problem if you get what i mean. They are cold water fishes. And scaless too. So basically these fish are a good challenge.

Leaf fish, i have seen some nice stock recently in KL. If you need some, just pm me. I let you knw which LFS is selling.

This post has been edited by L3()nZ: Mar 20 2012, 11:27 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0598sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:18 PM