8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Primitive Fish, Fish that survived Milleniums

[PIMPIN]
post Jan 27 2012, 12:01 PM

325 posts

Here is my grow out pond for now. The final home has been completed 40'x30'x8' I estimate however nowhere near ready for occupation because I want a couple of rainy seasons to pass before I'm confident the riverbank will hold the water weight. Then I'll drain the pond (now mud) to line it with HDPE pond liner and the filtration of the already clear river water will be purely mechanical filtration in what I estimate is 8'x10'x4' pond which will contain brushes and sponges. Should result in a fairly clear pond despite everything being natural (ie: no pumps etc). However, would need to run a few more PVC pipes upriver (now 1.5km upstream to supply enough water pressure and also add more bottom drains but that'll come with the HDPE pond liner. All this will happen probably next year depending on how fast fishes grow and of course monsoon season timing.

For now, the growout pond which uses river water cycled 24/7 using natural water pressure and no filtration whatsoever. That Gar is about 3' long and the Arapaima not far behind in terms of size however since it lost its mate, I notice a drop in appetite which I hope won't impact growth.

Another picture of the latest addition to my pond which really was a rescue when the owner could not maintain the fish so I took him in. Second Gar I've rescued in this way. If there are owners out there who are out of their depth (not that I'm a pro or whatever but I'll do my best) let me know and I'll take in your fish but don't expect me to buy them and house them for life - sorry but I'm doing most a favour to be honest.

Yes, this is the staple diet of the monsters. Some people buy these to keep but mine end up as food.

The river which provides the water for the three ponds I have at this particular house.

[PIMPIN]
post Jan 31 2012, 11:28 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(Einjahr @ Jan 27 2012, 12:11 PM)
hey thats sweet! thanks for posting pictures... ive always wanted a natural setup, but still couldnt get around the pond-without-a pump setup.. unless its big enough.

youre so lucky to have a natural water source, no pumps, no filtration needed... just make sure no gars escape though  laugh.gif
Thanks for the kind words. So far so good, the Gars are well behaved and none of the fishes mind it when the water is dropped really low to clean the pond and they're OK with us being in their pond. Not sure how this will change as they grow in size BUT my dream is to swim with them so I guess time will tell.

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Jan 27 2012, 01:08 PM)
Cool! Where's ur house? Janda baik? Ur really lucky.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks bro, yes its in Janda Baik. We're pretty much where the river begins to join civilization meaning no other properties upriver besides us. The river runs for approximately 200m through the property, initially was a stream as deep as your knees/calves but we've deepened it to 8-12ft depending on which stretch of the river.

This does not affect downriver as once the river passes our property, the depth has been returned to how it was before by using rocks, etc as barriers/natural dams.

QUOTE(Yeobster @ Jan 27 2012, 03:55 PM)
notworthy.gif PIMPIN ! always want the house by a river or lake...huhu Janda Baik?
Been there for a camp and the scene are very cool...a lot of houses nearby river...
good place to put kelah as water temp just nice for them!  thumbup.gif
Yup, lots of nice 'weekend getaways' in Janda Baik especially past few years which has led to skyrocketing prices - last we heard about RM600k per acre which was offered to us by one of the local residents. Even Hulu Langat where we maintain another house is also going up in price hovering about RM400k per acre depending on where exactly it is. I've got four ponds there, multi storied but water comes from the Ampang (?) water reservoir some 4-5 kms through the jungle via PVC pipes.
[PIMPIN]
post Feb 13 2012, 10:09 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(wmun @ Feb 13 2012, 04:06 PM)
All sifu
where can i find the catfish Brachyplatystoma juruense( flash zerba)
I believe Nilufar in Scotts Garden on Old Klang Road had one for sale?
[PIMPIN]
post Feb 15 2012, 05:14 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(wmun @ Feb 14 2012, 11:16 AM)
Thank so much for share the info: PIMPIN...
No worries. Did they still have it though? Would feel bad if you went and they didn't have the fish blink.gif
[PIMPIN]
post Feb 27 2012, 08:55 PM

325 posts

Wow, call me if your fishes grow too large for your aquarium.
[PIMPIN]
post Mar 2 2012, 05:06 AM

325 posts

Any Arapaima around? Or to 'lari topic' any tiger fishes?
[PIMPIN]
post Mar 22 2012, 04:07 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(Yeobster @ Mar 3 2012, 04:23 PM)
well good luck to the fish...may she brings good population for our future generation.  thumbup.gif

Added on March 3, 2012, 4:30 pm

lastime got this 3bar IT for rm45/pc

Added on March 3, 2012, 4:34 pm

saw 1 juvenile arapaima at fins n green...smile.gif
Yeah, that Arapaima belongs to me as do all the fishes in that 7ft tank actually. Just waiting for it to grow bigger before moving it. Saved from Nilufar which had a pair in a 1.5ft tank however its 'twin' was already stunted and did not make it and I lost that one about 2 weeks or so after getting them from Nilufar.
[PIMPIN]
post Mar 23 2012, 03:50 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(Yeobster @ Mar 23 2012, 01:44 AM)
owh really?well sorry for the twin..but his partner looks great dude.
that Boulengerochromis microlepis is also yours? man im envy that fish..hahaha heard that guy already sold is that true
That cichlid has been gone for couple weeks. Really gave every other fish in the tank a hard time Arapaima included. Even the sturgeons were hassled endlessly. Now only Arapaima and several tigers left. I go over most nights to feed them often late if I'm free and they'll go through perhaps 50-70 feeders or so each time if not yet fed during the day.

Anyway, what did you mean the guy sold? Sold what?
[PIMPIN]
post Apr 8 2012, 01:29 AM

325 posts

So here's an update of me feeding the fishes. To date in this growout pond I have four Gars and one Arapaima. The Arapaima is the same size with the largest Gar at about 3ft while the other Gars are in the 2ft+ range. I had the workers drop the water so that they could clean the pond the day before I went up to Janda Baik and after I left they raised the water level again.

Here's a picture of their final home which seems to be holding up fine. I'm going to give it another rainy season for the ground to really really settle before draining the water, lining the pond and turning the smaller pond into a mechanical filtration sump all natural.

[PIMPIN]
post Apr 19 2012, 01:26 AM

325 posts

I want to source heaps of fishes for a fishing pond but obviously cannot be too small in size:

1) Pacu
2) Toman
3) RTC

To begin with.

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Apr 8 2012, 04:52 AM)
Nice! U'r living up everybody's dream! Keep it up!  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks bro. Will expand as time goes by.

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Apr 8 2012, 06:29 PM)
This is really, really nice. The water looks good.
Yup, thanks. Purely unfiltered and bloody cold at times.

QUOTE(Yeobster @ Apr 9 2012, 11:55 AM)
Nice dude! post some of your monsters plz...we all love to see em. thumbup.gif
I will bro next time but you can check out my Facebook for pictures.

http://www.facebook.com/razlan.radzi
[PIMPIN]
post Apr 20 2012, 02:55 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Apr 19 2012, 03:59 PM)
Bro Pimpin,
feel like havin a vacation at your place.
Set a few chalets then i organized Primitive Fish trips there
Can, no problem. Why need chalets? How many people coming? Got two rooms in the guest wing and two rooms in the main house biggrin.gif

When you collecting your fish from my shop? Looks mean as hell LOL!

QUOTE(Yeobster @ Apr 20 2012, 03:05 AM)
dude...RTC for sport fishing?very cool dude! i will be your first customer! lol catch n release? nway i hv couple of RTC bout 1ft in consideration to let go...and also couple of alli gar bout 1.5ft..this guys are badass in my tank...haha
Catch and release but need a bit more than a couple of RTCs and Gars. Any pics btw? Might want them for myself. rclxms.gif
[PIMPIN]
post Apr 21 2012, 06:22 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Apr 20 2012, 04:29 PM)
My auranti is still at Jason's kedai. Coz belum setup my auranti tank. Today my 4ft baru sampai. cost me rm100 fr tank+100 for hood.
Wonder how much for 6ft since he's charging rm1.6k for a 8ft
How thick is the glass for the 8ft tank? Leave your auranti for as long as you like - my shop is a bit empty LOL.

Anybody need to tumpang fishes let me know, I'll instruct Jason to make preparations.
[PIMPIN]
post Apr 23 2012, 10:33 PM

325 posts

Genie - I'm still at the shop and the fish does not look good. I don't know if Jason has done WC and added salt but I'm calling him now and if he hasn't he damn well will come back to the shop now and do it.
[PIMPIN]
post Apr 25 2012, 10:21 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Apr 25 2012, 06:01 PM)
don know. Dr J and Dr P tak inform anything.
I dare not ask  cry.gif
Hi Genie - Terribly sorry but your fish did not survive. I doubt it helps but I also lost my Arapaima at the same time. Having said that, I do apologize for Jason not informing you as he should know better. I do not really involve myself in the daily running of the shop as I have other businesses to juggle but this time I kept close watch on your fish. Do we owe you a refund? Or can we offer you something else to compensate?

Again I do apologize and if there's anything you need you can reach me on 0192578888 (Maxis) or 0192588888 (Celcom). That goes for all here in relation to Fins & Greens Aquatics.
[PIMPIN]
post Apr 26 2012, 03:51 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Apr 25 2012, 10:29 PM)
My condolences genie.

But can we know the reason why? It'd be good for us if we're going to experience the same thing, that is if we encounter it. And the ways to prevent/cure. Thx
I don't know why Genie's fish took a turn for the worst and died yesterday. I did catch glimpses of it during the weekend and it seemed fine although I didn't really look closely.

I will get Jason to post pictures of the frozen fish as proof that it died and explain what steps he took to treat it.
[PIMPIN]
post Apr 27 2012, 09:33 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Apr 26 2012, 09:19 PM)
What?!! My Si Comel..was..a frozen fish....
Pimpin, I had not paid jason the money. So you did not owe me anything..
I don't know anything bout compensate..
After a day's  hardwork, i received a sad news..
Ok in that case the loss is ours but we don't care about money as much as we do about delivering on our promises - well that's my way of doing busjness and I try to make sure people I work with do the same.

Can we try source another for you? We'll keep looking until we find one regardless how long it takes.

[PIMPIN]
post Apr 28 2012, 04:52 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Apr 27 2012, 09:49 AM)
hi bro,

where is ur shop ?  biggrin.gif
The shop is located at 18 Medan Hujan Rahmat, Overseas Union Garden. It's just off Old Klang Road and is accessible via Kesas as well. However, there is hardly any stock in the shop at the moment as we're about to undergo a slight renovation which would require us to close for hopefully not more than one week after which we hope to return with an entirely different business model which I hope will ensure the shop remains competitive and up to date with the ever changing market.

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Apr 27 2012, 08:25 PM)
pimpin, maybe can tell if if juvie oscar can comm wit microlepis and birchir in a tiny 4ft tank or not? i scared later oscar rm4.50 kill my datnoid rm45..km,l;
o,l.
laugh.gif ;
Not something that I'd personally want to find out. All my Datnoids are kept among other Datnoids only. Slightly OT, if anyone has any large numbers of Datnoids I might be interested. Anyway genielee, I see you're into Paladriums, Vivariums etc which is something we hope to be moving into agressively in the near future so your loyalty as a customer is much appreciated and we look forward to doing business in the future.
[PIMPIN]
post Apr 28 2012, 11:06 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Apr 28 2012, 01:47 PM)
since u put it this way. i sure will keep supporting u lor tongue.gif
been to ur shop too. luckily din lost my way. Jason chia makan chicken rice lagi whistling.gif
We're going to be be adding a new dimension to the shop and with it new products which I feel will interest you. How about you come design a paladrium for us? We'll prepare the materials etc and you do us the honour? tongue.gif
[PIMPIN]
post Apr 30 2012, 09:09 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Apr 29 2012, 08:26 AM)
ayuh~I belum start learning to do one and u want to show masterpiece  drool.gif
Maybe u organized a bengkel just for us. Then we go have fun while producing some decent looking masterpieces?  thumbup.gif
Then i can have mine done there and take train to go back ipoh with masterpiece  rolleyes.gif
A workshop is something that can be arranged if the numbers are there. However, I'd rather host a workshop after we've managed to renovate a little and get it looking presentable - shop needs attention and some TLC because now its a bit sad looking.

Ipoh isn't far - 1hr trip smile.gif

EDIT: Must use Duckweed? How about water lettuce?

This post has been edited by [PIMPIN]: Apr 30 2012, 09:38 AM
[PIMPIN]
post May 3 2012, 12:34 AM

325 posts

Those water lettuce I have no idea what to do with them also. They grow like mad and I have entire ponds full of them that I just end up throwing them away when it comes too much.

If you want, let me know in advance - my drivers go up to Janda Baik weekly to send feeders, pay wages, etc so no problem whatsoever getting water lettuce for you. However, I don't know how the thing will walk to Ipoh heheh.

The reason why Jason has been MIA is up for him to answer. That being said, F&G Aquatics really is understaffed so anyone with the relevant skills please let me know. Open to tying up with those expert in setting up palladriums, terraniums, etc - we'll source the projects you do the work sort of thing but at the same time need to setup a few display tanks in the shop.

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0623sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:41 PM